DETAILED ACTION
All previous objections and rejections not reiterated herein were overcome by claim amendments and arguments, filed May 28th, 2026, have been fully considered and found persuasive. As such all objections and rejections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 19, and 21 – 22 are currently pending in the application. However, due to a restriction requirement, claims 4, 6, 8 – 19, and 21 – 22 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Hence claims 1 – 2, 5, and 7 are being examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spain Patent Application ES 518427 A1 to Saleta et. al. (herein after Saleta’427; cited IDS dated April 14th, 2025).
Regarding claims 1 – 2, and 5, Saleta’427 teach compound 13 of the structure
(claims 1 – 2, and 5) (page 3 Table III Entry 13) that was prepared from recrystallization from ethyl acetate (page 5 line 1). Moreover, Saleta’427 teach compounds of this disclosure as potential therapeutics (page 2 lines 1 – 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spain Patent Application ES 518427 A1 to Saleta et. al. (herein after Saleta’427; cited IDS dated April 14th, 2025) as applied to claims 1 – 2, and 5 above, and further in view of Danish et. al. ((2016), Various Techniques of Bioavailability enhancement: A review, Journal pf Drug Delivery and Therapeutics, 6, 34 – 41; cited in Office Action dated March 9th, 2026).
The teaching of Saleta’427 as they relate to claims 1, from which claim 7 depend, is given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
While, the prior art of Saleta’427 does teach that the compounds of the disclosure are potential therapeutics, the prior art does not to explicitly teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising prior art compound 13 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 7).
Nevertheless, Danish et. al. teach that bioavailability is one of the important pharmacokinetic properties of drugs which are used to describe the fraction of an administered dose of unchanged drug that reaches the systemic circulation (page 34 column 1 paragraph 1). Additionally, Danish et. al. teach that if the drug is administered through other routes (such as oral), its bioavailability decreases because of incomplete absorption or first pass metabolism (page 34 column 1 paragraph 1). Moreover, Danish et. al. teach that the therapeutic efficacy of a drug depends upon the ability of the dosage form to deliver the active drug to the site of action at a rate and amount which is sufficient to show the desired pharmacological response (page 34 column 1 paragraph 2). Furthermore, Danish et. al. teach that the oral route is the most suitable and commonly used route of drug delivery due to its ease of administration, high patient compliance, cost-effectiveness, no sterility issues and flexibility in the design of dosage form (page 34 column 2 paragraph 2).
Danish et. al. teach that the solubility of a poorly water soluble drug can be increased by the addition of a water miscible solvent in which the drug has good solubility known as cosolvents which is one of the most widely used techniques due to its simplicity (page 35 column 2 paragraph 5). Moreover, Danish et. al. teach that examples of solvents used in co-solvent mixtures are PEG 300, propylene glycol or ethanol (page 35 column 2 paragraph 6). Furthermore, Danish et. al. teach that co-solvent formulations of poorly soluble drugs can be administered orally and parentally (page 35 column 2 paragraph 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the invention of Saleta’427, in view of Danish et. al. that is for a pharmaceutical composition comprising a co-solvent such as PEG300,propylene glycol or ethanol for a pharmaceutical composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to orally administer the compound. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the addition of a co-solvent is a widely used technique which is simple.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 28th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 has been amended to include the limitation, wherein the compound or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof binds to an interface of a SARS-Co V-1 or SARS-Co V-2 spike protein receptor binding domain (RBD) and a host cell ACE-2 receptor.” See Applicant’s arguments page 12 paragraph 4. As such, applicant argues that the prior art rejection should be withdrawn since the prior art of record does not teach the newly added limitation. See Applicant’s arguments page 13 paragraphs 1 – 2.
The examiner contends that the inclusion of the above limitation fails to overcome the obvious rejection in view of Saleta’427. Specifically, Saleta’427 taught compound 13 of the structure
which in a compound species that anticipates all of the structural features recited in claims 1 – 2, and 5 that would contribute to this compounds pharmaceutical properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Furthermore, "products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. See MPEP 2112.01(II). Thus, since prior art compound 13 is identical to species elected by applicant and recites in claims 1 – 2, and 5. Prior art compound 13 would inherently be able to bind to an interface of a SARS-Co V-1 or SARS-Co V-2 spike protein receptor binding domain (RBD) and a host cell ACE-2 receptor.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 2, 5, and 7 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682