DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 10/14/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-16 are currently pending. Claims 1, 5, 7, and 9 are currently amended.
Claims 6 and 8 have been cancelled. Claims 15-16 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the drying chamber is not a spin-drying unit) are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0398834 (henceforth referred to as Shen) in view of Kinoshita et al. U.S. Patent 5,158,616 (henceforth referred to as Kinoshita) and Teng CN110112086 (henceforth referred to as Teng).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Shen teaches an all-in-one wafer cleaning machine for monocrystalline silicon production, comprising:
a drying chamber disposed at one side inside the cleaning equipment main body (FIGS. 1 and 2 paragraph [0059] spin-drying unit 5 is disposed at one side inside the cleaning equipment main body);
a plurality of cleaning tanks disposed at the other side inside the cleaning equipment main body (FIGS. 1 and 2 paragraph [0059] cleaning input unit 1,megasonic cleaning unit 2, a scrubbing unit 3, a scrubbing unit 4 are disposed at the other side of the cleaning equipment main body);
a horizontal moving device (FIGS. 1 paragraph [0059] transfer robot 6) disposed at an outer side of the circulation track and capable of performing circulating movement on the circulation track;
a vertical track fixedly disposed at the horizontal moving device (FIGS. 1 and 2 paragraph [0060] vertical movement axis 602 reads on the claimed vertical track);
a lifting device, disposed on outer sides of the plurality of vertical tracks (FIGS. 6-7 paragraph [0084] vertical lifting shaft) capable of lifting and lowering on the vertical tracks; and
a connecting arm, disposed at front ends of the plurality of lifting devices (FIG. 6 paragraph [0084] jaw clamping arm is carried by the vertical lifting shaft), wherein one end of each of the connecting arm is configured to arrange a monocrystalline silicon wafer (FIG. 6 paragraph [0084] jaw clamping arm holds wafer).
Shen differs from the instant claim in failing to teach:
a cleaning equipment main body;
a circulation track, having an annular shape in a closed-loop form and disposed at a rear end of the cleaning equipment main body and fixed to the cleaning equipment main body;
a plurality of horizontal moving devices disposed at an outer side of the circulation track and capable of performing circulating movement on the circulation track;
a plurality of vertical tracks disposed at the plurality of horizontal moving devices respectively in a one-to-one correspondence;
a plurality of lifting devices, disposed on outer sides of the plurality of vertical tracks respectively in a one-to-one correspondence and capable of lifting and lowering on the vertical tracks; and
a plurality of connecting arms, disposed at front ends of the plurality of lifting devices respectively in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein one end of each of the connecting arms is configured to arrange a monocrystalline silicon wafer;
wherein each of the connecting arms is configured to, based on movement of the horizontal moving device on the circulation track, enable the arranged monocrystalline silicon wafer to pass through the plurality of cleaning tanks and the drying chamber in sequence for processing in a manner of being continuously arranged on the connecting arm.
Kinoshita teaches a similar wafer cleaning machine (FIGS. 1 and 2 column 3 line 22 cleaning apparatus). Kinoshita teaches a cleaning equipment main body (FIGS. 1 and 2 column 3 line 27 table 14 reads on the claimed main body).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen with a main body as taught by Kinoshita in order to provide structure to the tanks and contain all of the tanks within a main body to optimize space.
Teng teaches a similar wafer cleaning machine (FIG. 1 paragraph [0031] semiconductor wafer cleaning device). Teng teaches a circulation track, having an annular shape in a closed-loop form and disposed at a rear end of the cleaning equipment main body and fixed to the cleaning equipment main body (paragraph [0032] cam ring rail 15 with annular chain 6 read on the claimed circulation track); a plurality of horizontal moving devices disposed at an outer side of the circulation track and capable of performing circulating movement on the circulation track (FIG. 5 paragraph [0032] gripping systems 16, which read on the horizontal moving devices, are hinged to the outer side of the chain); wherein each of the connecting arms is configured to, based on movement of the horizontal moving device on the circulation track, enable the arranged monocrystalline silicon wafer to pass through the plurality of cleaning tanks in sequence for processing in a manner of being continuously arranged on the connecting arm (paragraph [0032] the gripping system takes the held semiconductor wafer into the cleaning box 14 for cleaning. In figures 5 and 6, the wafers are continuously arranged on the gripping system).
The combination of Shen and Teng would result in the connecting arms holding the monocrystalline silicon wafer to pass through the cleaning tanks and the drying chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen with a circulating track as taught by Teng. It would have been obvious to have the rail be in a closed-loop form in order to increase efficiency for treating semiconductors (paragraph [0004]).
Shen does not teach a plurality of horizontal moving devices, a plurality of vertical tracks, a plurality of lifting devices, and a plurality of connecting arms. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a duplication of parts. It is old and well known in the art to duplicate components to reduce time of a process or operation, for the process or operation to be at least twice as effective with respect to a single device component, due to size/ space design criteria, or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, B. Duplication of Parts.
It is known in the art to use multiple moving devices as illustrated by Teng. It would have been obvious to modify Shen with the plurality of moving devices as taught by Teng in order to treat more wafers during a treatment cycle.
As to claim 2, (Previously Presented) Kinoshita further teaches a base disposed below the cleaning equipment main body (FIG. 2 the bottom portion of casing 12 reads on the claimed base as it is below the table 14).
As to claim 5, (Currently Amended) Shen further teaches each of the vertical tracks is fixedly disposed at a middle of a top of the horizontal moving device (FIGS. 2 and 6 the vertical track is disposed at a middle of the horizontal moving device).
Shen does not teach that the vertical track is at the top of the horizontal moving device. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As to claim 16, (New) Shen and Teng further teach the number of the plurality of horizontal moving devices (Teng FIG. 5 there are multiple gripping systems 16), the plurality of vertical tracks (Shen paragraph [0060] vertical movement axis 602 reads on the claimed vertical track. It would be obvious to duplicate the vertical movement axis to have multiple tracks.), the plurality of lifting devices (Shen FIGS. 6-7 paragraph [0084] vertical lifting shaft. It would be obvious to duplicate the lifting devices to carry more than one wafer), and the plurality of connecting arms (Shen FIG. 6 paragraph [0084] jaw clamping arm is carried by the vertical lifting shaft) all corresponds to the number of the plurality of cleaning tanks (Shen FIGS. 1 and 2 paragraph [0059] cleaning input unit 1, megasonic cleaning unit 2, a scrubbing unit 3, a scrubbing unit 4 are disposed at the other side of the cleaning equipment main body).
It would have been obvious to have the same amount of moving devices, vertical tracks, lifting devices and connecting arms that corresponds to the plurality of cleaning tanks as it ensures efficient treatment by treating the maximum of amount of wafers without overcrowding the treatment space.
Claims 3 and 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0398834 (henceforth referred to as Shen), Kinoshita et al. U.S. Patent 5,158,616 (henceforth referred to as Kinoshita), and Teng CN110112086 (henceforth referred to as Teng) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Tepman et al. U.S. Patent 6,298,685 (henceforth referred to as Tepman).
As to claim 3, (Previously Presented) Shen, Kinoshita, and Teng differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a surface of the circulation track is a tooth-like structure.
Tepman teaches a similar wafer cleaning machine (Column 3 lines 16-17 a system for processing substrates). Tepman teaches a surface of the circulation track is a tooth-like structure (FIG. 12 column 9 lines 52-53 toothed racks 260 and 262 with teeth 268 and 270, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen, Kinoshita and Teng with a tooth-like structure on the track as taught by Tepman. It is known in the art to have teeth on the track in order for a wheel/gear to engage with the track so that the wafer carrier can move along the length of the toothed track.
As to claim 7, (Currently Amended) Tepman teaches: each of the horizontal moving devices comprises:
a second motor (FIG. 10 column 8 line 61 motor 242) fixedly disposed at one end inside the lifting device;
a second transmission gear (FIG. 10 column 9 line 1 pinion 128) disposed at an output end of the second motor;
a third fixed rod fixedly disposed at the other end inside the lifting device (FIG. 10 column 8 line 63 drive shaft assembly 244); and
a second fixed gear disposed at one end of the third fixed rod (FIG. 10 column 9 lines 3-4 first guide roller 126, which reads on the second fixed gear, is coupled to the drive shaft assembly 244), wherein the second transmission gear and the second fixed gear are engaged with the vertical track (column 5 lines 63-67 each track comprises a plurality of guide rollers 126 and pinion gears 128).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0398834 (henceforth referred to as Shen), Kinoshita et al. U.S. Patent 5,158,616 (henceforth referred to as Kinoshita), and Teng CN110112086 (henceforth referred to as Teng) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ohmori et al. DE4332857 (henceforth referred to as Ohmori).
As to claim 4, (Previously Presented) Shen, Kinoshita, and Teng differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the circulation track is fixed to the cleaning equipment main body through a second fixing rod.
Ohmori teaches a similar wafer cleaning machine (FIG. 90 paragraph [0002] semiconductor cleaning apparatus). Ohmori teaches the circulation track is fixed to the cleaning equipment main body through a second fixing rod (FIG. 93 shows a rod that fixes a track 19d to the main body).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen, Kinoshita and Teng with a rod as taught by Ohmori so that the track can be stabilized within the main body.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0398834 (henceforth referred to as Shen), Kinoshita et al. U.S. Patent 5,158,616 (henceforth referred to as Kinoshita), and Teng CN110112086 (henceforth referred to as Teng) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yin et al. CN113345821 (henceforth referred to as Yin).
As to claim 9, (Currently Amended) Shen, Kinoshita, and Teng differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a first sliding groove formed at one end of the monocrystalline silicon wafer; and a second sliding groove formed at one end of each of the connecting arms, wherein the first sliding groove is inserted and matched with the second sliding groove.
Yin teaches a similar wafer cleaning machine (paragraph [n0036] a wafer cleaning mechanism). Yin teaches a first sliding groove (FIG. 2 paragraph [n0035] small positioning groove 11 on the edge of wafer 1) formed at one end of the monocrystalline silicon wafer; and a second sliding groove formed at one end of the connecting arm (FIGS. 7-9 paragraph [n0038] groove 31 is formed at the end of the robot 7), wherein the first sliding groove is inserted and matched with the second sliding groove (the groove 31 can be matched with the positioning groove 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen, Kinoshita and Teng with sliding grooves as taught by Yin in order to position and align the wafer for further processing. It would be obvious that if the connecting arms were duplicated, it would also share the same structure of having a sliding groove.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0398834 (henceforth referred to as Shen), Kinoshita et al. U.S. Patent 5,158,616 (henceforth referred to as Kinoshita), and Teng CN110112086 (henceforth referred to as Teng) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Nakatsukasa et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0035182 (henceforth referred to as Nakatsukasa).
As to claim 10, (Previously Presented) Shen, Kinoshita, and Teng differ from the instant claim in failing to teach an ultrasonic vibrator an ultrasonic vibrator disposed at each of the cleaning tanks.
Nakatsukasa teaches a similar wafer cleaning machine (FIGS. 2 and 8B, paragraph [0051] substrate treatment apparatus 10). Nakatsukasa teaches an ultrasonic vibrator disposed at the cleaning tank (FIG. 8B paragraph [0079] ultrasonic generating device 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen, Kinoshita and Teng with an ultrasonic vibrator as taught by Nakatsukasa as an ultrasonic vibrator can apply a physical treatment that can aid in the processing of a substrate (paragraph [0034]). It would have been obvious to add an ultrasonic vibrator to each tank in order to aid in the processing of a substrate.
As to claim 11, (Previously Presented) Nakatsukasa further teaches the ultrasonic vibrator is disposed at a middle of a bottom of each of the cleaning tanks (FIG. 8B paragraph [0077] an ultrasonic generating device 30 is mounted in the bottom part of the treatment bath).
As to claim 12, (Previously Presented) Nakatsukasa further teaches a water inlet (paragraphs [0108] and [0109] pure water DIW is supplied to the inner bath 12 of the treatment bath 11 via nozzles 14a to 14c) and a water outlet (FIG. 8B shows a drain for DIW) respectively formed at an upper end and a lower end in a front surface of each of the cleaning tanks (FIG. 8B shows inlet nozzles formed at an upper end and a water outlet at a lower end of the tank).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen, Kinoshita and Teng with a water inlet and outlet in order to supply the tank with clean water and to drain the dirtied water throughout a processing cycle of a substrate.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0398834 (henceforth referred to as Shen), Kinoshita et al. U.S. Patent 5,158,616 (henceforth referred to as Kinoshita), and Teng CN110112086 (henceforth referred to as Teng) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of He et al. CN113257682 (henceforth referred to as He).
As to claim 13, (Previously Presented) Shin, Kinoshita, and Teng differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a fan disposed at one end of the drying chamber.
He teaches a similar wafer cleaning machine (FIG. 1 paragraph [n0019] packaging substrate processing and production equipment). He teaches a fan (FIG. 8 paragraph [n0036] fan 82) at one end of the drying chamber (FIG. 8 the fan is at an end of a drying chamber 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen, Kinoshita and Teng with a fan as taught by He in order to aid in the drying of a substrate.
As to claim 14, (Previously Presented) He further teaches a heating wire disposed at one end of the fan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen, Kinoshita and Teng with a heating wire as taught by He as the heating wire can heat the air supplied by the fan and aid in the drying of an electronic component.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0398834 (henceforth referred to as Shen), Kinoshita et al. U.S. Patent 5,158,616 (henceforth referred to as Kinoshita), and Teng CN110112086 (henceforth referred to as Teng) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Han et al. KR101262836 (henceforth referred to as Han).
As to claim 15, (New) Shen, Kinoshita, and Teng differ from the instant claim in failing to teach each of the lifting devices comprises: a first motor fixedly installed at one end inside each of the horizontal moving devices; a first transmission gear disposed at an output end of the first motor; a first fixed rod fixedly disposed at the other end of each of the horizontal moving devices; a first fixed gear disposed at one end of the first fixed rod, wherein the first transmission gear and the first fixed gear are engaged with the circulating track.
Han teaches a similar conveying system (FIG. 12 paragraph [0079] substrate supply and movement device 200). Han teaches a first motor (FIG. 12 paragraph [0073] first rotation motor 241) fixedly installed at one end inside the horizontal moving device; a first transmission gear disposed at an output end of the first motor (paragraph [0074] wheel 242 is connected to the shaft 241a of the first rotary motor); a first fixed rod (paragraph [0076] shaft 247a of a fixed bracket) fixedly disposed at the other end of the horizontal moving device; and a first fixed gear (FIG. 12 paragraph [0076] roller 245 reads on the claimed first fixed gear) disposed at one end of the first fixed rod, wherein the first transmission gear and the first fixed gear are engaged with the circulating track (FIG. 12 wheels 424 and rotating member 247 are engaged with a rope 243 that reads on the claimed track).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wafer cleaning machine as taught by Shen, Kinoshita, and Teng with the motor and gears as taught by Han. It is known in the belt pulley art to have gears/wheels to engage with a rope in order to facilitate movement (paragraph [0074]). If the lifting devices were duplicated, it would have been obvious that each system has the same motor and gears.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711