DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 18/548,678
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims of 2 April 2024.
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 14-15, 18-19, 21-25, 32-35, and 37 are currently pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed patent applications PCT/US2022/018663 (filed 3 March 2022) and 63/156,179 (filed 3 March 2021) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) received on 2 April 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application for the following reasons: Figures 8G and 14O are labeled with some variation of “Fig. 8G” and “Fig. 8G (cont.)”. Title 37 CFR § 1.84(u)(1) states that partial views “must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter”. Applicant may choose to relabel panels that continue onto another page with their own letter, for example, relabeling “Fig. 8G (cont.)” as “Fig. 8H”.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The description of Fig. 7K in the specification mentions a green color, but no color is present within the drawings. Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 45 of the specification contains two sequences both labeled as “SEQ ID NO. 12”. It appears that “SEQ ID NO. 13” was mislabeled as “12”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 33 recites “wherein the GPX4 expression levels are determined”; however, there is only one GPX4 expression level described as being “determined” in the parent claim 19. Applicant may choose to amend the quoted phrase “wherein the GPX4 expression levels are determined” to read “wherein the GPX4 expression level is determined”. Also, the word “level”, which is currently the final word in this claim, should be plural to conform to standard English grammar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 34 recites “GPX4 expression levels… are”; however, there is only one GPX4 expression level described as being “determined” in the parent claim 19. Applicant may choose to amend the quoted phrase “GPX4 expression level… is” to read “GPX4 expression level… is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 15, 19, 21-25, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the cancer is a tumor” and then later on, the claim allows for the following construction “the tumor is a carcinoma; (b) the cancer is relapsed… and… the cancer is… T acute lymphoblastic leukemia”. It is unclear how all of these limitations can be true simultaneously. This renders claim 3 indefinite. Applicant may choose to replace the phrase “and/or” within this claim with “or”.
Claim 15 allows for the following construction “the ferroptosis inducer is a class I ferroptosis inducer… (b) the ferroptosis inducer is… sulfasalazine… and… (c) the ferroptosis inducer is… sorafenib tosylate”. It is unclear how all of these limitations can be true simultaneously. This renders claim 15 indefinite. Applicant may choose to replace the phrase “and/or” within this claim with “or”.
Claim 19, sections (b) and (c), and claim 24, sections (a) and (b), each recite “as compared to relative GPX4 expression level in a control sample”. The definition of the “relative GPX4 expression level in a control sample” not known. The expression level of GPX4 in the cancer sample is said to be low or high, relative to the GPX4 expression level in a control sample, but the expression level within the control sample alone is also being referred to as “relative”. This renders claims 19, 21-25, and 32-34 indefinite. Applicant may choose to replace the word “relative” where indicated above with the word “a” or “the” where appropriate.
Claim 19, section (c), recites “a control sample”; however, “a control sample” has already been established within section (b) of the same claim. This renders claims 19, 21-23, and 32-34 indefinite, because it is not clear if this is the same control sample referred to above or a different control sample. Applicant may choose to amend the phrase “a control sample” within section (c) to “the control sample”.
Claim 21 depends upon claim 19 and recites “a low expression level of GPX4”. This renders claim 21 indefinite, because it is not clear whether this refers to the same low expression level of GPX4 described in section (b) of claim 19. Applicant may choose to amend the phrase “a low expression level of GPX4” within claim 21 to “the low expression level of GPX4”.
Claim 22 depends upon claim 19 and recites “a high expression level of GPX4”. This renders claim 22 indefinite, because it is not clear whether this refers to the same high expression level of GPX4 described in section (c) of claim 19. Applicant may choose to amend the phrase “a high expression level of GPX4” within claim 22 to “the high expression level of GPX4”.
Claim 23 depends upon claim 19 and recites “a cancer sample from the subject”. This renders claim 23 indefinite, because it is not clear whether this refers to the same cancer sample described in the parent claim 19. Applicant may choose to cancel claim 23, because, even if the phrase “a cancer sample from the subject” within claim 23 was amended to “the cancer sample from the subject”, it would still be unclear to the reader if “analyzing the cancer sample for the GPX4 expression level” (in claim 23) is somehow different from “determining… the expression level of… GPX4” in the cancer sample (in claim 19).
Claim 24, sections (a) and (b), each recite “a control sample”; however, “a control sample” has already been established within the first portion of the same claim. This renders claims 24-25 indefinite, because it is not clear if this is the same control sample referred to above or a different control sample. Applicant may choose to amend the phrase “a control sample” within sections (a) and (b) to “the control sample”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 14-15, 18-19, 21-25, 32-35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
KUMAR (WO 2020/242773 A1, International Publication Date 3 December 2020)
in view of:
YANG (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 2 April 2024, Yang, W.S.; SriRamaratnam, R.; Welsch, M.E.; et al. “Regulation of Ferroptotic Cancer Cell Death by GPX4” Cell 156, 317–331, January 16, 2014).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7-9: KUMAR generally teaches the use of a DHODH inhibitor to treat cancer through a process described as causing differentiation of myeloid-derived suppressor cells (abstract). KUMAR specifically teaches a method of treating cancer in a subject through the administration of brequinar, being a DHODH inhibitor (claims 12 and 13). KUMAR teaches that this method can be used for the treatment of renal cell carcinoma (claim 15).
Instant claim 1 contains a limitation that states the method is to be used “wherein the cancer has an altered glutathione peroxidase 4 (GPX4) expression as compared to a control sample”. KUMAR teaches the administration of brequinar, a DHODH inhibitor, for the treatment of renal cell carcinoma, and does not mention GPX4 expression. One of ordinary skill in the art would have read the teachings of KUMAR and would have, without any specific teaching regarding GPX4, thought it obvious to apply the method of KUMAR to renal cell carcinoma with all expression levels of GPX4. YANG teaches determination of GPX4 expression within renal cell carcinoma cells using western blotting (Pg. 328, Right Col.), so the concept of altered GPX4 expression levels in the cancer type discussed by KUMAR was known in the literature before the publication of KUMAR.
By way of analogy, a physician familiar with treating all headaches with compound A, upon hearing that headaches have now been classified into as A- and B-type headaches, would not suddenly have found it novel to treat A-type headaches with compound A. However, there are arguments against this logic. For example, if Applicant can show that the high and/or low expression levels of GPX4 are not commonly encountered in a claimed cancer type, this could aid the argument for nonobviousness.
Regarding claims 14-15, 21-23, and 33: KUMAR does not teach the coadministration of a DHODH inhibitor and a ferroptosis inducer.
Figure 4 of YANG teaches that knockdown of GPX4 increased the lethality of (1S, 3R)-RSL3 against HT-1080 cells (a fibrosarcoma cell line). Figure 4 of YANG also teaches that overexpression of GPX4 in the same HT-1080 cell line decreased the anti-cancer lethality of (1S, 3R)-RSL3, although the (1S, 3R)-RSL3 compound was still lethal at a 10-fold higher concentration. YANG teaches that erastin was found to be particularly effective against renal cell carcinoma cell lines (Pg. 328 Right Col., Fig. 7F). YANG teaches that renal cell carcinoma cells were separately treated with erastin and the RSL3 compound, and both compounds increased the presence of reactive oxygen species (Fig. 7 caption Pg. 330), indicating RSL3-induced ferroptotic cell death (Pg. 320, 5th paragraph).
Taken together, YANG teaches that (1S, 3R)-RSL3 was an effective anti-cancer compound for treating cells with either low or high expression of GPX4, and (1S, 3R)-RSL3 was effective against fibrosarcoma cells and renal cell carcinoma cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date, to combine the method of treating renal cell carcinoma in a subject, through administration of the DHODH inhibitor brequinar, (taught by KUMAR) with the anti-renal cell carcinoma compound taught by YANG, being (1S, 3R)-RSL3. The artisan would have expected success in this combination, because both compounds are taught to be effective against the same type of cancer. This is an example of combining equivalent therapeutic agents known to be useful for the same purpose. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 18: KUMAR teaches that the subject of the method therein may be a human (Pg. 10, Ln. 29-31).
Regarding claims 19, 24-25, 32, and 34: YANG teaches determination of the GPX4 expression level, via mRNA and protein concentration, from a sample of cells (Fig. 4A-4B). YANG teaches determination of GPX4 expression within renal cell carcinoma cells using western blotting (Pg. 328, Right Col.). YANG also teaches that overexpression of GPX4 decreases the anti-cancer effect of (1S, 3R)-RSL3 (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the same type of GPX4 expression determination to an intratumoral renal cell carcinoma sample from a patient to determine the expected efficacy of the (1S, 3R)-RSL3 and brequinar combination therapy being applied.
Regarding claim 35: Claim 16 of KUMAR teaches additionally providing the subject with “an agent that inhibits immunosuppression in the subject”.
Regarding claim 37: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the (1S, 3R)-RSL3 and brequinar combination therapy, rendered obvious by KUMAR and YANG, in the form of a single pharmaceutical composition, for the purpose of increasing patient compliance with a dosing regimen.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowable.
/JDMc/Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625