This communication is in response to the application filed 9/1/2023.
Claims 1,5-6, 8, 10, 12, 14-18, 20-25 and 29-31 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, 12, 14, 15, 18, 21-25, and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliott (US 4,039,272).
With respect to claims 1, 15, 18, 21, Elliott discloses an apparatus comprising a rotatable drum for forming a fluidized bed of solid particles (abstract; reference figure 1).
Elliott teaches a fluidization compartment or housing having a cylindrical side wall secured to an upper end and lower end wall around a vertical axis (col. 3, lines 27+). The housing is on a hollow shaft which is a central axis (col. 3, lines 30+). The housing rotates about the axis (col. 3, line 28). The apparatus includes feed means (distributor) and the bottom wall comprises means for distributing gas into the housing for fluidizing the bed (col. 4, lines 4+). The upper side has an opening (Figures).
Elliot teaches a disengagement compartment with an opening for receiving fluid and particles from the opening in the upper portion of the housing (col. 4, lines 39+; col. 6), i.e. disengagement compartment. The fluid supply compartment and the disengagement compartment are stationary. The apparatus further includes a particle supply configured for supplying the solid particles to the fluidization compartment (abstract).
With respect to claims 8 and 10, Elliott teaches “fragmentary cross-section through the inner layer 21 of the peripheral wall of the drum” (figure 6), shown as blades.
With respect to claim 12, the apparatus of Elliot when in operation may have a non-zero fluid velocity in the direction parallel and tangential to the vertical axis.
With respect to claim 14, Elliott has a fluid outlet in the disengagement compartment. Col. 12, lines 32+.
With respect to claims 22-25, Elliott teaches wherein fluid may be delivered by additional spray nozzles in the passage. Col. 11, lines 21+.
With respect to claims 29-31, Elliott teaches wherein solid particles may be removed, separated, and introduced by gravity through a tube passing through the fluidizing compartment outlet. Figure 2.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliot as applied to claim 1, further in view of Neipert (US 3,326,974).
With respect to claim 5, Elliott is silent regarding wherein the housing is a truncated cone. Truncated cone shape reactor is known in the art as taught in Neipert. Neipert teaches that the angled side walls produces circulation of the materials in the bed.
Claim(s) 6, 16-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliot as applied to claim 1, further in view of Elder (US 2,761,769).
With respect to claim 6, Elliott is silent regarding a central element limiting volume. Elder teaches a conical member at the base of the fluidized catalyst bed. The conical members vertical axis is coaxial with the vertical axis of the reactor. Col. 3, lines 21+. The slope of the conical member prevents stagnation of catalyst as the catalyst falls toward the lower portion of the reactor. Col. 4 lines 19+.
With respect to claims 16 and 20, Elder teaches wherein the distributor rotates about the central axis. It would have been within the skill of one in the art to attach the distributor to the central drum and rotate the drum at distributor as one without obtaining unexpected results.
With respect to claim 17, it where the fluids were introduced through a perforated distributor as disclosed in Elder, it would have been obvious to utilize a closed wall.
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771