DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6 & 8-14 are pending on the application, of which claims 1, 8, 11, & 13 are amended, and claim 7 is cancelled.
In view of the amendments to the claims a new ground of rejection is additionally supplied below.
The previous claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicant’s argument appears to rely on the amendment reciting the deflection element being “flexible”. However, the claim does not specify the degree of flexibility. Even sheets of metal are capable of having some miniscule amount of flexure, and can read on flexible. Similarly, a skilled artisan would also reasonably expect that a plastic deflector can have some amount of flexibility. Accordingly, absent language further specifying the degree of flexibility, it is believed that a plastic or metal deflector can read on such a limitation. Further, both Kitawaki and the Zimmer references indicate the usage of flexible deflecting elements, along with their possible advantages, are known in the art.
Examiner did not object to claim 7 as an attempt to indicate an allowable distinguishing feature. Claim 7 was objected to due to its deficiency. Applicant argues that Wilcox does not disclose a stop as recited in claim 7. This is not persuasive as Wilcox does teach/suggest such a feature (see rejection of claim 7).
On page 6 of applicant's response, applicant argues that the "sputtering" of Zimmer is the same as "a focused jet". It is unclear as to applicant's argument is, as Zimmer makes no mention of "sputtering" and the claims do not require "a focused jet".
Applicant alleges that examiner is attempting to take official notice without directing applicant so associated figures to enable reasonable scrutiny. This is not persuasive, [0002-0003] of Shirakura are found under the title of Background and indicate the state of the art of the time. Further, such an indication is not official notice, as official notice would not require the use of a reference for such suggestion unless explicitly challenged by applicant. Rather, Shirakura indicates the state of the art, that vehicles have sensors which require cleaning and nozzles are utilized to do so.
The remaining of applicant’s arguments rely on arguments already addressed.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-12 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Wilcox (GB2133719A) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wilcox (GB2133719A) in view of Zimmer (US6464150B1) and Kitawaki (JP2003025972A).
As to claim 1, Wilcox discloses a spray cleaning device for a vehicle (abstract) comprising: a hollow body (see Fig.5 ref 10, whose construction is better seen by Fig.1) including an upstream side provided with an intake port (e.g., Fig.1 refs 15/16) and a downstream side provided with an ejection nozzle (e.g., Fig.1 region in which ref 17 is formed and bounded by ref 19) for ejecting cleaning fluid in the form of a jet of fluid in a direction of the surface to be cleaned; the hollow body defines a conduit (see Fig.1 ref 14) for distributing the cleaning fluid from the intake port to the ejection nozzle; and a jet deflection element (Figs.3-5 ref 43) configured to obstruct the jet of fluid by the ejection nozzle to modify an orientation of the jet of fluid with respect to the cleaning surface (page line 122 to page 3 line 41) and configured to sweep an entire zone of the cleaning surface (see Fig.4 also from the rest position to the operative position and returning to the rest position, at least some of the spray would be deflected in a sweeping like manner across the entire surface); wherein the jet deflection element is adapted to move, depending on a pressure of the jet of fluid between a near position (rest position) in which the jet deflection element is next to the ejection nozzle and a moved-away position (operative position) in which the jet deflection element is away from the ejection nozzle (pages 3 lines 15-37); a stop which limits the movement of the deflection element, the jet deflection element bearing on the stop in the moved-away position (see Figs.3-5 & page 3 lines 8-15). As the claim does not dictate the degree of flexibility, so long as the deflector is capable of displaying even a miniscule amount of flexibility it would read on the claim. Further, a skilled artisan recognizes that there exists some amount of deformation associated with either plastic or metal objects upon experiencing a force prior to undergoing failure/breaking. Thus, the metal/plastic deflector of Wilcox can read on the limitation of being flexible. However, assuming arguendo that the deflector of Wilcox is not considered flexible, such a feature is merely a selection of material for construction of the deflector and would not be expected to impact the operation of the device. Further, the presence of flexible elements located after a nozzle outlet which deflect a liquid is known in the art, as seen by Zimmer and Kitawaki.
Zimmer discloses an art related spray device for a vehicle (abstract), wherein it is disclosed that an element deflected via spray pressure (see Figs.1-5 refs 16 & 28) seals a nozzle outlet closed in a near position (see Fig.1). Zimmer further indicates that such an arrangement leads to reduced consumption of fluids by prevent unintended leakage out of the nozzle outlet (Col.2 lines 43-54). The deflected element is made of a flexible material which elastically deforms based on the spray pressure (Col.4 lines 10-25 & Fig.1-5).
Kitawaki discloses an art related lamp cleaning system, where in it is known that there is a desire to prevent foreign matter from entering a nozzle opening (abstract) to prevent abnormal operation [0003, 0006, 0033, 0053, & 0068]. The closing element is an elastic element made of rubber which deforms to open under spray pressure [0027, 0050, & 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wilcox to provide the deflection element as a flexible element which elastically deforms via spray pressure and seals the nozzle outlet when not experiencing spray pressure in order to prevent leakage of fluid and prevent foreign matter from entering the nozzle and causing abnormal operation (Zimmer Col.2 lines 43-54 & Kitawaki abstract).
As to claims 2-3, Wilcox or Modified Wilcox teaches the device of claim 1 wherein the jet deflection element includes an elongate portion (see Wilcox Figs.3-5 ref 43) and the jet deflection element is at a distance from an outlet opening (Wilcox Fig.1 ref 17) of the ejection nozzle.
As to claim 4, Wilcox or Modified Wilcox teaches the device of claim 1 wherein a path of the movement of the jet deflection element between the near position and the moved-away position is curved (Wilcox page 3 lines 37-41).
As to claim 5, Wilcox or Modified Wilcox teaches the device of claim 1 wherein the ejection nozzle is stationary in relation to the cleaning surface (see Wilcox Figs.3-4).
As to claim 11 & 14, Wilcox or Modified Wilcox teaches the device of claim 1, further including a spring for returning the deflection element to its near position Wilcox (page 3 lines 33-38).
As to claim 12, Wilcox or Modified Wilcox teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the jet deflection element is made of plastic (Wilcox page 2 line 122-123).
Claim(s) 6 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox (GB2133719A) in view of Zimmer (US6464150B1) and Kitawaki (JP2003025972A).
As to claims 6 & 10, Modified Wilcox teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the deflection element closes off the nozzle and elastically deforms under spray pressure (Zimmer Col.2 lines 43-54 & Kitawaki abstract).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox (GB2133719A) or Wilcox (GB2133719A) in view of Zimmer (US6464150B1) and Kitawaki (JP2003025972A) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim (US20080142619A1).
As to claim 8, Wilcox or Modified Wilcox teaches the device of claim 1, but does not disclose the stop and hollow body as one piece. However, the feature of making a nozzle integral with its housing is known in the art, as seen by Kim.
Kim discloses an art related washer nozzle for a vehicle (abstract), wherein it is known that making a nozzle integral with a housing simplifies and reduces manufacturing costs [0044] and assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wilcox to provide the nozzle housing and the nozzle element integrally (i.e., one piece) to reduce cost and simplify assembly (Kim [0044]). Such a modification would render the stop and hollow body as one piece. Further, a skilled artisan recognizes that the making stop and hollow body a single piece is merely an obvious engineering choice that a skilled artisan may decide on (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 9, Wilcox or Modified Wilcox teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the deflection element has a first end secured to the over-rider which houses the nozzle (see Wilcox Figs.3-5 ref 41) and an end opposite the first end which is free (see Wilcox Figs.3-4 ref 43 distant from ref 45). Thus, Wilcox does not disclose the first end being secured to hollow body. However, the feature of making a nozzle integral with its housing is known in the art, as seen by Kim.
Kim discloses an art related washer nozzle for a vehicle (abstract), wherein it is known that making a nozzle integral with a housing simplifies and reduces manufacturing costs [0044] and assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wilcox to provide the nozzle housing and the nozzle element integrally (i.e., one piece) to reduce cost and simplify assembly (Kim [0044]). Such a modification would render the jet deflection element secured to the hollow body. Further, a skilled artisan recognizes that the making stop and hollow body a single piece is merely an obvious engineering choice that a skilled artisan may decide on (see MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox (GB2133719A) or Wilcox (GB2133719A) in view of Zimmer (US6464150B1) and Kitawaki (JP2003025972A) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of in view of Shirakura (US20210197769A1).
As to claim 13, Wilcox or Modified Wilcox teaches the cleaning device (see rejection claim 1), but does not disclose an optical detection system and the cleaning of an optical surface. However, vehicles are well known to have such optical detection systems which have surfaces requiring cleaning, as seen by Shirakura.
Shirakura discloses an art related vehicle cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is known that vehicles have optical detection systems utilizing optical sensors whose surfaces require cleaning [0002-0003]. Shirakura further indicates that such cleaning is performed by washer nozzles (Fig.1 ref 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Wilcox to utilize the nozzles for the cleaning of detection systems of vehicles as well, since such surfaces also are known to require cleaning in the art (Shirakura [0002-0003]). Such a modification would supply an optical detection system (e.g., a camera) with the nozzle system of Wilcox in order to clean the camera lens.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ringler (US20180201232A1) in view of Wilcox (GB2133719A), Zimmer (US6464150B1) and Kitawaki (JP2003025972A).
As to claim 13, Ringler discloses an optical detection system (see Fig.2) for a motor vehicle [0002, 0009, & 0029] comprising: a sensor (Fig.2 ref 20) provided with an optical surface (Fig.2 ref 21) and a device (Fig.1) for cleaning the optical surface that includes: a hollow body with an upstream part (Fig.3 ref 6 including ref 2) provided with an intake port (Fig.1 ref 3) and a downstream side (Fig.3 ref 15) provided with an ejection nozzle (Fig.5 ref 13) for ejecting the cleaning fluid in the form of a jet in a direction of a cleaning surface, the hollow body defining a conduit therein (Fig.4 refs 2/11) for distributing the cleaning fluid from the intake port to the ejection nozzle; and a deflection element (Fig.1 ref 12) arranged downstream of the ejection nozzle to modify the orientation of the jet of fluid with respect to the cleaning surface [0037]. Ringler does not disclose the deflection element obstructing the jet so as to sweep an entire zone of the cleaning surface or being adapted to move based on the fluid pressure between a near position and a moved-away position. Ringler also does not disclose the deflection sweeping an entire zone of the cleaning surface. However, such features are known in the art, as seen by Wilcox.
Wilcox discloses an art related spray cleaning device for a vehicle (abstract) comprising: a hollow body (see Fig.5 ref 10, whose construction is better seen by Fig.1) including an upstream side provided with an intake port (e.g., Fig.1 refs 15/16) and a downstream side provided with an ejection nozzle (e.g., Fig.1 region in which ref 17 is formed and bounded by ref 19) for ejecting cleaning fluid in the form of a jet of fluid in a direction of the surface to be cleaned; the hollow body defines a conduit (see Fig.1 ref 14) for distributing the cleaning fluid from the intake port to the ejection nozzle; and a jet deflection element (Figs.3-5 ref 43) configured to obstruct the jet of fluid by the ejection nozzle to modify an orientation of the jet of fluid with respect to the cleaning surface (page line 122 to page 3 line 41) and configured to sweep an entire zone of the cleaning surface (see Fig.4 also from the rest position to the operative position and returning to the rest position, at least some of the spray would be deflected in a sweeping like manner across the entire surface); wherein the jet deflection element is adapted to move, depending on a pressure of the jet of fluid between a near position (rest position) in which the jet deflection element is next to the ejection nozzle and a moved-away position (operative position) in which the jet deflection element is away from the ejection nozzle (pages 3 lines 15-37); a stop which limits the movement of the deflection element, the jet deflection element bearing on the stop in the moved-away position (see Figs.3-5 & page 3 lines 8-15). . The construction of Wilcox provides an aerodynamic cleaning nozzle construction (page 2 lines 125-130) and improved efficiency (page 3 lines 42-50). As the claim does not dictate the degree of flexibility, so long as the deflector is capable of displaying even a miniscule amount of flexibility it would read on the claim. Further, a skilled artisan recognizes that there exists some amount of deformation associated with either plastic or metal objects upon experiencing a force prior to undergoing failure/breaking. Thus, the metal/plastic deflector of Wilcox can read on the limitation of being flexible. However, assuming arguendo that the deflector of Wilcox is not considered flexible, such a feature is merely a selection of material for construction of the deflector and would not be expected to impact the operation of the device. Further, the presence of flexible elements located after a nozzle outlet which deflect a liquid is known in the art, as seen by Zimmer and Kitawaki.
Zimmer discloses an art related spray device for a vehicle (abstract), wherein it is disclosed that an element deflected via spray pressure (see Figs.1-5 refs 16 & 28) seals a nozzle outlet closed in a near position (see Fig.1). Zimmer further indicates that such an arrangement leads to reduced consumption of fluids by prevent unintended leakage out of the nozzle outlet (Col.2 lines 43-54). The deflected element is made of a flexible material which elastically deforms based on the spray pressure (Col.4 lines 10-25 & Fig.1-5).
Kitawaki discloses an art related lamp cleaning system, where in it is known that there is a desire to prevent foreign matter from entering a nozzle opening (abstract) to prevent abnormal operation [0003, 0006, 0033, 0053, & 0068]. The closing element is an elastic element made of rubber which deforms to open under spray pressure [0027, 0050, & 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ringler to utilize a moving deflection element at the nozzle outlet in order to provide improve efficiency and provide an aerodynamic cleaning nozzle construction (Wilcox page 2 lines 125-130 & page 3 lines 42-50). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to provide the deflection element as a flexible element which elastically deforms via spray pressure and seals the nozzle outlet when not experiencing spray pressure in order to prevent leakage of fluid and prevent foreign matter from entering the nozzle and causing abnormal operation (Zimmer Col.2 lines 43-54 & Kitawaki abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hedges (US1543009A) showcases a nozzle for cleaning (Fig.1) having a movable deflector (ref 11) for the spreading of fluid mounted to a hollow body of a nozzle (ref 9).
Weston (US5370318A) showcases an atomizing nozzle having movable deflection plates (Figs.5-6 & 9-10 ref 24).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711