Election/Restrictions
Applicant's reply to the Restriction Requirement, dated April 29, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has elected, without traverse, Group I: claims 1-10, 16-17, 19-21, 23, and 25-26, drawn to methods for treating a skeletal muscle disease in a subject in need thereof, and the species of dystrophic genetic myopathy, intravenous administration, and dystrophin.
Claims 1-10, 16-17, 19-21, 23, 25-26, 62, and 85 are pending in the application. Claims 4, 16-17, 62, and 85 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (62 and 85) or species (4 and 16-17), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 19-21, 23, and 25-26 are therefore under examination before the Office.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code at page 14. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation of "the skeletal muscle polypeptide" of claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation, as claim 1 recites "therapeutic mRNA polynucleotide encoding a skeletal muscle protein". Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 19-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Weisbart (US20080292618A1).
Weisbart teaches a method of treating a genetic disorder, comprising administering a substate and an agent for treating the disorder, and the disease or disorder involves skeletal muscle and the conjugate is transported into the skeletal muscle cells, thereby delivering the active agent (para. 0011). Weisbart further teaches that the substrate may be the antibody 3E10 (para. 0044). Weisbart further teaches that the agent may be an RNA (para. 0041), and may be dystrophin (para. 0042).
Weisbart further teaches that the heavy chain of the antibody has a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6, which is 100% identical to Applicant's SEQ ID NO: 2, and that the light chain of the antibody has a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8, which is 98.5% identical to Applicant's SEQ ID NO: 8 (para. 0054), which is pertinent to claims 1, 3, 21, and 23.
Weisbart further teaches that the disorder to be treated may be Duchenne muscular dystrophy (para. 0129). According to Applicant's specification at page 136, Duchenne muscular dystrophy is an x-linked myopathy caused by loss-of-function mutations in the dystrophin (DMD) gene. Therefore, Weisbart inherently teaches the subject matter of claims 2, 5, and 19.
Weisbart further teaches that the treatment may be administered intravenously (para. 0167), which is pertinent to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weisbart as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Armstrong (US20180127509A1).
The teachings of Weisbart have been discussed supra. However, Weisbart does not teach the claimed arrangement of heavy and light chain domains.
Armstrong teaches that the antibody 3E10 may have heavy chain domains of CH1-hinge-CH2-CH3, and a light chain constant region CL attached to the heavy and light variable regions, respectively (para. 0062).
Armstrong further teaches that 3E10 may have the IgG1, IgG2, or IgG4 isotype (para. 0164).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Weisbart and Armstrong to arrive at the claimed invention. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since both Weisbart and Armstrong are concerned with the 3E10 antibody. As stated above, methods of treating genetic skeletal muscle disease by administering a 3E10 antibody and a therapeutic polynucleotide were taught in the art by Weisbart. Armstrong teaches conventional arrangements of constant regions of the heavy and light chains. One of ordinary skill in the art of antibody design would recognize that a 3E10 antibody with the constant regions taught by Armstrong could be used in the method of Weisbart, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hildyard (Biomedicines. 2023 Jul 24;11(7):2082) teaches that the gene for dystrophin is 2.3 million nucleotides in length (abstract).
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644