DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 112280233, with English machine translation).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses an adhesive sealant formulation for tires ([0002]) that reads on the claimed composition comprising:
- from a minimum of 20% to a maximum of 35% by weight of the total formulation of block copolymers chosen from the group consisting of: polyisobutadiene (PIB), styrene-isoprene-styrene (SIS), styrene-butadiene-styrene (SBS), styrene-isoprene-butadiene-styrene (SIBS), styrene-ethylene-butadiene-styrene (SEBS), styrene-ethylene-propylene-styrene (SEPS), thermoplastic elastomers (TPE) (Liu discloses 30 wt% polymer rubber elastomer that includes SBS, SIBS, SEBS, SEPS [0039,0040]);
- from a minimum of 55% to a maximum of 75% by weight of the total formulation of resins chosen from the group consisting of: rosin resins, esterified rosin resins and other rosin derivatives, hydrocarbon resins, hydrogenated cycloaliphatic hydrocarbon resins, phenolic resins, styrene resins, or mixtures thereof (Liu discloses 55 wt% tackifier that includes rosin resins, petroleum resins, phenolic resins, [0039,0041]);
- from a minimum of 0.2% up to a maximum of 2.0% by weight of the total formulation of a mixture of stabilizers and antioxidants, wherein the quantity of stabilizers within the mixture varies from 0 up to a maximum of 1.50% by weight of the total formulation, and the amount of antioxidants varies from 0 up to a maximum of 1.50% by weight of the total formulation (Liu discloses 1 wt% antioxidant, [0039,0043])
- from a minimum of 5% up to a maximum of 35% by weight of the total formulation of paraffinic or naphthenic plasticizers (Liu discloses 11 wt% compatibilizer that includes hydrogenated cyclohexane oil, [0039,0042]); and
- from a minimum of 2% up to a maximum of 5% by weight of the total formulation of mineral fillers, including calcium carbonate and carbon black (2 wt% filler that includes calcium carbonate, carbon black, or a mixture thereof ([0039,0044]).
While Liu discloses multiple elastomers, resins, tackifiers and does not expressly disclose a specific combination, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the composition with the claimed components since Liu discloses the claimed weight percentages and suggests elastomers, resins, tackifiers, and mineral fillers that satisfy the claimed composition.
Regarding claim 12, Liu does not expressly disclose the melting temperature of the formulation as 160C to 180C; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention for the formulation to satisfy the claimed melting temperature since Liu discloses a formulation having weight percentages and components that are substantially identical to the components of the claimed composition and thus the formulation is presumed to have a substantially identical melting temperature. See MPEP 2112.01 (I,II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Liu discloses multiple elastomers, resins, and tackifiers but does not expressly teach the exact composition now claimed, including the specific stabilizer/antioxidant mixture and the dual filler system. Therefore, Liu fails to teach or suggest ever limitation of claim 11. Applicant argues that a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine the specific elements of Liu to arrive at the claimed formulation.
Examiner disagrees. While Liu does not disclose a specific combination of components for the composition of claim 11, Liu does disclose a composition comprising elastomer, tackifier, antioxidant, compatibilizer, and filler in amounts that satisfy the claimed weight ranges and discloses a limited number of elastomers, tackifiers, compatibilizers, and fillers suitable for the composition, said selections including the claimed components (detailed in rejection above; also see [0039-0044]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select the claimed components because Liu expressly discloses the components as suitable for the sealant composition. As to the amended limitation of claim 11, Examiner notes that Liu discloses "calcium carbonate, carbon black, or a mixture of several thereof" ([0044]). Thus, Liu expressly contemplates the filler as comprising a mixture of calcium carbonate and carbon black. Applicant has provided no showing of unexpected results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT C DYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619