DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-38 received on 9/1/2023 have been examined, of which claims 1, 6, 10, 17, 20, 25, 29 and 36 are independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 9 appears to indicates “PSCCH” for two parts, which appears to have typographical error for “PSSCH” for one of the parts. The corresponding para 166 in specification appears to indicate PSCCH and PSSCH (shared data channel) transmitted in the same slot. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 34 depends on claim 33, wherein claim 33 includes the limitations recited in claim 34. Thus claim 34 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim 33. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-19 and 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (US 20220236365)
Regarding claim 17, Ko teaches a method for authorizing a peer user equipment (fig 18, a procedure of an initialization process related to sidelink positioning between a target UE and a server UE; the target UE communicates with server UE directly, thus target UE is peer UE for the server UE and the SL positioning request can be responded with acceptance or rejection, thus it is considered authorization request), the method comprising:
receiving, by a network entity (first to fourth server UE, fig 18), an authorization request from the peer user equipment (s1810, SL positioning request from target UE to server UEs, fig 18, para 169), the authorization request requesting permission to participate in a positioning session (para 169: the sidelink positioning request may be a request for a server role related to the sidelink positioning of the target UE), the authorization request comprising data associated with the peer user equipment (para 174: the DM-RS on the PSCCH or the DM-RS on the PSSCH may include a DM-RS on a PSCCH or a DM-RS on a PSSCH through which the target UE transmits a message related to a sidelink positioning request);
sending a response message indicating that the peer user equipment is not authorized to participate in the positioning session (s1830, fig 18, the target UE may receive a response rejecting the sidelink positioning from the fourth server UE; para 171-174), based on determining, by the network entity and based on the data associated with the peer user equipment (para 174: the DM-RS on the PSCCH or the DM-RS on the PSSCH may include a DM-RS on a PSCCH or a DM-RS on a PSSCH through which the target UE transmits a message related to a sidelink positioning request), that the peer user equipment is incapable of performing a role in the positioning session (para 174: if the measured RSRP value is less than or equal to a specific value, since a distance between the target UE and the server UE is long, when the server UE participates in sidelink positioning, the accuracy of the positioning measurement of the target UE may be affected. In consideration of the effect on the accuracy of the positioning measurement of the target UE, when the measured RSRP value is less than or equal to a specific value, the UE may reject the server role); and
sending an authorization message indicating that the peer user equipment is authorized to participate in the positioning session in the role (s1820, fig 18; para 170: the target UE may receive a response accepting the sidelink positioning from each of the first server UE, the second server UE, and the third server UE) based on determining, by the network entity and based on the data associated with the peer user equipment, that the peer user equipment is capable of performing the role in the positioning session (para 174: if the measured RSRP value is greater than or equal to a threshold value, the UE may accept the server role).
Regarding claim 36, Ko teaches a network entity (wireless device, fig 28; fig 18, a procedure of an initialization process related to sidelink positioning between a target UE and a server UE; the target UE communicates with server UE directly, thus target UE is peer UE for the server UE and the SL positioning request can be responded with acceptance or rejection, thus it is considered authorization request) comprising:
a memory (memory 130, fig 28);
at least one transceiver (transceiver 114, fig 28); and
at least one processor (control unit 120, fig 28) communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (para 245: the control unit 120 may control an electric/mechanical operation of the wireless device based on programs/code/commands/information stored in the memory unit 130), the at least one processor (control unit 120, fig 28) configured to:
receive an authorization request from a peer user equipment (s1810, SL positioning request from target UE to server UEs, fig 18, para 169), the authorization request requesting permission to participate in a positioning session (para 169: the sidelink positioning request may be a request for a server role related to the sidelink positioning of the target UE), the authorization request comprising data associated with the peer user equipment (para 174: the DM-RS on the PSCCH or the DM-RS on the PSSCH may include a DM-RS on a PSCCH or a DM-RS on a PSSCH through which the target UE transmits a message related to a sidelink positioning request);
based on the data associated with the peer user equipment (para 174: the DM-RS on the PSCCH or the DM-RS on the PSSCH may include a DM-RS on a PSCCH or a DM-RS on a PSSCH through which the target UE transmits a message related to a sidelink positioning request) and based on determining that the peer user equipment is incapable of performing a role in the positioning session (para 174: if the measured RSRP value is less than or equal to a specific value, since a distance between the target UE and the server UE is long, when the server UE participates in sidelink positioning, the accuracy of the positioning measurement of the target UE may be affected. In consideration of the effect on the accuracy of the positioning measurement of the target UE, when the measured RSRP value is less than or equal to a specific value, the UE may reject the server role), send a response message indicating that the peer user equipment is not authorized to participate in the positioning session (s1830, fig 18, the target UE may receive a response rejecting the sidelink positioning from the fourth server UE; para 171-174); and
based on the data associated with the peer user equipment and based on determining that the peer user equipment is capable of performing the role in the positioning session (para 174: if the measured RSRP value is greater than or equal to a threshold value, the UE may accept the server role), send an authorization message indicating that the peer user equipment is authorized to participate in the positioning session in the role (s1820, fig 18; para 170: the target UE may receive a response accepting the sidelink positioning from each of the first server UE, the second server UE, and the third server UE).
Regarding claim 18 and 37, Ko further teaches wherein the role comprises a measurement aggregator (para 169: server role of server UE; para 158-159: a server UE may be defined as a UE that performs an operation to assist in estimating the location of a target UE, target UE transmits at least one PRS and a plurality of server UEs receive the at least one PRS to estimate a location of the target UE).
Regarding claim 19 and 36, Ko further teaches wherein the authorization request (s1810, SL positioning request from target UE, fig 18, para 169) comprises: one or more measurements associated with a signal strength of the peer user equipment (para 174: the DM-RS on the PSCCH or the DM-RS on the PSSCH may include a DM-RS on a PSCCH or a DM-RS on a PSSCH through which the target UE transmits a message related to a sidelink positioning request).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 20-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stirling-Gallacher et al. (WO 2019197036) in view of Kim et al. (US 20170212206)
Regarding claim 1, Stirling-Gallacher teaches a method performed by a target user equipment for selecting positioning peers (fig 6; page 13-14 and fig 6 describe signaling procedure for UE to UE without network assistance, where target UE 401 establishes or improves its current position), the method comprising:
sending an interest message to the one or more peer user equipment indicating that the target user equipment intends in having the one or more peer user equipment participate in the sidelink positioning session (step 602, fig 6; page 14, lines 6-8: Step 602: the target UE 401 transmits a "CP initial request" to the panels of the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b (including optionally identification of panel ID / car ID / beam group ID etc.));
receiving one or more capability messages from the one or more peer user equipment (step 603, fig 6; page 14 line 10-16: Step 603: The candidate cooperating UEs 403, b transmit a "CP initial response", which includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided), wherein each capability message of the one or more capability messages indicates additional capabilities associated with the corresponding peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session (page 14 line 10-16: the message contents can include: positioning coordinates variance (or in -accuracies) of chosen panel; source of positioning (i.e. GPS, Network or other entity) indicating stability; if the cooperating car can provide beam formed reference signals for time of arrival ranging (ToA) to the target UE 401 or not; and optionally IDs (i.e. Car ID / panel ID / Beam group ID etc); and
sending a selection message to at least one peer user equipment of the one or more peer user equipment based on the subset of capabilities and the additional capabilities associated with the at least one peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session (step 604-605, fig 6; page 14, lines 18-20: Step 604: Based on the received initial response from the candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b, the target UE 401 can decide which candidate UEs 403a, b to select and which features, i.e. position context information, to ask for), the selection message requesting the at least one peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session with the target user equipment (page 14, lines 22-24: Step 605: The target UE 401 transmits a "CP Tx request" to the selected cooperating UEs 403a, b (containing information about what the target UE 401 wants, i.e. positioning data, variance and/or transmission of BF PRS and the ID of the target UE 401).
Stirling-Gallacher teaches the positioning determination of the target UE with the support of candidate UEs, with and without network assistance. Further, the reference teaches in fig 5, step 601 in fig 6, page 13, line 23- page 14, line 5 that the neighboring UEs (i.e. vehicles in this case) are assumed to be synchronized and beam pairing has been established between neighboring UEs to specific antenna panels, and the target UE 401 (i.e. vehicle C) decides which neighboring UEs 403a, b (i.e. other vehicles) to ask for cooperation ("candidate cooperating UEs") based on which vehicles and panels it is already synchronized to (i.e. adjacent vehicles) and if it needs the cooperation at all. Thus, the reference teaches that the target UE is already aware of candidate UEs to ask, and the candidate UEs are discovered with their capability to be synchronized and cooperate, but fails to specifically teach target UE receiving discovery message from candidate UEs. Kim is directed to a method and apparatus for performing positioning in a wireless communication system supporting device-to-device communication.
Kim further teaches receiving one or more discovery messages, each discovery message of the one or more discovery messages received from a corresponding peer user equipment of one or more peer user equipment, wherein each discovery message of the one or more discovery messages indicates a subset of capabilities associated with the corresponding peer user equipment to participate in a sidelink positioning session (para 17: a first UE's receiving a discovery signal from neighboring UEs; the first UE's determining the second UE on the basis of the received discovery signal, wherein the second UE holds its own position information and is capable of supporting the first UE's performing positioning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 6, Stirling-Gallacher teaches a method performed by a target user equipment for selecting positioning peers (fig 6; page 13-14 and fig 6 describe signaling procedure for UE to UE without network assistance, where target UE 401 establishes or improves its current position), the method comprising:
sending a second message to the one or more peer user equipment indicating additional capabilities (step 602, fig 6; page 14, lines 6-8: Step 602: the target UE 401 transmits a "CP initial request" to the panels of the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b (including optionally identification of panel ID / car ID / beam group ID etc.));
receiving one or more acknowledgement messages from at least one peer user equipment of the one or more peer user equipment (step 603, fig 6; page 14 line 10-16: Step 603: The candidate cooperating UEs 403, b transmit a "CP initial response", which includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided); and
sending a selection message to the at least one peer user equipment based on the at least one capability and the additional capabilities associated with the at least one peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session (step 604-605, fig 6; page 14, lines 18-20: Step 604: Based on the received initial response from the candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b, the target UE 401 can decide which candidate UEs 403a, b to select and which features, i.e. position context information, to ask for), the selection message requesting the at least one peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session with the target user equipment (page 14, lines 22-24: Step 605: The target UE 401 transmits a "CP Tx request" to the selected cooperating UEs 403a, b (containing information about what the target UE 401 wants, i.e. positioning data, variance and/or transmission of BF PRS and the ID of the target UE 401).
Stirling-Gallacher teaches the positioning determination of the target UE with the support of candidate UEs, with and without network assistance. Further, the reference teaches in fig 5, step 601 in fig 6, page 13, line 23- page 14, line 5 that the neighboring UEs (i.e. vehicles in this case) are assumed to be synchronized and beam pairing has been established between neighboring UEs to specific antenna panels, and the target UE 401 (i.e. vehicle C) decides which neighboring UEs 403a, b (i.e. other vehicles) to ask for cooperation ("candidate cooperating UEs") based on which vehicles and panels it is already synchronized to (i.e. adjacent vehicles) and if it needs the cooperation at all. Thus, the reference teaches that the target UE is already aware of candidate UEs to ask, and the candidate UEs are discovered with their capability to be synchronized and cooperate, but fails to specifically teach target UE transmitting and receiving discovery solicitation messages with candidate UEs. Kim is directed to a method and apparatus for performing positioning in a wireless communication system supporting device-to-device communication.
Kim further teaches transmitting a sidelink solicitation message soliciting one or more peer user equipment to participate in a sidelink positioning session, the sidelink solicitation message comprising a subset of capabilities (s1240 anchor request, fig 12; para 217: in case the potential anchors determine to serve as anchors, the potential anchors support the UE.sub.t to perform positioning by transmitting position information (or indirect information for position estimation such as DoA) of the potential anchors to the UE.sub.t through D2D communication S1240-S1260);
receiving one or more discovery solicitation messages, each discovery solicitation message of the one or more discovery solicitation messages received from a corresponding peer user equipment of one or more peer user equipment, wherein each discovery solicitation message of the one or more discovery solicitation messages indicates that the corresponding peer user equipment includes at least one capability of the subset of capabilities (s1240 anchor request, fig 12; para 217: in case the potential anchors determine to serve as anchors, the potential anchors support the UE.sub.t to perform positioning by transmitting position information (or indirect information for position estimation such as DoA) of the potential anchors to the UE.sub.t through D2D communication S1240-S1260; para 17: a first UE's receiving a discovery signal from neighboring UEs; the first UE's determining the second UE on the basis of the received discovery signal, wherein the second UE holds its own position information and is capable of supporting the first UE's performing positioning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 10, Stirling-Gallacher teaches a method to participate in a sidelink positioning session (cooperating candidate UEs 403a-b, fig 4-8; page 13-14 and fig 6 describe signaling procedure for UE to UE without network assistance, where target UE 401 establishes or improves its current position), the method comprising:
sending, by the peer user equipment, a message comprising a capability associated with the peer user equipment, the capability indicating the at least one role (step 603, fig 6; page 14 line 10-16: Step 603: The candidate cooperating UEs 403, b transmit a "CP initial response", which includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided);
receiving, by the peer user equipment, a positioning message from a target user equipment, the positioning message requesting the peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session with the target user equipment (page 14, lines 22-24: Step 605: The target UE 401 transmits a "CP Tx request" to the selected cooperating UEs 403a, b (containing information about what the target UE 401 wants, i.e. positioning data, variance and/or transmission of BF PRS and the ID of the target UE 401); and
participating, by the peer user equipment, in the sidelink positioning session with the target user equipment (step 606, fig 6; page 14 lines 26-29: the cooperating UE 403a transmits requested data and/or reference signals (position info and & or Beam formed PRS) to the target UE 401 via a "CP response signal", the target UE 401 can use the information to establish or improve its current position).
Stirling-Gallacher teaches the positioning determination of the target UE with the support of candidate UEs, with and without network assistance. Further, the reference teaches in fig 8, the reference teaches the serving TRP sending CP initial request to, but fails to teach authorization message from network entity authorizing to participate. Kim is directed to a method and apparatus for performing positioning in a wireless communication system supporting device-to-device communication.
Kim further teaches receiving, by a peer user equipment, an authorization message from a network entity associated with a serving cell (step s1020 request anchor from eNB to UE1, fig 10), the authorization message authorizing the peer user equipment to participate in a sidelink positioning session in at least one role (para 189-190: the eNB which has received the positioning message transmits an anchor request message to the UEs within the cell (of the eNB) through broadcasting S1020, he anchor request message represents a message transmitted to neighboring UEs by the eNB to find those UEs being aware of their position and capable of serving as anchors). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 20, Stirling-Gallacher teaches a target user equipment (target UE 401, fig 4-6) comprising:
a memory (page 10 line 37-page 11 line 2: the target UE is a mobile phone; here, the mobile phone implies that the UE comprises memory);
at least one transceiver (communication interface 401b, fig 4); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (processing unit 401a, fig 4; page 11-page 12 line 12), the at least one processor (processing unit 401a, fig 4) configured to:
send an interest message to the one or more peer user equipment indicating that the target user equipment intends in having the one or more peer user equipment participate in the sidelink positioning session (step 602, fig 6; page 14, lines 6-8: Step 602: the target UE 401 transmits a "CP initial request" to the panels of the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b (including optionally identification of panel ID / car ID / beam group ID etc.));
receive one or more capability messages from the one or more peer user equipment (step 603, fig 6; page 14 line 10-16: Step 603: The candidate cooperating UEs 403, b transmit a "CP initial response", which includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided), wherein each capability message of the one or more capability messages indicates additional capabilities associated with the corresponding peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session (page 14 line 10-16: the message contents can include: positioning coordinates variance (or in -accuracies) of chosen panel; source of positioning (i.e. GPS, Network or other entity) indicating stability; if the cooperating car can provide beam formed reference signals for time of arrival ranging (ToA) to the target UE 401 or not; and optionally IDs (i.e. Car ID / panel ID / Beam group ID etc); and
send a selection message to at least one peer user equipment of the one or more peer user equipment based on the subset of capabilities and the additional capabilities associated with the at least one peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session (step 604-605, fig 6; page 14, lines 18-20: Step 604: Based on the received initial response from the candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b, the target UE 401 can decide which candidate UEs 403a, b to select and which features, i.e. position context information, to ask for), the selection message requesting the at least one peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session with the target user equipment (page 14, lines 22-24: Step 605: The target UE 401 transmits a "CP Tx request" to the selected cooperating UEs 403a, b (containing information about what the target UE 401 wants, i.e. positioning data, variance and/or transmission of BF PRS and the ID of the target UE 401).
Stirling-Gallacher teaches the positioning determination of the target UE with the support of candidate UEs, with and without network assistance. Further, the reference teaches in fig 5, step 601 in fig 6, page 13, line 23- page 14, line 5 that the neighboring UEs (i.e. vehicles in this case) are assumed to be synchronized and beam pairing has been established between neighboring UEs to specific antenna panels, and the target UE 401 (i.e. vehicle C) decides which neighboring UEs 403a, b (i.e. other vehicles) to ask for cooperation ("candidate cooperating UEs") based on which vehicles and panels it is already synchronized to (i.e. adjacent vehicles) and if it needs the cooperation at all. Thus, the reference teaches that the target UE is already aware of candidate UEs to ask, and the candidate UEs are discovered with their capability to be synchronized and cooperate, but fails to specifically teach target UE receiving discovery message from candidate UEs. Kim is directed to a method and apparatus for performing positioning in a wireless communication system supporting device-to-device communication.
Kim further teaches to receive one or more discovery messages, each discovery message of the one or more discovery messages received from a corresponding peer user equipment of one or more peer user equipment, wherein each discovery message of the one or more discovery messages indicates a subset of capabilities associated with the corresponding peer user equipment to participate in a sidelink positioning session (para 17: a first UE's receiving a discovery signal from neighboring UEs; the first UE's determining the second UE on the basis of the received discovery signal, wherein the second UE holds its own position information and is capable of supporting the first UE's performing positioning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 25, Stirling-Gallacher teaches a target user equipment (target UE 401, fig 4-6) comprising:
a memory (page 10 line 37-page 11 line 2: the target UE is a mobile phone; here, the mobile phone implies that the UE comprises memory);
at least one transceiver (communication interface 401b, fig 4); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (processing unit 401a, fig 4; page 11-page 12 line 12), the at least one processor (processing unit 401a, fig 4)configured to:
send a second message to the one or more peer user equipment, the second message identifying additional capabilities (step 602, fig 6; page 14, lines 6-8: Step 602: the target UE 401 transmits a "CP initial request" to the panels of the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b (including optionally identification of panel ID / car ID / beam group ID etc.));
receive one or more acknowledgement messages from at least one peer user equipment of the one or more peer user equipment (step 603, fig 6; page 14 line 10-16: Step 603: The candidate cooperating UEs 403, b transmit a "CP initial response", which includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided); and
send a selection message to the at least one peer user equipment based on the at least one capability and the additional capabilities associated with the at least one peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session (step 604-605, fig 6; page 14, lines 18-20: Step 604: Based on the received initial response from the candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b, the target UE 401 can decide which candidate UEs 403a, b to select and which features, i.e. position context information, to ask for), the selection message requesting the at least one peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session with the target user equipment (page 14, lines 22-24: Step 605: The target UE 401 transmits a "CP Tx request" to the selected cooperating UEs 403a, b (containing information about what the target UE 401 wants, i.e. positioning data, variance and/or transmission of BF PRS and the ID of the target UE 401).
Stirling-Gallacher teaches the positioning determination of the target UE with the support of candidate UEs, with and without network assistance. Further, the reference teaches in fig 5, step 601 in fig 6, page 13, line 23- page 14, line 5 that the neighboring UEs (i.e. vehicles in this case) are assumed to be synchronized and beam pairing has been established between neighboring UEs to specific antenna panels, and the target UE 401 (i.e. vehicle C) decides which neighboring UEs 403a, b (i.e. other vehicles) to ask for cooperation ("candidate cooperating UEs") based on which vehicles and panels it is already synchronized to (i.e. adjacent vehicles) and if it needs the cooperation at all. Thus, the reference teaches that the target UE is already aware of candidate UEs to ask, and the candidate UEs are discovered with their capability to be synchronized and cooperate, but fails to specifically teach target UE transmitting and receiving discovery solicitation messages with candidate UEs. Kim is directed to a method and apparatus for performing positioning in a wireless communication system supporting device-to-device communication.
Kim further teaches to transmit a sidelink solicitation message soliciting one or more peer user equipment to participate in a sidelink positioning session, the sidelink solicitation message comprising a subset of capabilities (s1240 anchor request, fig 12; para 217: in case the potential anchors determine to serve as anchors, the potential anchors support the UE.sub.t to perform positioning by transmitting position information (or indirect information for position estimation such as DoA) of the potential anchors to the UE.sub.t through D2D communication S1240-S1260);
receive one or more discovery solicitation messages, each discovery solicitation message of the one or more discovery solicitation messages received from a corresponding peer user equipment of one or more peer user equipment, wherein each discovery solicitation message of the one or more discovery solicitation messages indicates that the corresponding peer user equipment includes at least one capability of the subset of capabilities (s1240 anchor request, fig 12; para 217: in case the potential anchors determine to serve as anchors, the potential anchors support the UE.sub.t to perform positioning by transmitting position information (or indirect information for position estimation such as DoA) of the potential anchors to the UE.sub.t through D2D communication S1240-S1260; para 17: a first UE's receiving a discovery signal from neighboring UEs; the first UE's determining the second UE on the basis of the received discovery signal, wherein the second UE holds its own position information and is capable of supporting the first UE's performing positioning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 29, Stirling-Gallacher teaches a peer user equipment (cooperating candidate UEs 403a-b, fig 4-8) comprising:
a memory (page 10 line 37-page 11 line 2: the candidate UE is a mobile phone; here, the mobile phone implies that the UE comprises memory);
at least one transceiver (communication interface 401b, fig 4); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (processing unit 401a, fig 4; page 11-page 12 line 12), the at least one processor (processing unit 401a, fig 4) configured to:
send a message comprising a capability associated with the peer user equipment, the capability indicating the at least one role (step 603, fig 6; page 14 line 10-16: Step 603: The candidate cooperating UEs 403, b transmit a "CP initial response", which includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided);
receive a positioning message from a target user equipment, the positioning message requesting the peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session with the target user equipment (page 14, lines 22-24: Step 605: The target UE 401 transmits a "CP Tx request" to the selected cooperating UEs 403a, b (containing information about what the target UE 401 wants, i.e. positioning data, variance and/or transmission of BF PRS and the ID of the target UE 401); and
participate in the sidelink positioning session with the target user equipment (step 606, fig 6; page 14 lines 26-29: the cooperating UE 403a transmits requested data and/or reference signals (position info and & or Beam formed PRS) to the target UE 401 via a "CP response signal", the target UE 401 can use the information to establish or improve its current position).
Stirling-Gallacher teaches the positioning determination of the target UE with the support of candidate UEs, with and without network assistance. Further, the reference teaches in fig 8, the reference teaches the serving TRP sending CP initial request to, but fails to teach authorization message from network entity authorizing to participate. Kim is directed to a method and apparatus for performing positioning in a wireless communication system supporting device-to-device communication.
Kim further teaches to receive an authorization message from a network entity of a serving cell (step s1020 request anchor from eNB to UE1, fig 10), the authorization message authorizing the peer user equipment to participate in a sidelink positioning session in at least one role (para 189-190: the eNB which has received the positioning message transmits an anchor request message to the UEs within the cell (of the eNB) through broadcasting S1020, he anchor request message represents a message transmitted to neighboring UEs by the eNB to find those UEs being aware of their position and capable of serving as anchors). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 2, 8, 21 and 27, Stirling-Gallacher further teaches wherein the subset of capabilities and the additional capabilities indicate a capability of each peer user equipment to support sidelink positioning (step 603, fig 6; page 14 line 10-16: the candidate cooperating UEs 403, b transmit a "CP initial response", which includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided, the message contents can include: positioning coordinates variance (or in -accuracies) of chosen panel; source of positioning (i.e. GPS, Network or other entity) indicating stability; if the cooperating car can provide beam formed reference signals for time of arrival ranging (ToA) to the target UE 401 or not; and optionally IDs (i.e. Car ID / panel ID / Beam group ID etc).
Regarding claim 3 and 22, Stirling-Gallacher fails to teach, but Kim further teaches wherein the quality metric comprises one or more measurements associated with a signal strength of each capability message of the one or more capability messages (para 15; para 216-217: from received signal strength of the reference signal transmitted by the UE-t, those UEs capable of serving as anchors may be distinguished only for the UEs located in the vicinity of the UE-t, potential anchors determine from the received signal strength of the reference signal transmitted by UE-t whether to perform the role of anchors). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 4 and 23, Stirling-Gallacher fails to teach, but Kim further teaches broadcasting a reservation request indicating that the target user equipment, the one or more peer user equipment, or both are to participate in the sidelink positioning session (fig 12, step 1240, Anchor request (reference signal, broadcast) from target UE to UE 1; para 217: the potential anchors support the UE-t to perform positioning by transmitting position information (or indirect information for position estimation such as DoA) of the potential anchors to the UE-t through D2D communication S1240-S1260.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 5 and 24, Stirling-Gallacher fails to teach, but Kim further teaches wherein: the reservation request is broadcast via a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (para 157: in D2D broadcast communication, the control information is transmitted by the broadcasting UE, the control information explicitly and/or implicitly indicate the position of the resource for the data reception in associated with the physical channel transporting the D2D direct communication data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 7 and 26, Stirling-Gallacher fails to teach, but Kim further teaches wherein transmitting the sidelink solicitation message comprises broadcasting the sidelink solicitation message (fig 12, step S1240: Anchor request (reference signal, broadcast)).
Regarding claim 9 and 28, Stirling-Gallacher fails to teach, but Kim further teaches wherein the quality metric comprises one or more measurements associated with a signal strength of each discovery solicitation message of the one or more discovery solicitation messages (para 15; para 216-217: from received signal strength of the reference signal transmitted by the UE-t, those UEs capable of serving as anchors may be distinguished only for the UEs located in the vicinity of the UE-t, potential anchors determine from the received signal strength of the reference signal transmitted by UE-t whether to perform the role of anchors). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 11 and 30, Stirling-Gallacher fails to teach, but Kim further teaches wherein the at least one role comprises an anchor user equipment (step s1020 request anchor from eNB to UE1, fig 10; para 189-190: the eNB which has received the positioning message transmits an anchor request message to the UEs within the cell (of the eNB) through broadcasting S1020, he anchor request message represents a message transmitted to neighboring UEs by the eNB to find those UEs being aware of their position and capable of serving as anchors). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 12 and 31, Stirling-Gallacher fails to teach, but Kim further teaches wherein: the message comprises a sidelink discovery message that includes a positioning field indicating that the peer user equipment is authorized to participate in the sidelink positioning session (para 191: the UE being aware of its position and capable of serving as an anchor from among the UEs within the cell which have received the anchor request message transmits an anchor response message to inform the eNB of its capability S1030; para 236-237: with reference to fig. 15, the discovery signal 1500 includes discovery information 1510 and potential anchor check bit 1520, the potential anchor check bit (field) is control information indicating whether a UE transmitting a discovery signal is capable of serving as an anchor). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine target UE position determination as taught by Stirling-Gallacher with transmission of discovery message by neighboring UEs as taught by Kim for the benefit of estimating position of a UE more accurately as taught by Kim in para 22-23.
Regarding claim 13 and 32, Stirling-Gallacher further teaches receiving a sidelink solicitation message from the target user equipment (fig 6, 602, CP initial request message from target UE to candidate UEs), the sidelink solicitation message including a positioning field indicating that the sidelink solicitation message is soliciting user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session (page 14 lines step 602: the target UE 401 transmits a "CP initial request" to the panels of the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b (including optionally identification of panel ID / car ID / beam group ID etc.)).
Regarding claim 14, Stirling-Gallacher further teaches sending an authorization request to the network entity of the serving cell (CP initial response 1103 from candidate UE to serving TRP, fig 11), the authorization request requesting the network entity to authorize the peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session in the at least one role (page 14 lines 10-16: CP initial response includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided. For instance, the message contents can include: positioning coordinates variance (or in -accuracies) of chosen panel; source of positioning (i.e. GPS, Network or other entity) indicating stability; if the cooperating car can provide beam formed reference signals for time of arrival ranging (ToA) to the target UE 401 or not; and optionally IDs (i.e. Car ID / panel ID / Beam group ID etc)).
Regarding claim 15 and 34, Stirling-Gallacher further teaches wherein the authorization request (CP initial response 1103 from candidate UE to serving TRP, fig 11) comprises: a processing capability of the peer user equipment (page 14 lines 10-16: CP initial response includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided, the message contents can include: positioning coordinates variance (or in -accuracies) of chosen panel; source of positioning (i.e. GPS, Network or other entity) indicating stability; if the cooperating car can provide beam formed reference signals for time of arrival ranging (ToA) to the target UE 401 or not).
Regarding claim 16 and 35, Stirling-Gallacher further teaches wherein the capability associated with the peer user equipment (step 603, fig 6; page 14 line 10-16: Step 603: The candidate cooperating UEs 403, b transmit a "CP initial response", which includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided) comprises a technique parameter indicating one or more types of positioning techniques that the peer user equipment is capable of performing during the sidelink positioning session (page 14 lines 10-16: CP initial response includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided, the message contents can include: positioning coordinates variance (or in -accuracies) of chosen panel; source of positioning (i.e. GPS, Network or other entity) indicating stability).
Regarding claim 33, Stirling-Gallacher further teaches to: send an authorization request to the network entity of the serving cell (CP initial response 1103 from candidate UE to serving TRP, fig 11), the authorization request requesting the network entity to authorize the peer user equipment to participate in the sidelink positioning session in the at least one role (page 14 lines 10-16: CP initial response includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided. For instance, the message contents can include: positioning coordinates variance (or in -accuracies) of chosen panel; source of positioning (i.e. GPS, Network or other entity) indicating stability; if the cooperating car can provide beam formed reference signals for time of arrival ranging (ToA) to the target UE 401 or not; and optionally IDs (i.e. Car ID / panel ID / Beam group ID etc)), wherein the authorization request (CP initial response 1103 from candidate UE to serving TRP, fig 11) comprises a processing capability of the peer user equipment (page 14 lines 10-16: CP initial response includes what the chosen candidate cooperating UEs 403a, b can provide, i.e. which position context information can be provided, the message contents can include: positioning coordinates variance (or in -accuracies) of chosen panel; source of positioning (i.e. GPS, Network or other entity) indicating stability; if the cooperating car can provide beam formed reference signals for time of arrival ranging (ToA) to the target UE 401 or not).
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 3/15/2026