DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 2 060 096.
GB ‘096 disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a brake disc for a railway vehicle, comprising: a disc body 7 that has a front surface 19 and a back surface, the disc body being an annular disc; and a plurality of fins (all or some of fins 30) that are radially disposed on the back surface, at least one of the fins having a bolt hole 21 at a central portion of the fin in a radial direction of the disc body, wherein the disc body includes an inner circumferential portion that is positioned inward from the bolt hole in the radial direction and decreases in thickness as the inner circumferential portion extends inward in the radial direction, and the fins each include: a top surface that extends in the radial direction; and a convex portion that, as viewed in a section of the brake disc cut in the radial direction, protrudes inward in the radial direction from an imaginary plane passing an end portion of the top surface and an inner circumferential edge of the back surface, the end portion being one of both end portions of the top surface, whichever is positioned inward in the radial direction. Note the annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 5, a length of the fin having the bolt hole in the radial direction is denoted by L0, and a length of the inner circumferential portion in the radial direction is denoted by L1, and L1/L0 is ¼ or less. Note the inner circumferential portion is significantly less the 1/4 the fin length.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the disc body further includes a plurality of projections (others of fins 30, or projections 34) on the back surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 8-9, and 11-12 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2 060 096.
Regarding claims 3-4, GB ‘096 further discloses that the inner circumferential portion has a tapered and curved surface that constitutes a part of the back surface and decreases in diameter as the surface extends toward the front side, and as viewed in a section of the brake disc cut in the radial direction, but lack an angle formed by the tapered surface with the front surface is 25° or more to 45° or less (claim 14) or an angle formed by a tangential line of the curved surface with the front surface is 25° or more to 45° or less, the tangential line having a largest gradient with respect to the front surface of tangential lines of the curved surface (claim 15). The angles of GB ‘096 appear to be very close to 45 degrees, however, specific angles are not disclosed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the optimum angle of the inner circumferential portion of GB ‘096 through routine design and/or experimentation to provide optimum air flow while ensuring adequate strength. Also note MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 8-9, a length of the fin having the bolt hole in the radial direction is denoted by L0, and a length of the inner circumferential portion in the radial direction is denoted by L1, and L1/L0 is ¼ or less. Note the inner circumferential portion is significantly less the 1/4 the fin length.
Regarding claims 11-12, the disc body further includes a plurality of projections (others of fins 30, or projections 34) on the back surface.
Claims 2, 7, 10, and 14-19 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2 060 096 in view of Nogami et al (US# 2015/0247541).
Regarding claim 2, GB ‘096 discloses all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the fins having the bolt hole including grooves that are disposed outward and inward from the bolt hole in the radial direction and traverse the fin. Nogami et al disclose a similar brake disc and further teach grooves 5a/5b that are disposed outward and inward from a bolt hole 4 in the radial direction and traverse the fin. Figures 4a-c. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include grooves such as taught by Nogami et al, in the fins of GB ‘096 to improve cooling performance and durability of the brake disc. [0046][0047] of Nogami et al.
Regarding claim 7, a length of the fin having the bolt hole in the radial direction is denoted by L0, and a length of the inner circumferential portion in the radial direction is denoted by L1, and L1/L0 is ¼ or less. Note the inner circumferential portion is significantly less the 1/4 the fin length.
Regarding claim 10, the disc body further includes a plurality of projections (others of fins 30, or projections 34) on the back surface.
Regarding claims 14-15, GB ‘096 further discloses that the inner circumferential portion has a tapered and curved surface that constitutes a part of the back surface and decreases in diameter as the surface extends toward the front side, and as viewed in a section of the brake disc cut in the radial direction, but lack an angle formed by the tapered surface with the front surface is 25° or more to 45° or less (claim 14) or an angle formed by a tangential line of the curved surface with the front surface is 25° or more to 45° or less, the tangential line having a largest gradient with respect to the front surface of tangential lines of the curved surface (claim 15). The angles of GB ‘096 appear to be very close to 45 degrees, however, specific angles are not disclosed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the optimum angle of the inner circumferential portion of GB ‘096 through routine design and/or experimentation to provide optimum air flow while ensuring adequate strength. Also note MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 16-17, a length of the fin having the bolt hole in the radial direction is denoted by L0, and a length of the inner circumferential portion in the radial direction is denoted by L1, and L1/L0 is ¼ or less. Note the inner circumferential portion is significantly less the 1/4 the fin length.
Regarding claims 18-19, the disc body further includes a plurality of projections (others of fins 30, or projections 34) on the back surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “amended claim 1 describes that the disk body of the present invention is a one-piece (undivided) annular disk” and that the brake discs of GB ‘096 are formed by two half rings. It is noted that the specific claim language is “the disc body being an annular disc” which is broader than “a one-piece (undivided) annular disk”. GP ‘096 specifically discloses “an annular brake disc (6,7) formed by two half rings” (Abstract). It is maintained that the annular brake disc 6/7 of GB ‘096 is readable on the recited “disc body being an annular disc” and that the claim language does not preclude the annular disc from being formed by two half rings.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK