DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant contends that Shahidi fails to remedy the alleged deficiencies of Gopal with respect to independent claim 1 and 14, therefore, dependent claims 4, 5, 17, and 18 are allowable. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Gopal is relied upon for teaching monitoring a concurrent operation involving shared RF components between one or more SIMs and enabling or disabling the shared RF component based on the monitoring. Shahidi is not relied upon to duplicate these teachings. Rather, Shahidi is relied upon for the additional functionality of determining whether to enable or disable the shared RF component based on indications (votes) from one or more radio access technologies (RATs), as recited in the claims. Thus, Shahidi remedies the deficiency identified in Gopal by providing the additional RAT-based decision-making used in the present rejection. The rejection is based on the combined teachings of Gopal and Shahidi, not on Gopal alone, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate Shahidi's RAT-voting mechanism into Gopal's multi-SIM RF resource management to improve coordination among multiple RATs sharing the same RF resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopal et al. (US 20210112399, hereinafter Gopal) in view of Shahidi et al. (US 20210360530, hereinafter Shahidi).
Regarding claim 1, Gopal discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
monitoring (Par. 44: Lines 9-19; The UE has a transceiver management component that monitors the SIMs and their operating conditions) a concurrent operation on multiple operating bands within a same subscriber identity module (SIM) or between multiple SIMs (Par. 6: Lines 3-9; UE may perform concurrent communication activities for multiple SIMs; Table 1 shows a variety of band combinations for the first and second SIM) that involves sharing at least one radio frequency (RF) component (Par. 71: Lines 9-11; Cross-switch (i.e. RF component) is shared); and
enabling or disabling the at least one RF component based on the monitoring (Par. 72: Lines 1-7; SRS antenna switching may not be allowed (i.e. disabled) if it is determined that the first and second SIM share a cross switch; Preventing or not allowing antenna switching renders the shared RF component unavailable for that operation).
Gopal discloses enabling or disabling the at least one RF component based on the monitoring but does not discloses enabling and disabling the at least one RF component based on the monitoring and one or more indications from one or more radio access technologies (RATs) shared within the same or the multiple SIMS.
Shahidi, however, discloses a communications manager powering off a transceiver chain based on the monitoring and one or more indications from one or more radio access technologies (RATs) shared within the same or the multiple SIMS (Par. 85: Lines 1-15; A communications manager requires all RATs (e.g., SIM 122 and SIM 124) vote or agree to powering off the transceiver chain to power off the transceiver chain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Gopal with Shahidi because Gopal already teaches monitoring concurrent operations involving shared RF components in a multi-SIM environment and enabling or disabling the shared RF component based on the monitoring, while Shahidi teaches a conventional decision-making mechanism in which a communications manager enables or disables the shared RF component based on indications (votes) from one or more radio access technologies (RATs). Incorporating Shahidi's RAT-based indication mechanism into Gopal's multi-SIM RF resource management would have been a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions to improve coordination among multiple RATs sharing the same RF component, thereby reducing resource conflicts and ensuring consistent RF component management during concurrent wireless operations.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Gopal discloses wherein the UE performs the monitoring with a common entity that coordinates between the one or more RATs shared within the same SIM or multiple SIMs (Par. 76: Lines 1-10; When the first and second SIM are active concurrently, they both contend for the same RF cross switch. The transceiver management component acts as a common entity to coordinate use of the shared RF component; Par. 69: Lines 32-34; The first SIM and second SIM may operate using different RATs; Table 1 shows different RAT combinations for the SIMs).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2, Gopal discloses wherein the common entity is implemented in software (Par 29. Lines 1-2; Functions described may be implemented in software).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 2, Gopal does not disclose wherein the at least one RF component is disabled when the common entity determines, based on the monitoring, that each of the RATs vote to disable the at least one RF component.
Shahidi, however, discloses wherein the at least one RF component is disabled when the common entity determines (Par. 85: Line 5; Communications manager (i.e. common entity)), based on the monitoring, that each of the RATs has provided a disable indication for the at least one RF component (Par. 85: Lines 8-12; The RF transceiver chain (i.e. RF component) can only be disabled when each RAT votes to disable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Gopal with Shahidi, because Gopal already teaches multi-SIM monitoring and coordination of shared RF components, and Shahidi shows a conventional mechanism where a communications manager disables an RF component only if all RATs vote to disable. Combining these techniques would have been a predictable design choice to ensure consistent coordination and avoid conflicts when multiple RATs share the same RF resources.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 2, Gopal does not disclose wherein the at least one RF component is enabled when the common entity determines, based on the monitoring, that at least one of the RATs vote to enable the at least one RF component.
Shahidi, however, discloses wherein the at least one RF component is enabled when the common entity (Par. 85: Line 5; Communications manager (i.e. common entity)) determines, based on the monitoring, that at least one of the RATs has provided an enable indication for the at least one RF component (Par. 85: Lines 8-12; The RF transceiver chain (i.e. RF component) will not be powered off unless all RATs vote to disable. This means that if at least one RAT votes to keep the chain active, the component remains enabled. Thus, the RF component is enabled when at least one RAT votes to enable, as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Gopal with Shahidi, because Gopal already teaches multi-SIM monitoring and coordination of shared RF components, and Shahidi shows that an RF component remains enabled if at least one RAT votes to keep it active. Combining these teachings would have been a predictable design choice to improve reliability of RF component management by ensuring that shared resources remain available to RATs still requiring them.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Gopal discloses wherein the UE operates with a single SIM in a dual connectivity mode involving a first RAT and a second RAT (Table 1: SIM1 can be shown to be operating in E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (ENDC) mode, in which it concurrently utilizes an LTE RAT and an NR RAT).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 6, Gopal discloses wherein the dual connectivity mode corresponds to an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) new radio (NR) – dual connectivity (ENDC) mode (Table 1: SIM1 can be shown to be operating in E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (ENDC) mode, in which it concurrently utilizes an LTE RAT and an NR RAT).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 6, Gopal discloses wherein: the first RAT comprises a new radio (NR) RAT; and the second RAT comprises a long term evolution (LTE) RAT (Table 1: SIM1 can be shown to be operating in E-UTRA-NR Dual Connectivity (ENDC) mode, in which it concurrently utilizes an LTE RAT and an NR RAT).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1, Gopal discloses wherein the UE operates with the multiple SIMs in a dual-SIM dual active (DSDA) or dual-SIM dual standby (DSDS) mode (Par. 82: Lines 3-8; Transceiver management component determines if SIM is in dual SIM dual standby (DR-DSDS) mode).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1, Gopal discloses wherein the at least one RF component comprises a low noise amplifier (LNA), an antenna switch module (ASM), or a cross switch (Par. 71: Lines 9-11; Cross-switch (i.e. RF component) is shared).
Regarding claim 14, Gopal discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one or more processors and memories configured to (A UE capable of performing the stated functions necessarily includes one or more processors and memories):
The remaining limitations were addressed in the rejection of claim 1. Therefore, the remaining limitations of claim 14 are addressed.
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 14, the rejection of claim 2 addresses the limitations presented in claim 5. Therefore, the limitations of claim 15 are addressed.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, the rejection of claim 3 addresses the limitations presented in claim 16. Therefore, the limitations of claim 16 are addressed.
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, the rejection of claim 4 addresses the limitations presented in claim 17. Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 are addressed.
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 15, the rejection of claim 5 addresses the limitations presented in claim 18. Therefore, the limitations of claim 18 are addressed.
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 14, the rejection of claim 6 addresses the limitations presented in claim 19. Therefore, the limitations of claim 19 are addressed.
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 19, the rejection of claim 7 addresses the limitations presented in claim 20. Therefore, the limitations of claim 20 are addressed.
Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 19, the rejection of claim 8 addresses the limitations presented in claim 21. Therefore, the limitations of claim 21 are addressed.
Regarding claim 22 as applied to claim 14, the rejection of claim 9 addresses the limitations presented in claim 22. Therefore, the limitations of claim 22 are addressed.
Regarding claim 23 as applied to claim 14, the rejection of claim 10 addresses the limitations presented in claim 23. Therefore, the limitations of claim 23 are addressed.
Claims 11-13,24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopal et al. (US 20210112399, hereinafter Gopal) in view of Shahidi et al. (US 20210360530, hereinafter Shahidi) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20110077031, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1, Gopal in view of Shahidi does not disclose wherein the UE performs the monitoring with a driver control circuit implemented at a RF device level.
Kim, however, discloses wherein the UE performs the monitoring with a driver control circuit implemented at a RF device level (Par. 34: Lines 4; UE has a control unit that manages its RF modules. When one RF module is being used to receive a paging message, the control unit can identify which SIM that paging message belongs to and handle it accordingly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Gopal in view of Shahidi with Kim, because Gopal in view of Shahidi already teaches UE monitoring and resource management in a multi-SIM environment, and Kim shows a conventional way of implementing such monitoring at the RF device level through a driver control circuit. This would improve coordination of shared RF components and reduce latency compared to higher level software control.
Regarding claim 24 as applied to claim 14, the rejection of claim 11 addresses the limitations presented in claim 24. Therefore, the limitations of claim 24 are addressed.
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11, Gopal in view of Shahidi does not disclose wherein the at least one RF component is disabled when the driver control circuit determines, based on the monitoring, that each of multiple RATs has provided a disable indication for the at least one RF component.
Kim, however, discloses a driver control circuit that monitors at least one RF component level (Par. 34: Lines 4; UE has a control unit that manages its RF modules. When one RF module is being used to receive a paging message, the control unit can identify which SIM that paging message belongs to and handle it accordingly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Gopal in view of Shahidi with Kim, because Gopal in view of Shahidi already teaches multi-SIM monitoring and coordination, and Kim shows a driver control circuit that implements the monitoring at the RF device level. Combining these teachings would have been a predictable design choice to implement monitoring at the hardware layer for more direct control of RF resources and to reduce software overhead.
Kim does not disclose at least one RF component being disabled when the driver control circuit determines, based on the monitoring, that each of the multiple radio access technologies (RATs) has provided a disable indication for the at least one RF component.
Shahidi, however, discloses at least one RF component being disabled when a common entity determines (Par. 85: Line 5; Communications manager (i.e. common entity)), based on the monitoring, that each of multiple radio access technologies (RATs) has provided a disable indication for the at least one RF component (Par. 85: Lines 8-12; The RF transceiver chain (i.e. RF component) can only be disabled only when each RAT votes to disable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the driver control circuit that monitors at least one RF component level of Kim, with the ability to disable a RF component by a common entity when each of the RATs vote to disable the at least one RF component of Shahidi. This would ensure consistent and conflict-free shutdown of shared RF components across multiple RATs.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 11, Gopal in view of Shahidi does not disclose wherein the at least one RF component is enabled when the driver control circuit determines, based on monitoring, that at least one of multiple RATs has provided an enable indication for the at least one RF component.
Kim, however, discloses a driver control circuit that monitors at least one RF component level (Par. 34: Lines 4; UE has a control unit that manages its RF modules. When one RF module is being used to receive a paging message, the control unit can identify which SIM that paging message belongs to and handle it accordingly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Gopal in view of Shahidi with Kim, because Gopal in view of Shahidi already teaches multi-SIM monitoring and coordination, and Kim shows a driver control circuit that implements the monitoring at the RF device level. Combining these teachings would have been a predictable design choice to implement monitoring at the hardware layer for more direct control of RF resources and to reduce software overhead.
Kim does not disclose at least one RF component being enabled when the driver control circuit determines, based on the monitoring, that at least one of the multiple radio access technologies (RATs) has provided an enable indication for the at least one RF component.
Shahidi, however, discloses at least one RF component being enabled when a common entity determines (Par. 85: Line 5; Communications manager (i.e. common entity)), based on the monitoring, that at least one of multiple radio access technologies (RATs) has provided an enable indication for the at least one RF component (Par. 85: Lines 8-12; The RF transceiver chain (i.e. RF component) will not be powered off unless all RATs vote to disable. This means that if at least one RAT votes to keep the chain active, the component remains enabled. Thus, the RF component is enabled when at least one RAT votes to enable, as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the driver control circuit that monitors at least one RF component level of Kim, with the ability to enable a RF component by a common entity when at least one of the RATs vote to enable the at least one RF component of Shahidi. This would ensure that RF components remain available for RATs that still require them, thereby maintaining service continuity and avoiding unnecessary shutdowns.
Regarding claim 25 as applied to claim 24, the rejection of claim 12 addresses the limitations presented in claim 25. Therefore, the limitations of claim 25 are addressed.
Regarding claim 26 as applied to claim 24, the rejection of claim 13 addresses the limitations presented in claim 26. Therefore, the limitations of claim 26 are addressed.
Conclusion
/FABIAN BOTELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648