DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 71-72, 74-90, and 96-102 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection of claims 71-72 and 74-97 previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 05/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 71-72, 74-79, 86-90, 96, and 100-101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wodecki et al (US 20170296142), hereinafter Wodecki, in view of Peng et al (CN 109480899), hereinafter Peng.
Regarding claim 71, Wodecki teaches a casing (102) to store a portable imaging device (110) adapted to generate imaging data corresponding to a target being imaged using ultrasonic energy (“images based on the ultrasound data.” [0019]; “ultrasound images generated based on ultrasound data acquired with the probe 110.” [0021]), the casing adapted to be opened and closed (“The housing 102 includes a first end 106 and a second end 108 that is opposite of the first end 106. According to an embodiment, the first end 106 may be closed and the second end 108 may be configured to be selectively opened.” [0018], Figs. 1-5), and including:
an exterior housing comprising an impact-resistant material (“The housing 102 may be made from any material including: a plastic; a metal, such as aluminum, steel, or an alloy; or a composite material such as fiberglass or carbon fiber.” [0018]);
an interior portion (115) (132) within the exterior housing to house the imaging device therein (“The housing 102 defines a probe storage compartment 115. According to an embodiment, the second end 108 may have an access panel 114 connected to the housing 102 with a hinge or pivot that allows the access panel 114 to be positioned in either a closed position or an open position. The access panel 114 is shown in the open position in FIG. 2.” [0022]. “The probe storage compartment 115 may be sized to completely enclose the probe 110 when the probe 110 is inserted in the probe storage compartment and the probe access panel 114 is closed. The probe storage compartment 115 has a circular cross section according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, but it should be appreciated that the housing 102 may be shaped differently according to other embodiments. For example, the probe storage compartment 115 may be a female shape that complements the shape of the probe 110 in order to hold the probe 110 securely in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0023]; Figs. 2, 4-6);
a memory (A memory of the “processor” disposed inside the housing 102. [0019]);
a one or more processors coupled to the memory to perform computations on the imaging data from the imaging device to at least one of cause an image of the target to be displayed on a display (104) or cause the imaging data to be stored in the memory (“A processor (not shown in FIG. 1) may also be disposed inside the housing 102… a processor may be disposed in the housing to generate images based on the ultrasound data.” [0019]. “The screen 104 is configured for displaying ultrasound images generated based on ultrasound data acquired with the probe 110.” [0021]. “The ultrasound imaging system 120 includes the housing 102, the screen 104 disposed on the housing, and the probe 110.” [0024], Figs. 1, 3-4); and
a power source (121) to supply charge to the imaging device (“The charging module 121 is disposed within the housing 102 and adapted to recharge the probe 110 when the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115…the charging module 121 may include an inductive charger. The inductive charger is capable of recharging a battery 123 within the probe 110 without making physical contact with the probe 110.” [0026]).
Wodecki does not teach that the interior portion comprises a compliant material providing a shock absorbing recess to house the imaging device therein, the shock absorbing recess conforming substantially to an outer shape of the portable imaging device.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Peng discloses portable ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, which is analogous art. Peng teaches that the interior portion comprises a compliant material (“damping foam”) providing a shock absorbing recess (“rectangular vent hole” 83-84 within foam 81 in Fig. 5; Claim 6) to house the imaging device (2) therein (“internal damping system 8, integrated in the case 1.”; p. 5; “internal damping system 8 mainly aims at the host module 2 comprises internal damping foam, as shown in FIG. 5, the host module 2 to the whole device function module in the core module. damping foam inside cover vibration damping foam is divided into an upper box, a lower box host module temporary storage vibration damping foam 81 foam 82 and the lower box probe, wherein the upper box cover vibration damping foam directly covering the touch display module is arranged in the upper box cover from the interior. the host module temporary storage vibration damping foam 81 foam 82 and probe are set on the lower box body, damping foam 81 on the left side of the host module, probe temporarily stored damping foam 82 on the right side”; pp. 6-7; Figs. 1 and 5), the shock absorbing recess conforming substantially to an outer shape (rectangular shape in Fig. 1) of the portable imaging device (81 in Fig. 5 conforming to 2 in Fig. 1; “rectangular vent hole and the main machine bottom surface radiating vent groove (83) in the middle of the ventilating hole (84).” Claim 6; Fig. 5).
Therefore, based on Peng’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki to employ the interior portion that comprises a compliant material providing a shock absorbing recess to house the imaging device therein, the shock absorbing recess conforming substantially to an outer shape of the portable imaging device, as taught by Peng, in order to reduce the risk of damage to the imaging device.
Regarding claim 72, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71, wherein the memory, one or more processors, and power source are in the interior portion of the casing (“A processor (not shown in FIG. 1) may also be disposed inside the housing 102… a processor may be disposed in the housing to generate images based on the ultrasound data.” [0019] “The charging module 121 is disposed within the housing 102” [0026]), and the casing includes a base portion (102) and a lid portion (114) adapted to be fastened to one another when the casing is closed (“As mentioned previously, the second end 108 is configured to be selectively opened. The second end 108 in FIG. 2 is shown in an open position. The housing 102 defines a probe storage compartment 115. According to an embodiment, the second end 108 may have an access panel 114 connected to the housing 102 with a hinge or pivot that allows the access panel 114 to be positioned in either a closed position or an open position. The access panel 114 is shown in the open position in FIG. 2.” [0022]; Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 74, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71, wherein the compliant material defines a recess therein substantially conformal to portions of an exterior outline of the imaging device to retain the imaging device therein in a nested manner (“the probe storage compartment 115 may be a female shape that complements the shape of the probe 110 in order to hold the probe 110 securely in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0023]. “The inside of the removable capsule 132 may be shaped or contoured to securely hold the probe 110 in a fixed position. This may advantageously protect the probe 110 while transporting the ultrasound imaging system 130.” [0034], Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 75, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71, wherein
Wodecki teaches that the power source includes at least one of a battery (“a battery” [0026]) or one or more solar panels, the casing further including charging contacts (“a plug” [0026]) coupled to said at least one of the battery or the one or more solar panels, and positioned to be in contact with the imaging device to supply power to a battery (123) of the imaging device (The charging module 121 is disposed within the housing 102 and adapted to recharge the probe 110 when the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115… the charging module 121 may include a magnetic connector that is configured to connect to either a magnetic connector of opposite polarity on the probe 110 or a metal connection surface on the probe 110… the charging module 121 may include a plug that is adapted to interface with a compatible connector on the probe 110. The plug of the charging module 121 may be of male or female design. The charging module 121 is connected to a battery or other power supply located within the housing 102 in order to provide the power to recharge the probe battery 123 when the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0026]).
Regarding claim 76, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 74, wherein the recess corresponds to a charging dock (121) for the imaging device, and wherein the power source is coupled to the charging dock to charge the imaging device when nested within the recess (“the charging module 121 may include a plug that is adapted to interface with a compatible connector on the probe 110. The plug of the charging module 121 may be of male or female design. The charging module 121 is connected to a battery or other power supply located within the housing 102 in order to provide the power to recharge the probe battery 123 when the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0026]).
Regarding claim 77, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 74.
Wodecki teaches the casing further including a disinfecting mechanism (113) positioned in the interior portion to cause disinfection of one or more portions of the imaging device when the imaging device is nested in the recess (“The ultraviolet light source 113 is disposed within the housing 102 and adapted to irradiate the probe storage compartment 115 with ultraviolet light. When the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115, the ultraviolet light source 113 may irradiate the probe 110 with ultraviolet light. The ultraviolet light therefore sterilizes the probe 110 while the probe 110 is placed in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0024]).
Regarding claim 78, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 77, wherein the disinfecting mechanism includes one or more ultraviolet disinfecting light sources (113) located at walls of the recess and adapted to direct disinfecting light toward the one or more portions of the imaging device (“The ultraviolet light source 113 is disposed within the housing 102 and adapted to irradiate the probe storage compartment 115 with ultraviolet light. When the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115, the ultraviolet light source 113 may irradiate the probe 110 with ultraviolet light. The ultraviolet light therefore sterilizes the probe 110 while the probe 110 is placed in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0024]).
Regarding claim 79, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71.
Wodecki teaches the casing further including wireless power circuitry including one or more charging coils positioned to be in alignment with one or more corresponding coils of the imaging device (one or more charging coils in alignment with one or more corresponding coils are required to enable inductive charging with the “inductive charger” [0026]) when the imaging device is stored in the casing to cause at least one of inductive or resonant charging of the imaging device (“The charging module 121 is disposed within the housing 102 and adapted to recharge the probe 110 when the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115…the charging module 121 may include an inductive charger. The inductive charger is capable of recharging a battery 123 within the probe 110 without making physical contact with the probe 110. This advantageously provides the ability to recharge the probe 110 without first securing a physical connection to the charging module 121, which may make it easier for a user to quickly insert the probe 110 into the probe storage compartment 115 or remove the probe 110 from the probe storage compartment 115.” [0026]).
Regarding claim 86, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71.
Wodecki teaches the casing further including the display (104) (“The ultrasound imaging system 120 includes the housing 102, the screen 104 disposed on the housing” [0024], Figs. 1, 3-4).
Regarding claim 87, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches a system (Figs. 1-6) comprising:
a portable imaging device (110) adapted to generate imaging data corresponding to a target being imaged using ultrasonic energy (“images based on the ultrasound data.” [0019]; “ultrasound images generated based on ultrasound data acquired with the probe 110.” [0021]); and
a casing (102) to house the imaging device, the casing comprising:
a dock (115) (132) comprising an interior portion (“The housing 102 defines a probe storage compartment 115. According to an embodiment, the second end 108 may have an access panel 114 connected to the housing 102 with a hinge or pivot that allows the access panel 114 to be positioned in either a closed position or an open position. The access panel 114 is shown in the open position in FIG. 2.” [0022]. “The probe storage compartment 115 may be sized to completely enclose the probe 110 when the probe 110 is inserted in the probe storage compartment and the probe access panel 114 is closed. The probe storage compartment 115 has a circular cross section according to the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, but it should be appreciated that the housing 102 may be shaped differently according to other embodiments. For example, the probe storage compartment 115 may be a female shape that complements the shape of the probe 110 in order to hold the probe 110 securely in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0023]; Figs. 2, 4-6);
a memory (A memory of the “processor” disposed inside the housing 102. [0019]);
one or more processors coupled to the memory to perform computations on the imaging data from the imaging device to at least one of cause an image of the target to be displayed on a display (104) or cause the imaging data to be stored in the memory (“A processor (not shown in FIG. 1) may also be disposed inside the housing 102… a processor may be disposed in the housing to generate images based on the ultrasound data.” [0019]. “The screen 104 is configured for displaying ultrasound images generated based on ultrasound data acquired with the probe 110.” [0021]. “The ultrasound imaging system 120 includes the housing 102, the screen 104 disposed on the housing, and the probe 110.” [0024], Figs. 1, 3-4); and
a power source (121) to supply charge to the imaging device (“The charging module 121 is disposed within the housing 102 and adapted to recharge the probe 110 when the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115…the charging module 121 may include an inductive charger. The inductive charger is capable of recharging a battery 123 within the probe 110 without making physical contact with the probe 110.” [0026]).
Wodecki does not teach that the interior portion with a compliant material providing a shock absorbing recess to house the imaging device therein, the shock absorbing recess conforming substantially to an outer shape of the portable imaging device.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Peng discloses portable ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, which is analogous art. Peng teaches that the interior portion with a compliant material (“damping foam”) providing a shock absorbing recess (“rectangular vent hole” 83-84 within foam 81 in Fig. 5; Claim 6) to house the imaging device (2) therein (“internal damping system 8, integrated in the case 1.”; p. 5; “internal damping system 8 mainly aims at the host module 2 comprises internal damping foam, as shown in FIG. 5, the host module 2 to the whole device function module in the core module. damping foam inside cover vibration damping foam is divided into an upper box, a lower box host module temporary storage vibration damping foam 81 foam 82 and the lower box probe, wherein the upper box cover vibration damping foam directly covering the touch display module is arranged in the upper box cover from the interior. the host module temporary storage vibration damping foam 81 foam 82 and probe are set on the lower box body, damping foam 81 on the left side of the host module, probe temporarily stored damping foam 82 on the right side”; pp. 6-7; Figs. 1 and 5), the shock absorbing recess conforming substantially to an outer shape (rectangular shape in Fig. 1) of the portable imaging device (81 in Fig. 5 conforming to 2 in Fig. 1; “rectangular vent hole and the main machine bottom surface radiating vent groove (83) in the middle of the ventilating hole (84).” Claim 6; Fig. 5).
Therefore, based on Peng’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki to employ the interior portion with a compliant material providing a shock absorbing recess to house the imaging device therein, the shock absorbing recess conforming substantially to an outer shape of the portable imaging device, as taught by Peng, in order to reduce the risk of damage to the imaging device.
Regarding claim 88, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the system of claim 87, wherein Wodecki teaches that the power source includes at least one of a battery (“a battery” [0026]) or one or more solar panels, the casing further including charging contacts (“a plug” [0026]) coupled to said at least one of the battery or the one or more solar panels, and positioned to be in contact with the imaging device to supply power to a battery (123) of the imaging device (The charging module 121 is disposed within the housing 102 and adapted to recharge the probe 110 when the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115… the charging module 121 may include a magnetic connector that is configured to connect to either a magnetic connector of opposite polarity on the probe 110 or a metal connection surface on the probe 110… the charging module 121 may include a plug that is adapted to interface with a compatible connector on the probe 110. The plug of the charging module 121 may be of male or female design. The charging module 121 is connected to a battery or other power supply located within the housing 102 in order to provide the power to recharge the probe battery 123 when the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0026]).
Regarding claim 89, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the system of claim 87. Wodecki teaches the system further including a disinfecting mechanism (113) positioned in the interior portion to cause disinfection of one or more portions of the imaging device when the imaging device is housed in the casing (“The ultraviolet light source 113 is disposed within the housing 102 and adapted to irradiate the probe storage compartment 115 with ultraviolet light. When the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115, the ultraviolet light source 113 may irradiate the probe 110 with ultraviolet light. The ultraviolet light therefore sterilizes the probe 110 while the probe 110 is placed in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0024]).
Regarding claim 90, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the system of claim 87. Wodecki teaches the system further including the display (104) (“The ultrasound imaging system 120 includes the housing 102, the screen 104 disposed on the housing” [0024], Figs. 1, 3-4).
Regarding claim 96, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71.
Wodecki does not teach that the compliant material comprises a compliant plastic, foam, or rubber material.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Peng discloses portable ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, which is analogous art. Peng teaches the compliant material comprises a compliant plastic, foam, or rubber material (“damping foam”) (“internal damping system 8, integrated in the case 1.”; p. 5; “internal damping system 8 mainly aims at the host module 2 comprises internal damping foam, as shown in FIG. 5, the host module 2 to the whole device function module in the core module. damping foam inside cover vibration damping foam is divided into an upper box, a lower box host module temporary storage vibration damping foam 81 foam 82 and the lower box probe, wherein the upper box cover vibration damping foam directly covering the touch display module is arranged in the upper box cover from the interior. the host module temporary storage vibration damping foam 81 foam 82 and probe are set on the lower box body, damping foam 81 on the left side of the host module, probe temporarily stored damping foam 82 on the right side”; pp. 6-7; Figs. 1 and 5).
Therefore, based on Peng’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki to employ the compliant material that comprises a compliant plastic, foam, or rubber material, as taught by Peng, in order to reduce the risk of damage to the imaging device.
Regarding claim 100, Wodecki teaches an apparatus (100) (120) comprising:
a lid portion (114) comprising an impact-resistant material (“The housing 102 may be made from any material including: a plastic; a metal, such as aluminum, steel, or an alloy; or a composite material such as fiberglass or carbon fiber.” [0018]; Fig. 2; “The probe 110 may be inserted into the probe storage compartment 115 and then probe access panel 114 may be closed, thus securing the probe 110 in the housing 102 for storage and transport.” [0031]; Fig. 5);
a base portion (102) comprising an impact-resistant material (“The housing 102 may be made from any material including: a plastic; a metal, such as aluminum, steel, or an alloy; or a composite material such as fiberglass or carbon fiber.” [0018]) and connected to the lid portion by one or more hinges (“the second end 108 may have an access panel 114 connected to the housing 102 with a hinge or pivot that allows the access panel 114 to be positioned in either a closed position or an open position." [0022]; Fig. 2), wherein the base portion defines a recess (115) to house a portable imaging device (110) therein (“The probe storage compartment 115 may be sized to completely enclose the probe 110 when the probe 110 is inserted in the probe storage compartment and the probe access panel 114 is closed.” [0023]) and conforming substantially to an outer shape of the portable imaging device (“the probe storage compartment 115 may be a female shape that complements the shape of the probe 110 in order to hold the probe 110 securely in the probe storage compartment 115.” [0023]; Fig. 2);
a memory (A memory of the “processor” disposed inside the housing 102. [0019]);
a one or more processors coupled to the memory to perform computations on imaging data from the portable imaging device (“A processor (not shown in FIG. 1) may also be disposed inside the housing 102… a processor may be disposed in the housing to generate images based on the ultrasound data.” [0019]. “The screen 104 is configured for displaying ultrasound images generated based on ultrasound data acquired with the probe 110.” [0021]. “The ultrasound imaging system 120 includes the housing 102, the screen 104 disposed on the housing, and the probe 110.” [0024], Figs. 1, 3-4);
a power source (121) to charge the portable imaging device (“The charging module 121 is disposed within the housing 102 and adapted to recharge the probe 110 when the probe 110 is positioned in the probe storage compartment 115…the charging module 121 may include an inductive charger. The inductive charger is capable of recharging a battery 123 within the probe 110 without making physical contact with the probe 110.” [0026]).
Wodecki does not teach the recess comprising a conformal material.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Peng discloses portable ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, which is analogous art. Peng teaches the recess comprising a conformal material (“damping foam”) (“internal damping system 8, integrated in the case 1.”; p. 5; “internal damping system 8 mainly aims at the host module 2 comprises internal damping foam, as shown in FIG. 5, the host module 2 to the whole device function module in the core module. damping foam inside cover vibration damping foam is divided into an upper box, a lower box host module temporary storage vibration damping foam 81 foam 82 and the lower box probe, wherein the upper box cover vibration damping foam directly covering the touch display module is arranged in the upper box cover from the interior. the host module temporary storage vibration damping foam 81 … and probe are set on the lower box body, damping foam 81 on the left side of the host module, probe temporarily stored damping foam 82 on the right side”; pp. 6-7; Figs. 1 and 5).
Therefore, based on Peng’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki to employ the recess comprising a conformal material, as taught by Peng, in order to reduce the risk of damage to the imaging device.
Regarding claim 101, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the apparatus of claim 100, further comprising the portable imaging device (“The ultrasound imaging system 120 includes the housing 102 … and the probe 110." [0024]; Figs. 1-5)
Claims 80-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wodecki and Peng as applied to claim 71, and further in view of Haque (US 20210278530), hereinafter Haque.
Regarding claim 80, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71.
Wodecki modified by Peng does not teach that the one or more processors are to select an imaging mode for the imaging device from a plurality of selectable imaging modes, and to control the imaging device to operate based on a selected imaging mode, the selectable imaging modes including at least one of: a one-dimensional imaging mode, a two-dimensional imaging mode, a three-dimensional imaging mode, a Doppler imaging mode, a linear mode or a sector mode.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Haque discloses ultrasonic imaging device with programmable anatomy and flow imaging, which is analogous art. Haque teaches that the one or more processors are to select an imaging mode for the imaging device from a plurality of selectable imaging modes (“The imaging device (100) may be switched to different imaging modes and electronically configured under program control.” [0088]), and to control the imaging device to operate based on a selected imaging mode, the selectable imaging modes including at least one of: a one-dimensional imaging mode, a two-dimensional imaging mode (“B-mode” [0088]), a three-dimensional imaging mode (“C scan” [0088]), a Doppler imaging mode (“Doppler modes” [0080])(“ PW and Color Doppler may use a selected number of elements in an array” [0049]), a linear mode or a sector mode (“The imaging device allows system configurability and adaptability in real time to actively control power consumption and temperature in the imaging device. Flow imaging, in particular, can consume more power than anatomy imaging modes...acoustic power output can increase in Doppler modes compared to other anatomy modes. Electronic means are provided to control such power output levels.” [0080]. “The imaging device (100) may be used to perform different types of imaging. For example, the imaging device (100) may be used to perform one dimensional imaging, also known as A-Scan, 2D imaging, also known as B scan (B-mode), three dimensional (3D) imaging, also known as C scan, and Doppler imaging. The imaging device (100) may be switched to different imaging modes and electronically configured under program control.” [0088]; “Depending on the imaging mode, each column of piezoelectric elements (104) may be coupled to a single transmit channel (106) and a single receive channel (108).” [0095]).
Therefore, based on Haque’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki and Peng to employ the one or more processors that are to select an imaging mode for the imaging device from a plurality of selectable imaging modes, and to control the imaging device to operate based on a selected imaging mode, the selectable imaging modes including at least one of: a one-dimensional imaging mode, a two-dimensional imaging mode, a three-dimensional imaging mode, a Doppler imaging mode, a linear mode or a sector mode, as taught by Haque, in order to facilitate ultrasound imaging of a target anatomy (Haque: [0080]).
Regarding claim 81, Wodecki modified by Peng and Haque teaches the casing of claim 80.
Wodecki modified by Peng does not teach that the one or more processors are to select the imaging mode based on whether the imaging device or any portion thereof has exceeded one or more predetermined operating temperature thresholds.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Haque discloses ultrasonic imaging device with programmable anatomy and flow imaging, which is analogous art. Haque teaches that the one or more processors are to select the imaging mode based on whether the imaging device or any portion thereof has exceeded one or more predetermined operating temperature thresholds (“the imaging device controls power dissipation without exceeding temperature limits of the imaging device all while maintaining needed image quality. Specifically, the number of receive channels and/or transmit channels used to form an image are electronically adaptable to save power, for example, in cases where a lower number of channels is acceptable. As a specific example, each of the number of channels may be dynamically controlled to reduce power, or to be powered down entirely. Additionally, other characteristics of each channel are also configurable to reduce power. Such advanced control allows the imaging device to be operated within safe temperature thresholds, and may do so without materially sacrificing needed image quality.” [0077]. The imaging device that controls power dissipation without exceeding “temperature limits” [0077] would select an imaging mode requiring a lower number of channels thus allowing the imaging device to cool down and would not select an imaging mode that increases power dissipation over the temperature limits, and therefore the imaging mode selection is based on whether the imaging device or any portion thereof has exceeded one or more predetermined operating temperature thresholds as claimed).
Therefore, based on Haque’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki and Peng to employ the one or more processors that are to select the imaging mode based on whether the imaging device or any portion thereof has exceeded one or more predetermined operating temperature thresholds., as taught by Haque, in order to facilitate ultrasound imaging of a target anatomy within safe temperature thresholds (Haque: [0080]).
Claims 82-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wodecki and Peng as applied to claim 71, and further in view of Avendi et al (US 20210059758), hereinafter Avendi.
Regarding claim 82, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71.
Wodecki does not teach that the one or more processors are to implement a feature identification algorithm to identify a target being imaged based on the image data, generate data based on an identification of the target, and cause communication of the data based on the identification of the target to at least one of a user of the imaging device or a remote device.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Avendi discloses a system and method for identification, labeling, and tracking of a medical instrument, which is analogous art. Avendi teaches that the one or more processors (16) are to implement a feature identification algorithm to identify (110) (204) a target being imaged based on the image data (70) (“anatomical features” [0048]; “an object or objects of interest” [0053]),
generate data based on an identification of the target (“visualize/label” [0053]) (“the controller/processor 16 can be configured to detect, identify, and map or track one or more objects (e.g., medical instruments, anatomical features, etc.) in a plurality of scenes 12 contained within each image 14 generated by the imaging system 11 from a plurality of real-time two-dimensional ultrasound images 70 extruded from a video feed 60 (see FIGS. 7 and 8).” [0048]. “Turning now to FIG. 4, a process flow diagram exemplifying how the computing system 100, that can include the imaging system 10 or 11 described above, can be utilized to identify, visualize/label, and track a medical instrument and optionally identify and visualize/label one or more anatomical objects is described in detail. Specifically, FIG. 4 depicts an example processing workflow for identification of an object or objects of interest (e.g., a medical instrument and one or more anatomical objects) according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. In particular, the processing workflow includes or otherwise utilizes a machine-learned object of interest identification model 110.” [0053]; Fig. 13), and
cause communication of the data based on the identification of the target to at least one of a user of the imaging device or a remote device (“Referring still to FIG. 13, as shown at 206, the method 200 also includes receiving a labeled image from the computer system as an output of the at least one machine-learned object of interest identification model 110, where the object of interest (e.g., the medical instrument 145, the anatomical object of interest 30, and/or the surrounding tissue 32) in the scene 12 of the image 14 is annotated or labeled.” [0093]).
Therefore, based on Avendi’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki to employ the one or more processors that are to implement a feature identification algorithm to identify a target being imaged based on the image data, generate data based on an identification of the target, and cause communication of the data based on the identification of the target to at least one of a user of the imaging device or a remote device, as taught by Avendi, in order to facilitate ultrasound imaging of a target anatomy (Avendi: [0093]).
Regarding claim 83, Wodecki modified by Avendi teaches the casing of claim 82.
Wodecki does not teach that the data based on an identification of the target corresponds to at least one of a marking on an image of the target, text communication, or voice communication.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Avendi discloses a system and method for identification, labeling, and tracking of a medical instrument, which is analogous art. Avendi teaches that the data based on an identification of the target corresponds to at least one of a marking (90, 91) on an image (80) of the target, text communication, or voice communication (“a user can have the option to see a labeled image 80 of an individual overlay (e.g., to view only the medical instrument label 90 or only the anatomical object label 91) or to view both overlays (e.g., to view both the medical instrument label 90 and the anatomical object label 91), where if both overlays are included, the labels 90 and 91 are visually distinguishable.” [0081]. “Referring still to FIG. 13, as shown at 206, the method 200 also includes receiving a labeled image from the computer system as an output of the at least one machine-learned object of interest identification model 110, where the object of interest (e.g., the medical instrument 145, the anatomical object of interest 30, and/or the surrounding tissue 32) in the scene 12 of the image 14 is annotated or labeled.” [0093], Figs. 9-13).
Therefore, based on Avendi’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki to have the data based on an identification of the target that corresponds to at least one of a marking on an image of the target, text communication, or voice communication, as taught by Avendi, in order to facilitate ultrasound imaging of a target anatomy (Avendi: [0093]).
Regarding claim 84, Wodecki modified by Avendi teaches the casing of claim 82.
Wodecki does not teach that the data based on an identification of the target corresponds to guidance on a medical procedure to be performed on a patient, wherein the target is in the patient.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Avendi discloses a system and method for identification, labeling, and tracking of a medical instrument, which is analogous art. Avendi teaches that the data based on an identification of the target corresponds to guidance on a medical procedure to be performed on a patient (“perform a medical procedure using the labeled image or images” [0095]), wherein the target (30) is in the patient (“Referring still to FIG. 13, as shown at 208, after a labeled image is output, displayed, or received from the processor(s) 16 of the computing system 100, the user receiving the labeled image or images can perform a medical procedure using the labeled image or images to locate and track the one or more objects of interest. For example, the user can review, in real-time, a plurality of labeled or annotated images to track the movement of a tip 146 of a medical instrument 145 that is to be used to deliver a nerve block to an anatomical object of interest 30, where the tip 146 of the medical instrument 145 is labeled for ease of visualization and tracking as the tip 146 of the medical instrument 145 is moved by the user towards the anatomical object of interest 30.” [0095]; Figs. 9-13).
Therefore, based on Avendi’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki to have the data based on an identification of the target that corresponds to guidance on a medical procedure to be performed on a patient, wherein the target is in the patient, as taught by Avendi, in order to facilitate ultrasound imaging of a target anatomy (Avendi: [0093]).
Regarding claim 85, Wodecki modified by Avendi teaches the casing of claim 82, wherein Wodecki teaches that the casing configured for communication between the one or more processors and at least one of the display, the imaging device and a remote device by way of a wired or wireless connection, the communication including at least one of imaging data, metadata associated with the imaging data, voice data or text data (“The probe 110 may be wired or wireless. The probe 110 is in electronic communication with one or more components, such as the processor inside the housing 102… The probe 110 may acquire ultrasound data and generate ultrasound images, which are then transferred to the housing 102, where the images are displayed on the screen 104.” [0019]; Figs. 1-6).
Claim 97 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wodecki and Peng as applied to claim 71, and further in view of Chiang et al (TW 201531283), hereinafter Chiang.
Regarding claim 97, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71.
Wodecki does not teach wireless communication circuitry to transmit the imaging data or metadata associated with the imaging data to a remote endpoint, and to receive information from the remote endpoint.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Chiang discloses a tablet ultrasound system, which is analogous art. Chiang teaches wireless communication circuitry to transmit the imaging data or metadata associated with the imaging data to a remote endpoint, and to receive information from the remote endpoint (“during, before, or after an ultrasound procedure is performed, a user can initiate a wireless connection with one of a hospital or a physician to transmit ultrasound imaging data. The data may be transmitted immediately when the data is generated, or the data already generated may be transmitted. An audio and/or video connection can also be initiated via the same wireless network so that the user of the ultrasound imaging device can communicate with a hospital or doctor while executing the program.”; pp. 30-31. “This feature allows a user of an ultrasound imaging device to, for example, perform and transmit ultrasound data remotely when in direct audio and/or video contact with a hospital or medical professional. In one example, initiating an audio and/or video call with a hospital may allow a user of the portable ultrasound imaging device to receive guidance and/or advice from a physician while performing an ultrasound procedure. If an audio and/or video call is desired, the method can further include initiating 6005 an audio/video call with the desired destination.”; p. 49, para. 4).
Therefore, based on Chiang’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki to employ wireless communication circuitry to transmit the imaging data or metadata associated with the imaging data to a remote endpoint, and to receive information from the remote endpoint, as taught by Chiang, in order to provide imaging data for the analysis of a target anatomy by a doctor and facilitate receiving feedback to improve imaging.
Claim 98 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wodecki and Peng as applied to claim 71, and further in view of Frankel et al (US 20180279992), hereinafter Frankel.
Regarding claim 98, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71.
Wodecki modified by Peng does not teach that the recess is molded such that the portable imaging device snaps into and is retained by the recess.
However, in the ultrasound systems field of endeavor, Frankel discloses a positioning device and method of use, which is analogous art. Frankel teaches that the recess is molded such that the portable imaging device snaps into and is retained by the recess (“the instrument attachment, such as a transducer attachment, may comprise … a snap molding... The snap molding may be a preformed plastic packaging snap molding that the instrument, such as a transducer, is pressed into and grips the instrument through pressure from the surrounding mold. This way instruments are easily swapped in and out in a single motion.” [0016]).
Therefore, based on Frankel’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki and Peng to employ the recess that is molded such that the portable imaging device snaps into and is retained by the recess, as taught by Frankel, in order to easily swap the device in and out in a single motion.
Claim 99 and 102 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wodecki and Peng as applied to claims 71 and 100, and further in view of Mander et al (US 20150297179), hereinafter Mander.
Regarding claim 99, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the casing of claim 71.
Wodecki modified by Peng does not teach that the interior portion further comprises integrated compartments for accessories.
However, in the ultrasound medical imaging systems field of endeavor, Mander discloses a hand-held medical imaging system with improved user interface for deploying on-screen graphical tools and associated apparatuses and methods, which is analogous art. Mander teaches integrated compartments (598) for accessories (“Referring to FIGS. 5D-5F, in one embodiment a support system 590d (FIG. 5D) can include a holster 591 (e.g., a hard-plastic protective holster) carried by a sling 597. As shown, the sling 597 can include individual pockets or compartments 598 for storing components, such as spare batteries and/or the transducer wand 102." [0031]).
Therefore, based on Mander’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki and Peng to employ the interior portion that further comprises integrated compartments for accessories, as taught by Mander, in order to facilitate storing components.
Regarding claim 102, Wodecki modified by Peng teaches the apparatus of claim 100.
Wodecki modified by Peng does not teach that the base portion further defines integrated compartments for accessories.
However, in the ultrasound medical imaging systems field of endeavor, Mander discloses a hand-held medical imaging system with improved user interface for deploying on-screen graphical tools and associated apparatuses and methods, which is analogous art. Mander teaches that the base portion (597) further defines integrated compartments (598) for accessories (“Referring to FIGS. 5D-5F, in one embodiment a support system 590d (FIG. 5D) can include a holster 591 (e.g., a hard-plastic protective holster) carried by a sling 597. As shown, the sling 597 can include individual pockets or compartments 598 for storing components, such as spare batteries and/or the transducer wand 102." [0031]).
Therefore, based on Mander’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Wodecki and Peng to employ the base portion that further defines integrated compartments for accessories, as taught by Mander, in order to facilitate storing components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Response to the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection arguments on pages 1-3 of the REMARKS.
Claims 71-72, 74-90, and 96-102
The Applicant argues that “the Peng reference merely describes "an internal damping system 8 integrated in the case 1" that may include a "vibration damping foam" and does not describe an interior portion that conforms substantially to the outer shape of a portable imaging device as amended claim 71 recites.” (Page 2). The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that both Wodecki and Peng recite an interior portion that conforms substantially to the outer shape of a portable imaging device. According to Wodecki, “the probe storage compartment 115 may be a female shape that complements the shape of the probe 110 in order to hold the probe 110 securely in the probe storage compartment 115.” (Wodecki: [0023]). In Peng, an interior portion (limited by foam 81) conforms substantially to the outer shape of a portable imaging device (2) (Peng: Figs 1 and 5). The dependent claims are not allowable because the independent claims are not allowable and because additional secondary references meet additional limitations of the dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXEI BYKHOVSKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798