DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11-15, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al (20130167502).
In regards to Claim 1, Wilson teaches a composite wire (Figure 1C) comprising a
thermoplastic (Paragraph 100) monofilament as a core component (Detail 2) and a sheath, the sheath comprises at least two groups (Details 23, 24) of reinforcement threads (Details 2ʹʹ, 2ʹʹʹ) wrapped around the core component, wherein the number of groups of reinforcement threads is an even number (two; Details 2ʹʹ, 2ʹʹʹ), wherein the at least two groups of reinforcement threads form angles with the core component with the overall sum of all angles being substantially zero (illustrated as being twisted in opposite directions, at substantially opposite angles); and
wherein the core component comprises reinforcement fibers (Details 1), wherein the reinforcement fibers comprise carbon fibers, steel wire, aluminum wire, polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene naphthalate, polyvinyl acetate, cellulose filaments, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl acetate, polyamide-5, polyamide-6, polyamide-5,6, polyamide-5,10, polyamide-6,6, polyamide-4,10, polyamide-6,10, polyamide-6,8, polyamide-10 or polyamide-11, proteinous fibers, aromatic polyamides, polyphenylene benzobisoxazole, ultra high molecular weight polyethylene or aromatic polyesters or copolymers comprising monomers of said materials or mixtures of said materials (Paragraph 137, carbon fibers).
In regards to Claim 2, Wilson teaches the core component has a diameter of at least 0.3 and at most 1.2 mm (Paragraph 22).
In regards to Claim 5, Wilson teaches at least two groups of reinforcement threads are wound around the core component and/or at least two groups of reinforcement threads are wrapped around the core component (Figure 1C).
In regards to Claim 6, Wilson teaches the core component forms an angle of at least ± 15 degrees with every group of reinforcement threads (Figure 1C shows angles greater than ± 15 degrees).
In regards to Claim 8, Wilson teaches the core component comprises at least one fiber bundle, yarn, or cord (Paragraph 137, yarn).
In regards to Claim 9, Wilson teaches each of the reinforcement fibers in the core component comprise a monofilament (Paragraph 96).
In regards to Claim 11, Wilson teaches the materials comprised in the reinforcement fibers are in part or in total biological and/or recycled materials (there is no structural difference between virgin fibers, and fibers left over from a previous process which are recycled instead of being discarded; the claim is drawn to a product, not a method).
In regards to Claim 12, Wilson teaches the core component comprises polyethylene terephthalate, polytrimethylen terephthalate, polybutylene terephthalate, polyethylene naphthalate aromatic polyesters, aromatic polyamides comprising para-polyphenylene terephthalamide or meta polyphenylene isophthalamide, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl acetate, polyphenylene benzobisoxazole, polyamide-5, polyamide-6, polyamide-6,6, polyamide-5,6, polyamide-4,10, polyamide-6,10, polyamide-6,8, polyamide-10 or polyamide-11, ultra high molecular weight polyethylene, polyurethane or polyetheretherketone, copolymers comprising monomers of said materials or mixtures of said materials (Paragraph 100, polyetheretherketone).
In regards to Claim 13, Wilson teaches the materials comprised in the core component are in part or in total biological and/or recycled materials (there is no structural difference between virgin fibers, and fibers left over from a previous process which are recycled instead of being discarded; the claim is drawn to a product, not a method).
In regards to Claim 14, Wilson teaches the reinforcement threads comprise glass, carbon fibers, steel wire, aluminum wire, polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene naphthalate, polyvinyl acetate, cellulose filaments, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl acetate, polyamide-5, polyamide-6, polyamide-5,6, polyamide-5,10, polyamide-6,6, polyamide-4,10, polyamide-6,10, polyamide-6,8, polyamide-10 or polyamide-11, proteinous fibers, aromatic polyamides, polyphenylene benzobisoxazole, ultra high molecular weight polyethylene or aromatic polyesters or copolymers comprising monomers of said materials or mixtures of said materials (Paragraph 137, carbon fibers).
In regards to Claim 15, Wilson teaches the materials comprised in the reinforcement threads are in part or in total biological and/or recycled materials (there is no structural difference between virgin fibers, and fibers left over from a previous process which are recycled instead of being discarded; the claim is drawn to a product, not a method).
In regards to Claim 22, Wilson teaches a thermoplastic string (Detail 2) comprising a thermoplastic monofilament (Detail 5) with embedded reinforcement fibers (Detail 1), wherein the thermoplastic string has a diameter of at least 0.6 mm (Paragraph 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al in view of Kato et al (20200140644).
In regards to Claim 3, while Wilson essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, including the inclusion of additives/fillers (Paragraph 69), it fails to specifically teach talc. Kato, however, teaches that the inclusion of talc is well known in the reinforced composite arts (Paragraph 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included talc as taught, as to as to improve the production of the final product. Nucleating agents such as talc are well known and their use well within the abilities of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-21 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
“Wilson fails to disclose or suggest a composite wire wherein the number of groups of reinforcement threads wrapped around the core is equal and, at the same time, the at least two groups of reinforcement threads form angles with the core component with the overall sum of all angles being substantially zero”.
First, Examiner does not understand what is meant when Applicant states “the number of groups of reinforcement threads wrapped around the core is equal”. What does this mean? Does Applicant mean even? If so, the rejection clearly states that Details 2ʹʹ and 2ʹʹʹ are being relied upon as teaching the groups of reinforcement threads. This totals two groups, which is even. This is what the claim limitations require. Is Applicant trying to argue that the number of threads within each group must be equal? If so, this is not found in the claims.
Second, Examiner has previously explained to Applicant how the overall sum of all angles is zero. The claim language states: “wherein the at least two groups of reinforcement threads form angles with the core component with the overall sum of all angles being substantially zero”. Examiner reads this to mean the first group of reinforcement threads (2ʹʹ) forms an angle, and the second group of reinforcement threads (2ʹʹʹ) forms an angle, and the sum of these angles is substantially zero. Figure 1C clearly shows the angle of Group 2ʹʹ is substantially the opposite of the angle of Group 2ʹʹʹ, making the sums substantially zero.
Applicant argues:
“Wilson is focused on electrical power cables (See paragraph [0004] of Wilson) and not on reinforcement of polymeric materials as for the composite wire of claim 1”. Respectfully, Claim 1 is drawn to a composite wire, and Wilson teaches a composite wire.
On page 8 of the response, Applicant groups Claim 22 with the dependent claims. This is incorrect. Claim 22 is an independent claim. Since no amendment has been made, and no separate argument has been presented, the rejection is currently maintained without response.
Conclusion
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732