Response to Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged. Thus Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: COMMUNICATION DEVICE IN WHICH COORDINATED TRANSMISSION FLEXIBLY IS PERFORMED.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini (US 2019/0045569 A1) in view of Ji (US 2015/0257147 A1).
As per claim 1, Abedini teaches a communication device (Fig.3 and ¶0037, access node (i.e. master UE or communication device) comprising: a control unit that performs control (¶0050, controller that performs control) to: exchange control information used when performing coordinated transmission in which a plurality of communication devices performs data transmission in a coordinated manner with a first other communication device that coordinates by using a first transmission channel different from a second transmission channel used for wireless communication with a second other communication device serving as a transmission destination of data (Fig.3 and ¶0037 and ¶0060, transfer or exchange control information using when performing coordinated communication/transmission with first node 310 (i.e. UE 115 or first other communication device) that coordinates by using backhaul communication (i.e. first transmission channel) different from fronthaul link (i.e. second transmission channel) used for wireless communication with second node or other UEs (i.e. second other communication device) serving as communication reception point of data (i.e. transmission destination)).
However, Abedini does not explicitly teach transmit a request signal that requests notification of an acquisition status of the control information to the first other communication device.
In the same field of endeavor, Ji teaches transmit a request signal that requests notification of an acquisition status of the control information to the first other communication device (¶0018 and ¶0092, receiving a request message for requesting the status information, which is sent by the collaboration node and requesting status information (acquisition status) that includes other information (control information), where the other information is a radio resource status, terminal distribution, and a service condition of the cells of the different standards).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Ji into invention of Abedini in order to provide an effective coordination to be performed between a plurality of small cells and multi-layer macro networks, so as to improve network capacity and terminal customer experience most effectively.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, Abedini does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit performs control to receive a response signal that is a response to the request signal transmitted from the first other communication device; and performs processing according to the acquisition status of the control information on a basis of information included in the response signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Ji teaches wherein the control unit performs control to receive a response signal that is a response to the request signal transmitted from the first other communication device (¶0018 and ¶0103, receive a response based on the request); and performs processing according to the acquisition status of the control information on a basis of information included in the response signal (¶0018 and ¶0182, processing status information (acquisition status) that includes other information (control information) based on the information of response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Ji into invention of Abedini in order to provide an effective coordination to be performed between a plurality of small cells and multi-layer macro networks, so as to improve network capacity and terminal customer experience most effectively.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 2 above, Abedini further teaches wherein the control unit selects a transmission scheme including at least the coordinated transmission on a basis of the acquisition status of the control information (¶0054 and ¶0068 and ¶0071, select or use transmission scheme including the coordinated communication based on channel state acquisition).
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 2 above, Abedini further teaches wherein the request signal includes packet information regarding a packet sharing of which is requested to the first other communication device when the coordinated transmission is performed (¶0059 and ¶0086, information such as packets regarding sharing resources (i.e. packet) which is requested when coordinated is performed).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 2 above, Abedini further teaches wherein the request signal includes processing information indicating a processing number when the coordinated transmission is performed (¶0056 and ¶0075, request including information regarding processing times/number when coordinated communication is performed).
As per claim 8 as applied to claim 2 above, Abedini further teaches, wherein the request signal includes time information regarding acquisition of the response signal (¶0060, request includes time information regarding receiving the signal).
As per claim 10, Abedini teaches a communication device (Fig.3 and ¶0037, access node (i.e. master UE or communication device) comprising: a control unit that performs control (¶0050, controller that performs control) to: exchange control information used when performing coordinated transmission in which a plurality of communication devices performs data transmission in a coordinated manner with a first other communication device that coordinates by using a first transmission channel different from a second transmission channel used for wireless communication with a second other communication device serving as a transmission destination of data (Fig.3 and ¶0037 and ¶0060, transfer or exchange control information using when performing coordinated communication/transmission with first node 310 (i.e. UE 115 or first other communication device) that coordinates by using backhaul communication (i.e. first transmission channel) different from fronthaul link (i.e. second transmission channel) used for wireless communication with second node or other UEs (i.e. second other communication device) serving as communication reception point of data (i.e. transmission destination)).
However, Abedini does not explicitly teach receive a request signal that requests notification of an acquisition status of the control information transmitted from the first other communication device; and transmit a response signal including the acquisition status of the control information to the first other communication device on a basis of information included in the request signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Ji teaches receive a request signal that requests notification of an acquisition status of the control information transmitted from the first other communication device (¶0018 and ¶0092, receiving a request message for requesting the status information, which is sent by the collaboration node and requesting status information (acquisition status) that includes other information (control information) where the other information is a radio resource status, terminal distribution, and a service condition of the cells of the different standards); and transmit a response signal including the acquisition status of the control information to the first other communication device on a basis of information included in the request signal.
(¶0018 and ¶0103 and ¶0182, transmit a response based on the request and processing status information (acquisition status) that includes other information (control information) based on the information of response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Ji into invention of Abedini in order to provide an effective coordination to be performed between a plurality of small cells and multi-layer macro networks, so as to improve network capacity and terminal customer experience most effectively.
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 10 above, Abedini further teaches wherein the response signal includes packet information regarding a packet shared by the first other communication device to be acquired (¶0059 and ¶0086, information such as packets regarding sharing resources (i.e. packet) which is requested when coordinated is performed).
As per claim 15 as applied to claim 10 above, Abedini further teaches, wherein the control unit starts transmission of data used in the coordinated transmission by using the first transmission channel on a basis of packet information regarding a packet sharing of which is requested by the first other communication device included in the request signal (¶0059 and ¶0086, transmission of data used in the coordinated communication for information such as packets regarding sharing resources (i.e. packet) which is requested by device included in the request).
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 10 above, Abedini further teaches wherein the response signal includes processing information indicating a processing number when the coordinated transmission is performed (¶0056 and ¶0075, request including information regarding processing times/number when coordinated communication is performed).
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 10 above, Abedini further teaches, wherein the control unit transmits the response signal on a basis of time information regarding acquisition of the response signal included in the request signal (¶0060, request includes time information regarding receiving the signal).
B) Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini (US 2019/0045569 A1) in view of Ji (US 2015/0257147 A1) and further in view of Wigren (US 2018/0241687 A1).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 3 above, Abedini in view of Ji does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit performs control to store a packet to be transmitted to the second other communication device, and selects the transmission scheme on a basis of packet information regarding the stored packet and the packet stored in the first other communication device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wigren teaches wherein the control unit performs control to store a packet to be transmitted to the second other communication device (¶0030, control to store a packet transmitted to the secondary base station), and selects the transmission scheme on a basis of packet information regarding the stored packet and the packet stored in the first other communication device (¶0030 and ¶0081, select backhaul signaling scheme based on data packet regarding stored packet in the master base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Wigren into invention of Abedini and Ji in order to allow controlling data flow in a multi-connectivity network that is more accurate to control signaling overhead.
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 3 above, Abedini in view of Ji does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit performs control to store a packet of which sharing is requested by the first other communication device; and selects the transmission scheme on a basis of packet information regarding the stored packet and the packet stored in the first other communication device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wigren teaches wherein the control unit performs control to store a packet of which sharing is requested by the first other communication device (¶0001 and ¶0036, store data packet of which distribution/sharing is requested); and selects the transmission scheme on a basis of packet information regarding the stored packet and the packet stored in the first other communication device (¶0030 and ¶0081, select backhaul signaling scheme based on data packet regarding stored packet in the master base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Wigren into invention of Abedini and Ji in order to allow controlling data flow in a multi-connectivity network that is more accurate to control signaling overhead.
C) Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini (US 2019/0045569 A1) in view of Ji (US 2015/0257147 A1) and further in view of JI (2) (US 2017/0359780 A1).
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 10 above, Abedini in view of Ji does not explicitly teach wherein the response signal includes preparation state information indicating whether or not preparation for one or a plurality of coordinated transmissions is completed.
In the same field of endeavor, JI (2) teaches wherein the response signal includes preparation state information indicating whether or not preparation for one or a plurality of coordinated transmissions is completed (¶0023, receive a response including active mode in preparation of receiving this information whether the data transmitted by the UE was received by the LTE-RAN 122 via an Acknowledgement (ACK) (i.e. completed) or a negative ACK (NACK) (i.e. not completed)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of JI (2) into invention of Abedini and Ji in order to establish a connection to at least one of a plurality of different networks or types of networks to perform a variety of different functionalities via the network connection.
As per claim 12 as applied to claim 11 above, JI (2) further teaches wherein the control unit generates the preparation state information on a basis of the acquisition status of the control information (¶0023, causing an active mode in preparation of receiving this information based on the receiving mode of the control channel information).
D) Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini (US 2019/0045569 A1) in view of Ji (US 2015/0257147 A1) and further in view of JI (2) (US 2017/0359780 A1) and further in view of Wigren (US 2018/0241687 A1).
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 12 above, Abedini in view of Ji and JI (2) does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit performs control to store a packet to be transmitted to the second other communication device, and selects the transmission scheme on a basis of packet information regarding the stored packet and the packet stored in the first other communication device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wigren teaches wherein the control unit performs control to store a packet to be transmitted to the second other communication device (¶0030, control to store a packet transmitted to the secondary base station), and selects the transmission scheme on a basis of packet information regarding the stored packet and the packet stored in the first other communication device (¶0030 and ¶0081, select backhaul signaling scheme based on data packet regarding stored packet in the master base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Wigren into invention of Abedini and Ji and JI (2) in order to allow controlling data flow in a multi-connectivity network that is more accurate to control signaling overhead.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649