Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 3/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
See Table 1, p. 23
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The preamble of claim 1 recites an “isothermal” amplification method, but the body of the claim does not make any requirement that the reaction be isothermal. Therefore it is unclear if the method must be isothermal.
Regarding claims 1-9, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). See claim 1, preamble line 2, part (a), part (b), part (d) and claims 2, 5, 6, and 8. Any claim not enumerated is indefinite by virtue of dependency on claim 1.
Claim 1 part (a) fails to set forth any required method step. It recites “one single stranded binding protein” and “one…target specific sequence primer(s)” and “one DNA polymerase” but it does not recite any verb in association with these elements, and so it is not clear how they are incorporated into the claimed method. The claim has been interpreted as if the step recites “providing” the protein and primer, similar to part (b) of the claim.
In claim 1(e) the phrase “the at least one amplified target” lacks proper antecedent basis because the claim neither previously recites nor requires an amplified target.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunze et al. (Anal. Chem. 2016, 88, 898−905).
All elements in the claims that are modified by “preferably” or “optionally” are interpreted as elements that are not required and therefore these elements are not addressed in this rejection.
The reference teaches a method comprising providing a single stranded binding protein (SSBP), two target sequence specific primers, and at least one DNA polymerase (p. 900, the TwistAMP basic kit inherently includes a polymerase and SSBP; See also Figure 2).
The reference teaches providing a biological sample to be analyzed for the presence of the at least one target sequences (p. 903, amplification of waterborne pathogens).
The reference teaches initiating the amplification reaction by adding at least one starting reagent (p. 901, first column).
The reference teaches obtaining at least one amplified target (Figure 5, for example).
The reference teaches providing bacterial target sequence which is a double stranded DNA nucleic acid sequence (p. 903, amplification of waterborne pathogens).
The reference teaches the method is conducted at 39 C. See Figure 5.
The reference teaches forward and reverse primers that are target specific and are provided in different concentrations. See Table 1 and p. 901 first column.
The reference teaches biotin labeled primers, see Figure 2. Biotin is an indirectly detectable moiety.
The reference teaches using an SSBP that is a functional analogue of RB69 insofar as the protein used in the reference, like RB69 has SSBP activity.
Therefore, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunze et al. in view of Dobnik et al. (J. Agric. Food Chem. 2014, 62, 2989−2996).
The teachings of Kunze et al. as they apply to claims 1 and 3 from which these claims depend are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Kunze et al. does not teach providing at least one reverse transcriptase, or providing DNA and RNA as target sequences.
Dobnick also teaches isothermal amplification. Dobnik teaches that the genome of pathogens is made of DNA or RNA and therefore tools that identify both types of targets are ideal (Abstract). The reference teaches a sequence-based amplification wherein both types of targets (DNA and RNA) are provided along with a reverse transcriptase to prepare targets for subsequent amplification (p. 2990).
It would have been obvious to have modified the method taught by Kunze et al. so as to have provided samples with DNA and RNA templates, and a reverse transcriptase, as taught by Dobnik et al. One would have been motivated to do so because Dobnic teaches that the ideal nucleic acid test would be configured to detect both types of targets since pathogens have DNA or RNA.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunze et al. in view of WO 2005/118853 (Pipenburg).
The teachings of Kunze et al. as they apply to claims 1 from which this claim depends are given previously in this Office action and are fully incorporated here.
Kunze et al. does not teach wherein any of the proteins or enzymes used comprise at least one tag and/or label.
Pipenburg teaches SSBP for RPA reactions that have His peptide tags at the N or C termini (p. 64). The reference teaches that the gp32(N) functions at lest as well as the E. coli SSBP (p. 65). The reference teaches differently tagged gp32 molecules have differences in quantity of product, namely that gp2(N) and gp32(C)R4T produce more product than “more cooperative” gp32 variants.
It would have been obvious to have used the tagged SSBP taught by Pipenburg in an effort to increase quantity of product in the RPA reaction taught by Kunze.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18248903 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate the instant claims.
All elements in the claims that are modified by “preferably” or “optionally” are interpreted as elements that are not required and therefore these elements are not addressed in this rejection.
The reference claims teach a method comprising providing a single stranded binding protein (SSBP), two target sequence specific primers, and at least one DNA polymerase (See at least reference claim 1).
The reference claims teach providing a biological sample to be analyzed for the presence of the at least one target sequences (See at least reference claim 1).
The reference claims teach initiating the amplification reaction by adding at least one starting reagent (See at least reference claim 1).
The reference claims teach obtaining at least one amplified target (See at least reference claim 1).
The reference claims teach providing a reverse transcriptase (see claim 1).
The reference teaches target sequence which is a double stranded DNA nucleic acid sequence, and the reference claims teach providing DNA and RNA nucleic acid sequence target (reference claim 9).
The reference claims teach the method is conducted at 40-55 C. See reference claim 10.
The reference claims teach forward and reverse primers that are target specific and provided at different amounts or concentrations. See claim 6.
The reference claims teach labeled primers, claim 7.
The reference claims teach using an SSBP that is a functional analogue of RB69 insofar as the protein used in the reference, like RB69 has SSBP activity (claim 1 and claim 8).
Therefore, the claims are anticipated by the reference claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Juliet Switzer
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1682
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682