DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on April 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Givens (US 7,393,382 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Givens discloses suitable mechanisms for producing hydrogen gas from feedstock supply stream (68); samples of suitable mechanisms for producing hydrogen gas include pyrolysis and catalytic partial oxidation of a carbon-containing feedstock; another suitable mechanism for producing hydrogen gas is electrolysis, in which case the feedstock is water; and illustrative examples of suitable carbon-containing feedstocks include at least one hydrocarbon or alcohol; and illustrative examples of suitable hydrocarbons including methane (see figure 1 and column 4, line 66 through column 5, line 16).
Givens does not explicitly disclose a system for producing hydrogen and carbon monoxide, the system comprising: a pyrolyzer operably coupled to a feed supply of a methane-containing gas, wherein the pyrolyzer is configured to convert methane from the methane-containing gas into hydrogen and elemental carbon via pyrolysis; an electrolyzer configured to produce hydrogen and oxygen; and an oxidation unit configured to produce one or more of carbon monoxide or carbon dioxide from the elemental carbon produced from the pyrolyzer and the oxygen produced from the electrolyzer.
It would have been obvious to have a system comprising: a pyrolyzer operably coupled to a feed supply of a methane-containing gas, wherein the pyrolyzer is configured to convert methane from the methane-containing gas into hydrogen and elemental carbon via pyrolysis; an electrolyzer configured to produce hydrogen and oxygen; and an oxidation unit configured to produce one or more of carbon monoxide or carbon dioxide from the elemental carbon produced from the pyrolyzer and the oxygen produced from the electrolyzer in order to effectively produce hydrogen gas.
Regarding claim 2, Givens discloses a system wherein the pyrolyzer is configured to be heated using one or more of: electrical heating including one or more of inductive heating, microwave heating, plasma heating, or joule heating; heat from the oxidation unit; or heat from burning hydrogen (see figure 1 and column 4, line 66 through column 5, line 16), since the pyrolyzer of Givens is capable of being heated using one or more of: electrical heating including one or more of inductive heating, microwave heating, plasma heating, or joule heating; heat from the oxidation unit; or heat from burning hydrogen and the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Regarding claim 3, Givens disclose a system wherein the oxidation unit is configured to provide one or more of heat for operation of the pyrolyzer or to produce electricity for operation of the pyrolyzer and the oxidation unit includes a steam turbine, reciprocating gas engine, or gas turbine (see figure 1 and column 4, line 66 through column 5, line 16), since the oxidation unit of Givens is capable of providing one or more of heat for operation of the pyrolyzer or to produce electricity for operation of the pyrolyzer and the oxidation unit includes a steam turbine, reciprocating gas engine, or gas turbine and the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4-6 and 8, Givens fails to disclose or suggest a system wherein at least one of the pyrolyzer or electrolyzer is electrically connected to one or more of a wind power or solar power source to provide electricity for producing heat in the pyrolyzer or electrolysis in the electrolyzer; wherein a hydrogen output of the pyrolyzer is connected to a first outlet from the system and a hydrogen output of the electrolyzer is connected to a second outlet from the system; further comprising a water-gas shift reactor connected to the hydrogen and carbon monoxide output of the pyrolyzer, wherein the water-gas shift reactor is configured to produce hydrogen and carbon dioxide; and wherein the oxidation unit is coupled to a carbon dioxide source to feed carbon dioxide into the oxidation unit to increase production of carbon monoxide therein.
Claim 7 depends on claim 6.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774