DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed September 10, 2026 in response to the Office Action of June 11, 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1, 14, 15, 18, and 22 have been amended.
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 13, 21, and 27 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14-20, and 22-26 are pending.
Claims 16, 17, and 23-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are currently under consideration as drawn to the elected invention.
In view of claim 1 amendments, the 112(b) rejection set forth in the previous Office Action of June 11, 2026 is hereby withdrawn.
MAINTAINED/MODIFIED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (Hong et al., US 2018/0193461, Publication Date: 07/12/2018, of record) in view of Lopez-Cano (Lopez-Cano et al., Expert Opinion on Drug Delivery, 18:7, 819-847, Publication Date: 01/22/2021, of record), and Keller (Keller et al., EP 0244178 A2, Publication Date: 11/04/1987, of record).
Hong teaches that intravitreal corticosteroid injection can be a treatment for various eye related disorders, including chronic macular edema, uveitis, branch retinal vein occlusion, or central retina vein occlusion ([0003], [0004]).
Hong teaches repetitive intravitreal injections are required to maintain optimal and efficient corticosteroid concentration in the eye, and this is associated with complications ([0004]). There is a need for intravitreal steroid injections with reduced side effects
Hong teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a mixture of phospholipids, with or without cholesterol (lipid cake); and an ocular steroid ([0006]).
Hong teaches that the pharmaceutical composition can reduce the side effects of said ocular steroid ([0006].
Hong teaches that the ocular steroid is dexamethasone sodium phosphate (DSP) (the elected species) (Examples 2 and 3).
Hong teaches a specific lipid mixture of DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol in a molar ratio of 67.5:7.5:25 (see Example 1 and Table 1).
Hong teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutic agent: DSP, and a liposome comprising DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol (Example 2).
Hong teaches that liposomes were known to affect the vitreous clarity ([0069]). Consistent with this, in some cases the pharmaceutical compositions induce reduced vitreous clarity (vitreous haze) (Table 3).
Hong teaches the pharmaceutical composition is administered through an intravitreal injection ([0065], Example 3) which is injected directly into the jelly-like vitreous humor.
Hong’s teachings are described above. However, Hong does not teach that the pharmaceutical composition comprising a biocompatible hydrogel comprising hyaluronic acid at a concentration ranging from about 0.01% (w/v) to about 0.75% (w/v) or reducing an ocular side effect comprising vitreous haze.
Lopez-Cano teaches that the development of ophthalmic formulations able to deliver hydrophilic and hydrophobic drugs to the inner structures of the eye and restore the preocular tear film has been a leading topic of discussion over the last few years. Liposomes represent a suitable strategy to achieve these objectives in ocular drug delivery (§ Abstract – Introduction).
Lopez-Cano teaches for treatment of posterior segment diseases, drugs administered by the topical route do not achieve the target site as easily due to the ocular barriers, so intravitreal and periocular administrations are preferred (page 819, col. 2, para. 1). As a drawback, these routes must be used repeatedly to maintain therapeutic drug levels, which entails numerous adverse effects ([age 819, col. 2, para. 1).
Lopez-Cano teaches that hyaluronic acid (HA) is biocompatible and biodegradable with low toxicity. HA is able to retain water forming a hydrogel with mucoadhesive properties. Liposomes loaded with doxorubicin and coated with HA showed a longer in vitro release. In addition, liposomes in HA solution reached cell nucleus the most compared to liposome in an aqueous solution and the free drug (the bridging paragraph of pages 835-836).
Lopez-Cano teaches that in vivo, a longer retention time and higher bioavailability were observed with the formulation comprising HA (the bridging paragraph of pages 835-836). Lopez-Cano teaches the HA concentration is 0.5% (w/v) (Table 2, on page 831).
Lopez-Cano teaches another study combining HA hydrogel and fluconazole-loaded liposomes. In vitro, HA hydrogel at 0.7% increases permeation of liposomes. The cumulative concentration of fluconazole in corneal tissues resulted much higher compared to conventional liposomes and drug suspension, being 1.86 and 2.6 folds higher respectively. In vivo, the liposome formulation with 0.7% HA and 0.9% fluconazole shows a more sustained permeation profile and a higher value of area under the curve compared to fluconazole suspension (the bridging paragraph of pages 835-836).
Kelly teaches that transfer of a topically applied pharmaceutical from the surface of the eye to the interior tissue is not only inefficient but also tends to be washed away by the flow of tears. Consequently, topically applied mediations do not exhibit optimum effectiveness (col. 1, lines 40-45).
Kelly teaches that there is a need for a method of supplying medication to the interior of an eye by an efficient injection means without requiring multiple injections (col. 2, line 6-10).
Keller teaches that HA is a naturally occurring polymer of D-glucuronic acid and N-acetyl-D-glucosamine (polysaccharide). HA is found in animal tissues including vitreous humor. The molecular weight of naturally occurring polymer ranges from about 50 kDa to about 8000 kDa. A preferred HA is an ultrapure polymer having a molecular weight less than 750 kDa which is dissolved in an isotonic aqueous solution substantially devoid of electrolytes (col. 3, para. 1).
Kelly teaches that the intraocular dosage composition should have a viscosity sufficient to prevent substantial diffusion of the drug contained therein from the site at which the composition is implanted. And the skilled practitioner can select the desired viscosity by incorporating more or less of the polysaccharide (col. 3, para. 2).
Keller teaches using HA in combination with DSP for eye treatment by intravitreal injection. The injections were made slowly from a 0.1 ml Hamilton syringe through a 30 gauge needle through the posterior globe into the central part of the vitreous (Example; the bridging paragraph of cols. 4-5; and Figs. 1-4).
Keller teaches that single intravitreal administration with HA in combination with DSP achieves better retention time for drug after 7 days (Fig. 2), better overall improvement (Fig. 1) compared to DEX in saline.
It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pharmaceutical composition of Hong by adding HA hydrogel at a concentration about 0.5% or 0.7% (w/v) as taught by Lopez-Cano, because the Lopez-Cano teaches that HA hydrogel at those concentrations can increase retention time and bioavailability of liposome-drug significantly. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that lower concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation with HA hydrogel would be as effective as higher concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation without HA hydrogel. Since DSP-liposome can result in ocular side effects such as vitreous haze, as taught by Hong, using lower concentration of DSP-liposome would reduce the side effect such as vitreous haze. In addition, because HA/DSP-liposome would release the liposome slower (longer retention) in the vitreous humor and thus cause less vitreous clouding or haze after administration and it can reduce frequency of administration because of the slower releases and longer retention. Based on the teachings of Keller, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the composition would be suitable for intravitreal administration which can further enhance the efficacy of drug delivery by bypassing most of the natural barriers of the eye and avoiding being washed away by the flow of tears. The motivation would have been to develop a more efficient drug delivery method and to reduce the cost of therapeutic materials.
In addition, claim 1 is drawn to a composition. The limitation “wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered via intravitreal injection” describes the intended use of the product rather than adding a structural requirement. Thus, the “wherein” clause does not change the physical ingredients or how they are chemically structured together. As set forth above, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller teach a pharmaceutical composition as instantly claimed, which can reduce an ocular side effect, comprising HA/liposome-DSP (a therapeutic agent) comprising 50mM or 100mM of lipid mixture (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol in a molar ratio of 67.5:7.5:25) and about 0.5% or 0.7% of HA hydrogel. Thus, the pharmaceutical composition taught by references would have the viscosity as claimed, as evidenced by Table 4 of the instant specification in which similar pharmaceutical compositions (e.g. H3) are tested.
Furthermore, regarding the range “about 0.01% (w/v) to 0.75% (w/v)” (claim 1) or “0.09% (w/v) to about 0.5% (w/v)” (claim 7), it is noted that optimum suitable ranges may be obtained by routine experimentation, absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, one ordinary skill in the art would have known to adjust concentration of HA based on the properties of lipids, properties of therapeutic agent and/or the administration route, through routine and conventional practice.
Regarding claim 5, Keller teaches that HA is a naturally occurring polymer of D-glucuronic acid and N-acetyl-D-glucosamine (polysaccharide). HA is found in animal tissues including vitreous humor. The molecular weight of naturally occurring polymer ranges from about 50 kDa to about 8000 kDa. A preferred HA is an ultrapure polymer having a molecular weight less than 750 kDa which is dissolved in an isotonic aqueous solution substantially devoid of electrolytes (col. 3, para. 1). It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller, and to use a HA with a molecular weight about 750 kDa, as taught by Keller. Given all the components are well known in the art, as evidenced by references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa, would be suitable for the pharmaceutical composition, because the HA is naturally occurring, has good solubility and has been tested in combination with polyplexes as taught by Keller. The motivation would have been to make a better therapeutic product with a well-tested agent.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Hong teaches a specific lipid mixture of DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol (see Example 1 and Table 1).
Claim 12 is considered as a “product-by-process” claim. Thus, the claimed composition is evaluated based on its inherent structure, not the process limitations. In this case, the pharmaceutical composition essentially comprises a mixture of lipid nanoparticles and the biocompatible hydrogel of HA. Hong teaches that the lipid mixture forms liposome (a nanoparticle). Lopez-Cano teaches that hyaluronic acid (HA) is biocompatible and biodegradable with low toxicity. HA is able to retain water forming a hydrogel with mucoadhesive properties (the bridging paragraph of pages 835-836). Therefore, the combination of liposome of Hong and HA of Lopez-Cano would have the structure of instant claim 12.
Regarding claims 14, 15, and 18, Hong teaches that the therapeutic agent is dexamethasone sodium phosphate (DSP) (the elected species) (Examples 2 and 3).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Hong teaches 1.25 μmol, 2.5 μmol, and 5 μmol phospholipids in 50 μl of pharmaceutical composition ([0059]-[0064]), which represent 25 μmol, 50 μmol, and 100 μmol per ml of the pharmaceutical composition, respectively (or about 25 mM, 50 mM and 100 mM, respectively). It is also noted that optimum suitable ranges may be obtained by routine experimentation, absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 22, as set forth above, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller teach a pharmaceutical composition of HA/liposome-DSP comprising 50mM or 100mM of lipid mixture (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol in a molar ratio of 67.5:7.5:25) and about 0.5% or 0.7% of HA hydrogel. Thus, the pharmaceutical composition taught by Hong,Lopez-Cano and Keller would have the viscosity as claimed, as evidenced by Table 4 of the instant specification in which similar pharmaceutical compositions (e.g. H3) are tested.
Response to Arguments
For the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, Applicant first argues: the combination of Hong and Lopez-Cano does not teach or suggest the invention recited in claim 1, because Lopez-Cano explicitly states that topical instillation of different formulation and does not disclose any information relating to the concentration, amount, or percentage of HA in the liposomal formulation.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As set forth above, the limitation “wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered via intravitreal injection” describes the intended use of the product rather than adding a structural requirement. Thus, the “wherein” clause does not change the physical ingredients or how they are chemically structured together. Furthermore, the combined teachings of Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller are not limited to the two references (#193 and #194) recited by applicant.
As set forth above, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller teach a pharmaceutical composition as instantly claimed, which can reduce an ocular side effect, comprising HA/liposome-DSP (a therapeutic agent) comprising 50mM or 100mM of lipid mixture (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol in a molar ratio of 67.5:7.5:25) and about 0.5% or 0.7% of HA hydrogel. Thus, the pharmaceutical composition taught by references would have the viscosity as claimed, as evidenced by Table 4 of the instant specification in which similar pharmaceutical compositions (e.g. H3) are tested.
Furthermore, Kelly teaches that the skilled practitioner can select the desired viscosity by incorporating more or less of the polysaccharide (col. 3, para. 2). Keller teaches using HA in combination with DSP for eye treatment by intravitreal injection. Keller teaches that single intravitreal administration with HA in combination with DSP achieves better retention time for drug after 7 days (Fig. 2), better overall improvement (Fig. 1) compared to DEX in saline. Based on the teachings of Keller, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the composition would be suitable for intravitreal administration which can further enhance the efficacy of drug delivery by bypassing most of the natural barriers of the eye and avoiding being washed away by the flow of tears.
Applicant then argues unexpected results: the technical effects of the claimed invention cannot be anticipated or inferred from the combination of cited references, such as the properties described in Table 4 of the instant application.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As set forth above, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller teach a pharmaceutical composition of HA/liposome-DSP comprising 50mM or 100mM of lipid mixture (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol in a molar ratio of 67.5:7.5:25) and about 0.5% or 0.7% of HA hydrogel. Thus, the pharmaceutical composition taught by Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller would have the viscosity (measured or unmeasured) as claimed, as evidenced by Table 4 of the instant specification in which similar pharmaceutical compositions (e.g. H3) are tested. In addition, as Keller recognized, the skilled practitioner can select the desired viscosity by incorporating more or less of the polysaccharide (col. 3, para. 2) for specific active agent and/or specific eye conditions to reach the optimal results through routine practice.
In addition, Example 4 provides the information for a specific liposome composition comprising DOPC, DOPG, and cholesterol in a molar ratio of 67.5:7.5:25 (see Example 1), in combination with a specific HA with specific molecular weight (HA sodium salt from streptococcus equi, Sigma, see Example 2). However, the claims encompass a broad genus of liposome and a broad genus of HAs, thus, the technical effects described in Example 4 is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention and is not probative on the non-obviousness of the claimed invention.
Thus, the rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
Double Patenting
U.S. Patent No. 8,956,600
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-38 of U.S. Patent No. 8,956,600 B2 (hereinafter Pat. 600, corresponding application: 12/538,435, of record) in view of Hong (Hong et al., US 2018/0193461, Publication Date: 07/12/2018, of record), Lopez-Cano (Lopez-Cano et al., Expert Opinion on Drug Delivery, 18:7, 819-847, Publication Date: 01/22/2021, of record) and Keller (Keller et al., EP 0244178 A2, Publication Date: 11/04/1987, of record).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rendered obvious by the combined teachings of the prior art above as discussed in the 103 section, the 103 being incorporated here. The addition of the patented claims of the reference patent over related subject matter only further supports this obviousness.
The claims of Pat. 600 teach a drug delivery system, comprising (a) a delivery vehicle suitable for vitreous humor drug delivery consists essentially of a phospholipid or a mixture of phospholipids selected from the group consisting of DOPC, POPC, SPC, EPC, PEG-DSPE and DOPG, and cholesterol, wherein cholesterol is present in an amount of 10-33 mole percent relative to the delivery vehicle; and (b) one or more therapeutic agents to the eye; wherein 50-90% of the therapeutic agent to the eye is in non-associated form, the weight ratio of the phospholipid and cholesterol in combination to the therapeutic agent to the eye is 5-80 to 1 and the life time of the therapeutic agent is extended in the vitreous humor (claim 19).
The claims of Pat. 600 teach the drug delivery system of claim 19, wherein the therapeutic agent to the eye is an anti-inflammation molecule (claim 25), wherein the anti-inflammation molecule is a corticosteroid (claim 26), wherein the corticosteroid can be dexamethasone (claim 38).
The claims of Pat. 600 teach the drug delivery system of claim 19, the therapeutic agent to the eye is an antagonist specific to VEGF, such as Avastin (claims 20-23).
The claims of Pat. 600 teach wherein the ratio of DOPC:DOPG:cholesterol is 56.25-72.5:7.5-18.75:20-25 by mole percent (claim 33).
Thus, the claims of Pat. 600 teach a pharmaceutical composition (drug delivery system) comprising a mixture of lipids (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol) and a therapeutic agent (e.g. dexamethasone or Avastin same as bevacizumab). Thus, the subject matter of the claims of Pat. 600 overlaps with the subject matter of the instant claims.
However, the claims of Pat. 600 do not teach pharmaceutical composition comprising a biocompatible hydrogel as instantly claimed, or for reducing an ocular side effect comprising vitreous haze, or specific concentrations as instantly claimed.
As set forth above, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller teach the instant claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22. In particular, Hong teaches the DSP-liposome comprising (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol), method of using the DSP-liposome for eye treatment, and potent side effect such as vitreous haze caused by liposome. Lopez-Cano teach HA hydrogel can significantly increase retention time of drug-liposome in eyes and enhance the drug bioavailability in eyes. Keller teaches that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa are suitable for drug delivery into eyes and suitable for intravitreal administration.
It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pharmaceutical composition of Pat. 600 by adding HA hydrogel at a concentration about 0.5% or 0.7% (w/v) as taught by Lopez-Cano, because the Lopez-Cano teaches that HA hydrogel at those concentrations can increase retention time and bioavailability of liposome-drug significantly. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that lower concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation with HA hydrogel would be as effective as higher concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation without HA hydrogel. Since DSP-liposome can result in ocular side effects such as vitreous haze, as taught by Hong, using lower concentration of DSP-liposome would reduce the side effect such as vitreous haze. In addition, because HA/DSP-liposome would release the liposome slower (longer retention) in the vitreous humor and thus cause less vitreous clouding or haze after administration and it can reduce frequency of administration because of the slower releases and longer retention. Based on the teachings of Keller, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the composition would be suitable for intravitreal administration which can further enhance the efficacy of drug delivery by bypassing most of the natural barriers of the eye and avoiding being washed away by the flow of tears. The motivation would have been to develop a more efficient drug delivery method and to reduce the cost of therapeutic materials.
Regarding molecular weight of HA, it would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of the claims of Pat. 600, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller, and to make a HA/DSP-liposome composition as taught by Hong and Lopez-Cano, and to use a HA with a molecular weight about 750 kDa as taught by Keller. Given all the components are well known in the art, as evidenced by references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa would be suitable for the pharmaceutical composition, because the HA is naturally occurring, has good solubility and has been tested in combination with DSP as taught by Keller. The motivation would have been to make a better therapeutic product with a well-tested agent.
U.S. Patent No. 9,987,360
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,987,360 B2 (hereinafter Pat. 360, corresponding application: 14/572,062, of record) in view of Hong (Hong et al., US 2018/0193461, Publication Date: 07/12/2018, of record), Lopez-Cano (Lopez-Cano et al., Expert Opinion on Drug Delivery, 18:7, 819-847, Publication Date: 01/22/2021, of record) and Keller (Keller et al., EP 0244178 A2, Publication Date: 11/04/1987, of record).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rendered obvious by the combined teachings of the prior art above as discussed in the 103 section, the 103 being incorporated here. The addition of the patented claims of the reference patent over related subject matter only further supports this obviousness.
The claims of Pat. 360 teach a drug delivery system, comprising (a) a delivery vehicle comprising cholesterol and a phospholipid or a phospholipid mixture, wherein the phospholipid mixture comprises a first phospholipid and a second phospholipid, wherein the first phospholipid is DOPC, POPC, SPC, or EPC and the second phospholipid is PEG-DSPE or DOPG, and wherein the cholesterol is present in, an amount of 5-40 mole percent relative to the delivery vehicle; and (b) one or more therapeutic agent for treating ophthalmic disease, wherein 50-90% of the therapeutic agent is in non-associated form and the weight ratio of the combination of the phospholipid or the phospholipid mixture and cholesterol to the therapeutic agent is 5-80 to 1 (claim 1).
The claims of Pat. 360 teach wherein the therapeutic agent for treating ophthalmic disease is an antagonist specific to VEGF, such as Avastin (same as bevacizumab) (claims 2-5).
The claims of Pat. 360 teach the drug delivery system of claim 1, wherein the therapeutic agent for treating ophthalmic disease is an anti-inflammation molecule (claim 7); wherein the anti-inflammation molecule is a corticosteroid (claim 8).
Thus, the claims of Pat. 360 teach a pharmaceutical composition (drug delivery system) comprising a mixture of lipids (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol) and a therapeutic agent (e.g. corticosteroid or Avastin same as bevacizumab). Thus, the subject matter of the claims of Pat. 360 overlaps with the subject matter of the instant claims.
However, the claims of Pat. 360 do not teach the pharmaceutical composition comprising a biocompatible hydrogel as instantly claimed, or for reducing an ocular side effect comprising vitreous haze, or specific concentrations as instantly claimed.
As set forth above, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller teach the instant claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22. In particular, Hong teaches the DSP-liposome comprising (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol), method of using the DSP-liposome for eye treatment, and potent side effect such as vitreous haze caused by liposome. Lopez-Cano teach HA hydrogel can significantly increase retention time of drug-liposome in eyes and enhance the drug bioavailability in eyes. Keller teaches that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa are suitable for drug delivery into eyes and suitable for intravitreal administration.
It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pharmaceutical composition of Pat. 360 by adding HA hydrogel at a concentration about 0.5% or 0.7% (w/v) as taught by Hong and Lopez-Cano, because the Lopez-Cano teaches that HA hydrogel at those concentrations can increase retention time and bioavailability of liposome-drug significantly. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that lower concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation with HA hydrogel would be as effective as higher concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation without HA hydrogel. Since DSP-liposome can result in ocular side effects such as vitreous haze, as taught by Hong, using lower concentration of DSP-liposome would reduce the side effect such as vitreous haze. In addition, because HA/DSP-liposome would release the liposome slower (longer retention) in the vitreous humor and thus cause less vitreous clouding or haze after administration and it can reduce frequency of administration because of the slower releases and longer retention. Based on the teachings of Keller, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the composition would be suitable for intravitreal administration which can further enhance the efficacy of drug delivery by bypassing most of the natural barriers of the eye and avoiding being washed away by the flow of tears. The motivation would have been to develop a more efficient drug delivery method and to reduce the cost of therapeutic materials.
Regarding molecular weight of HA, it would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of the claims of Pat. 360, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller, and to make a HA/DSP-liposome composition as taught by Hong and Lopez-Cano, and to use a HA with a molecular weight about 750 kDa as taught by Keller. Given all the components are well known in the art, as evidenced by references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa would be suitable for the pharmaceutical composition, because the HA is naturally occurring, has good solubility and has been tested in combination with DSP as taught by Keller. The motivation would have been to make a better therapeutic product with a well-tested agent.
U.S. Patent No. 10,660,960
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,660,960 B2 (hereinafter Pat. 960, corresponding application: 15/888,776, of record) in view of Hong (Hong et al., US 2018/0193461, Publication Date: 07/12/2018, of record), Lopez-Cano (Lopez-Cano et al., Expert Opinion on Drug Delivery, 18:7, 819-847, Publication Date: 01/22/2021, of record) and Keller (Keller et al., EP 0244178 A2, Publication Date: 11/04/1987, of record).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rendered obvious by the combined teachings of the prior art above as discussed in the 103 section, the 103 being incorporated here. The addition of the patented claims of the reference patent over related subject matter only further supports this obviousness.
The claims of Pat. 960 teach a method for delivering a therapeutic agent to an eye of a subject by intravitreal injection, which comprises: providing a composition comprising: (a) a delivery vehicle comprising a phospholipid or a mixture of phospholipids selected from DOPC, POPC, SPC, EPC, PEG-DSPE or DOPG, and cholesterol, wherein cholesterol is present in an amount of 5-40 mole percent relative to the delivery vehicle; and (b) one or more therapeutic agent, wherein 50-90% of the therapeutic agent is in non-associated form and the weight ratio of the phospholipid and cholesterol in combination to the therapeutic agent is 5-80 to 1 (claim 1). Although the claim is drawn a method, the claim discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising a lipid mixture and a therapeutic agent.
The claims of Pat. 960 teach wherein the therapeutic agent is an antagonist specific to VEGF, such as Avastin (same as bevacizumab) (claims 2-5);
The claims of Pat. 960 teach the drug delivery system of claim 1, wherein the therapeutic agent is an anti-inflammation molecule (claim 7); wherein the anti-inflammation molecule is a corticosteroid (claim 8).
Thus, although the claims of Pat. 960 are drawn to a method, the claims of Pat. 960 teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a mixture of lipids (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol) and a therapeutic agent (e.g. corticosteroid or Avastin same as bevacizumab) for eye treatment. Thus, the subject matter of the claims of Pat. 960 overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims.
However, the claims of Pat. 960 do not teach the pharmaceutical composition comprising a biocompatible hydrogel as instantly claimed, or for reducing an ocular side effect comprising vitreous haze, or specific concentrations as instantly claimed.
As set forth above, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller teach the instant claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22. In particular, Hong teaches the DSP-liposome comprising (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol), method of using the DSP-liposome for eye treatment, and potent side effect such as vitreous haze caused by liposome. Lopez-Cano teach HA hydrogel can significantly increase retention time of drug-liposome in eyes and enhance the drug bioavailability in eyes. Keller teaches that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa are suitable for drug delivery into eyes and suitable for intravitreal administration.
It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pharmaceutical composition disclosed by the claims of Pat. 960 by adding HA hydrogel at a concentration about 0.5% or 0.7% (w/v) as taught Lopez-Cano, because the Lopez-Cano teaches that HA hydrogel at those concentrations can increase retention time and bioavailability of liposome-drug significantly. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that lower concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation with HA hydrogel would be as effective as higher concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation without HA hydrogel. Since DSP-liposome can result in ocular side effects such as vitreous haze, as taught by Hong, using lower concentration of DSP-liposome would reduce the side effect such as vitreous haze. In addition, because HA/DSP-liposome would release the liposome slower (longer retention) in the vitreous humor and thus cause less vitreous clouding or haze after administration and it can reduce frequency of administration because of the slower releases and longer retention. Based on the teachings of Keller, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the composition would be suitable for intravitreal administration which can further enhance the efficacy of drug delivery by bypassing most of the natural barriers of the eye and avoiding being washed away by the flow of tears. The motivation would have been to develop a more efficient drug delivery method and to reduce the cost of therapeutic materials.
Regarding molecular weight of HA, it would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of the claims of Pat. 960, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller, and to make a HA/DSP-liposome composition as taught by Hong and Lopez-Cano, and to use a HA with a molecular weight about 750 kDa as taught by Keller. Given all the components are well known in the art, as evidenced by references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa would be suitable for the pharmaceutical composition, because the HA is naturally occurring, has good solubility and has been tested in combination with DSP as taught by Keller. The motivation would have been to make a better therapeutic product with a well-tested agent.
U.S. Patent No. 10,058,616
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,058,616 B2 (hereinafter Pat. 616, corresponding application: 14/377,211, of record) in view of Hong (Hong et al., US 2018/0193461, Publication Date: 07/12/2018, of record), Lopez-Cano (Lopez-Cano et al., Expert Opinion on Drug Delivery, 18:7, 819-847, Publication Date: 01/22/2021, of record) and Keller (Keller et al., EP 0244178 A2, Publication Date: 11/04/1987, of record). It is noted that Hong and Pat. 616 correspond to the same application: 14/377,211).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rendered obvious by the combined teachings of the prior art above as discussed in the 103 section, the 103 being incorporated here. The addition of the patented claims of the reference patent over related subject matter only further supports this obviousness.
The claims of Pat. 616 teach a pharmaceutical composition suitable for ocular delivery of a steroid comprising a combination of: (a) a lipid cake mixture comprising a phospholipid or mixture of phospholipids; and (b) a steroid solution comprising about 0.05 mg to about 0.7 mg of a water soluble ocular steroid selected from the group consisting of dexamethasone sodium phosphate, …, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; wherein the total amount of phospholipids in said composition is about 0.1 μmol to less than about 2.5 μmol per 50 μl of pharmaceutical composition and wherein the side effect profile of said composition is reduced, relative to the side effect of said composition having at least about 5 μmol of phospholipids per 50 μl of pharmaceutical composition (claim 1), wherein the lipid cake mixture further comprises cholesterol (claim 2); wherein the ocular steroid is dexamethasone sodium phosphate (claim 3); wherein the lipid cake mixture comprises at least one of DOPC and DOPG (claim 9).
The claims of Pat. 616 teach A pharmaceutical composition for ocular delivery, comprising: (a) a lipid cake mixture comprising a phospholipid or mixture of phospholipids; and (b) a steroid solution comprising an effective amount about 0.6 mg to about 0.7 mg of dexamethasone sodium phosphate, …; wherein the total amount of phospholipids in said composition is about 0.1 μmol to less than about 2.5 μmol per 50 μl of pharmaceutical composition and wherein the side effect profile of said composition is reduced, relative to the side effect of said composition having at least about 5 μmol of phospholipids per 50 μl of pharmaceutical composition (claim 10); wherein the lipid cake mixture further comprises cholesterol (claim 11); wherein the lipid cake mixture comprises at least one of DOPC and DOPG (claim 16)..
Thus, the claims of Pat. 616 teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a mixture of lipids (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol) and a therapeutic agent (e.g. DSP) for eye treatment with reduced side effects. Thus, the subject matter of the claims of Pat. 616 overlaps with the subject matter of the instant claims.
However, the claims of Pat. 616 do not teach the pharmaceutical composition comprising a biocompatible hydrogel as instantly claimed, or for reducing an ocular side effect comprising vitreous haze, or specific concentrations as instantly claimed.
As set forth above, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller teach the instant claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22. In particular, Hong teaches the DSP-liposome comprising (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol), method of using the DSP-liposome for eye treatment, and potent side effect such as vitreous haze caused by liposome. Lopez-Cano teach HA hydrogel can significantly increase retention time of drug-liposome in eyes and enhance the drug bioavailability in eyes. Keller teaches that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa are suitable for drug delivery into eyes and suitable for intravitreal administration.
It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pharmaceutical composition disclosed by the claims of Pat. 616 by adding HA hydrogel at a concentration about 0.5% or 0.7% (w/v) as taught by Lopez-Cano, because the Lopez-Cano teaches that HA hydrogel at those concentrations can increase retention time and bioavailability of liposome-drug significantly. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that lower concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation with HA hydrogel would be as effective as higher concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation without HA hydrogel. Since DSP-liposome can result in ocular side effects such as vitreous haze, as taught by Hong, using lower concentration of DSP-liposome would reduce the side effect such as vitreous haze. In addition, because HA/DSP-liposome would release the liposome slower (longer retention) in the vitreous humor and thus cause less vitreous clouding or haze after administration and it can reduce frequency of administration because of the slower releases and longer retention. Based on the teachings of Keller, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the composition would be suitable for intravitreal administration which can further enhance the efficacy of drug delivery by bypassing most of the natural barriers of the eye and avoiding being washed away by the flow of tears. The motivation would have been to develop a more efficient drug delivery method and to reduce the cost of therapeutic materials.
Regarding molecular weight of HA, it would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of the claims of Pat. 616, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller, and to make a HA/DSP-liposome composition as taught by Hong and Lopez-Cano, and to use a HA with a molecular weight about 750 kDa as taught by Keller. Given all the components are well known in the art, as evidenced by references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa would be suitable for the pharmaceutical composition, because the HA is naturally occurring, has good solubility and has been tested in combination with DSP as taught by Keller. The motivation would have been to make a better therapeutic product with a well-tested agent.
U.S. Patent No. 10,350,294
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 10-15, and 18-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,350,294 B2 (hereinafter Pat. 294, corresponding application: 15/913,466, of record) in view of Hong (Hong et al., US 2018/0193461, Publication Date: 07/12/2018, of record), Lopez-Cano (Lopez-Cano et al., Expert Opinion on Drug Delivery, 18:7, 819-847, Publication Date: 01/22/2021, of record) and Keller (Keller et al., EP 0244178 A2, Publication Date: 11/04/1987, of record). It is noted that Hong and Pat. 616 correspond to the same application: 14/377,211).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22 are rendered obvious by the combined teachings of the prior art above as discussed in the 103 section, the 103 being incorporated here. The addition of the patented claims of the reference patent over related subject matter only further supports this obviousness.
The claims of Pat. 294 teach a method of treating an ophthalmic disease and reducing the side effect of an ocular steroid, comprising administrating to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition, wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprising: (a) a lipid cake mixture comprising a phospholipid or a mixture of phospholipids; and (b) a steroid solution comprising an effective amount of an ocular steroid, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof;
wherein the total amount of the phospholipids in the pharmaceutical composition ranges from about 0.1 μmol to about 2.5 μmol per 50 μl of the pharmaceutical composition, and wherein the ocular steroid side effect profile of the pharmaceutical composition is reduced, relative to the ocular steroid side effect of the pharmaceutical composition having at least about 5 μmol of phospholipids per 50 μl of the pharmaceutical composition (claim 1). Although the claim is drawn a method, the claim discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising a lipid mixture and a therapeutic agent.
The claims of Pat. 294 teach wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered by intravitreal injection (claim 8).
The claims of Pat. 294 teach wherein the lipid cake mixture further comprises cholesterol (claim 9)
Thus, although the claims of Pat. 294 are drawn to a method, the claims of Pat. 294 teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a mixture of lipids and a therapeutic agent (ocular steroid) for eye treatment with reduced side effects. Thus, the subject matter of the claims of Pat. 294 overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims.
However, the claims of Pat. 294 do not teach the pharmaceutical composition comprising a biocompatible hydrogel as instantly claimed, or for reducing an ocular side effect comprising vitreous haze, or specific concentrations as instantly claimed.
As set forth above, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller teach the instant claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18-20, and 22. In particular, Hong teaches the DSP-liposome comprising (DOPC, DOPG and cholesterol), method of using the DSP-liposome for eye treatment, and potent side effect such as vitreous haze caused by liposome. Lopez-Cano teach HA hydrogel can significantly increase retention time of drug-liposome in eyes and enhance the drug bioavailability in eyes. Keller teaches that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa are suitable for drug delivery into eyes and suitable for intravitreal administration.
It would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pharmaceutical composition disclosed by the claims of Pat. 294 by adding HA hydrogel at a concentration about 0.5% or 0.7% (w/v) as taught Lopez-Cano, because the Lopez-Cano teaches that HA hydrogel at those concentrations can increase retention time and bioavailability of liposome-drug significantly. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that lower concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation with HA hydrogel would be as effective as higher concentration of DSP-liposome in a formulation without HA hydrogel. Since DSP-liposome can result in ocular side effects such as vitreous haze, as taught by Hong, using lower concentration of DSP-liposome would reduce the side effect such as vitreous haze. In addition, because HA/DSP-liposome would release the liposome slower (longer retention) in the vitreous humor and thus cause less vitreous clouding or haze after administration and it can reduce frequency of administration because of the slower releases and longer retention. Based on the teachings of Keller, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the composition would be suitable for intravitreal administration which can further enhance the efficacy of drug delivery by bypassing most of the natural barriers of the eye and avoiding being washed away by the flow of tears. The motivation would have been to develop a more efficient drug delivery method and to reduce the cost of therapeutic materials.
Regarding molecular weight of HA, it would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of the claims of Pat. 960, Hong, Lopez-Cano and Keller, and to make a HA/DSP-liposome composition as taught by Hong and Lopez-Cano, and to use a HA with a molecular weight about 750 kDa as taught by Keller. Given all the components are well known in the art, as evidenced by references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that HA of molecular weight of 750 kDa would be suitable for the pharmaceutical composition, because the HA is naturally occurring, has good solubility and has been tested in combination with DSP as taught by Keller. The motivation would have been to make a better therapeutic product with a well-tested agent.
Response to Arguments
For the Double Patenting rejections, Applicant is reiterating the arguments set forth above. Thus, for the reasons set forth above the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG LU/ Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642