DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claims 1, 3-4 and 13 considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004509127 A5 (hereafter the ‘127 patent), in view of Lei et al. (US 20190318925).
Regarding claims 1
The ‘127 patent disclose a composition comprising (trichlorosilyl)(dichloroboryl) methane in hexane (i.e., an alkyl hydrocarbon solvent) (example 4).
Although the ‘127 patent does not discloses the claimed solvents, the ‘127 patent does disclose the use of hexane. However, Lei discloses that when forming silicon based films that octane is functionally equivalent with hexane (para 0069). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute octane for hexane, with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful film forming composition, absent evidence of new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 3
As the combination of references discloses thew claimed composition it would be expected to have the same properties. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 4
The ‘127 patent does not use any materials that would have any of the claimed ions, as such these ions would be present at less than 5 ppm.
Regarding claim 13
The ‘127 patent discloses the composition and its use in a reaction which would require a reactor. Although, the ‘127 patent does not disclose that the container is a stainless steel container, the use of a container of any suitable material is seen as obvious, absent evidence of new or unexpected results.
Further, the use of pressurized containers having a valve and fitting being connectable to a container/reactor is convention in the art and does not further define the composition, or make a patentable contribution over the prior art.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734