DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In the amendment filed on November 24, 2025, claims 2 and 26 have been canceled and claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-12, 14, 15, 22 and 29 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1, 3-25 and 27-30 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 17 recites “the communication interface is at least one of: wired, wireless or optical”. However, claim 15 requires “a hardware-based loop”. Since wireless communication is not a hardware-based loop, it is unclear wireless communication is the communication loop or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13, 14, 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms (US 2015/0048932 A1) in view of Piccolo, III (Piccolo; US 2012/0068842).
Regarding Claim 1, Helms teaches an emergency call device (Fig. 1, 120 and Par 43, Par 44 and Par 48, school), comprising:
a visual indicator (par 43, graphical display unit);
a button (Fig. 4, 102 and Par 50);
a communication connection to a hazard alarm panel (Fig. 1, Admin user workstation 130 and Par 49, red alert from workstation 120 is communicated to Admin user workstation 130); and
control circuitry configured to:
in a first state,
maintain the visual indicator in a first visual state (Fig. 3 and Par 48, the Fig. 3, for example, is the home screen), and
upon receiving an alert signal from the hazard alarm panel via the communication connection while in the first state, transition to a second state and cause the visual indicator to transition to a second visual state (Fig. 4 and Par [0050] Once an emergency has been detected by the emergency server 110 and the Admin user 130 has issued a Red Alert, an emergency user interface screen is displayed for all admin and teacher mobile tablets. An example emergency user interface screen 500 is illustrated in FIG. 4.), and
in the second state,
upon detection of the button being activated, transition to a third state, sending a presence signal to the hazard alarm panel of the presence of a person at the location within the building of the device and causing the visual indicator to transition to a third visual state (Fig. 7 and Par[0052] Status button 502, illustrated in FIG. 6, when selected by the user, indicates that the user does not have all of his/her students, but all of them are accounted for. When this status is sent to the emergency server, the user is requested to provide additional information. For example, an interface screen, exemplified in FIG. 7, is displayed requesting that the user indicate which student is not in the classroom and the student's location. The user then may select the student's name and enter his/her known location. This information is then forwarded to the emergency 110. ).
Helms does not explicitly disclose the communication connection to the hazard alarm panel is such that the hazard alarm panel communicatively connects to emergency call devices (ECDs) fixedly mounted to a building via a wired hardware-based loop, wherein the wired hardware-based loop serves as a communication link between the hazard alarm panel and the ECDs.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of alarm systems. Piccolo teaches a hazard alarm panel (Fig. 1-2, 14) connected to manually actuated devices (30) such as buttons, manual pull stations (Par 25 and par 30) and further teaches the communication connection to the hazard alarm panel is such that the hazard alarm panel communicatively connects to emergency call devices (ECDs) fixedly mounted to a building via a wired hardware-based loop, wherein the wired hardware-based loop serves as a communication link between the hazard alarm panel and the ECDs (Par 28, Communication signals to and from the fire alarm control panel 14 may be multiplexed onto the device's power line, … Alternatively, or in addition, the initiating device 30 may directly communicate with the fire alarm control panel 14 using for example, optical signaling (for example, an LED, an infrared emitter, etc.). The initiating device 30 may also communicate using other means, such as RF tag reading or audio (e.g., ultrasonic, chirps, beeps, prerecorded or synthesized voice, etc.) and Par 29, The device interface 42 is configured to be a wired or wireless device interface for the system controller 14. In one example, the device interface may comprise a loop interface. Since the alarm panel and the alarm devices are wired, they are fixedly mounted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Piccolo as a known additional/alternative communication means between a control panel and the alarm devices with the predictable result of carrying signals between the control panel and the alarm devices.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the visual indicator comprises at least one LED.
However, the LED indicators are notoriously well known in the art of displaying/indicating status. Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art that a status indicator uses LED and it would have been obvious to do so in order to illuminate a light of desired color or pattern to alert the users of the status assigned to such illumination.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call device of claim 1, wherein upon detection of the button being activated while in the first state, the emergency call device transmits a signal to the hazard alarm panel, the signal indicating that an occupant close to the emergency call device needs emergency assistance (Helms: Par 55).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call device of claim 1, further comprising an audio station, the audio station comprising a microphone and a speaker, the audio station configured to be enabled by a user action at the hazard alarm panel to enable 2-way audio communication between the emergency call device and the hazard alarm panel (Helms: Par 48 and Par 60, mobile tablets such as iPad communicates by voice communication).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Helms and Piccolo discloses the emergency call device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: in the first visual state, the visual indicator is steady off, in the second visual state, the visual indicator to flash at a pre-determined human-perceptible rate, and in the third state visual state, the visual indicator is steady on.
However, one of the ordinary skill in the art understands that a status can be indicated by blinking or steady light, color of the light, pattern of the light so long as the users understands the meaning of such indication assigned to such lighting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate different lightings to different states in order to inform the user a particular state associated.
Regarding Claim 7, Helms teaches an emergency call system comprising:
an alarm control panel (Fig. 1, Admin user workstation 130 and Par 49, red alert from workstation 120 is communicated to Admin user workstation 130);
at least one emergency call device (ECD), each ECD arranged to be within a building, (Fig. 1, 120 and Par 43, Par 44 and Par 48, school) comprising
a visual indicator (par 43, graphical display unit);
an actuatable control (Fig. 4, 102 and Par 50);
a communication port; for each ECD, a communication path to communicatively connect the at least one ECD to the alarm control panel (Fig. 1, Admin user workstation 130 and Par 49, red alert from workstation 120 is communicated to Admin user workstation 130);
wherein each ECD is configured to, upon actuation of its actuatable control, transmit a first signal to the alarm panel (Fig. 4 and Par 50-53, status button 503, illustrated in more detail in FIG. 5, when selected by the user, indicates, for example, that the user has all of his/her students and that they are all accounted for and Par 57 and Par 49);
wherein the alarm panel is configured to, upon receipt of one or more first signals, display a map indicating the locations within the building of ECDs from which first signals have been received (Fig. 11-13 and Par 56-57, Admin user interface screen, illustrated in FIG. 13, displays a similar building skeleton 1100, including status icons 1101-1103. The status icons 1101-1103 represent the status buttons selected by the teacher users).
Helms does not explicitly disclose
ECD is fixedly mounted to the building; or the alarm panel is a fire alarm control panel; or the FACP communicatively connects to emergency call devices (ECDs) via ahardware-based loop, wherein the hardware-based loop serves as a communication link between the FACP and the ECDs.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of alarm systems. Piccolo teaches a fire alarm panel (Fig. 1-2, 14) connected to manually actuated devices (30) such as buttons, manual pull stations (Par 25 and par 30) and further teaches for each ECD, a communication path to communicatively connect the at least one ECD to the FACP such that the FACP communicatively connects to emergency call devices (ECDs) via a hardware-based loop, wherein the hardware-based loop serves as a communication link between the FACP and the ECDs (Par 28, Communication signals to and from the fire alarm control panel 14 may be multiplexed onto the device's power line, … Alternatively, or in addition, the initiating device 30 may directly communicate with the fire alarm control panel 14 using for example, optical signaling (for example, an LED, an infrared emitter, etc.). The initiating device 30 may also communicate using other means, such as RF tag reading or audio (e.g., ultrasonic, chirps, beeps, prerecorded or synthesized voice, etc.) and Par 29, The device interface 42 is configured to be a wired or wireless device interface for the system controller 14. In one example, the device interface may comprise a loop interface.) and ECD is fixedly mounted to the building (Since the alarm panel and devices are wired, they are fixedly mounted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Piccolo as a known additional/alternative communication means between a control panel and the alarm devices with the predictable result of carrying signals between the control panel and the alarm devices.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call system of claim 7, wherein the actuatable control of each ECD is a button, switch or touchscreen (Helms: Fig. 4 and par 51, status buttons).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call system of claim 7, wherein: the FACP is configured with an acknowledgement control, and is further configured to, upon activation of the acknowledgement control, transmit second signals to ECDs from which first signals originated; and each ECD is configured to activate the visual indicator upon receipt of a second signal (Helms: par 54, Police ETA is 2 Min!).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call system of claim 7, wherein the FACP is configured to detect one or more emergency events (Helms: Par 60, When an authorized user of the disclosed emergency system, e.g., an Admin, detects an emergency situation, the Admin alerts the system of the emergency through the Admin's workstation, and Par 49).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call system of claim 10, wherein: the FACP is configured to, upon detection of an emergency event at a location, transmit a third signal to one or more ECDs close to the location; and each ECD is configured to activate the visual indicator upon receipt of a third signal (Helms: Par [0050] Once an emergency has been detected by the emergency server 110 and the Admin user 130 has issued a Red Alert, an emergency user interface screen is displayed for all admin and teacher mobile tablets. And Par [0048], the emergency system implemented at a school and comprises teacher mobile computing device i.e. the teacher devices are in the school i.e. close to the location).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call system of claim 10, wherein an emergency event is any of: a fire alarm; an intruder alarm; and an active shooter alarm (Helms: Par 3-4, intruder).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call system of claim 7, the FACP further comprising a communication interface, the panel configured to transmit a message to any of a fireman, a building manager and a central monitoring station (Helms: Par 45 and Par 60, When an authorized user of the disclosed emergency system, e.g., an Admin, detects an emergency situation, the Admin alerts the system of the emergency through the Admin's workstation, e.g., an iPad.RTM.. STEP 1500. Once the emergency alert is detected by the emergency server, an emergency notification is automatically sent to all authorized users by the emergency server, including the first responder workstation ).
Regarding Claim 22, Helms teaches an alarm system, comprising: an alarm control panel (Fig. 1, 130); an emergency call device (ECD) within a building (Fig. 1, 120 and Par 43, Par 44 and Par 48, school); and a communication link communicatively linking the FACP and the ECD (Par 49, red alert from workstation 120 is communicated to Admin user workstation 130);
a loop coupled to the panel communicatively connecting the panel to initiating devices, wherein the loop also serves as the communication link between the panel and the ECD (Helms: Par 49-50, Admin 130 transmits Red alerts to the users 120 and Par 55, users 120 transmits message to Admin 130. Thus, the communication loop between the Admin and the users).
Helms does not explicitly disclose
ECD is fixedly mounted to the building; or the alarm panel is a fire alarm control panel; or a hardware-based loop coupled to the FACP communicatively connecting the FACP to initiating devices, wherein the hardware-based loop also serves as the communication link between the FACP and the ECD.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of alarm systems. Piccolo teaches a fire alarm panel (Fig. 1-2, 14) connected to initiating devices, manually actuated devices (30) such as buttons, manual pull stations (Par 25 and par 30) and further teaches a hardware-based loop coupled to the FACP communicatively connecting the FACP to initiating devices, wherein the hardware-based loop also serves as the communication link between the FACP and the ECD (Par 28, Communication signals to and from the fire alarm control panel 14 may be multiplexed onto the device's power line, … Alternatively, or in addition, the initiating device 30 may directly communicate with the fire alarm control panel 14 using for example, optical signaling (for example, an LED, an infrared emitter, etc.). The initiating device 30 may also communicate using other means, such as RF tag reading or audio (e.g., ultrasonic, chirps, beeps, prerecorded or synthesized voice, etc.) and Par 29, The device interface 42 is configured to be a wired or wireless device interface for the system controller 14. In one example, the device interface may comprise a loop interface.) and ECD is fixedly mounted to the building (Since the alarm panel and devices are wired, they are fixedly mounted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Piccolo as a known additional/alternative communication means between a control panel and the alarm devices with the predictable result of carrying signals between the control panel and the alarm devices.
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the fire alarm system of claim 22, wherein the ECD is addressable (Helms: Par 57, the status for each location in the facility that has an authorized user workstation is displayed in the location of the workstation. In the emergency school lockdown example, the admin workstation user is able to see the status of each classroom immediately, without the need to walk by each classroom. The admin user is also able to determine which students are missing and possible locations of each so that the administrator can quickly find the student and escort him/her to a safe location and Fig. 12-13 ).
Claims 15-19, 23-25 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms in view of Piccolo further in view of Baarlie (US 5949195).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the fire alarm system of claim 22, the FACP transmitting to the ECD, via the communication link, an alert signal upon the FACP detecting an emergency condition (Helms: Par 60, When an authorized user of the disclosed emergency system, e.g., an Admin, detects an emergency situation, the Admin alerts the system of the emergency through the Admin's workstation, and Par 49),
the ECD comprising: a visual indicator (par 43, graphical display unit), a manual control (Fig. 4 and par 51, status buttons)), and
control circuitry configured to: the visual indicator to display the status upon receiving the alert signal (Par [0050] Once an emergency has been detected by the emergency server 110 and the Admin user 130 has issued a Red Alert, an emergency user interface screen is displayed for all admin and teacher mobile tablets. ) and cause transmitting to the FACP, via the communication link, a presence signal of the presence of a person at the location within the building of the ECD upon detecting activation of the manual control (Fig. 4 and Par 50-53, status button 503, illustrated in more detail in FIG. 5, when selected by the user, indicates, for example, that the user has all of his/her students and that they are all accounted for and Par 57 and Par 49).
Helms does not explicitly disclose the visual indicator to flash at a first pre-determined human-perceptible rate.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of indicator devices. Baarlie teaches a warning light indicating different modes and in one of the modes, flashing at a first pre-determined human-perceptible rate (Col. 2 lines 15-22, a flashing light where the frequency of the flash rate is within a desired flasher frequency rate that is perceivable to the human eye.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baarlie in order to preclude immature disposal of a battery (Baarlie: Col. 2 line 30-34).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Helms, Piccolo and Baarlie teaches the fire alarm system of claim 23, wherein upon receiving the presence signal, the FACP provides an indication of a presence of a person at the location of the ECD (Helms: Fig. 11-13 and Par 56-57, Admin user interface screen, illustrated in FIG. 13, displays a similar building skeleton 1100, including status icons 1101-1103. The status icons 1101-1103 represent the status buttons selected by the teacher users).
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Helms, Piccolo and Baarlie teaches the fire alarm system of claim 24, wherein the indication is at least one of: a visual or text display on the FACP; or a transmitted message to any of first responders, firefighters, or a command or monitoring center (Helms: Par 45 and Par 60, When an authorized user of the disclosed emergency system, e.g., an Admin, detects an emergency situation, the Admin alerts the system of the emergency through the Admin's workstation, e.g., an iPad.RTM.. STEP 1500. Once the emergency alert is detected by the emergency server, an emergency notification is automatically sent to all authorized users by the emergency server, including the first responder workstation).
Regarding Claim 29, Helms teaches a method, comprising the steps of:
detecting, at an alarm control panel, an emergency condition (Par 60, When an authorized user of the disclosed emergency system, e.g., an Admin, detects an emergency situation, the Admin alerts the system of the emergency through the Admin's workstation, and Par 49);
upon said detecting, the panel transmitting an alert signal to at least one emergency call device (ECD) fitted at a location within a building in a vicinity of the detected emergency condition (Par [0050] Once an emergency has been detected by the emergency server 110 and the Admin user 130 has issued a Red Alert, an emergency user interface screen is displayed for all admin and teacher mobile tablets. And Par [0048], the emergency system implemented at a school and comprises teacher mobile computing device i.e. the teacher devices are in the school i.e. in the vicinity),
each ECD comprising a visual indicator, (par 43, graphical display unit) and a manual control (Fig. 4 and par 51, status buttons);
each ECD, upon receiving the alert signal, displaying the respective visual indicator (Par [0050] Once an emergency has been detected by the emergency server 110 and the Admin user 130 has issued a Red Alert, an emergency user interface screen is displayed for all admin and teacher mobile tablets);
each ECD, upon detecting activation of the manual control, transmitting a presence signal to the FACP (Fig. 4 and Par 50-53, status button 503, illustrated in more detail in FIG. 5, when selected by the user, indicates, for example, that the user has all of his/her students and that they are all accounted for and Par 57 and Par 49); and
upon receiving a presence signal from one or more ECDs, the FACP indicating presence of a person at each location within the building from which a ECD transmitted a presence signal (Fig. 11-13 and Par 56-57, Admin user interface screen, illustrated in FIG. 13, displays a similar building skeleton 1100, including status icons 1101-1103. The status icons 1101-1103 represent the status buttons selected by the teacher users).
Helms does not explicitly disclose alarm panel is FACP; emergency call device is fixedly mounted to a building; or a hardware-based loop, wherein the hardware-based loop serves as a communication link between the FACP and the ECDs.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of alarm systems.
Piccolo teaches a fire alarm panel (Fig. 1-2, 14) connected to initiating devices, manually actuated devices (30) such as buttons, manual pull stations (Par 25 and par 30) and further teaches a hardware-based loop, wherein the hardware-based loop serves as a communication link between the FACP and the ECDs (Par 28, Communication signals to and from the fire alarm control panel 14 may be multiplexed onto the device's power line, … Alternatively, or in addition, the initiating device 30 may directly communicate with the fire alarm control panel 14 using for example, optical signaling (for example, an LED, an infrared emitter, etc.). The initiating device 30 may also communicate using other means, such as RF tag reading or audio (e.g., ultrasonic, chirps, beeps, prerecorded or synthesized voice, etc.) and Par 29, The device interface 42 is configured to be a wired or wireless device interface for the system controller 14. In one example, the device interface may comprise a loop interface.) and ECD is fixedly mounted to the building (Since the alarm panel and devices are wired, they are fixedly mounted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Piccolo as a known additional/alternative communication means between a control panel and the alarm devices with the predictable result of carrying signals between the control panel and the alarm devices.
Helms does not explicitly disclose the visual indicator flashing its respective visual indicator at a pre-determined human-perceptible rate.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of indicator devices. Baarlie teaches a warning light indicating different modes and in one of the modes, flashing its respective visual indicator at a pre-determined human-perceptible rate (Col. 2 lines 15-22, a flashing light where the frequency of the flash rate is within a desired flasher frequency rate that is perceivable to the human eye.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baarlie in order to preclude immature disposal of a battery (Baarlie: Col. 2 line 30-34).
Regarding Claim 30, the combination of Helms, Piccolo and Baarlie teaches the method of claim 29, wherein the FACP indicates presence by at least one of: displaying text or graphic; or transmitting a message to any of first responders, firefighters, or a command or monitoring center (Helms: Par 45 and Par 60, When an authorized user of the disclosed emergency system, e.g., an Admin, detects an emergency situation, the Admin alerts the system of the emergency through the Admin's workstation, e.g., an iPad.RTM.. STEP 1500. Once the emergency alert is detected by the emergency server, an emergency notification is automatically sent to all authorized users by the emergency server, including the first responder workstation).
Regarding Claim 15, Helms teaches the emergency call device (ECD) comprising:
a visual indicator (par 43, graphical display unit); a manual control (Fig. 4 and par 51, status buttons); a communication interface to a hazard alarm panel (Par 60, When an authorized user of the disclosed emergency system, e.g., an Admin, detects an emergency situation, the Admin alerts the system of the emergency through the Admin's workstation, and Par 49); and control circuitry configured to:
cause the visual indicator to display the status upon receiving an alert signal from the hazard alarm panel (Par [0050] Once an emergency has been detected by the emergency server 110 and the Admin user 130 has issued a Red Alert, an emergency user interface screen is displayed for all admin and teacher mobile tablets), and
transmitting, via the communication interface, a presence signal to the hazard alarm panel of the presence of a person at the location within the building of the device upon detecting activation of the manual control (Fig. 4 and Par 50-53, status button 503, illustrated in more detail in FIG. 5, when selected by the user, indicates, for example, that the user has all of his/her students and that they are all accounted for and Par 57 and Par 49).
Helms does not explicitly disclose the communication interface to the hazard alarm panel is such that the hazard alarm panel communicatively connects to emergency call devices (ECDs) fixedly mounted to a building via a hardware-based loop, wherein the hardware-based loop serves as a communication link between the hazard alarm panel and the ECDs.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of alarm systems. Piccolo teaches a hazard alarm panel (Fig. 1-2, 14) connected to manually actuated devices (30) such as buttons, manual pull stations (Par 25 and par 30) and further teaches the communication interface to the hazard alarm panel is such that the hazard alarm panel communicatively connects to emergency call devices (ECDs) fixedly mounted to a building via a hardware-based loop, wherein the hardware-based loop serves as a communication link between the hazard alarm panel and the ECDs (Par 28, Communication signals to and from the fire alarm control panel 14 may be multiplexed onto the device's power line, … Alternatively, or in addition, the initiating device 30 may directly communicate with the fire alarm control panel 14 using for example, optical signaling (for example, an LED, an infrared emitter, etc.). The initiating device 30 may also communicate using other means, such as RF tag reading or audio (e.g., ultrasonic, chirps, beeps, prerecorded or synthesized voice, etc.) and Par 29, The device interface 42 is configured to be a wired or wireless device interface for the system controller 14. In one example, the device interface may comprise a loop interface. Since the alarm panel and the devices are wired, they are fixedly mounted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Piccolo as a known additional/alternative communication means between a control panel and the alarm devices with the predictable result of carrying signals between the control panel and the alarm devices.
Helms does not explicitly disclose the visual indicator to flash at a first pre-determined human-perceptible rate.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of indicator devices. Baarlie teaches a warning light indicating different modes and in one of the modes, flashing at a first pre-determined human-perceptible rate (Col. 2 lines 15-22, a flashing light where the frequency of the flash rate is within a desired flasher frequency rate that is perceivable to the human eye.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baarlie in order to preclude immature disposal of a battery (Baarlie: Col. 2 line 30-34).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Helms, Piccolo and Baarlie discloses the ECD of claim 15, but does not explicitly disclose the control circuitry further configured to cause the visual indicator to be steady on upon transmitting the presence signal.
However, one of the ordinary skill in the art understands that a status can be indicated by blinking or steady light, color of the light, pattern of the light so long as the users understands the meaning of such indication assigned to such lighting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate by a steady light in order to inform the user a particular state associated.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Helms, Piccolo and Baarlie discloses the ECD of claim 15, wherein the communication interface is at least one of: wired, wireless or optical (Helms: Fig. 1, communication between elements 120 and 130 include a wireless communication).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Helms, Piccolo and Baarlie discloses the ECD of claim 15 wherein the manual control is a pushbutton (Helms: Fig. 4, 501-503).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Helms, Piccolo and Baarlie discloses the ECD of claim 15 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the visual indicator comprises at least one LED.
However, the LED indicators are notoriously well known in the art of displaying/indicating status. Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art that a status indicator uses LED and it would have been desired to do so in order to illuminate a light of desired color or pattern to alert the users of the status assigned to such illumination.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms in view of Piccolo further in view of Reyes et al. (Reyes: US 20060109113) .
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Helms and Piccolo teaches the emergency call system of claim 10, wherein: the FACP is configured to, upon detection of an emergency event at a location, transmit a third signal one or more ECDs close to the location (Helms: Par [0050] Once an emergency has been detected by the emergency server 110 and the Admin user 130 has issued a Red Alert, an emergency user interface screen is displayed for all admin and teacher mobile tablets. And Par [0048], the emergency system implemented at a school and comprises teacher mobile computing device i.e. the teacher devices are in the school i.e. close to the location).
Helms does not explicitly disclose wherein each of one or more of the at least one ECDs further comprises a sound device and is configured to activate the sound device upon receipt of a third signal.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of emergency notification systems. Reyes teaches a networked, facility emergency notification, management and alarm system (title) and further discloses wherein each of one or more of the at least one ECDs further comprises a sound device and is configured to activate its sound device upon receipt of a third signal. (Fig. 2A and Par 51, alarm units 18a-18d … Individual site alarms, such as audio multi-tone alarm units with visual flashing strobe-lights, 18a through 18d, are installed at pre-selected sites remote from the control computer, such as in classroom … When an activate alarm signal is received at the network switch 16 from the authorized user control computer, the switch responds by furnishing power to the appropriate alarm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Reyes in order to allow the different schools choose different alarm sounds and announcements (Reyes: Par 71).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms in view of Piccolo and Baarlie further in view of Reyes et al. (Reyes: US 20060109113) .
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Helms, Piccolo and Baarlie teaches the ECD of claim 15 but does not explicitly disclose a sound generator, the sound generator comprising at least one of a buzzer or a speaker, the control circuitry further configured to cause the sound generator to sound upon receiving the alert signal from the hazard alarm panel.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of emergency notification systems. Reyes teaches a networked, facility emergency notification, management and alarm system (title) and further discloses a sound generator, the sound generator comprising at least one of a buzzer or a speaker, the control circuitry further configured to cause the sound generator to sound upon receiving the alert signal from the hazard alarm panel (Fig. 2A and Par 51, alarm units 18a-18d … Individual site alarms, such as audio multi-tone alarm units with visual flashing strobe-lights, 18a through 18d, are installed at pre-selected sites remote from the control computer, such as in classroom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Reyes in order to allow the different schools choose different alarm sounds and announcements (Reyes: Par 71).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Helms, Baarlie and Reyes teaches the ECD of claim 20 wherein the control circuitry is further configured to silence the sound generator upon detecting activation the manual control (Reyes: Par 71, the initial alert alarm is turned off by clicking on "Off" button 47, ).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms in view of Piccolo and Baarlie further in view of Penland (US 20150170486).
Regarding Claim 28, the combination of Helms, Piccolo and Baarlie teaches the fire alarm system of claim 23 but does not explicitly disclose: at least one of a door monitor and a hallway monitor in communication with the FACP, the FACP, upon receiving an indication from one of said door and hallway monitors, transmitting a message to the ECD indicating that the control circuitry should cause the visual indicator to flash at a second predetermined rate.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of emergency notification systems. Penland teaches a security system and, more particularly, to a security system capable of recording and transmitting video and audio of a disturbance or emergency situation in a room in a building to nearby rooms to provide occupants of those rooms information regarding the situation to allow them to take appropriate action (par 1) and further teaches at least one of a door monitor and a hallway monitor in communication with the FACP, the FACP, upon receiving an indication from one of said door and hallway monitors, transmitting a message to the ECD indicating that the control circuitry should cause the visual indicator to display (Par 11; The video and audio of the camera in the room in which the emergency situation exists and the video and audio of the additional cameras or monitors in the hallways, stairs, elevators, or doors providing access to the building all can be transmitted to a security office to provide information of the situation and movement of the intruder or individuals through the building and Par 39; When an emergency situation is identified through activation of button 202 in one of the building rooms, the video and audio are transmitted to other monitors in other rooms and to the monitors 320 in the common areas and in the security office 120.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Penland in order to monitor movement of unauthorized individuals or even to monitor the evacuation of individuals from the building (Penland: Par 39).
The combination does not explicitly disclose flashing at a second predetermined rate.
However, one of the ordinary skill in the art understands that a status can be indicated by blinking/flashing or steady light, color of the light, pattern of the light so long as the users understands the meaning of such indication assigned to such lighting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to flash at a second predetermined rate to different states in order to inform the user a particular state associated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on November 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Steven Lim can be reached on (571) 270-1210. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Nay Tun/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688