Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group I (claims 1-11) and canceled Group II (claims 12-13) in the response filed on 11/21/25.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, line 5, “an cover” it contains grammatical error, and should be changed to -a cover-.
Claim 8, line 7, “an cover” it contains grammatical error, and should be changed to -a cover-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sridhar (US. Pat. 6,621,135).
Regarding claim 1, Sridhar teaches a microelectromechanical switching element comprising: a carrier substrate with a carrier layer 24, an electrically insulating layer 56, and a semiconductor layer (52, 54) (col. 3, lines 45-60); a deflectable bending element (52, 54) formed by a freed subregion of the semiconductor layer; and an cover substrate (20, 22) connected to the carrier substrate; wherein the carrier layer defines a first cutout (cutout defined by 24 and 22) in the region of the bending element; and the cover substrate comprises a second cutout (area between the cover 20 and the layer 24) and/or an encircling spacer layer in the region of the bending element; the first cutout and the second cutout define a superordinate hollow space in which the bending element is arranged so as to be deflectable; the superordinate hollow space is delimited by the carrier layer and by the cover substrate to provide a hermetically encapsulation from the external environment (col. 6, lines 37-42); and the carrier substrate comprises a silicon-on-insulator layer system (Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 8, Sridhar teaches an apparatus comprising: an array of multiple microelectromechanical switching elements (col. 5, lines 13-20), wherein each microelectromechanical switching element comprises: a carrier substrate 24 with a carrier layer 24, an electrically insulating layer 56, and a semiconductor layer 52/54 (col. 3, lines 45-60); a deflectable bending element (52, 54) formed by a freed subregion of the semiconductor layer; and an cover substrate (20, 22) connected to the carrier substrate; wherein the carrier layer defines a first cutout (cutout defined by 24 and 22) in the region of the bending element; and the cover substrate comprises a second cutout (area between the cover 20 and the layer 24) and/or an encircling spacer layer in the region of the bending element; the first cutout and the second cutout define a superordinate hollow space in which the bending element is arranged so as to be deflectable; the superordinate hollow space is delimited by the carrier layer and by the cover substrate to provide a hermetically encapsulation from the external environment (col. 6, lines 37-42); and the carrier substrate comprises a silicon-on-insulator layer system (Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 2, Sridhar teaches the switching element wherein a deflection direction of the bending element (52, 54) is oriented perpendicularly with respect to the layer plane of the carrier substrate (the carrier substrate is planar, while the bending element is deflectable downward/upward, see Figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 4, Sridhar teaches the switching element wherein the hermetic encapsulation of the superordinate hollow space includes a permanent, fluid-tight, areal connection between the carrier substrate 24 and the cover substrate 20 (the anodic bonding between the carrier substrate 24 and the cover 20/22 creates a permanent, fluid-tight and areal connection, see col. 6, lines 37-42, and col. 5, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 5, Sridhar teaches the switching element wherein the cover substrate 20 comprises an electrically insulating cover substrate comprising glass or silicon (the glass cover is inherently electrically insulating, see col. 6, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 6, Sridhar teaches the switching element wherein: a switching contact 58 is arranged on the bending element (52, 54); and the cover substrate (20, 22) bears at least one mating contact (32, 34) which is able to be contacted with the switching contact of the bending element by a deflection of the bending element 52/54 (Fig. 1 and coil. 4, lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 7, Sridhar teaches the switching element wherein the cover substrate (20, 22) comprises a control electrode 44 to influence the deflection of the bending element 52/54 (Fig. 1 and coil. 4, lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 9, Sridhar teaches the apparatus comprising a switching apparatus (contacts 52/54 and 32/34 forms a switch, see (Fig. 1 and coil. 4, lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 10, Sridhar teaches the apparatus comprising a surface- mountable component (the solder ball terminal 36/38 indicate that the MEMS device is mountable to external devices such as PCB, see Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 11, Sridhar teaches the apparatus wherein the cover substrate (20, 22) and/or the carrier substrate 24 comprises one or more lead throughs (28, 40, 42, 48, 50, 68) for electrical contacting of the at least one switching element (30, 36, 38, 46, 66, see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sridhar in view of Wilson (US20100065946).
Regarding claim 3, Sridhar does not teach the cutout in the carrier layer being formed by a prefabricated cavity in the silicon-on-insulator layer (SOI) system. However, Wilson teaches a method for manufacturing a silicon-on-insulator wafer (paragraphs 2, 11, 51), in which a cavity 20b is formed in the handle wafer (carrier) 12b as part of the SOI wafer fabrication itself (Fig. 1b, 5a, and paragraph 36, 51). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a prefabricated cavity SOI substrate as thought by Wilson in the MEMS device of Sridhar to provide a defined cutout beneath the movable element while reducing backside processing and improving manufacturability.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833