DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed December 4, 2025.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed December 4, 2025, the rejections of claim 23-27 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously presented in the Office Action sent September 4, 2025 have been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed December 4, 2025, the rejections of claim 1-8 and 16-27 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent September 4, 2025 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-8 and 16-27 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 16-18, 21-23, 26, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laib et al. (GB 2447333 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 1, 2023).
With regard to claim 1, Laib et al. discloses a system for generating electrical energy from thermal waste energy and removing thermal waste energy in an aircraft, the system comprising:
an electrical power circuit (see Laib et al. teaching “Electrical devices (not shown), such as dimming windows or wireless structural health monitoring devices, for example, are connected to the energy storing device 50. Alternatively, the electrical devices may be connected directly to the thermoelectric device 45.”; the connected energy storage device and/or connection to the electrical devices, such as dimming windows or wireless structural health monitoring devices, is cited to read on the claimed “electrical power circuit” because it is an electrical circuit functioning to power the cited electrical devices);
at least one thermal management circuit configured to channel a flow of coolant fluid that collects thermal waste energy from one or more thermal energy generating components consuming power from the electrical power circuit of the aircraft (such as depicted in Fig. 6-7, at least one thermal management circuit configured to channel a flow of coolant fluid that collects thermal waste energy from one or more thermal energy generating components consuming power from the electrical power circuit of the aircraft, such as a flow of coolant fluid/air through aircraft cabin 90, vent 85, and the channel between walls 84/86 that collects waste energy from one or more thermal energy generating components, such as the cited electrical devices consuming power from the cited electrical power circuit, within the cabin 90 of the aircraft);
one or more heat exchangers coupled in fluid communication with the at least one thermal management circuit and downstream from the one or more thermal energy generating components (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, one or more heat exchangers 70 coupled in fluid communication with the cited at least one thermal management circuit and downstream from the cited one or more thermal energy generating components), wherein
the one or more heat exchangers are coupled in thermal contact to an exterior skin wall of the aircraft and adapted to transfer thermal energy from the flow of coolant fluid to the exterior skin wall for removal from the at least one thermal management circuit (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, the cited one or more heat exchangers 70 are coupled in thermal contact to an exterior skin wall 86 of the aircraft and adapted to transfer thermal energy from the cited flow of coolant fluid/air to the exterior skin wall 86 for removal from the cited at least one thermal management circuit); and
a thermoelectric generator coupled in electrical communication with the electrical power circuit and configured to convert heat flux between the flow of coolant fluid within the one or more heat exchangers and atmosphere surrounding an outside surface of the exterior skin wall into electrical energy for the electrical power circuit (see Laib et al. teaching “Electrical devices (not shown), such as dimming windows or wireless structural health monitoring devices, for example, are connected to the energy storing device 50. Alternatively, the electrical devices may be connected directly to the thermoelectric device 45.”; as depicted in Fig. 6-7, a thermoelectric generator 66 configured to convert heat flux between the cited flow of coolant fluid/air within the cited one or more heat exchangers 70 and atmosphere surrounding an outside surface of the exterior skin wall 86 into electrical energy for the cited electrical power circuit), wherein the thermoelectric generator comprises
thermoelectric interface material extending between an inside surface of the exterior skin wall and the one or more heat exchangers (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, thermoelectric interface material 66 extending between, physically intermittent, an inside surface of the exterior skin wall 86 and the cited one or more heat exchangers 70).
With regard to claim 4, Laib et al. discloses further comprising
an insulating material layer (88, Fig. 6-7), wherein
the one or more heat exchangers and the thermoelectric generator being disposed between the insulating material layer and the inside surface of the exterior skin wall (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, the cited one or more heat exchangers 70 and the cited thermoelectric generator 66 being disposed between, having a portion physically intermittent, the cited insulating material layer 88 and the cited inside surface of the exterior skin wall 86).
With regard to claim 5, Laib et al. discloses wherein
the exterior skin wall of the aircraft is a leading surface of one or more control or propulsion surfaces of the aircraft (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, the exterior skin wall 86 of the aircraft is cited to read on the claimed “is a leading surface of one or more control or propulsion surfaces of the aircraft” because it is a leading, first outermost, surface of a propulsion surface of the aircraft as the cited surface propels through the outside environment).
With regard to claim 6, Laib et al. discloses wherein the thermoelectric generator further comprises
a thermoelectric module formed by the thermoelectric interface material and adapted to directly generate the electrical energy from the heat flux within the thermoelectric interface material (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, a thermoelectric module formed 66 by the cited thermoelectric interface material and adapted to directly generate the electrical energy from the heat flux within the cited thermoelectric interface material),
the thermoelectric module coupled to an electrical power circuit of the aircraft (see Laib et al. teaching cited thermoelectric module “may be connected to any of a variety of electronic components of the aircraft”).
With regard to claim 7, Laib et al. discloses wherein
the thermoelectric module is coupled to the electrical power circuit via integrated or printed electronic wiring (see Laib et al. teaching cited thermoelectric module “may be connected to any of a variety of electronic components of the aircraft” which is cited to read on the claimed “integrated electronic wiring” because it necessarily includes wiring which integrates the thermoelectric module to the variety of electronic components of the aircraft).
With regard to claim 16, Laib et al. discloses wherein the at least one thermal management circuit comprises
tubing for the flow of coolant fluid (such as depicted in Fig. 6-7, tubing between walls 84/86), and wherein
at least a portion of the tubing between the one or more thermal energy generating components and the one or more heat exchangers is routed along at least a portion of one or more of a ducted shroud, a pylon, and a wing of the aircraft and thermally coupled thereto (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, at least a portion of the cited tubing between the cited one or more thermal energy generating components in cabin 90 and the cited one or more heat exchangers 70 is routed along at least a portion of one or more of a ducted shroud at 85).
With regard to claim 17, Laib et al. discloses a method of generating electrical energy from thermal waste energy and removing thermal waste energy in an aircraft, the method comprising:
collecting in a flow of coolant fluid thermal waste energy from one or more thermal energy generating components operating on power from an electrical power circuit of the aircraft (see Laib et al. teaching “Electrical devices (not shown), such as dimming windows or wireless structural health monitoring devices, for example, are connected to the energy storing device 50. Alternatively, the electrical devices may be connected directly to the thermoelectric device 45.”; the connected energy storage device and/or connection to the electrical devices, such as dimming windows or wireless structural health monitoring devices, is cited to read on the claimed “electrical power circuit” because it is an electrical circuit functioning to power the cited electrical devices; as depicted in Fig. 6-7, collecting thermal waste energy from one or more thermal energy generating components operating on power from the cited electrical power circuit, such as the cited electrical devices, within the cabin 90 of the aircraft in a flow of coolant fluid, such as a flow of coolant fluid/air through aircraft cabin 90, vent 85, and the channel between walls 84/86);
channeling the flow of coolant fluid towards one or more heat exchangers downstream of the one or more thermal energy generating components (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, channeling the flow of coolant fluid towards one or more heat exchangers 70 downstream of the cited one or more thermal energy generating components), wherein
the one or more heat exchangers are coupled in thermal contact to an exterior skin wall of the aircraft (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, the cited one or more heat exchangers 70 are coupled in thermal contact to an exterior skin wall 86 of the aircraft);
removing thermal energy from the flow of coolant fluid at the one or more heat exchangers by transferring thermal energy from the flow of coolant fluid to the exterior skin wall (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, removing thermal energy from the cited flow of coolant fluid/air at the cited one or more heat exchangers 70 by transferring thermal energy from the cited flow of coolant fluid/air to the cited exterior skin wall 86); and
converting heat flux between the flow of coolant fluid and atmosphere surrounding an outside surface of the exterior skin wall to electrical energy via a thermoelectric generator (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, converting heat flux between the cited flow of coolant fluid/air and atmosphere surrounding an outside surface of the exterior skin wall 86 to electrical energy via a thermoelectric generator 66), wherein the thermoelectric generator includes
thermoelectric interface material extending between an inside surface of the exterior skin wall and the one or more heat exchangers (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, thermoelectric interface material 66 extending between an inside surface of the exterior skin wall 86 and the cited one or more heat exchangers 70); and
transferring the electrical energy from the thermoelectric generator to the electrical power circuit of the aircraft (see Laib et al. teaching “Electrical devices (not shown), such as dimming windows or wireless structural health monitoring devices, for example, are connected to the energy storing device 50. Alternatively, the electrical devices may be connected directly to the thermoelectric device 45.”).
With regard to claim 18, Laib et al. discloses further comprising
reducing or preventing ice formation at the exterior skin wall by transferring thermal energy from the flow of coolant fluid to the exterior skin wall (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, transferring thermal energy from the cited flow of coolant fluid/air to the exterior skin wall 86 which is cited to read on the claimed “reducing or preventing ice formation at the exterior skin wall” because the exterior skin wall is made hotter from the transfer of thermal energy which necessarily reduces or prevents ice formation).
With regard to claim 21, Laib et al. discloses further comprising
transferring the electrical energy from the thermoelectric generator to an electrical power circuit of the aircraft (see Laib et al. teaching cited thermoelectric module “may be connected to any of a variety of electronic components of the aircraft”).
With regard to claim 22, Laib et al. discloses further comprising
insulating the one or more heat exchangers at the exterior skin wall of the aircraft (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, insulating with component 88 the cited one or more heat exchangers 70 at the exterior skin wall 86 of the aircraft).
With regard to claim 23, Laib et al. discloses a system for reducing ice formation on an aircraft, the system comprising:
an electrical power circuit (see Laib et al. teaching “Electrical devices (not shown), such as dimming windows or wireless structural health monitoring devices, for example, are connected to the energy storing device 50. Alternatively, the electrical devices may be connected directly to the thermoelectric device 45.”; the connected energy storage device and/or connection to the electrical devices, such as dimming windows or wireless structural health monitoring devices, is cited to read on the claimed “electrical power circuit” because it is an electrical circuit functioning to power the cited electrical devices);
at least one thermal management circuit configured to channel a flow of coolant fluid that collects thermal waste energy from one or more thermal energy generating components consuming power from the electrical power circuit of the aircraft (such as depicted in Fig. 6-7, at least one thermal management circuit configured to channel a flow of coolant fluid that collects thermal waste energy from one or more thermal energy generating components consuming power from the electrical power circuit of the aircraft, such as a flow of coolant fluid/air through aircraft cabin 90, vent 85, and the channel between walls 84/86 that collects waste energy from one or more thermal energy generating components, such as the cited electrical devices consuming power from the cited electrical power circuit, within the cabin 90 of the aircraft);
one or more heat exchangers coupled in fluid communication with the at least one thermal management circuit and downstream from the one or more thermal energy generating components (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, one or more heat exchangers 70 coupled in fluid communication with the cited at least one thermal management circuit and downstream from the cited one or more thermal energy generating components), wherein
the one or more heat exchangers are coupled in thermal contact to an exterior skin wall of the aircraft and adapted to transfer thermal energy from the flow of coolant fluid to the exterior skin wall for removal from the at least one thermal management circuit (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, the cited one or more heat exchangers 70 are coupled in thermal contact to an exterior skin wall 86 of the aircraft and adapted to transfer thermal energy from the cited flow of coolant fluid/air to the exterior skin wall 86 for removal from the cited at least one thermal management circuit), and wherein
the aircraft is configured to operate in an ice reduction configuration that uses the transfer of thermal energy from the flow of coolant to reduce or prevent ice formation at the exterior skin wall (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, the transfer of thermal energy from the cited flow of coolant fluid/air to the cited exterior skin wall 86 which is cited to read on the claimed “the aircraft is configured to operate in an ice reduction configuration that uses the transfer of thermal energy from the flow of coolant to reduce or prevent ice formation at the exterior skin wall” because the aircraft operates in an ice reduction configuration when the exterior skin wall is made hotter from the transfer of thermal energy which necessarily reduces or prevents ice formation); and
a thermoelectric generator coupled in electrical communication with the electrical power circuit and configured to convert heat flux between the flow of coolant fluid within the one or more heat exchangers and atmosphere surrounding an outside surface of the exterior skin wall into electrical energy for the electrical power circuit (see Laib et al. teaching “Electrical devices (not shown), such as dimming windows or wireless structural health monitoring devices, for example, are connected to the energy storing device 50. Alternatively, the electrical devices may be connected directly to the thermoelectric device 45.”; as depicted in Fig. 6-7, a thermoelectric generator 66 configured to convert heat flux between the cited flow of coolant fluid/air within the cited one or more heat exchangers 70 and atmosphere surrounding an outside surface of the exterior skin wall 86 into electrical energy for the cited electrical power circuit), wherein
the thermoelectric generator comprises thermoelectric interface material extending between an inside surface of the exterior skin wall and the one or more heat exchangers (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, thermoelectric interface material 66 extending between, physically intermittent, an inside surface of the exterior skin wall 86 and the cited one or more heat exchangers 70).
With regard to claim 26, Laib et al. discloses wherein
the exterior skin wall of the aircraft is a leading surface of one or more control or propulsion surfaces of the aircraft (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, the exterior skin wall 86 of the aircraft is cited to read on the claimed “is a leading surface of one or more control or propulsion surfaces of the aircraft” because it is a leading, first outermost, surface of a propulsion surface of the aircraft as the cited surface propels through the outside environment).
With regard to claim 27, Laib et al. discloses wherein
the ice reduction configuration occurs during ascent and descent operations of the aircraft (the cited ice reduction configuration is cited to read on the claimed process limitation “occurs during ascent and descent operations of the aircraft” because it is structurally capable of occurring during ascent and descent operations of the aircraft), and wherein
outside of the ice reduction configuration, the transfer of thermal energy from the flow of coolant dissipates heat from the at least one thermal management circuit (as depicted in Fig. 6-7, the transfer of thermal energy from the cited flow of coolant dissipates heat from the cited at least one thermal management circuit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8, 19, 20, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laib et al. (GB 2447333 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 1, 2023) in view of Lopresto et al. (EP 3750810 A1 included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 1, 2023).
With regard to claims 2, 8, 19, 24, and 25, claims 1, 6, 18, and 23 are anticipated by Laib et al. under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as discussed above. Laib et al. discloses wherein the thermoelectric generator further comprises a thermoelectric module formed by the thermoelectric interface material and adapted to directly generate the electrical energy from the heat flux within the thermoelectric interface material (see Fig. 6-7).
Laib et al. does not disclose further comprising an electric heater coupled in thermal contact to the exterior skin wall.
However, Lopresto et al. discloses a system for generating electrical energy from thermal waste energy (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a thermoelectric generator 305 on an exterior skin wall 103 (see Fig. 3 and “The aircraft structure can includes, for example, at least one of a leading edge of a wing, a leading edge of a tail, a fuselage, a control surface…”).
Lopresto et al. teaches further comprising an electric heater 313 coupled in thermal contact to the exterior skin wall 103 and operably coupled to a circuit including the thermoelectric generator 305 (see Fig. 3) to provide deicing heat to the aircraft structure (which is cited to read on the claimed “configured to augment the reduction or prevention of ice formation at the exterior skin wall” because the heat applied augments the reduction or prevention of ice formation at the exterior skin wall).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Laib et al. to include the electric heater of Lopresto et al. because it would have provided for deicing heat to the exterior skin wall.
With regard to claim 3, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Laib et al. in view of Lopresto et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Laib et al, as modified above, does not disclose wherein the electric heater is disposed between the one or more heat exchangers and the inside surface of the exterior skin wall.
However, the rearrangement of the electric heater is a matter of obviousness which does not modify the operation of the electric heater, which is to be in thermal contact with the exterior skin wall for supplying heat for deicing (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have rearranged the electric heater in the system of Laib et al., as modified above, to be disposed between the one or more heat exchangers and the inside surface of the exterior skin wall because the rearrangement of parts is a matter of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
With regard to claim 20, dependent claim 19 is obvious over Laib et al. in view of Lopresto et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Laib et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the step of transferring thermal energy from the flow of coolant fluid to the exterior skin wall and the step of heating the exterior skin wall by the electric heater occur concurrently.
However, the step of transferring thermal energy from the flow of coolant fluid to the exterior skin wall and the step of heating the exterior skin wall by the electric heater occur concurrently is one in a finite number of options, finite options being before, after, or concurrently.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried the step of transferring thermal energy from the flow of coolant fluid to the exterior skin wall and the step of heating the exterior skin wall by the electric heater occur concurrently, because the steps concurrently is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable options within the technical grasp of a skilled artesian (see MPEP 2143 E).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes the newly added claimed limitations are not found within the previously cited prior art references. However, this argument is addressed in the rejections of the claims above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 February 25, 2026