DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yadgard (2018/0368590).
Yadgard discloses a picture frame comprising: a wall-mountable inner portion (80, Fig. 5) configured to secure a picture (83, Fig. 5) therein; and an outer portion (90, Fig. 5) configured to removably secure to the inner portion (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 12, see Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 14, both the horizontal and vertical sections include equally spaced openings to accommodate magnets (95, 93, 97, 99, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, lip 100 (Fig. 5) comprises means for removably affixing a picture or matting to the inner portion.
Regarding claim 17, the friction fit of lip (100, Fig. 5) comprises means for removably securing the outer portion to the inner portion.
Regarding claim 20, see paragraph 0039.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadgard (2018/0368590).
Yadgard discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above, including a first level (94, Fig. 5) in the upper horizontal section. Because it is well known to mount frames in either a portrait or a landscape orientation, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a level in one of the vertical sections also, in order to ensure that the frame is level when mounting it in a landscape orientation.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadgard (2018/0368590) in view of Humphrey (2005/0268510) and Buedingen (2,807,111).
Yadgard discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Yadgard does not disclose corner clips. Humphrey teaches that it was known to provide corner clips to hold a picture or mat in place. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frame disclosed by Yadgard with corner clips, as taught by Humphrey, in addition to, or instead of, the lip (100, Fig. 5) to assist in holding the picture (83, Fig. 5) in place.
Further, Yadgard does not disclose a catch contained within at least one of the upper and lower horizontal sections. Buedingen teaches providing a catch 20, Fig. 1) in the upper and lower sections of a frame to hold a picture or mat in place. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frame disclosed by Yadgard with a catch, as taught by Buedingen, in addition to, or instead of, the lip (100, Fig. 5) to assist in holding the picture (83, Fig. 5) in place.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadgard (2018/0368590) in view of Nesbitt (2016/0073796).
Yadgard discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, the means for removably securing the outer portion to the inner portion is a friction fit. Nesbitt teaches using magnets to accomplish the same result. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the friction fit disclosed by Yadgard with magnets, as taught by Nesbitt, as a matter of design choice.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadgard (2018/0368590).
Yadgard discloses a picture frame comprising: a wall-mountable inner portion (80, Fig. 5) configured to secure a picture (83, Fig. 5) therein and having mounting means (88, Fig. 5); and an outer portion (90, Fig. 5) configured to removably secure to the inner portion (paragraph 0039). However, Yadgard only discloses one frame. Because inventions are intended to be mass produced, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make more than one of the frame disclosed by Yadgard.
Regarding claim 2, see Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 4, both the horizontal and vertical sections include equally spaced openings to accommodate magnets (95, 93, 97, 99, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, lip 100 (Fig. 5) comprises means for removably affixing a picture or matting to the inner portion.
Regarding claim 8, the friction fit of lip (100, Fig. 5) comprises means for removably securing the outer portion to the inner portion.
Regarding claim 10, see paragraph 0039.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the references to Mallory (3,339,302) and Wildhack (923,394) both disclose frames having a plurality of interlocking fins with spaces therebetween. These fins are meant to attach adjacent frames to each other. If an inner frame of the type disclosed by Yadgard (or other prior art inner frames) were modified to include such fins, the fins would be blocked from engaging with the fins of adjacent frames by the outer frame, which covers the inner frame. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to modify the inner frame to include such fins.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631