DETAILED ACTION This office action is in response to the application filed on September 1, 2023. Claims 11 – 19 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2021 001 175.9, filed on March 5, 2021. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on September 12, 2023 . The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner. Drawings The drawings are objected to because: In Fig. 4 – Fig. 6 , the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels. In Fig. 6, the reference “H” is not described in the specifications. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d) (1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application. Claim Objections The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities: In Claims 1 1 - 19 , the use of a phrase or number, which is enclosed within parentheses, is to be considered as having no effect on the scope of the claims. In the claim the use of parentheses is used to enclose “numbers”, see MPEP 608.01. It is recommended that the parentheses and numbers be deleted. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b) The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 1 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 12 , it recite s the limitation s “ a first visible distance range ” and “ a first image ” . However, Claim 1 1 also recites these limitations , which render s the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the subsequent recitation of the limitations refer to those originally recited or to independent or unique limitations . For the purposes of examination, the E xaminer has interpreted “ a first visible distance range ” and “ a first image ” to mean “[[ a ]] the first visible distance range ” and “[[ a ]] the first image ” . Claim 13 is rejected for the reasons above by virtue of its respective dependenc y. Regarding Claim 12 , it recite s the limitation “ the first visible distance range and the second first visible distance range at least partially overlap and a region of the overlap forms the first visible distance range". This limitation is not clear. It is not clear how the first visible distance range is formed from the first visible distance range and second visible distance range, since the first visible distance range defines itself. For examination purposes the E xaminer has broadly interpreted the limitation. Claim 13 is rejected for the reasons above by virtue of its respective dependenc y. Regarding Claim 12, it recite s the limitation “ the first image and the second first image form the first image ” . This limitation is not clear. It is not clear how the first image is formed from the first image and second first image , since the first image defines itself. For examination purposes the E xaminer has broadly interpreted the limitation. Claim 13 is rejected for the reasons above by virtue of its respective dependenc y. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 1 and 14 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grauer et al., (US 2015/0160340 A1) referred to as Grauer hereinafter. Regarding Claim 11, Grauer discloses a method (Fig. 4) for operating a gated camera (5) (Fig. 1, Gated imaging system 60) having at least one illumination device (9 ) (Par. [0026] gated imaging system 60 which may include a gated source of light 10 (i.e. illumination device) in the non-visible spectrum (e.g. NIR by a LED and/or laser source) in order to illuminate 50, for example, the environment in front of the vehicle) and an optical sensor (11) (Par. [0026] Gated imaging system 60 includes a camera (sensor array) 40 (i.e. optical sensor) ) , comprising: a control of the at least one illumination device (9) and of the optical sensor (11) are coordinated with one another in terms of time (Par. [0027], Gated imaging control 30 provides the gating synchronization (i.e. coordinated) of the camera gating/exposures (via control 73) (i.e. sensor) to the gated light source 10 (i.e. illumination device) pulses via triggering and control 77 and provides system parameters (via 74) to the image and signal processing 75 ) ; at least one first coordinated control is associated with a first visible distance range (17) (Par. [0030] FIG. 3 illustrates a gated camera (sensor array) 40 with a FOV 150 mounted on a vehicle at a specific distance 120. Gated light source 10 (not illustrated) illuminates the viewed scenery (outlined by 130 and 100) (i.e. first visible distance range) synchronized (i.e. first coordinated control) to gated camera 40 . Gated camera (sensor array) 40 may absorb the reflected gated light source energy of the full Depth-Of-Field (outlined by 130 and 100) ) ; a first image is obtained by means of the at least one first coordinated control (Par. [0033] First image (Image #1, 202 in FIG. 4) is a full Depth-Of-Field (DOF) image of the scene ) ; the first image is used to search for objects (21) (Par. [0033], Candidate Detection processing block (204) provides target (i.e. object) extraction by pre-defined features. For example, a pedestrian (i.e. object) has a vertical feature which is extracted by a filter responding to vertical edges ) ; when an object (21) is found (Par. [0039] the target detection was performed on camera frame #N ) , a first object distance (23.1) is estimated as a distance between the found object (21) and the optical sensor (11) (Par. [ 0040 ] Step 2: Geometrical consideration of the target size and/or location in the gated camera FOV may provide a "first order" distance estimation (i.e. first object distance) for the "Slice" timing ) ; a second coordinated control of the at least one illumination device (9) and the optical sensor ( 11 ) is determined such that the first object distance (23.1) is within a second visible distance range (25) associated with the second coordinated control (Par. [0040] Step 2: The "Slice" synchronization timing (i.e. parameters which are a function of the gated light source timing and gated camera timing such as T.sub.Laser, T.sub.II and T.sub.Off) are set to accumulate (i.e. second coordinated control) a specific segment of the DOF where the target may be . Par. [0042] Step 4: Adjust "Slice" synchronization timing parameters such as; T.sub.Laser, T.sub.II and T.sub.Off to achieve a better target SNR in the next "Slice" accumulated image by means of shortening "Slice" depth (i.e. second visible distance range) and/or by increasing R.sub.0 and/or increasing R.sub.min and/or reducing R.sub.max ) ; wherein the second visible distance range (25) is smaller than the first visible distance range (17) (Fig. 3, Par. [0030] single selectively illuminated scene Depth-Of-Field ("Slice") (140 (i.e. second visible distance range) , outlined by 130, 100 and 110) ) ; a second image of the second visible distance range (25) is recorded with the optical sensor (11) by means of the second coordinated control upon illumination by means of the at least one illumination device (9) (Par. [0033], the consecutive (i.e. second coordinated control) second image (Image #2, 201 in FIG. 4) is a selectively DOF ("Slice") (i.e. second visible distance range) image of the scene . Par. [0035] Target detection in the gated imaging system FOV may be conducted by a selectively DOF ("Slice") which is related to the imaging sensor and light source timing region (gating) at nighttime and at nighttime with harsh weather conditions (e.g. rain, snow etc.). For example, implementing a "Slice" (e.g. a segment of the viewed scenery) (i.e. second visible distance range) acts as a virtual scanner where target is accumulated only in a relevant DOF. The "Slice" image enables a better Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR), as to a full DOF image, for object detection ) ; and a second object distance (23.2) is determined by means of the second image (Par. [0041] Step 3: Calculate target SNR in accumulated "Slice" image from Step 2 (i.e. target detected in camera frame #N) . Par. [0042] Step 4: Adjust "Slice" synchronization timing parameters such as; T.sub.Laser, T.sub.II and T.sub.Off to achieve a better target SNR in the next "Slice" accumulated image by means of shortening "Slice" depth and/or by increasing R.sub.0 and/or increasing R.sub.min and/or reducing R.sub.max . Par. [ 0045 ] Step 3: The distance estimation (i.e. second object distance) is based on the light source pulse raise & fall time and the gated camera GCMOS shuttering capabilities (ON & OFF duration) ) . Regarding Claim 14 , Grauer discloses claim 11 . Grauer further discloses wherein: a third coordinated control of an illumination device (9) of the at least one illumination device (9) and of the optical sensor (11) is determined ( Par [0043] Step 5: Return to Step 3 and so on (i.e. third coordinated control) such that the first object distance (17) is within a third visible distance range (27) associated with the third coordinated control (Par. [ 0042 ] Step 4: Adjust "Slice" synchronization timing parameters such as; T.sub.Laser, T.sub.II and T.sub.Off to achieve a better target SNR in the next "Slice" (i.e. third range associated with first object distance) accumulated image ); the third visible distance range (27) is smaller than the first visible distance range (17) (Par. [ 0042 ] by means of shortening "Slice" depth ); a third image of the third visible distance range (27) is recorded with the optical sensor (11) by means of the third coordinated control upon illumination by means of the illumination device (9) of the at least one illumination device (9) (Par. [0042] to achieve a better target SNR in the next "Slice" accumulated image (i.e. third image)); and a third object distance (23.3) is determined by means of the third image (Par. [0041] Step 3: Calculate target SNR in accumulated "Slice" image from Step 2 (i.e. target detected in camera frame #N)). Regarding Claim 15 , Grauer discloses claim 14. Grauer further discloses wherein: in a first time sequence, the first image and the second image are recorded (Par. [0031] Gated imaging system may process the accumulating (i.e. sequence) images (i.e. first and second images) in real time ) ; the second object distance (23.2) is determined ( Par. [ 0045 ] Step 3: The distance estimation (i.e. second object distance) is based on the light source pulse raise & fall time and the gated camera GCMOS shuttering capabilities (ON & OFF duration) ) ; in a second time sequence following the first time sequence, a further first image and the third image are recorded; ( Par. [0031] Gated imaging system may process the accumulating (i.e. second time sequence) images (i.e. further images) in real time ) and the third object distance (23.3) is determined ( Par. [ 0045 ] Step 3: The distance estimation (i.e. third object distance) is based on the light source pulse raise & fall time and the gated camera GCMOS shuttering capabilities (ON & OFF duration) ) . Regarding Claim 16 , Grauer discloses claim 15 . Grauer further discloses wherein: in a third time sequence, the first image, the second image and the third image are recorded (Par. [0031] Gated imaging system may process the accumulating (i.e. third time sequence) images (i.e. first , second and third images) in real time ) ; the second object distance (23.2), the third object distance (23.3) and a fourth object distance are determined ( Par. [ 0045 ] Step 3: The distance estimation (i.e. third and fourth object distance) is based on the light source pulse raise & fall time and the gated camera GCMOS shuttering capabilities (ON & OFF duration) ) ; and the fourth object distance is determined from the second object distance (23.2) and the third object distance (23.3) (Par. [0042] Step 4: Adjust "Slice" synchronization timing parameters such as; T.sub.Laser, T.sub.II and T.sub.Off to achieve a better target SNR in the next "Slice" (i.e. third and fourth object distance) accumulated image by means of shortening "Slice" depth (i.e. fourth object distance) . If the calculated target SNR (Step 3) is lower than the previous target SNR of Step 1 adjust the next "Slice" (i.e. fourth object distance) . Par. [0043] Step 5: Return to Step 3 and so on (i.e. continuous process) ). Regarding Claim 17 , Grauer discloses claim 14 . Grauer further discloses wherein the second visible distance range (25) and/ or the third visible distance range (27) are completely within the first visible distance range (17) ( Par. [0042] Step 4: Adjust "Slice" synchronization timing parameters such as; T.sub.Laser, T.sub.II and T.sub.Off to achieve a better target SNR in the next "Slice" accumulated image by means of shortening "Slice" depth (i.e. next range within first range ) ) . Regarding Claim 18 , Grauer discloses claim 11 . Grauer further discloses a control device (7) (Fig. 1, Par. [0020] a system control 30 , Par. [0027] Gated imaging control 30 provides the gating synchronization of the camera gating/exposures (via control 73) to the gated light source 10 pulses via triggering and control 77 and provides system parameters (via 74) to the image and signal processing 75 ) . Regarding Claim 19 , Grauer discloses claim 11 . Grauer further discloses a camera device (3) (Fig. 1, Par. [0026] a camera (sensor array) 40 ) , comprising: a gated camera (5) (Fig. 1, Gated imaging system 60) which has a first illumination device (9.1) (Par. [0026] gated imaging system 60 which may include a gated source of light 10 (i.e. illumination device) in the non-visible spectrum (e.g. NIR by a LED and/or laser source) in order to illuminate 50, for example, the environment in front of the vehicle) , a second illumination device (9.2) (Par. [0021] FIG. 18 describes schematically an example of an embodiment of the gated imaging system multiple light source field of illumination and multiple Depth-Of-Field ) , and an optical sensor ( 11 ) (Par. [0026] Gated imaging system 60 includes a camera (sensor array) 40 (i.e. optical sensor) ) ; and a control device (7) (Fig. 1, Par. [0020] a system control 30 , Par. [0027] Gated imaging control 30 provides the gating synchronization of the camera gating/exposures (via control 73) to the gated light source 10 pulses via triggering and control 77 and provides system parameters (via 74) to the image and signal processing 75 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grauer (US 2015/0160340 A1) in view of ENDO et al., ( US 2023 / 0336876 A1 ) referred to as ENDO hereinafter. Regarding Claim 12 , Grauer discloses claim 11 . Grauer further discloses wherein: a first visible distance range (17.1) is associated with a first coordinated control of a first illumination device (9.1) of the at least one illumination device (9) and of the optical sensor (11) (Par. [0030] FIG. 3 illustrates a gated camera (sensor array) 40 with a FOV 150 mounted on a vehicle at a specific distance 120. Gated light source 10 (not illustrated) illuminates the viewed scenery (outlined by 130 and 100) (i.e. first visible distance range) synchronized (i.e. first coordinated control) to gated camera 40 . Gated camera (sensor array) 40 may absorb the reflected gated light source energy of the full Depth-Of-Field (outlined by 130 and 100) ) ; a second first coordinated control of the at least one illumination device (9) and of the optical sensor (11) is associated with a second first visible distance range (17.2) (Par. [0066] each gated imaging FOI may have a different electro-optics characteristics such as; different spectral width and/or different polarization and/or different gating timing (i.e. T.sub.Laser, T.sub.II and T.sub.Off) (i.e. second first coordinated control) and/or gated light source pulse shape (i.e. raise/fall time). This enables the gated system to provide another layer of accumulated data/signal of the viewed sign (i.e. second first visible distance range ) ; the first visible distance range (17.1) and the second first visible distance range (17.2) at least partially overlap and a region of the overlap forms the first visible distance range (17) (Fig. 18, Par. [0066], Each FOI (opening angle) may utilize at least a single different DOF, for example; narrow FOI may have a DOF (160, outlined by 190, 170 and 180) from 150 m to 250 m and wide FOI (140, outlined by 130, 110 and 100) may have a DOF from 10 m to 100 m ) ; a first image of the first visible distance range (17.1) is recorded with the optical sensor (11) by means of the first coordinated control upon illumination by means of the first illumination device (9.1) (Par. [0027], Gated imaging control 30 provides the gating synchronization (i.e. coordinated) of the camera gating/exposures (via control 73) (i.e. sensor) to the gated light source 10 (i.e. illumination device) pulses via triggering and control 77 and provides system parameters (via 74) to the image and signal processing 75 . Par. [0033] First image (Image #1, 202 in FIG. 4) is a full Depth-Of-Field (DOF) image of the scene ) ; a second first image of the second first visible distance range (17.2) is recorded with the optical sensor (11) )( ar. [0033], the consecutive (i.e. second coordinated control) second image (Image #2, 201 in FIG. 4) is a selectively DOF ("Slice") (i.e. second visible distance range) image of the scene . Par. [0035] Target detection in the gated imaging system FOV may be conducted by a selectively DOF ("Slice") which is related to the imaging sensor and light source timing region (gating) at nighttime and at nighttime with harsh weather conditions (e.g. rain, snow etc.). For example, implementing a "Slice" (e.g. a segment of the viewed scenery) (i.e. second visible distance range) acts as a virtual scanner where target is accumulated only in a relevant DOF. The "Slice" image (i.e. second first image) enables a better Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR), as to a full DOF image, for object detection ) by means of the second first coordinated control upon illumination by means of the illumination device (9.2) ( Par. [0027], Gated imaging control 30 provides the gating synchronization (i.e. coordinated) of the camera gating/exposures (via control 73) (i.e. sensor) to the gated light source 10 (i.e. illumination device) pulses via triggering and control 77 and provides system parameters (via 74) to the image and signal processing 75 ) ; and the first image form s the first image ( Fig. 4, Par. [0033] Inputs for the flow chart are at least two images taken with the gated imaging system ) . Grauer does not specifically teach a second illumination device of the at least one illumination device . However, ENDO teaches a second first coordinated control (Fig. 1, Par. [0055] The gated camera 20 includes an illumination device 22 . Par. [0056] The illumination device (light projector) 22 irradiates a field of view in front of the vehicle with pulse illumination light L1 in synchronization (i.e. coordinated control) with a light emission timing signal S1 supplied from the camera controller 26 . Par. [0060] The illumination device 22 emits light during a light emission period τ.sub.1 between time points t.sub.0 and t.sub.1 in synchronization with the light emission timing signal S1 . Par. [0064] t he camera controller 26 may repeat a set of the above irradiation and exposure operations a plurality of times (i.e. first and second coordinated control) with a predetermined period τ.sub.2. ) of a second illumination device (9.2) of the at least one illumination device (9) and of the optical sensor (11) (Par. [0124] The illumination device 22 of the gated camera 20 is built in at least one of the left and right headlamps 302L and 302R . Par. [0125] As shown in FIG. 14B, the image sensor 24 may be built in any one of the left and right headlamps 302L and 302R ) is associated with a second first visible distance range (17.2) (Par. [0058] The camera controller 26 changes the light emission timing signal S1 and the exposure timing signal S2 for each range RNG (i.e. second first visible distance range) to change a time difference between light emission performed by the illumination device 22 and exposure of the image sensor 24 ) ; a second first image of the second first visible distance range (17.2) is recorded with the optical sensor (11) by means of the second first coordinated control upon illumination by means of the second illumination device (9.2) (Par.[0125] As shown in FIG. 14B, the image sensor 24 (i.e. second first image) may be built in any one of the left and right headlamps 302L and 302R ) and the first image and the second first image form the first image (Par. [0066] FIG. 3B shows a plurality of slice images IMG.sub.1 to IMG.sub.3 obtained in a situation in FIG. 3A. the slice image is captured (i.e. first image) , the image sensor 24 is exposed only by reflective light from the range ) . References Grauer and ENDO are considered to be analogous art because they relate to gated camera systems on vehicles . Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifying the a multiple illumination devices as taught by ENDO in the invention of Rosenberg. This modification would allow an illumination device configured to irradiate the field of view with pulse illumination light (See ENDO, Par. [0034] ). Regarding Claim 13 , Grauer in view of ENDO teaches claim 12 . Grauer further teaches image information is searched for in the first image generated as a differential image of the first image and the second first image ( Fig. 4, Par. [0033] . First image (Image #1, 202 in FIG. 4) is a full Depth-Of-Field (DOF) image of the scene and the consecutive second image (Image #2, 201 in FIG. 4) is a selectively DOF ("Slice") image of the scene . Par. [0035] implementing a "Slice" (e.g. a segment of the viewed scenery) acts as a virtual scanner where target is accumulated only in a relevant DOF (i.e. differential image) . The "Slice" image enables a better Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR), as to a full DOF image ) ; and at least one object (21) is found by means of the image information found in the first image (Par. [0039] the target detection was performed on camera frame #N) . ENDO further teaches the first illumination device (9.1) and the second illumination device (9.2) are spatially distanced from one another (As Illustrated in Fig. 14B) . I t would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifying the a multiple illumination devices as taught by ENDO in the invention of Rosenberg. This modification would allow an illumination device configured to irradiate the field of view with pulse illumination light (See ENDO, Par. [0034]). Conclusion The prior art references made of record are not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. ( US 11 , 036 , 230 B1 ) teaches distance estimation using a variation of a depth perceiving device . MAYKOL GOMES PINTO et al. (US 2021 / 0037229 A1) teaches i maging system combines a hybrid-based visual approach controlled by a range-gated imaging scheme for calculat ing distances and object sizes . Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to SUSAN E HODGES whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0498 . The E xaminer can normally be reached on Monday - Friday from 8:00 am (EST) to 4:00 pm (EST). If attempts to reach the E xaminer by telephone are unsuccessful, the E xaminer's supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton FILLIN "Insert your SPE’s name." \* MERGEFORMAT , can be reached on (571) 272-7527 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal . Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /Susan E. Hodges/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425