DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 12, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spears (US 5,407,426).
Regarding claim 1, Spears discloses a system comprising: a fluid delivery device configured to deliver gas nanobubbles to a target site of a patient from a solution comprising a fluid supersaturated with a gas (col. 2, lines 45-49), wherein the fluid delivery device defines a flow channel configured to flow the solution through the flow channel such that the gas in the supersaturated fluid forms gas nanobubbles as the solution flows through the flow channel towards the target site, and wherein the gas nanobubbles remain in the fluid at least until delivery to the target site (col. 8, lines 20-32).
Regarding claim 2, Spears discloses that the fluid delivery device comprises a capillary defining a capillary flow channel extending from a capillary inlet to a capillary outlet defined by the capillary, and wherein the flow channel comprises the capillary flow channel (col. 2, lines 45-49; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Spears discloses that the fluid delivery device comprises a nozzle defining a nozzle flow channel extending from a nozzle inlet and a nozzle outlet defined by the nozzle, and wherein the flow channel comprises the nozzle flow channel (fig. 2: the delivery catheter is interpreted to be a nozzle).
Regarding claim 8, Spears discloses a container 14 defining a cavity configured to contain the fluid and the gas; and a pressurization device 10 configured to pressurize the fluid and the gas within the cavity such that the fluid and the gas form the solution (fig. 1; col. 2, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 11, Spears discloses that the target site is a vasculature of the patient (col. 7, lines 35-37).
Regarding claim 12, Spears discloses a method comprising: delivering, via a fluid delivery device, gas nanobubbles to a target site of a patient from a solution comprising a fluid supersaturated with a gas (col. 8, lines 21-33), wherein the fluid delivery device defines a flow channel configured to flow the solution through the flow channel such that the gas in the supersaturated fluid forms gas nanobubbles as the solution flows through the flow channel towards the target site, and wherein the gas nanobubbles remain in the fluid at least until delivery to the target site (col. 8, lines 23-27).
Regarding claim 17, Spears discloses that the gas nanobubbles are formed ex-vivo (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Spears discloses that the target site is a vasculature of the patient (col. 7, lines 35-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spears in view of Myrick et al (US 6,555,059).
Regarding claim 9, Spears discloses that the fluid comprises water and the gas comprises oxygen (col. 2, lines 59-54). Claim 9 differs in calling for the fluid to be saline. Myrick teaches an oxygen supersaturated saline (abstract; col. 20, lines60-63) to provide oxygenation to tissues. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid of Spears to be saline as taught by Myrick as saline is a suitable fluid for delivering oxygen to tissues and provides additional benefits such as hydration.
Regarding claim 15, Spears discloses that the fluid comprises water and the gas comprises oxygen (col. 2, lines 59-54). Claim 9 differs in calling for the fluid to be saline. Myrick teaches an oxygen supersaturated saline (abstract; col. 20, lines60-63) to provide oxygenation to tissues. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid of Spears to be saline as taught by Myrick as saline is a suitable fluid for delivering oxygen to tissues and provides additional benefits such as hydration.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spears in view of Grady et al (US 8,579,880).
Claim 10 differs from Spears in calling for a bubble trap configured to prevent gas nanobubbles having a diameter greater than or equal to a threshold size from flowing toward the target site, wherein the bubble trap is in fluid communication with the flow channel. Grady teaches a system for delivering a liquid supersaturated with oxygen to a patient (abstract), and further including a bubble trap configured to prevent gas bubbles from being delivered to the patient (col. 9, lines 39-49) and thereby prevent air embolisms. A filter necessarily has a threshold size for particles that are able to pass through the filter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Spears to include a bubble trap as taught by Grady to prevent bubbles that have nucleated out of the supersaturated fluid from being delivered to the patient thereby preventing air embolisms.
Claim(s) 19, 20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spears in view of Ladizinsky (US 2008/0262413).
Claim 19 differs from Spears in calling for the step of delivering the solution to the target site that is subcutaneous. Ladizinsky teaches delivery of oxygen enriched saline to a site that is subcutaneous to eliminate deleterious effects of tissue that is compromised by ischemia (pages 2-3, paras. 0034, 0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Spears to include delivery of the solution to a subcutaneous site as taught by Ladisinsky to treat ischemic tissue and prevent tissue damage in the area of a tumor that is being treated, for example.
Claim 20 differs from Spears in calling for the step of delivering the solution intraosseously. Ladizinsky teaches delivery of oxygen enriched saline intraosseously to eliminate deleterious effects of tissue that is compromised by ischemia (pages 2-3, paras. 0034, 0044). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Spears to include delivery of the solution intraosseously as taught by Ladisinsky to assist in healing of injured bones.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 13, 14, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the subject matter of the claims listed above could not be found and was not suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
LAURA A. BOUCHELLE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783