DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2024, 09/12/2023 and 09/01/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-038897, filed on 03/11/2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-2, 17, 20-22 and 30) in the reply filed on 12/09/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Applicant hereby traverses the restriction requirement, at least on the grounds that examination of all of the identified inventions and all of the pending claims would not result in a serious search and/or examination burden.”. This is not found persuasive because the figures show mutually exclusive subject matter which would require search and consideration in several different subclasses with HO1Q and H10F each containing thousands of references. The prior art applicable to one invention (embodiment) would not likely be applicable to another invention (embodiment) which creates in a serious search and/or examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 17 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al [US 2021/0376453 A1]
In regards to claims 1. Han discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 4), comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 4, 440);
a millimeter wave (Paragraph [0004-5]) antenna (Fig. 4, 510) provided on the substrate (Fig. 4, 440); and an image sensor (Fig. 4, 491) provided on the substrate (Fig. 4, 440),
Han does not specify wherein an antenna surface of the millimeter wave antenna and a light receiving surface of the image sensor are disposed at spatially partitioned positions.
Han discloses wherein an antenna surface of the millimeter wave antenna (Fig. 9b, 512) and a light receiving surface of the image sensor (Fig. 9b, 491) are disposed at spatially partitioned positions (Fig. 9b, S).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made modify Han with an antenna surface of the millimeter wave antenna and a light receiving surface of the image sensor are disposed at spatially partitioned positions for purpose of secures the first support frame and the support frame, and the first support frame may radiate the heat generating from the first antenna module through this heat transfer as disclosed by Han (Paragraph [0175]).
In regards to claims 2. Van Zeijl discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the antenna surface (Fig. 4, 510) is disposed at a position further away from the substrate (Fig. 4, bottom of 440) than the image sensor (Fig. 4, 491) in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (Fig. 4, bottom of 440).
In regards to claims 17. Van Zeijl discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein an analog or digital power supply (Fig. 4, 460) provided on the substrate (Fig. 4, 400) functions as a power supply for image sensor (Fig. 4, 491) and a power supply (Fig. 5, PMIC) for millimeter wave radar (Paragraph [0004-5]).
In regards to claims 30. Van Zeijl discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1,100) including a semiconductor device (Fig. 4, 400), wherein the semiconductor device (Fig. 4, 400) comprises a substrate (Fig. 4, 440),
a millimeter wave (Paragraph [0004-5]) antenna (Fig. 4, 510) provided on the substrate (Fig. 4, 440); and an image sensor (Fig. 4, 491) provided on the substrate (Fig. 4, 440),
Han does not specify wherein an antenna surface of the millimeter wave antenna and a light receiving surface of the image sensor are disposed at spatially partitioned positions.
Han discloses wherein an antenna surface of the millimeter wave antenna (Fig. 9b, 512) and a light receiving surface of the image sensor (Fig. 9b, 491) are disposed at spatially partitioned positions (Fig. 9b, S).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made modify Han with an antenna surface of the millimeter wave antenna and a light receiving surface of the image sensor are disposed at spatially partitioned positions for purpose of secures the first support frame and the support frame, and the first support frame may radiate the heat generating from the first antenna module through this heat transfer as disclosed by Han (Paragraph [0175]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
“wherein a module that is provided with the millimeter wave antenna and generates an analog signal, and a bottom-raising substrate that is disposed between the substrate and the module and has a plurality of through holes formed therein are further comprised, and each of a plurality of the through holes is a through hole for transmission of an input signal to the module, for transmission of an output signal from the module, or for power supply.” as shown in claim 20.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844