DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “intermediate region being formed of a plurality of stacks of sub-layers” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitations “the composition of at least one material… “ and "… so as to reduce the absorption of photons by free carriers in the corresponding region. . .” in lines 11, 14 and 15 of claim 1 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the l imitations of “ the composition of at least one material… “ and "… so as to reduce the absorption of photons by free carriers in the corresponding region..” in claim 1 will be understood to read “ a composition of at least one material…” and "… so as to reduce an absorption of photons by free carriers in a corresponding region..” Claim 4 recites the limitation " the level of doping" in line 2 of claim 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the limitation of “the level of doping” in claim 4 will be understood to read “a level of doping” Claim 6 recites the limitations "the average level of doping" and “the corresponding unmodulated layer” in lines 2 and 3 of claim 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the limitation of “the average level of doping” will be understood to read “an average level of doping” and the limitation of “the corresponding unmodulated layer” will be understood to read “a corresponding unmodulated layer” Claim 7 recites the limitation "the residual level of doping" in line 2 of claim 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the limitation of “the residual level of doping” is understood to read “a residual level of doping” Claim 8 recites the limitation "the thickness of said other sub-layer" in line 3 of claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the limitation of “the thickness of said other sub-layer” is understood to read “a thickness of said other sub-layer” Claim 13 recites the limitation " the oscillator strength of the spurious intra-band transition , at the origin of the absorption of photons by the free carriers, differently between the different polarizations " in lines 3 and 4 of claim 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the limitations of “ the oscillator strength of the spurious intra-band transition , at the origin of the absorption of photons by the free carriers, differently between the different polarizations " will be understood to read " an oscillator strength of a spurious intra-band transition , at the origin of the absorption of photons by the free carriers, differently between different polarizations " Claim 14 recites the limitation " the formation of a substantially two-dimensional modulated layer " in line 3 of claim 14 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the limitation of " the formation of a substantially two-dimensional modulated layer" will be understood to read " a formation of a substantially two-dimensional modulated layer" Regarding claim 19, The term “ transfer most ” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ most ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Since the term “most” in regard to the amount of oscillator strength is not clearly defined by the claims or the specification, it is unclear on what amount of strength must be transferred in order to meet the limitations of the claim. For the purposes of examination of the instant application, the term “most” will be understood to mean at a ratio of at least 5 to 1 as shown in the prior art rejection of claim 19 below. Claims 2-19 are rejected at least on their dependency to indefinite claim 1. Claims 5-8 are rejected at least on their dependency to indefinite claims 1 and 4. Appropriate correction is required Claim Interpretation Regarding the term “bounded variation” as recited in claim 1, the term is understood to mean “ the compositions of the materials of the two sublayers of the two stacks considered differ from each other by a percentage within a predetermined range of values ” Regarding the term “substantially two-dimensional” as recited in claim 14. Examiner notes the term is understood to mean “two-dimensional” as shown in the prior art rejection of claim 14 below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1,2,9-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tosi et al (hereinafter Tosi) (WO 2020012392 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Tosi discloses in Fig. 5A A semiconductor optoelectronic device [500] (Para. [0077]) comprising a junction apt to emit or absorb light (Paras. [0052,0068]) , the junction being formed of a stack of layers along a direction of stacking defining an N-doped region [540] , an intermediate region [530] and a P-doped region [520] (Para. [0079]) , at least one so-called modulated layer [520] of the N-doped region and/or the P-doped region [520 ] (Para. [0077]) and/or the intermediate region being formed of a plurality of stacks of sub-layers [522,524] (Para. [0077]) superimposed one on top of the other along the direction of stacking [vertically Fig. 5A] (Para. [0077]) , each stack of sub-layers comprising at least two sub-layers [522,524] (Para. [0077]) , each sub-layer having a thickness along the direction of stacking and being made of at least one material (Para. [0077]) , each sub- layer [522,524] differing from the other sub-layers [522,524] of the same stack by at least one feature of the at least one material of the sub-layer (Para. [0077]) , called the distinctive feature, each stack of a modulated layer [520] being identical to the preceding superimposed stack or differing at most from the preceding superimposed stack by a bounded variation in the composition of at least one material of two corresponding sub-layers of the two stacks [522,524] (Para. [0077]) , the thicknesses and distinctive features of the sub-layers [522,524] being chosen so as to reduce the absorption of photons by free carriers (Paras, [0076,0078]) in the corresponding region by modifying the electro- optical properties of the conduction band and/or the valence band (Para. [0076]) , compared to a so-called reference semiconductor optoelectronic device (Paras. [0076,0078-0080 , 0082]) the only difference being that each modulated layer is replaced by an unmodulated layer, the unmodulated layer having the same thickness as the modulated layer and having identical features except for the at least one distinctive feature which is uniform or varies gradually over the thickness of the unmodulated layer (Tosi discloses absorption is lower due to properties of the sublayers Paras. [0078-0080]) . Examiner notes for the purposes of examination in the instant application, the optional limitation of “at least one so-called modulated layer of the N-doped region and/or the P-doped region and/or the intermediate region being formed of a plurality of stacks of sub-layers superimposed one on top of the other along the direction of stacking ” is understood to be “ at least one so-called modulated layer of the P-doped region being formed of a plurality of stacks of sub-layers superimposed one on top of the other along the direction of stacking ” as shown in the prior art rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding claim 2, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 5A wherein the modulated layer [520] is a layer of the N-doped region or of the P-doped region [520] (Para. [0079]) , the junction being a PIN junction (Para. [0077]) and the intermediate region [530] being an intrinsic region (Para. [0077]) . Examiner notes the interpretation of claim 2 is understood to be “wherein the modulated layer is a layer of the P-doped region” Regarding claim 9, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 5A, wherein the at least one distinctive feature is the composition of the at least one material of the sub-layer [522,524] (Paras. [0055,0077]). Regarding claim 10, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 5A, wherein the at least one material of each sub-layer [522,524] comprises chemical elements belonging to columns III and V or II and VI or IV of the periodic table. (Paras. [0055,0077]) Regarding claim 11, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 5A, wherein the thickness of each stack of sub-layers [522,524] is between 1 nanometer and 100 nanometers (para. [0077]). Regarding claim 12, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 5A, wherein the thickness of each stack of sub-layers [522,524] (Para. [0077]) is selected so as to decrease the absorption of photons by free carriers in the corresponding region (Paras. [0077,0078]), compared to the reference electronic device. Regarding claim 17, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 5A, wherein the thickness of each stack of sub-layers [522,524] (Para. [0077]) is greater than or equal to 5 nanometers (Para. [0077]). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim s 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tosi in view of Sverdlov (US 6266355 B1) Regarding claim 3, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 5A wherein the modulated layer [520] is a layer of the N-doped region or the P-doped region [520] (Para. [0077]) , Examiner notes the interpretation of claim 3 is understood to be “wherein the modulated layer is a layer of the P-doped region” Tosi fails to disclose , each of the N-doped region and the P-doped region comprising a core and a cladding, the optical index of the core being greater than the optical index of the cladding, the modulated layer being a layer of the core or of the cladding of the corresponding doped region. Sverdlov discloses in Fig. 7, an N-doped region [16A,18] (Col. 7, line 58- Col. 8, line 6) and a P-doped region comprising [24A, 22] (Col. 8, lines 6-19) a core [18,22] (Col. 7, lines 62,63 and Col. 8, lines 6,7) and a cladding [16A,22A] (Col. 8, lines 25-28) , the optical index of the core [18,22] being greater than the optical index of the cladding [16A,24A] (Col. 4, lines 42-48) , and a modulated layer (Col. 8, lines 25-28) being a layer of the claddings [16A,24A] (Col. 8, line 13) of the corresponding doped regions [N-doped and P-doped regions) (Col. 8, lines 25-28) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the monolayers as each cladding of the N-doped and P-doped regions and including the core layers in the N-doped and P-doped region as shown in Sverdlov with the device of Tosi for the purpose of improved optical confinement and suppressing the development for cracking in the device. (Col. 4, lines 53-55, Col. 8, lines 26-31) Regarding claim 15, Tosi in view of Sverdlov as applied to claim 3 above further discloses in Sverdlov Fig. 7, wherein each sub-layer of each stack [16A,24A] does not contain any gallium nitride (Col. 8. Lines 25-27) . Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tso in view of Sverdlov as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Tezen et al. (hereinafter Tezen ) (US 6631149 B1) . Regarding claim 16, Tosi in view of Sverdlov discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 3 above and further discloses in Sverdlov, wherein each of the cladding [16A,24A] of the considered doped region comprises a modulated layer (Col. 8, lines 25-31) . Tosi in view of Sverdlov fails to disclose, wherein each of the core of the considered doped region comprises a modulated layer. Tezen discloses in Fig. 1, wherein each of a core layer [105,107] (Col.2, line 66- Col. 3, line 2, Col.3 ,lines 13-14) of a considered doped region comprises a modulated layer [105 Fig. 2,107 Fig. 4] (Col. 3, lines 1-7 and 15-21) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the multilayered core layer structure of Tezen into the core layers of the modified device of Tosi for the purpose of preventing a transmission of stress ( Tezen Col. 2, lines 17-23) Claim s 4-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tosi in view of Tachibana et al. (hereinafter Tachibana) (US 20080113497 A1) Regarding claim 4, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose, wherein the at least one distinctive feature is the level of doping of the at least one material of the sub-layer. Tachibana discloses in Fig. 1, a superlattice layer [ 19 ] (Para. [004 7 ]) with a distinctive feature including a level of doping of a material of sub-layers (Para. [004 7 ]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the periodic cladding structure of Tachibana into the device of Tosi for the purpose of allowing detection of satellite peaks corresponding to a period of the superlattice. (Tachibana Para. [0053]) Regarding claim 5, Tosi in view of Tachibana as applied to claim 4 above further discloses in Tachibana, wherein the level of doping of each sub-layer differs from the level of doping of the other sub-layers of the same stack by at least one percent (Para. [0047]) . Tachibana discloses the AlGaN layer to be undoped and the GaN layer to be doped with approximately 1x 10 19 cm -3 . Therefore, implying that the level of doping of the GaN layer differs from the undoped AlGaN layer by at least one percent Regarding claim 6, Tosi in view of Tachibana as applied to claim 4 above further discloses in Tachibana Fig. 1, the average level of doping of the modulated layer [19] is less than or equal to the level of doping of the corresponding unmodulated layer [20 (Para. [0047]) . Regarding claim 7, Tosi in view of Tachibana as applied to claim 4 above further discloses in Tachibana Fig. 1, wherein the level of doping of one of the sub-layers of each stack is the residual level of doping of the at least one material the sub-layer is made of (Para. [0047]) . The AlGaN layer is disclosed to be undoped from th e p-type impurity atoms and therefor only has the residual level of doping of the material of AlGaN. Regarding claim 18, Tosi in view of Tachibana as applied to claim 4 above further discloses in Tachibana Fig. 1, wherein the thickness of each stack of sub-layers [19] is greater than or equal to 10 nanometers (Para. [0047]). Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tosi in view of Tachibana as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) (US 20200287079 A1) . Regarding claim 8, Tosi in view of Tachibana discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 4 above but fails to disclose, wherein each sub-layer of a stack having a level of doping greater than the level of doping of another sub-layer of the stack has a thickness less than the thickness of said other sub-layer. Zhang discloses in Fig. 8, a sub-layer [402] (Para. [0166]) of a stack [40] (Para. [0166]) having a level of doping (Para. 0168]) greater than a level of doping of another sub-layer [401] (para. [0166,1068]) of the stack has a thickness less than a thickness of the other sub-layer [401] (Para. [0168]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the doping level and thickness relationships of the sub-layers of Zhang in the modified device of Tosi for the purpose of allowing sufficient carrier diffusion. (Zhang Para. [0167]) Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tosi in view of Shur et al. (hereinafter Shur ) (US 20150207029 A1) . Regarding claim 13, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose, wherein the modification of the electro-optical properties of the conduction band and/or the valence band is suitable for redistributing the oscillator strength of the spurious intra-band transition, at the origin of the absorption of photons by the free carriers, differently between the different polarizations of the photons circulating in the optoelectronic device. Shur discloses, a periodic structure [12 Fig. 2B ] (Para. [0041]) suitable for controlling the sign and magnitude of a polarization in a semiconductor material (Para. [0068]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the modulated structure of Tosi in the manner as shown in Shur for the purpose of allowing a thorough control of the sign and magnitude of polarization in the device. ( Shur Para. [0068]) Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tosi in view of Burnham et al. (hereinafter Burnham) (EP 0081956 A1) Regarding claim 14, Tosi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses, wherein the modification of the electro-optical properties of the conduction band and the valence band [Fig. 7] (Para. [0082]) occurs through the formation of a modulated layer [740] (Para. [0082]) which generates discrete sub-bands in the conduction band and the valence band (See Fig. 7) (Para. [0082]) . Tosi fails to disclose, a substantially two-dimensional modulated layer Burnham discloses, a two-dimensional layer [36] (Page 7, paragraph 3) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a two-dimensional layer structure as shown in Burnham with the modulated layer of Tosi for the purpose of extending the layer for the full width of the laser device. (Burnham Page 7, Paragraph 2) Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tosi in view of Shur as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Okamoto et al. (hereinafter Okamoto) (US 20100096615 A1) . Regarding claim 19, Tosi in view of Shur discloses the device outlined in the rejection of 13 above but fails to disclose, wherein the modification of the electro-optical properties of the conduction band and/or the valence band is suitable for redistributing the oscillator strength of the spurious intra-band transition, to transfer most of the oscillator strength of the intra- band transition to the polarization orthogonal to the polarization of the laser emission. Okamoto discloses, a ratio of a polarization orthogonal to a polarization direction of a laser emission at a ratio of not less than 5 to 1. (Para. [0091]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polarization control of Tosi in view of Shur to control the intensity of a polarization value as shown in Okamoto for the purpose of controlling the intensity of polarization of the respective polarization directions. (Okamoto Para. [0091]) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT HUNTER J NELSON whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5318 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon-Fri. 8:30am-5:00 ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT MinSun Harvey can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-1835 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /H.J.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828