DETAILED ACTION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues on page 10 of their remarks that “according to Zhang, the preamble transmission counter and corresponding maximum value relate to a number of preamble transmissions by the UE, and not a ‘threshold number of the one or more RARs’ as claimed [emphasis in original]” (Applicant Remarks, p. 10).
However, the examiner respectfully submits that the surrounding context in paragraph 0093 of Zhang belies this conclusion. As the relevant passage of Zhang states, “if no random access response is received within this time window, or an identifier of a preamble sequence carried in the random access response information is different from an identifier corresponding to a preamble sequence transmitted by the user equipment to the base station ... the PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER is increased by 1” (Zhang, 0093). In other words, the PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER is incremented when a base station fails to send a “random access response” in response to the UE’s preamble. A person of ordinary skill would therefore recognize that although the threshold is named the “PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER”, it actually counts failed random access responses because it is incremented when the base station fails to transmit a valid random access response.
The applicant further argues on page 11 of their remarks that “[t]he combination of Zhang and Da also fails to teach or suggest at least “offsetting a carrier frequency for ... subsequent random access messages in response to the determination [emphasis in original]”, adding, “Da provides specific PRACH preambles and implements detection of those specific PRACH preambles in order to proactively avoid communication issues” (Remarks, p. 11).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that this summary of Da does not fairly treat the full scope of its teachings. The passages of Da cited in the non-final rejection dated 10/14/25 describe applying “a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset” to “physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles” (Da col. 5, lines 29-42). This clearly meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “offsetting a carrier frequency for each of one or more subsequent random access messages in response to the determination”. Even if the “determination” in Da is “proactive”, as the applicant suggests, this does not mean Da’s description of “offsetting a carrier frequency” of “one or more subsequent random access messages” is irrelevant. On the contrary, it shows that adjusting the frequency of random access preambles was known in the art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Moreover, it would have been obvious to combine Da’s teachings with Zhang because both references relate methods for ensuring successful execution of a random access sequence. Thus, the rejection based on Zhang in view of Da is properly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, 13, 15-21, 23, 25, 27-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0342925 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Da et al. (US 10,582,545 B2, hereinafter “Da”).
As to Claim 1:
Zhang describes restarting a random access attempt if a base station’s random access response contains an incorrect preamble ID.
Specifically, Zhang teaches:
Obtaining one or more random access responses (RARs)
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “all the received random access responses” map to “obtaining one or more random access responses (RARs)”).
Each of the one or more RARs includes a random access preamble identifier (RAPID)
(“[T]he RAR contains information such as the detected preamble sequence identifier” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “the RAR” maps to “each of the one or more RARs”, and
“contains ... the detected preamble sequence identifier” maps to “includes a random access preamble identifier (RAPID)”).
Each of the one or more RARs is responsive to a random access message including a preamble
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “a Random Access Response (RAR)” maps to “each of the one or more RARs”,
“if the base station detects the random access” maps to “is responsive to a random access message”, and
“the preamble sequence” for “the received random access responses” maps to “including a preamble”).
Determining, in each of a threshold number of the one or more RARs, that the RAPID of a corresponding RAR is different than the preamble of a corresponding random access message
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “if the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “determining ... that the RAPID of a corresponding RAR is different than the preamble of a corresponding random access message”,
“all the received random access responses” map to “each of a threshold number of the one or more RARs”, and
“preambleTransMax” maps to “a threshold number”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Offsetting a carrier frequency for each of one or more subsequent random access messages in response to the determination
However, Da does describe a method for applying a frequency offset to an uplink physical random access channel to compensate for Doppler shift.
Specifically, Da teaches:
Offsetting a carrier frequency for each of one or more subsequent random access messages in response to the determination
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... and exporting, by the one or more processors, second configuration parameters to control network traffic, the second configuration parameters including the set of cyclic shifts” (Da, col. 5, lines 29-42).
Here, “exporting ... the set of cyclic shifts” maps to “offsetting a carrier frequency for each of the one or more subsequent ... messages”,
“random access channel (PRACH) preambles” map to “one or more subsequent random access messages”, and
“generating” the “cyclic shifts” before they “exporting” them maps to “in response to the determination”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 2:
Zhang teaches:
A number of the one or more RARs is based on a maximum number of preamble transmissions
(“[I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached. It is considered that the random access process is failed. The random access process ends” (Zhang, 0094-0095).
Here, “PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1” maps to “a number of the one or more RARs”,
“=” maps to “is based on”, and
“preambleTransMax” maps to “a maximum number of preamble transmissions”).
As to Claim 3:
Zhang teaches:
Each of the threshold number of the one or more RARs includes a mismatched RAPID based on a frequency offset of a physical random access channel (PRACH) received at a base station
(“[T]he present invention provides a method for RACH re-attempt, being performed by a user equipment, comprising the steps of: ... if the random access is failed, performing RACH re-attempt according to the received PRACH resource configuration information ... until a preset decision condition is satisfied.... [T]he base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources according to the detected preamble sequence ... the first preset condition can comprise at least one of the following: maximum number of transmissions” (Zhang, 0014, 0017, 0069, 0100).
Here, “maximum number of transmissions” maps to “each of the threshold number”,
“RACH re-attempt” maps to “the one or more RARs”,
“the random access is failed” maps to “a mismatched RAPID”,
“according to the received PRACH resource configuration” of “time-frequency resources” maps to “based on a frequency offset of a physical random access channel (PRACH)”, and
“the detected preamble sequence” maps to “random access ... received at a base station”).
As to Claim 4:
Zhang teaches:
The frequency offset is determined based on an expected RAPID received at the base station
(“[T]he base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) to the user equipment, the RAR containing a random access preamble sequence identifier ... [T]he base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources according to the detected preamble sequence, the time-frequency resources where the preamble sequence is located, and the detected Timing Advance (TA)” (Zhang, 0008, 0069).
Here, “time-frequency resources” maps to “the frequency offset”,
“according to” maps to “determined based on”, and
“the detected preamble sequence” including “a random access preamble sequence identifier” maps to “an expected RAPID received at the base station”).
As to Claim 5:
Zhang teaches:
The frequency offset is further determined based on a timing advance
(“[T]he base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources according to the detected preamble sequence, the time-frequency resources where the preamble sequence is located, and the detected Timing Advance (TA)” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “time-frequency resources” map to “the frequency offset”,
“according to” maps to “further determined based on”, and
“the detected Timing Advance (TA)” maps to “a timing advance”).
As to Claim 6:
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a value within a range based on a random access preamble subcarrier spacing
However, Da does teach:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a value within a range based on a random access preamble subcarrier spacing
(“At least one example embodiment relates to a method including detecting, by the one or more processors, a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble with a frequency offset that is at least twice a PRACH subcarrier spacing. In one embodiment, the frequency offset is in a range of about -2.5 KHz to +2.5 KHz” (Da, col. 6, lines 3-9).
Here, “a frequency offset” for “a PRACH subcarrier spacing” maps to “each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a value ... based on a random access preamble subcarrier spacing”, and
“a range of about -2.5 KHz to +2.5 KHz” maps to “values within a range”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 7:
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
The range is a function of a frequency offset of a physical random access channel (PRACH) received at a base station
However, Da does teach:
The range is a function of a frequency offset of a physical random access channel (PRACH) received at a base station
(“At least one example embodiment relates to a method including detecting, by the one or more processors, a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble with a frequency offset that is at least twice a PRACH subcarrier spacing. In one embodiment, the frequency offset is in a range of about -2.5 KHz to +2.5 KHz” (Da, col. 6, lines 3-9).
Here, “a range of about -2.5 KHz to 2.5 KHz” maps to “the range”,
“the frequency offset is in” maps to “a function of a frequency offset”,
“a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble” maps to “a physical random access channel (PRACH)”, and’
“detecting” maps to “received at a base station” since the random access preamble is by definition sent to the base station).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 8:
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
The range is further based on a maximum Doppler shift in high-speed train (HST) deployments
However, Da does teach:
The range is further based on a maximum Doppler shift in high-speed train (HST) deployments
(“[T]he uplink frequency offset caused by Doppler shift alone will be +/-2.070 KHz. Thus, example embodiments include a method for the generation of a new cyclic shift restricted set that is capable of supporting uplink frequency offset up to twice of the PRACH subcarrier spacing, namely, +/-2.5 KHz. The new cyclic shift restricted set may be utilized for such HST scenarios” (Da, col. 10, lines 6-12).
Here, “+/-2.5 KHz” maps to “the range”,
“thus” maps to “based on”,
“+/-2.070 KHz” maps to “a maximum Doppler shift”, and
“for such HST scenarios” maps to “in high-speed train (HST) deployments”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 10:
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a different value
However, Da does teach:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a different value
(“[T]he method includes ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset” (Da, col. 6, lines 16-23).
Here, “generating ... a set of cyclic shifts” maps to “each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a different value” because each shift applies to a different carrier frequency).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 11:
Zhang teaches:
At least one of the different values is a function of a maximum number of the one or more subsequent random access messages
(“[T]he current PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER is set as preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower+DELTA_PREAMBLE+(PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_POWER_COUNTER_3-1)*powerRampingStep, and the RACH re-attempt is performed” (Zhang, 0145).
Here, “PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET POWER” maps to “at least one of the different values”,
“is set as” maps to “is a function of”, and
“PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_POWER_COUNTER_3” maps to “a maximum number of the one or more subsequent random access messages”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s method for sweeping a desired transmit power range to sweep the desired transmission frequency range described in Da. Subdividing the range of the desired parameter based on the number of possible attempts would then be necessary to evenly divide the range being swept.
As to Claim 13:
Zhang teaches:
Identifying a threshold amount of consecutive mismatches between the RAPIDs and the preambles
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “preambleTransMax” maps to “a threshold amount of consecutive ... preambles”, and
“random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “identifying ... mismatches between the RAPIDS and the preambles”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
The carrier frequencies are each offset by one of a positive value or a negative value in response to the identification
However, Da does teach:
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles, the first configuration parameters including a first preamble format ... generating ... a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... [E]xample embodiments include a method for the generation of a new cyclic shift restricted set that is capable of supporting uplink frequency offset up to twice of the PRACH subcarrier spacing, namely +/-2.5 KHz” (Da, col. 6, lines 16-23; col. 10, lines 7-11).
Here, “”a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset” maps to “the carrier frequencies are each offset”,
“+/-2.5 KHz” maps to “a positive or a negative value”, and
“based on the first preamble format” maps to “in response to the identification”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Da’s method of shifting carrier frequencies to a scenario where a user device receives a threshold number of random access responses with an incorrect preamble ID. The threshold number of incorrect IDs denotes repeated failures, so it makes sense to adjust the carrier frequencies if random access keeps failing.
As to Claim 15:
Zhang teaches:
One or more processors; one or more memories each coupled with at least one of the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and operable, when executed by the one or more processors individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus
(“[T]he present invention involves apparatuses for performing one or more of operations as described ... Those apparatuses haver computer programs stored therein ... Such computer programs may be stored in device (such as computer) readable media ... It may be understood by those skilled in the art that these computer program instructions may be provided to ... processors of programmable data” (Zhang, 0221-0222).
Here, “processors of programmable data” maps to “one or more processors”,
“computer readable media” maps to “one or more memories each coupled with at least one of the one or more processors”,
“computer programs stored” on “computer readable media” maps to “instructions stored in the one or more memories”, and
“for performing one or more of operations” maps to “when executed by the one or more processors individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus”).
Obtain one or more random access responses (RARs)
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “all the received random access responses” map to “obtain one or more random access responses (RARs)”).
Each of the one or more RARs includes a random access preamble identifier (RAPID)
(“[T]he RAR contains information such as the detected preamble sequence identifier” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “the RAR” maps to “each of the one or more RARs”, and
“contains ... the detected preamble sequence identifier” maps to “includes a random access preamble identifier (RAPID)”).
Each of the one or more RARs is responsive to a random access message including a preamble
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “a Random Access Response (RAR)” maps to “each of the one or more RARs”,
“if the base station detects the random access” maps to “is responsive to a random access message”, and
“the preamble sequence” for “the received random access responses” maps to “including a preamble”).
Determine, in each of a threshold number of the one or more RARs, that the RAPID of a corresponding RAR is different than the preamble of a corresponding random access message
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “if the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “determine ... that the RAPID of a corresponding RAR is different than the preamble of a corresponding random access message”,
“all the received random access responses” map to “each of a threshold number of the one or more RARs”, and
“preambleTransMax” maps to “a threshold number”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Offset a carrier frequency for each of one or more subsequent random access messages in response to the determination
However, Da does describe a method for applying a frequency offset to an uplink physical random access channel to compensate for Doppler shift.
Specifically, Da teaches:
Offset a carrier frequency for each of one or more subsequent random access messages in response to the determination
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... and exporting, by the one or more processors, second configuration parameters to control network traffic, the second configuration parameters including the set of cyclic shifts” (Da, col. 5, lines 29-42).
Here, “exporting ... the set of cyclic shifts” maps to “offset a carrier frequency for each of the one or more subsequent ... messages”,
“random access channel (PRACH) preambles” map to “one or more subsequent random access messages”, and
“generating” the “cyclic shifts” before they “exporting” them maps to “in response to the determination”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 16:
Zhang teaches:
Each of the threshold number of the one or more RARs includes a mismatched RAPID based on a frequency offset of a physical random access channel (PRACH) received at a base station
(“[T]he present invention provides a method for RACH re-attempt, being performed by a user equipment, comprising the steps of: ... if the random access is failed, performing RACH re-attempt according to the received PRACH resource configuration information ... until a preset decision condition is satisfied.... [T]he base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources according to the detected preamble sequence ... the first preset condition can comprise at least one of the following: maximum number of transmissions” (Zhang, 0014, 0017, 0069, 0100).
Here, “maximum number of transmissions” maps to “each of the threshold number”,
“RACH re-attempt” maps to “the one or more RARs”,
“the random access is failed” maps to “a mismatched RAPID”,
“according to the received PRACH resource configuration” of “time-frequency resources” maps to “based on a frequency offset of a physical random access channel (PRACH)”, and
“the detected preamble sequence” maps to “random access ... received at a base station”).
As to Claim 17:
Zhang teaches:
The frequency offset is determined based on an expected RAPID received at the base station
(“[T]he base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) to the user equipment, the RAR containing a random access preamble sequence identifier ... [T]he base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources according to the detected preamble sequence, the time-frequency resources where the preamble sequence is located, and the detected Timing Advance (TA)” (Zhang, 0008, 0069).
Here, “time-frequency resources” maps to “the frequency offset”,
“according to” maps to “determined based on”, and
“the detected preamble sequence” including “a random access preamble sequence identifier” maps to “an expected RAPID received at the base station”).
As to Claim 18:
Zhang teaches:
The frequency offset is further determined based on a timing advance
(“[T]he base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources according to the detected preamble sequence, the time-frequency resources where the preamble sequence is located, and the detected Timing Advance (TA)” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “time-frequency resources” map to “the frequency offset”,
“according to” maps to “further determined based on”, and
“the detected Timing Advance (TA)” maps to “a timing advance”).
As to Claim 19:
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a value within a range based on a random access preamble subcarrier spacing
However, Da does teach:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a value within a range based on a random access preamble subcarrier spacing
(“At least one example embodiment relates to a method including detecting, by the one or more processors, a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble with a frequency offset that is at least twice a PRACH subcarrier spacing. In one embodiment, the frequency offset is in a range of about -2.5 KHz to +2.5 KHz” (Da, col. 6, lines 3-9).
Here, “a frequency offset” for “a PRACH subcarrier spacing” maps to “each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a value ... based on a random access preamble subcarrier spacing”, and
“a range of about -2.5 KHz to +2.5 KHz” maps to “values within a range”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 20:
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
The range is a function of a frequency offset of a physical random access channel (PRACH) received at a base station
However, Da does teach:
The range is a function of a frequency offset of a physical random access channel (PRACH) received at a base station
(“At least one example embodiment relates to a method including detecting, by the one or more processors, a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble with a frequency offset that is at least twice a PRACH subcarrier spacing. In one embodiment, the frequency offset is in a range of about -2.5 KHz to +2.5 KHz” (Da, col. 6, lines 3-9).
Here, “a range of about -2.5 KHz to 2.5 KHz” maps to “the range”,
“the frequency offset is in” maps to “a function of a frequency offset”,
“a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble” maps to “a physical random access channel (PRACH)”, and’
“detecting” maps to “received at a base station” since the random access preamble is by definition sent to the base station).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 21:
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
The range is further based on a maximum Doppler shift in high-speed train (HST) deployments
However, Da does teach:
The range is further based on a maximum Doppler shift in high-speed train (HST) deployments
(“[T]he uplink frequency offset caused by Doppler shift alone will be +/-2.070 KHz. Thus, example embodiments include a method for the generation of a new cyclic shift restricted set that is capable of supporting uplink frequency offset up to twice of the PRACH subcarrier spacing, namely, +/-2.5 KHz. The new cyclic shift restricted set may be utilized for such HST scenarios” (Da, col. 10, lines 6-12).
Here, “+/-2.5 KHz” maps to “the range”,
“thus” maps to “based on”,
“+/-2.070 KHz” maps to “a maximum Doppler shift”, and
“for such HST scenarios” maps to “in high-speed train (HST) deployments”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 23:
Zhang teaches:
At least one of the different values is a function of a maximum number of the one or more subsequent random access messages
(“[T]he current PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER is set as preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower+DELTA_PREAMBLE+(PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_POWER_COUNTER_3-1)*powerRampingStep, and the RACH re-attempt is performed” (Zhang, 0145).
Here, “PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET POWER” maps to “at least one of the different values”,
“is set as” maps to “is a function of”, and
“PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_POWER_COUNTER_3” maps to “a maximum number of the one or more subsequent random access messages”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s method for sweeping a desired transmit power range to sweep the desired transmission frequency range described in Da. Subdividing the range of the desired parameter based on the number of possible attempts would then be necessary to evenly divide the range being swept.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a different value
However, Da does teach:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a different value
(“[T]he method includes ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset” (Da, col. 6, lines 16-23).
Here, “generating ... a set of cyclic shifts” maps to “each of the carrier frequencies are offset by a different value” because each shift applies to a different carrier frequency).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 25:
Zhang teaches:
Identify a threshold amount of consecutive mismatches between the RAPIDs and the preambles
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “preambleTransMax” maps to “a threshold amount of consecutive ... preambles”, and
“random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “identify ... mismatches between the RAPIDS and the preambles”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
The carrier frequencies are each offset by one of a positive value or a negative value in response to the identification
However, Da does teach:
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles, the first configuration parameters including a first preamble format ... generating ... a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... [E]xample embodiments include a method for the generation of a new cyclic shift restricted set that is capable of supporting uplink frequency offset up to twice of the PRACH subcarrier spacing, namely +/-2.5 KHz” (Da, col. 6, lines 16-23; col. 10, lines 7-11).
Here, “”a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset” maps to “the carrier frequencies are each offset”,
“+/-2.5 KHz” maps to “a positive or a negative value”, and
“based on the first preamble format” maps to “in response to the identification”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Da’s method of shifting carrier frequencies to a scenario where a user device receives a threshold number of random access responses with an incorrect preamble ID. The threshold number of incorrect IDs denotes repeated failures, so it makes sense to adjust the carrier frequencies if random access keeps failing.
As to Claim 27:
Zhang teaches:
Means for obtaining one or more random access responses (RARs)
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “all the received random access responses” map to “means for obtaining one or more random access responses (RARs)”).
Each of the one or more RARs includes a random access preamble identifier (RAPID)
(“[T]he RAR contains information such as the detected preamble sequence identifier” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “the RAR” maps to “each of the one or more RARs”, and
“contains ... the detected preamble sequence identifier” maps to “includes a random access preamble identifier (RAPID)”).
Each of the one or more RARs is responsive to a random access message including a preamble
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “a Random Access Response (RAR)” maps to “each of the one or more RARs”,
“if the base station detects the random access” maps to “is responsive to a random access message”, and
“the preamble sequence” for “the received random access responses” maps to “including a preamble”).
Means for determining, in each of a threshold number of the one or more RARs, that the RAPID of a corresponding RAR is different than the preamble of a corresponding random access message
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “if the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “means for determining ... that the RAPID of a corresponding RAR is different than the preamble of a corresponding random access message”,
“all the received random access responses” map to “each of a threshold number of the one or more RARs”, and
“preambleTransMax” maps to “a threshold number”).
Also, the examiner considers paragraph 0222 of Zhang which states that “computer program instructions may be provided to general purpose computers ... so that solutions ... are performed by computers” to render obvious the various “means” limitations recited in this claim.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Means for offsetting a carrier frequency for each of one or more subsequent random access messages in response to the determination
However, Da does describe a method for applying a frequency offset to an uplink physical random access channel to compensate for Doppler shift.
Specifically, Da teaches:
Means for offsetting a carrier frequency for each of one or more subsequent random access messages in response to the determination
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... and exporting, by the one or more processors, second configuration parameters to control network traffic, the second configuration parameters including the set of cyclic shifts” (Da, col. 5, lines 29-42).
Here, “exporting ... the set of cyclic shifts” maps to “means for offsetting a carrier frequency for each of the one or more subsequent ... messages”,
“random access channel (PRACH) preambles” map to “one or more subsequent random access messages”, and
“generating” the “cyclic shifts” before they “exporting” them maps to “in response to the determination”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
As to Claim 28:
Zhang teaches:
Means for identifying a threshold amount of consecutive mismatches between the RAPIDs and the preambles
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “preambleTransMax” maps to “a threshold amount of consecutive ... preambles”, and
“random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “means for identifying ... mismatches between the RAPIDS and the preambles”).
Also, the examiner considers paragraph 0222 of Zhang which states that “computer program instructions may be provided to general purpose computers ... so that solutions ... are performed by computers” to render obvious the various “means” limitations recited in this claim.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
The carrier frequencies are each offset by one of a positive value or a negative value in response to the identification
However, Da does teach:
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles, the first configuration parameters including a first preamble format ... generating ... a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... [E]xample embodiments include a method for the generation of a new cyclic shift restricted set that is capable of supporting uplink frequency offset up to twice of the PRACH subcarrier spacing, namely +/-2.5 KHz” (Da, col. 6, lines 16-23; col. 10, lines 7-11).
Here, “”a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset” maps to “the carrier frequencies are each offset”,
“+/-2.5 KHz” maps to “a positive or a negative value”, and
“based on the first preamble format” maps to “in response to the identification”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Da’s method of shifting carrier frequencies to a scenario where a user device receives a threshold number of random access responses with an incorrect preamble ID. The threshold number of incorrect IDs denotes repeated failures, so it makes sense to adjust the carrier frequencies if random access keeps failing.
As to Claim 30:
Zhang teaches:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer executable code, the code when executed by one or more processors causes the one or more processors to, individually or in combination
(“[T]he present invention involves apparatuses for performing one or more of operations as described ... Those apparatuses haver computer programs stored therein ... Such computer programs may be stored in device (such as computer) readable media ... It may be understood by those skilled in the art that these computer program instructions may be provided to ... processors of programmable data” (Zhang, 0221-0222).
Here, “computer readable media” maps to “one or more non-transitory computer-readable media”,
“computer programs stored” maps to “comprising computer executable code”, and
“processors of programmable data ... or performing one or more of operations” maps to “when executed by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to, individually or in combination”).
Obtain one or more random access responses (RARs)
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “all the received random access responses” map to “obtain one or more random access responses (RARs)”).
Each of the one or more RARs includes a random access preamble identifier (RAPID)
(“[T]he RAR contains information such as the detected preamble sequence identifier” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “the RAR” maps to “each of the one or more RARs”, and
“contains ... the detected preamble sequence identifier” maps to “includes a random access preamble identifier (RAPID)”).
Each of the one or more RARs is responsive to a random access message including a preamble
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “a Random Access Response (RAR)” maps to “each of the one or more RARs”,
“if the base station detects the random access” maps to “is responsive to a random access message”, and
“the preamble sequence” for “the received random access responses” maps to “including a preamble”).
Determine, in each of a threshold number of the one or more RARs, that the RAPID of a corresponding RAR is different than the preamble of a corresponding random access message
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “if the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “determine ... that the RAPID of a corresponding RAR is different than the preamble of a corresponding random access message”,
“all the received random access responses” map to “each of a threshold number of the one or more RARs”, and
“preambleTransMax” maps to “a threshold number”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Offset a carrier frequency for each of one or more subsequent random access messages in response to the determination
However, Da does describe a method for applying a frequency offset to an uplink physical random access channel to compensate for Doppler shift.
Specifically, Da teaches:
Offset a carrier frequency for each of one or more subsequent random access messages in response to the determination
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... and exporting, by the one or more processors, second configuration parameters to control network traffic, the second configuration parameters including the set of cyclic shifts” (Da, col. 5, lines 29-42).
Here, “exporting ... the set of cyclic shifts” maps to “offset a carrier frequency for each of the one or more subsequent ... messages”,
“random access channel (PRACH) preambles” map to “one or more subsequent random access messages”, and
“generating” the “cyclic shifts” before they “exporting” them maps to “in response to the determination”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
Claim(s) 9 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2019/0342925 A1) in view of Da (US 10,582,545 B2) and further in view of da Silva et al. (US 2022/0360310 A1, hereinafter “da Silva”).
As to Claim 9:
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset
However, Da does teach:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset
(“[T]he method includes ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset” (Da, col. 6, lines 16-23).
Here, “a set of cyclic shifts” maps to “each of the carrier frequencies are offset” because each shift applies to a different carrier frequency).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
The combination of Zhang and Da does not explicitly disclose:
Each of the carrier frequencies are ... in response to a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with a serving cell exceeding a threshold
However, da Silva does describe a method for a mobile device to adjust frequency offsets when it is handed over to a new base station.
Specifically, da Silva teaches:
Each of the carrier frequencies are ... in response to a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with a serving cell exceeding a threshold
(Table 10 in Da Silva describes a UE’s operation when the signal strength of the serving cell is above a given threshold. Also, Table 6 in Da Silva describes the contents of the MeasObjectNR information element.
Here, “frequency InfoDL”, listed as an entry in the “MeasObjectNR information element” in Table 6, for a “Serving Cell” maps to “each of the carrier frequencies”,
the “Entering condition” for “Event A1” in Table 10 maps to “in response to”,
“MS – Hys > Thresh” where “MS is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP” in Table 10 maps to “a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with a serving cell exceeding a threshold”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate da Silva’s practice of applying frequency settings when a UE detects high signal strength from a base station into Zhang’s method for detecting random access failure. Any corrections to the frequencies used to communicate with the base station will change as the UE gets closer to the station, so it makes sense to apply specific settings when the UE is within a specified range.
As to Claim 22:
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset
However, Da does teach:
Each of the carrier frequencies are offset
(“[T]he method includes ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset” (Da, col. 6, lines 16-23).
Here, “a set of cyclic shifts” maps to “each of the carrier frequencies are offset” because each shift applies to a different carrier frequency).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
The combination of Zhang and Da does not explicitly disclose:
Each of the carrier frequencies are ... in response to a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with a serving cell exceeding a threshold
However, da Silva does describe a method for a mobile device to adjust frequency offsets when it is handed over to a new base station.
Specifically, da Silva teaches:
Each of the carrier frequencies are ... in response to a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with a serving cell exceeding a threshold
(Table 10 in Da Silva describes a UE’s operation when the signal strength of the serving cell is above a given threshold. Also, Table 6 in Da Silva describes the contents of the MeasObjectNR information element.
Here, “frequency InfoDL”, listed as an entry in the “MeasObjectNR information element” in Table 6, for a “Serving Cell” maps to “each of the carrier frequencies”,
the “Entering condition” for “Event A1” in Table 10 maps to “in response to”, and
“MS – Hys > Thresh” where “MS is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP” in Table 10 maps to “a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with a serving cell exceeding a threshold”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate da Silva’s practice of applying frequency settings when a UE detects high signal strength from a base station into Zhang’s method for detecting random access failure. Any corrections to the frequencies used to communicate with the base station will change as the UE gets closer to the station, so it makes sense to apply specific settings when the UE is within a specified range.
Claim(s) 12 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (“US 2019/0342925 A1) in view of Da (US 10,582,545 B2) and further in view of Qian et al. (US 2022/0086774 A1, hereinafter “Qian”).
As to Claim 12:
The combination of Zhang and Da does not explicitly disclose:
One or more of the carrier frequencies are offset by a same value
However, Qian does describe a method for configuring a random access channel.
Specifically, Qian teaches:
One or more of the carrier frequencies are offset by a same value
(“The frequency domain offsets may be uniform for all of the BWPs available for the random access channels, that is, the same frequency domain offset is utilized” (Qiao, 0307).
Here, “all of the BWPs” map to “one or more of the carrier frequencies”, and
“frequency domain offsets may be uniform” maps to “frequencies are offset by a same value”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Qiao’s practice of uniformly offsetting each frequency in a random access channel into Zhang’s method for recovering from random access failure. If a Doppler shift uniformly affects all transmissions in a random access, it makes sense to uniformly correct it.
As to Claim 24:
The combination of Zhang and Da does not explicitly disclose:
One or more of the carrier frequencies are offset by a same value
However, Qian does teach:
One or more of the carrier frequencies are offset by a same value
(“The frequency domain offsets may be uniform for all of the BWPs available for the random access channels, that is, the same frequency domain offset is utilized” (Qiao, 0307).
Here, “all of the BWPs” map to “one or more of the carrier frequencies”, and
“frequency domain offsets may be uniform” maps to “frequencies are offset by a same value”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Qiao’s practice of uniformly offsetting each frequency in a random access channel into Zhang’s method for recovering from random access failure. If a Doppler shift uniformly affects all transmissions in a random access, it makes sense to uniformly correct it.
Claim(s) 14, 26, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2019/0342925 A1) in view of Da (US 10,582,545 B2) and further in view of Axmon et al. (US 2016/0227462 A1, hereinafter “Axmon”).
As to Claim 14:
Zhang teaches:
Obtaining additional RARs
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “all the received random access responses” map to “obtaining additional RARs”).
Each of the additional RARs includes an additional RAPID and is responsive to one of the subsequent random access messages including a subsequent preamble
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [T]he RAR contains information such as the detected preamble sequence identifier ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “the RAR” maps to “each of the additional RARs”,
“contains ... the detected preamble sequence identifier” maps to “includes an additional RAPID”,
“if the base station detects the random access” maps to “is responsive to one of the subsequent random access messages”, and
“the preamble sequence” for “the received random access responses” maps to “including a subsequent preamble”).
Further determining a threshold amount of consecutive mismatches between the additional RAPIDs and the subsequent preambles
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “if the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “further determining ... mismatches between the additional RAPIDs and the subsequent preambles”, and
“preambleTransMax” map to “a threshold amount of consecutive mismatches”).
Random access messages
(“[A]n embodiment of the present invention provides a method for RACH re-attempt, being performed by a user equipment” (Zhang, 0014).
Here, “RACH re-attempt” maps to “random access messages”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Offsetting a carrier frequency for each of one or more additional random access messages by one of a positive value or a negative value in response to the further determination
However, Da does teach:
Offsetting a carrier frequency for each of one or more additional random access messages by one of a positive value or a negative value in response to the further determination
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... and exporting, by the one or more processors, second configuration parameters to control network traffic, the second configuration parameters including the set of cyclic shifts” (Da, col. 5, lines 29-42).
Here, “exporting ... the set of cyclic shifts” maps to “offsetting a carrier frequency for each of the one or more additional ... messages by one of a positive value or a negative value”,
“random access channel (PRACH) preambles” map to “one or more additional random access messages”, and
“generating” the “cyclic shifts” before they “exporting” them maps to “in response to the further determination”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
The combination of Zhang and Da also does not explicitly disclose:
The carrier frequencies for the one or more subsequent ... messages are offset by the other of the positive value or the negative value
However, Axmon does describe a method for compensating for Doppler shifts in high speed train scenarios.
Specifically, Axmon teaches:
The carrier frequencies for the one or more subsequent ... messages are offset by the other of the positive value or the negative value
(“[T]he method further comprises compensating for a negative frequency offset during cell detection if the wireless device is moving toward the current serving cell and compensating for a positive frequency offset during cell detection if the wireless device is moving away from the current serving cell” (Axmon, 0029).
Here, “frequency” maps to “the carrier frequencies for the one or more subsequent ... messages”, and
“compensating for a negative frequency offset ... if the wireless device is moving toward the current serving cell” or “compensating for a positive frequency offset ... if the wireless device is moving away from current serving cell” maps to “messages are offset by the other of the positive value or the negative value” depending on whether the device has just changed from moving toward or away from the serving cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transition from a negative offset to a positive offset described in Axmon into Zhang’s method for correcting a faulty random access sequence. Different frequency correction is necessary depending on if the terminal is moving toward or away from a serving cell, so it makes sense to account for the terminal’s movement direction when determining the frequency offset.
As to Claim 26:
Zhang teaches:
Obtain additional RARs
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “all the received random access responses” map to “obtain additional RARs”).
Each of the additional RARs includes an additional RAPID and is responsive to one of the subsequent random access messages including a subsequent preamble
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [T]he RAR contains information such as the detected preamble sequence identifier ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “the RAR” maps to “each of the additional RARs”,
“contains ... the detected preamble sequence identifier” maps to “includes an additional RAPID”,
“if the base station detects the random access” maps to “is responsive to one of the subsequent random access messages”, and
“the preamble sequence” for “the received random access responses” maps to “including a subsequent preamble”).
Further determine a threshold amount of consecutive mismatches between the additional RAPIDs and the subsequent preambles
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “if the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “further determine ... mismatches between the additional RAPIDs and the subsequent preambles”, and
“preambleTransMax” map to “a threshold amount of consecutive mismatches”).
Random access messages
(“[A]n embodiment of the present invention provides a method for RACH re-attempt, being performed by a user equipment” (Zhang, 0014).
Here, “RACH re-attempt” maps to “random access messages”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Offset a carrier frequency for each of one or more additional random access messages by one of a positive value or a negative value in response to the further determination
However, Da does teach:
Offset a carrier frequency for each of one or more additional random access messages by one of a positive value or a negative value in response to the further determination
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... and exporting, by the one or more processors, second configuration parameters to control network traffic, the second configuration parameters including the set of cyclic shifts” (Da, col. 5, lines 29-42).
Here, “exporting ... the set of cyclic shifts” maps to “offset a carrier frequency for each of the one or more additional ... messages by one of a positive value or a negative value”,
“random access channel (PRACH) preambles” map to “one or more additional random access messages”, and
“generating” the “cyclic shifts” before they “exporting” them maps to “in response to the further determination”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
The combination of Zhang and Da also does not explicitly disclose:
The carrier frequencies for the one or more subsequent ... messages are offset by the other of the positive value or the negative value
However, Axmon does teach:
The carrier frequencies for the one or more subsequent ... messages are offset by the other of the positive value or the negative value
(“[T]he method further comprises compensating for a negative frequency offset during cell detection if the wireless device is moving toward the current serving cell and compensating for a positive frequency offset during cell detection if the wireless device is moving away from the current serving cell” (Axmon, 0029).
Here, “frequency” maps to “the carrier frequencies for the one or more subsequent ... messages”, and
“compensating for a negative frequency offset ... if the wireless device is moving toward the current serving cell” or “compensating for a positive frequency offset ... if the wireless device is moving away from current serving cell” maps to “messages are offset by the other of the positive value or the negative value” depending on whether the device has just changed from moving toward or away from the serving cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transition from a negative offset to a positive offset described in Axmon into Zhang’s method for correcting a faulty random access sequence. Different frequency correction is necessary depending on if the terminal is moving toward or away from a serving cell, so it makes sense to account for the terminal’s movement direction when determining the frequency offset.
As to Claim 29:
Zhang teaches:
Obtain additional RARs
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “all the received random access responses” map to “obtain additional RARs”).
Each of the additional RARs includes an additional RAPID and is responsive to one of the subsequent random access messages including a subsequent preamble
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [T]he RAR contains information such as the detected preamble sequence identifier ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed” (Zhang, 0069).
Here, “the RAR” maps to “each of the additional RARs”,
“contains ... the detected preamble sequence identifier” maps to “includes an additional RAPID”,
“if the base station detects the random access” maps to “is responsive to one of the subsequent random access messages”, and
“the preamble sequence” for “the received random access responses” maps to “including a subsequent preamble”).
Further determine a threshold amount of consecutive mismatches between the additional RAPIDs and the subsequent preambles
(“[I]f the base station detects the random access, the base station transmits a Random Access Response (RAR) on corresponding downlink time-frequency resources ... [I]f all the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted in the S204 [in Fig. 2], it is indicated that the random access is failed ... [I]f PREAMBLE-TRANSMISSION_COUNTER_1=preambleTransMax+1, the maximum number of random access attempts is reached” (Zhang, 0069, 0094-0095).
Here, “if the received random access responses do not contain an identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence” maps to “further determine ... mismatches between the additional RAPIDs and the subsequent preambles”, and
“preambleTransMax” map to “a threshold amount of consecutive mismatches”).
Random access messages
(“[A]n embodiment of the present invention provides a method for RACH re-attempt, being performed by a user equipment” (Zhang, 0014).
Here, “RACH re-attempt” maps to “random access messages”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose:
Offset a carrier frequency for each of one or more additional random access messages by one of a positive value or a negative value in response to the further determination
However, Da does teach:
Offset a carrier frequency for each of one or more additional random access messages by one of a positive value or a negative value in response to the further determination
(“[T]he method includes obtaining ... first configuration parameters for physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles ... generating, by the one or more processors, a set of cyclic shifts corresponding to a first frequency offset based on the first preamble format ... and exporting, by the one or more processors, second configuration parameters to control network traffic, the second configuration parameters including the set of cyclic shifts” (Da, col. 5, lines 29-42).
Here, “exporting ... the set of cyclic shifts” maps to “offset a carrier frequency for each of the one or more additional ... messages by one of a positive value or a negative value”,
“random access channel (PRACH) preambles” map to “one or more additional random access messages”, and
“generating” the “cyclic shifts” before they “exporting” them maps to “in response to the further determination”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Da’s method for adjusting carrier frequencies to compensate for high-speed movement into Zhang’s method for ensuring a UE receives a valid random access response. If a Doppler shift from high-speed movement introduces error, it makes sense to compensate for the Doppler shift with a frequency adjustment.
The combination of Zhang and Da also does not explicitly disclose:
The carrier frequencies for the one or more subsequent ... messages are offset by the other of the positive value or the negative value
However, Axmon does teach:
The carrier frequencies for the one or more subsequent ... messages are offset by the other of the positive value or the negative value
(“[T]he method further comprises compensating for a negative frequency offset during cell detection if the wireless device is moving toward the current serving cell and compensating for a positive frequency offset during cell detection if the wireless device is moving away from the current serving cell” (Axmon, 0029).
Here, “frequency” maps to “the carrier frequencies for the one or more subsequent ... messages”, and
“compensating for a negative frequency offset ... if the wireless device is moving toward the current serving cell” or “compensating for a positive frequency offset ... if the wireless device is moving away from current serving cell” maps to “messages are offset by the other of the positive value or the negative value” depending on whether the device has just changed from moving toward or away from the serving cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transition from a negative offset to a positive offset described in Axmon into Zhang’s method for correcting a faulty random access sequence. Different frequency correction is necessary depending on if the terminal is moving toward or away from a serving cell, so it makes sense to account for the terminal’s movement direction when determining the frequency offset.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Frederiksen et al. (US 2024/0137878 A1) describes a method for adjusting the transmission time of uplink random access messages based on a failed random access response.
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477