DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
There are three (3) set of claim submitted on 31 AUGUST 2023. The claim set considered is the set where the claims have status identifiers consisting of three (3) pages. In the claim set, Claim 1, 3, 4, 8, 6, 7 is ‘Previously Amended’ or ‘Original’; and Claim 2 is ‘Cancelled’.
Current pending claims are Claims 1 and 3-7 and are considered on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 AUGUST 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 OCTOBER 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 DECEMBER 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “sample dispensing mechanism configured to discharge a sample” in Claims 1 and 7.
A “mechanism” does not connotate any particular structure. The specification describes a “dispensing mechanism” to be a plunger, [0016] and in Claim 1.
A “reagent dispensing mechanism configured to discharge a sample” in Claims 1 and 7.
A “mechanism” does not connotate any particular structure. The specification describe a “dispensing mechanism” to be a plunger, [0016] and in Claim 1.
A “plunger drive unit configured to drive the plunger” in Claims 1 and 7. The specification describes the “drive unit” to be a motor, ball screw and a drive plate, [0034].
A “control unit configured to control operations…” in Claims 1 and 7.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes a “unit” to be electrolyte analysis unit , [0024].
A “display unit…to display…” in Claim 4.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describes the “display unit” .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation ““display unit…to display…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of “to display” is performed by displaying. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to display. The use of the term “display unit” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which displaying structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant Claim 5 lack a proper transitional phrase. In Claim 5, the language recites ‘the automated analysis device includes…’. It is interpreted by the Examiner that ‘includes’ has the same meaning as ‘comprises’ or ‘comprising’.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of “to display”. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSAKA , JP 2002-350453 A, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 31 AUGUST 2023.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 1, the KOSAKA reference discloses an automated analysis device, abstract, Figure 1, device, [0010], comprising:
a sample dispensing mechanism having a liquid-level sensing function and configured to discharge a sample into a liquid storage container, Figure 1, dispensing nozzle 50 with electrode 54 into cell 60 [0010-0012];
a reagent dispensing mechanism configured to discharge a reagent into the liquid storage container, Figure 1, [0010], liquid is injected into a cell 60; and
a control unit configured to control operations of the sample dispensing mechanism and the reagent dispensing mechanism and analyze the sample, Figure 1, control unit 130/160, [0015], Claim 4 and 5, wherein the sample dispensing mechanism and the reagent dispensing mechanism each include a nozzle configured to aspirate and discharge liquid and a drive unit configured to drive the unit, [0015], Claim 4 and 5, and
the control unit performs operation control by the drive unit of at least one of the sample dispensing mechanism or the reagent dispensing mechanism such that the unit moves reciprocally a predetermined number of times by a distance of the backlash, [0015-0024], and detects failure of the nozzle by detecting an amount of liquid discharged into the liquid storage container by the liquid-level sensing function, Claims 4-6, [0006, 0010-0012].
The KOSAKA reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to specifically a plunger, but the reference does teach liquid are dispensed and sucked by a pump and controlled by control unit and since the nozzle unit pump, it inherently has a plunger.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date modify KOSAKA to nozzle unit include a plunger drive unit to accurately dispense and suction liquid into and out the reaction cell.
Regarding Claim 3-6, the instant claim language is directed at steps of the intended use of the apparatus rather than a structural feature. Applicant’s invention is directed towards an apparatus. Applicant is reminded that an “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Since KOSAKA teaches and/or suggests the structural features of the claimed invention the way Claims 3-6 are presented, the reference teaches and/or suggests Claims 3-6.
See Examiner’s Note below for suggestion of allowable subject matter.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 7, the reference KOSAKA discloses a failure detection method of an automated analysis device, Claim 11, the automated analysis device including:
a sample dispensing mechanism having a liquid-level sensing function and configured to discharge a sample into a liquid storage container, Figure 1, dispensing nozzle 50 with electrode 54 into cell 60 [0010-0012];
a reagent dispensing mechanism configured to discharge a reagent into the liquid storage container, Figure 1, [0010], liquid is injected into a cell 60; and
a control unit configured to control operations of the sample dispensing mechanism and the reagent dispensing mechanism and analyze the sample, Figure 1, control unit 130/160, [0015], the sample dispensing mechanism and the reagent dispensing mechanism each including a nozzle configured to aspirate and discharge liquid and a drive unit configured to drive the unit, [0015],
the failure detection method of the automated analysis device comprising:
performing operation control by the drive unit of at least one of the sample dispensing mechanism or the reagent dispensing mechanism such that the nozzle moves reciprocally a predetermined number of times by a distance of the backlash [0015-0024]; and
detecting failure of the nozzle by detecting an amount of liquid discharged into the liquid storage container by the liquid-level sensing function, Claims 4-6, [0006, 0010-0012].
The KOSAKA reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to specifically a plunger, but the reference does teach liquid are dispensed and sucked by a pump and controlled by control unit and since the nozzle unit pump, it inherently has a plunger. Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date modify KOSAKA to nozzle unit include a plunger drive unit to accurately dispense and suction liquid into and out the reaction cell.
Examiner’s Note
Possible Allowable Subject Matter
As mentioned above, Claims 3-6 are not directed towards structural limitations of the device, but rather its intended use and limitations of possibly what the control unit does when it is being used. If Applicant where to change the language in Claims 3-6 to language such as ‘the control unit is configured to determine the failure of the plunger…’ or ‘the control unit is programed to determine the failure of the plunger…’; this would possibly make the Claim 3 define over the art of record. Similarly, in Claim 4, if the language was amended to recite ‘when the control unit is programmed to/configured to detect the failure…’. If Applicant has questions regarding particular language, please reach out the Examiner and set up an interview.
Keep in mind, Claim 1 is rejected under art.
The claim language in Claim 3 directed towards “wherein the automated analysis device according to claim 1, wherein the failure of the plunger is failure in which a plunger fixing nut configured to fix the plunger and the plunger drive unit is not attached to the plunger.” is not found or suggested in the prior art.
While it is known in the art to detect a disorder of a syringe pump, as submitted by Applicant on the IDS, US Publication 2006/0129084 A1, and to clean an aspiration tube, US Publication No. 2020/0306804 A1, these methods fail to teach or suggest the requirement of “wherein the failure of the plunger is failure in which a plunger fixing nut configured to fix the plunger and the plunger drive unit is not attached to the plunger”. As Applicant has explain in the specification in [0011-0014], dispensing abnormality is due to forgetting to attach the plunger fixing nut of the syringe pump unit occurs, the occurrence of the dispensing abnormality can be detected, but it is difficult to detect that the reason is forgetting to attach the plunger fixing nut.
The Examiner has searched the prior art using text searching, inventor/assignee search, forward/backward and more like this searching of prior art and is unable to find a reference that would at least suggest the feature in Claim 3 of detecting an abnormality or failing of the plunger by determining whether or not a plunger fixing nut of the syringe pump unit is attached.
Claims 4-6 depend directly or indirectly from Claim 3 and are also objected to.
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797