DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 and Species C, claims 23-31, 33-36 and 50-51 in the reply filed on 04/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that the cited reference does not teach the newly added common technical feature as presently claimed. This is not found persuasive because, as set forth in the following rejection part in this office action, the cited references teach the common technical features as claimed. Therefore, the restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Accordingly, claims 32, 37-49 and 52 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 23-31, 33-36 and 50-51 are currently under examination on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 24, line 1, “against” should be deleted to make the limitation meaningful. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: “selected from the group consisting of … or…” is not a proper Markush group or conventional alternative limitation. Many “or”, “and”, and “and/or” in this claim cause confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: “and mixtures and combinations thereof” should read either “and mixtures thereof” or “and combinations thereof”, to avoid the redundant wording. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 30, “a)” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 51 recites the limitation "the thermal processing of…” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-31, 33-36 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmann (EP0662101, of record, IDS 03/20/24, ‘101 hereafter, citation please see English translation) in view of Stippschild-Boxler et al (US 2021/0395419, ‘419 hereafter) and Li et al (WO 2015/032033, of record, IDS 03/20/24, ‘033 hereafter).
Regarding claims 23-31 and 50-51, ‘101 discloses a method of stabilizing a halogen-free thermoplastic plastic (pages 2-6). The method comprises a step of combining a polyolefin recyclate such as PP, HDPE, LDPE, or PS and their blends (page 3), satisfying present claim 35; with at least one stabilizer as a primary one primary antioxidant being phenolic antioxidants satisfying present claims 29-31 (page 34, the listed compounds include most of the phenolic compounds as in the present claims 30 and 31); and at least one phosphite compound (page 4). ‘101 does not set forth that the stabilizer composition includes a sulfite or thiosulfate in combination with the phenolic antioxidant. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘419 teaches both phosphite compound and sulfite compound can be used as stabilizers in a polymer composition ([0033]-[0037], [0298]-[0315]); wherein the phosphite and sulfite compound can be either an organic or inorganic compound, and the inorganic sulfite compound can be lithium sulfite, sodium sulfite, potassium sulfite or calcium sulfite or mixture thereof ([0314]), without containing water, satisfying present claims 25-28. In view of ‘419 recognition that phosphate compound and sulfite are equivalent and interchange-able as stabilizers in a polymer composition, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to substitute phosphite compound with sulfite compound, thereby arriving at the presently claimed invention. Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See MPEP 2144.06". In addition, ‘033 teaches a stabilizer (antioxidant) composition having a combination of phenolic compound with sulfite compound such as sodium sulfite, which provides better thermal stability and decrease yellowing of a polyolefin composition, and the sulfite compound can react with oxygen from air to protect polymer resin (abstract, page 1-3, Examples). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use sulfite compound to combine with phenolic compound as taught by ‘419 and ‘033, to modify the method of ‘101, in order to improve the thermal stability and reduce yellowing of the halogen-free thermoplastic recyclate. Since the prior art composition contains stabilizer as presently claimed, it is expected to against oxidative degradation and stabilize the composition during thermal processing of the recyclate which satisfies the limitations of present claims 23 and 51.
Regarding claims 33-34 and 36, modified ‘101 teaches all the limitations of claim 23, ‘101 also discloses that the composition contains 0.01 to 10 % by weight of the stabilizer (page 2) and the weight ratio of the two stabilizer can be 80:20 to 20:80 (4:1 to 1:4, page 3). ‘101 also discloses that the composition may also contain other additives (page 4-5).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782