DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed on 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. A. Regarding claim 1 (similarly, claim 29), the Applicant argues that the combination of Bao and Gangakhedkar fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitations of:
“the first relative positioning response message is used to indicate that the second terminal agrees to participate in a relative positioning service, and the first relative positioning response message comprises identity information of the second terminal.”
However, the Examiner maintains that the Gangakhedkaaro, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“the first relative positioning response message is used to indicate that the second terminal agrees to participate in a relative positioning service, and the first relative positioning response message comprises identity information of the second terminal.”(= cooperative positioning (CP) response broadcast by anchor nodes on sidelink includes anchor node identity and absolute or relative positions, see [0055, 0078 and 0081]).
B. Regarding claim 10 (similarly, claim 48), the Applicant argues that the combination of Bao and Gangakhedkar fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the first relative positioning response message is used to indicate that the second terminal agrees to participate in a relative positioning service, and the first relative positioning response message comprises identity information of the second terminal”
However, the Examiner maintains that the Gangakhedkaaro, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the first relative positioning response message is used to indicate that the second terminal agrees to participate in a relative positioning service, and the first relative positioning response message comprises identity information of the second terminal(= cooperative positioning (CP) response broadcast by anchor nodes on sidelink includes anchor node identity and absolute or relative positions, see [0052 and 0059]).
Therefore, the combination of Bao and Gangakhedkar is proper and the Office Action is being made FINAL as shown below.
C. The rejection of all the dependent claims, by virtue of their dependency from the independent claims, is also being made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14, 16-18, 29 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bao et al., (US 2022/0244344), (hereinafter, Zhang) in view of Gangakhedkar et al., (US 2019/0239181), (hereinafter, Gangakhedkar).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Bao discloses a relative positioning method/terminal
(= joint positioning session, see [0095]), comprising:
transmitting, by a first terminal (= location server 120), a first relative positioning request message to a target device (= UE 105 and UE 106 respectively and the location server 120 perform a capability transfer; and location server 120 may send a request capabilities message to the UE 105 and 106; and in which the UE 105 and 106 may indicate capability for sidelink-assisted positioning, see [0096]);
receiving, by the first terminal, a first relative positioning response message transmitted by the target device (= UE1 105 transmits a positioning information report to the location server 120, see [0109-110]),
wherein the target device is a network side device or at least one second terminal (= UE 105 and 106 may indicate capability for sidelink-assisted positioning, see [0096]).
Bao explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“positioning authorization method” and “determining, by the first terminal, that relative positioning authorization has been completed” and the first relative positioning response message is used to indicate that the second terminal agrees to participate in a relative positioning service, and the first relative positioning response message comprises identity information of the second terminal.”
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“positioning authorization method” and “determining, by the first terminal, that relative positioning authorization has been completed” (= target node transmitting a request for positioning support; and anchor nodes can choose whether or not to comply with that instruction, see [0052, 0054-55 and 0078-79]) and “the first relative positioning response message is used to indicate that the second terminal agrees to participate in a relative positioning service, and the first relative positioning response message comprises identity information of the second terminal (= cooperative positioning (CP) response broadcast by anchor nodes on sidelink includes anchor node identity and absolute or relative positions, see [0055, 0078 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 1, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization method, further comprising: transmitting a relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message to the second terminal, wherein the relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message comprises identity information of a paired terminal which agrees to perform relative positioning.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
the relative positioning authorization method, further comprising: transmitting a relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message to the second terminal, wherein the relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message comprises identity information of a paired terminal which agrees to perform relative positioning (= cooperative positioning (CP) response broadcast by anchor nodes on sidelink includes anchor node identity and absolute or relative positions, see [0055, 0078 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization method, wherein the first relative positioning request message comprises: identity information of the second terminal; or identity information of a base station to which the first terminal belongs.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
the relative positioning authorization method, wherein the first relative positioning request message comprises: identity information of the second terminal; or identity information of a base station to which the first terminal belongs (see [0055, 0078 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 4, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization wherein subsequent to transmitting the relative positioning pairing acknowledge message to the second terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: receiving relative positioning capability information transmitted by the second terminal; selecting a relative positioning method for the paired terminal in accordance with the relative positioning capability information, and transmitting second information to the second terminal, the second information comprising the relative positioning method selected by the first terminal for the paired terminal.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
the relative positioning authorization method, wherein subsequent to transmitting the relative positioning pairing acknowledge message to the second terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: receiving relative positioning capability information transmitted by the second terminal; selecting a relative positioning method for the paired terminal in accordance with the relative positioning capability information, and transmitting second information to the second terminal, the second information comprising the relative positioning method selected by the first terminal for the paired terminal (see [0055, 0078 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 4, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization wherein subsequent to transmitting the relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message to the second terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: transmitting relative positioning capability information to the second terminal; and receiving third information transmitted by the second terminal, the third information comprising a relative positioning method selected by the second terminal for the paired terminal.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
wherein subsequent to transmitting the relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message to the second terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: transmitting relative positioning capability information to the second terminal; and receiving third information transmitted by the second terminal, the third information comprising a relative positioning method selected by the second terminal for the paired terminal (see [0055, 0078 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 7, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization wherein the relative positioning capability information comprises at least one of: a reference signal frequency at which the relative positioning is supported; a bandwidth at which the relative positioning is supported; a duration for transmitting a positioning signal; a type of a transmitted signal; a carrier aggregation capability; a frequency hopping capability; a multi-antenna capability; a supported relative positioning method; a type of a received signal; or whether having a capability of calculating a relative position or not.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
wherein the relative positioning capability information comprises at least one of: a reference signal frequency at which the relative positioning is supported; a bandwidth at which the relative positioning is supported; a duration for transmitting a positioning signal; a type of a transmitted signal; a carrier aggregation capability; a frequency hopping capability; a multi-antenna capability; a supported relative positioning method; a type of a received signal; or whether having a capability of calculating a relative position or not (= CP response is broadcasted by anchor nodes on the sidelink, see [0055, 0078 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claims 10 and 48, Bao discloses a relative positioning method/target device (= joint positioning session, see [0095]), comprising:
receiving, by a target device, a first relative positioning request message transmitted by a first terminal (= UE 105 and UE 106 respectively and the location server 120 perform a capability transfer; and location server 120 may send a request capabilities message to the UE 105 and 106; and in which the UE 105 and 106 may indicate capability for sidelink-assisted positioning, see [0096]); and
transmitting, by the target device, a first relative positioning response message to the first terminal, wherein the target device is a network side device or at least one second terminal (= UE1 105 transmits a positioning information report to the location server 120, see [0109-110]).
Bao explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“positioning authorization method” and “enable the first terminal to determine that relative positioning authorization has been completed in accordance with the first relative positioning response message”. , the first relative positioning response message is used to indicate that the second terminal agrees to participate in a relative positioning service, and the first relative positioning response message comprises identity information of the second terminal.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“positioning authorization method” and “enable the first terminal to determine that relative positioning authorization has been completed in accordance with the first relative positioning response message” (= target node transmitting a request for positioning support; and anchor nodes can choose whether or not to comply with that instruction, see [0052, 0054-55 and 0078-79]) wherein the first relative positioning response message is used to indicate that the second terminal agrees to participate in a relative positioning service, and the first relative positioning response message comprises identity information of the second terminal (= cooperative positioning (CP) response broadcast by anchor nodes on sidelink includes anchor node identity and absolute or relative positions, see [0052 and 0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 10, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization wherein subsequent to transmitting, by the target device, the first relative positioning response message to the first terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: receiving a relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message transmitted by the first terminal, and the relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message comprises identity information of a paired terminal which agrees to perform relative positioning.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
the relative positioning authorization method, wherein subsequent to transmitting, by the target device, the first relative positioning response message to the first terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: receiving a relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message transmitted by the first terminal, and the relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message comprises identity information of a paired terminal which agrees to perform relative positioning (see [0055, 0077-78 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 10, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization wherein the first relative positioning request message comprises: identity information of the second terminal; or identity information of a base station to which the first terminal belongs.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
the relative positioning authorization method, wherein the first relative positioning request message comprises: identity information of the second terminal; or identity information of a base station to which the first terminal belongs (see [0055, 0077-78 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned in claim 10, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization further comprising: determining, by the second terminal, whether to agree to participate in the relative positioning service in accordance with the relative positioning capability information.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
the relative positioning authorization method, further comprising: determining, by the second terminal, whether to agree to participate in the relative positioning service in accordance with the relative positioning capability information(see [0055, 0077-78 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned in claim 13, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization wherein subsequent to receiving the relative positioning pairing acknowledge message transmitted by the first terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: transmitting relative positioning capability information to the first terminal; and receiving second information transmitted by the first terminal, the second information comprising a relative positioning method selected by the first terminal for the paired terminal.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
the relative positioning authorization method, wherein subsequent to receiving the relative positioning pairing acknowledge message transmitted by the first terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: transmitting relative positioning capability information to the first terminal; and receiving second information transmitted by the first terminal, the second information comprising a relative positioning method selected by the first terminal for the paired terminal (see [0055, 0077-78 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned in claim 13, Bao explicitly fails to disclose the relative positioning authorization wherein subsequent to receiving the relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message transmitted by the first terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: receiving relative positioning capability information transmitted by the first terminal; and transmitting third information to the first terminal, the third information comprising a relative positioning method selected by the second terminal for the paired terminal.
However, Gangakhedkar which is an analogous art equivalently discloses
the relative positioning authorization method, wherein subsequent to receiving the relative positioning pairing acknowledgement message transmitted by the first terminal, the relative positioning authorization method further comprises: receiving relative positioning capability information transmitted by the first terminal; and transmitting third information to the first terminal, the third information comprising a relative positioning method selected by the second terminal for the paired terminal (see [0055, 0077-78 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ganggakhedkar with Bao for the benefit of achieving a communication positioning system that includes dynamic selection of most appropriate anchor nodes at a time when targets nodes actually requires positioning support, which contributes to better position accuracy in communication system where the most appropriate anchor nodes for the target node may be continually changing.
CONCLUSION
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.