DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to amendment filed on 02/20/2026.
Claims 1, 8, 10 –11, 13 and 17 – 18 are amended.
Claims 21 – 25 are cancelled.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending and ready for examination.
In response to applicant’s amendment in claim 13, examiner has withdrawn claim objection mentioned in previous office action.
In response to applicant’s amendment in claims 10 – 11 and 18, examiner has withdrawn 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of the claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/20/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended the independent claims 1, 8 and 17. The amendment changes the scope of the claims; therefore, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of previously cited prior art Kazmi et al. (US 2024/0098540 A1) and a new prior art LI et al. (US 2022/0386157 A1).
Applicant argued on page 2: 2nd last paragraph of the remark, " Kazmi does not teach or suggest, at least: "identify an activation of the pre-configured measurement gap via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) command," as claimed in Applicant's amended independent claims”. According to applicant claim 1 is allowable over the cited prior arts.
Examiner respectfully agrees with applicant’s argument. The new prior art LI discloses in ¶ [0047] and ¶ [0087], temporary measurement gap is pre-configured through high-layer signaling, etc., and is triggered and enabled by the DCI. Here, the triggering/ enabling/ activation of the pre-configured measurement gap is via a DCI. Therefore, LI teaches the limitation in question. Accordingly, claim 1 is not allowable.
Applicant argued on page 3: 2nd last paragraph of the remark, " Kazmi fails to teach or suggest every aspect of the newly amended independent claims 1, 8, and 17”.
Examiner respectfully agrees with applicant’s argument. As mentioned above, the new prior art LI teaches the limitation of the amended part; therefore, the argument is moot.
Applicant argued on page 3: last paragraph of the remark, regarding dependent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. Since, the combination of Kazmi and LI teaches all the limitations of the currently amended independent claims, therefore, the dependent claims are not patentable by virtue of their dependency from the independent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with all the arguments filed by the applicant. All arguments and remarks are replied in detail in the rejection section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi et al. (Kazmi hereinafter referred to Kazmi) (US 2024/0098540 A1, relied on filing date of US provisional application no. 63/135,400 that supports all citation) in view of LI et al. (LI hereinafter referred to LI) (US 2022/0386157 A1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 1, Kazmi teaches (Title, ACTIVATION/DEACTIVATION OF PRECONFIGURED MEASUREMENT GAPS) an apparatus of a user equipment device (UE) device (Fig.13 and [0265], UE 1300 is the UE 312 of Fig. 6, 8 and 9) for using measurement gaps (Abstract, UE is enabled to activate a preconfigured measurement gap pattern (MGP)), the apparatus comprising processing circuitry (Fig.13 and [0265], UE 312 includes one or more processors 1302; The processors 1302 are also referred as processing circuitry) coupled to storage ([0265], memory 1304), the processing circuitry configured to ([0265], the functionality of the UE 312 is fully or partially implemented in software that is, e.g., stored in the memory 1304 and executed by the processor(s) 1302):
identify a configuration message, received from a 5G network device (Fig.6, step 602 and [0190], network node 600 sends, to the UE 312, information that configures one or more pre-configured MGPs for the UE 312; Fig.3 and [0127], cellular communications system 300 is a 5G system (5GS) including a Next Generation RAN (NG-RAN) and a 5G Core (5GC). Here, the network node 600 is a 5G network device; therefore, a configuration message is received from the 5G network device) prior to switching from an active bandwidth part (BWP) (Fig.6, step 606 and [0190], The UE 312 performs an active BWP switch that results in a new active BWP (e.g., BWP2) for the UE 312. Here, the active BWP switch (step 606) is happened after receiving the configuration message (step 602); therefore, the configuration message is received prior to switching from the active BWP), for a pre-configured measurement gap (Fig.6, step 602) during which the UE device is to perform both gapless ([00132], measurement mechanism or procedure or scheme where the UE 312 measures within the active BWP is referred as an active BWP based measurement procedure (BMP). In BMP, the UE 312 measures without measurement gaps. Therefore, BMP is also referred as a measurement procedure without gaps or a non-gap-based measurement procedure or a gapless measurement procedure; Fig.6, step 604 and [0190], UE 312 is configured to perform and thus perform a measurement within an active BWP (e.g., BWP1) using BMP (i.e., without measurement gaps)) and gap-based frequency measurements ([0133], The UE 312 performs one or more measurements on one or more serving carriers using a MGP (i.e., within the gaps) when RSs on which measurements are done are not fully within the bandwidth (BW) of the active BWP, e.g., after active BWP switching. This measurement mechanism or procedure or scheme where the UE 312 measures using a MGP is referred as a gap-based measurement procedure (GMP); [0179], UE uses the pre-configured MGP for performing a first set of measurements (e.g., for inter-frequency, inter-RAT measurements etc.), while the UE meets the conditions or criteria (e.g., active BWP switching) which requires the UE to use GMP for a second set of measurements (e.g., intra-frequency measurements). Fig.6, step 610 and [0191], UE 312 starts using the pre-configured MGP for measurements (using a GMP)), the configuration message indicating that the pre-configured measurement gap requires activation ([0044], a UE is adapted to receive, from a network node, information that indicates one or more pre-configured measurement gap patterns, determine that a first set of one or more conditions for using a pre-configured measurement gap pattern is satisfied where the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being one of the one or more pre-configured measurement gap patterns; [0019], the UE is enabled to activate a preconfigured measurement gap pattern in response to the first set of one or more conditions for using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being satisfied; [0082], UE is pre-configured with at least one measurement gap pattern whose usage for measurement is activated or deactivated based on fulfilling one or more conditions or criteria, e.g., based on BWP switching. Here, activation of the pre-configured measurement gap is based on satisfying the one or more conditions, e.g. BWP switching. Since, the BWP switching is happened after receiving the configuration message of the pre-configured measurement gap; therefore, it is obvious that the configuration message indicates that the pre-configured measurement gap needs/ requires activation);
identify an activation of the pre-configured measurement gap ([0029], starting the use of the pre-configured measurement gap pattern comprises activating the pre-configured measurement gap pattern); and
measure a reference signal during the pre-configured measurement gap ([0129], UE 312 served by at least one serving cell (cell1) belonging to carrier frequency (F1) is configured to perform one or more measurements on reference signals (RS); Fig.7 and [0199], the UE 312 performs one or more intra-frequency measurements or measurements on carrier of cell1 on RSs (e.g., SSB1) according to GMP, i.e. using pre-configured MGP).
Kazmi does not specifically teach
the pre-configured measurement gap via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) command.
However, LI teaches (Title, CHANNEL MEASUREMENT METHOD AND APPARATUS, AND COMMUNICATION DEVICE)
an activation of the pre-configured measurement gap via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) command ([0047] and [0087], temporary measurement gap is pre-configured through high-layer signaling, etc., and is triggered and enabled by the DCI. Here, the enabling/ activation of the pre-configured measurement gap is via a DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kazmi as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a channel measurement method and apparatus, in which base station uses DCI to indicate whether the UE uses a temporary measurement gap to improve the flexibility of triggering a temporary measurement gap (LI, Abstract, [0045] and [0050]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kazmi and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kazmi further teaches
wherein the configuration message is associated with a frequency associated with the reference signal ([0010], Measurement gap pattern (MGP) is used by the UE for performing measurements on cells of the serving carriers and non-serving carriers (e.g., inter-frequency carrier, inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) carriers, etc.); [0011], The measurement gaps are UE specific or carrier specific. In the latter case, the measurement gaps are created only on a subset of serving cells of the UE, e.g., on serving cells operating on carriers of specific frequency range (FR); [0081], In NR, the UE is configured to perform measurements (e.g., intra-frequency measurements) within the active BWP (e.g., on serving carrier frequency) provided that the reference signals (RS s), e.g., SSB, used for measurements are within the bandwidth (BW) of the active BWP. Here, the configuration message of the MGP is associated with a carrier/ frequency associated with SSB RS).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kazmi and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kazmi further teaches
wherein the configuration message is associated with a UE BWP associated (Fig.6, step 602 and [0190], the network node 600 sends, to the UE 312, information that configures one or more pre-configured MGPs for the UE 312; step 604, the UE 312 is configured to perform and thus performs a measurement within an active BWP (e.g., BWP1) using BMP (i.e., without measurement gaps). Here, after receiving the configuration message the UE performs a measurement within an active BWP; therefore, the configuration message is associated with a UE BWP associated).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kazmi and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kazmi further teaches
wherein the reference signal is measured based on the pre-configured measurement gap after the UE device switches from the active BWP to one or more other candidate BWPs (Fig.7 and [0199], The UE 312 initially performs one or more intra-frequency measurements or measurements on carrier of cell1 on RSs (e.g., SSB1) according to GMP, i.e. using pre-configured MGP; the UE 312 is triggered at time instance, T0, to switch its active BWP from BWP3 to BWP4 on cell1; The RSs are fully within the BW of the new active BWP (BWP4). This triggers the UE 312 to switch from GMP to BMP to continue performing the measurements on the same RSs (e.g., SSB1). Here, the BWP4 is one or more other candidate BWPs and SSB reference signal (RS) is measured based on the pre-configured measurement gap after the UE device switches from the active BWP).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kazmi and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kazmi further teaches
wherein the configuration message comprises a measurement length and a measurement periodicity ([0021], the information that indicates the one or more pre-configured measurement gap patterns comprises, for each pre-configured measurement gap pattern of the one or more pre-configured measurement gap patterns, information that indicates one or more parameters that define the pre-configured measurement gap pattern; the one or more parameters comprise a measurement gap length, a measurement gap repetition period; [0130], The UE 312 is configured by a network node (e.g., base station 302) with at least one measurement gap pattern (MGP) with certain measurement gap length (MGL) (e.g., 6 ms) and measurement gap repetition period (MGRP) (e.g., 40 ms). Here, the measurement gap repetition period is a measurement periodicity).
Claims 8 – 10 and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SIOMINA et al. (SIOMINA hereinafter referred to SIOMINA) (US 2021/0120513 A1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 8, SIOMINA teaches (Title, MANAGING PARALLEL MEASUREMENT GAP PATTERNS FOR RADIO RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AND POSITIONING MEASUREMENTS) a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions ([0236], computer program instructions are stored in a computer readable memory or storage medium) to cause processing circuitry of a user equipment device (UE) device (Fig.3 and [0086], WD 22 includes processing circuitry 84) upon execution of the instructions by the processing circuitry ([0086], The processing circuitry 84 includes memory 88; [0087], the WD 22 further comprises software 90 stored in memory 88 executable by the processing circuitry 84) to:
identify a first configuration message (Fig.13 and [0118], a WD 22 is configured with a first measurement gap pattern (MGP1)), received from a 5G network device ([0016], a wireless device is configured to receive from the network node first measurement gap pattern; Fig.2 and [0007], communication system 10, such as a 3GPP-type cellular network that supports standards such as LTE and/or NR (5G). Here, the network node is considered as a 5G network device, since the communication system supports 5G. also receiving the MGP1 is a first configuration message), for a first measurement gap (Fig.13, MGP1) during which the UE device is to perform a first gap-based frequency measurement ([0123], The WD 22 is configured to perform different types of measurements using MGP1 and MGP2 on signals operated by cells on the same carrier frequency or on signals operated by cells on different carrier frequencies; [0124] and [0125], when the WD 22 is configured with first measurements (M1) that requires measurement gaps (MGP1) on one or more first carrier frequencies F1. Here, the measurement M1 is using the MGP1 on carrier frequency F1; therefore, a first gap-based frequency measurement is performed);
identify additional configuration messages (Fig.13 and [0118], WD 22 is configured with a second measurement gap pattern (MGP2); [0132], WD 22 is configured with the first and second measurement gaps at the same time (e.g., in the same message) or at different times (in different messages). Here, considering different messages for the first and the second measurement gaps, an additional configuration message is identified/ received), received from the 5G network device ([0016], a wireless device is configured to receive from the network node second measurement gap pattern. Here, the network node is considered as a 5G network device, since the communication system supports 5G regarding Fig.2 and [0007]), for additional measurement gaps (Fig.13, MGP2) during which the UE device is to perform additional gap-based frequency measurements ([0008], measurement gaps are shared between intra-frequency and inter-frequency; [0124] and [0126], when the WD 22 is configured with second measurements (M2) that requires measurement gaps (MGP2) on one or more second carrier frequencies F2. Regarding [0123] – [0124] and [0126], the measurement M2 is using the MGP2 on carrier frequency F2; therefore, an additional gap-based frequency measurement is performed), wherein the first measurement gap and the additional measurement gaps are valid during a same time period (Fig.13 and [0065], a first measurement gap and a second measurement gap occurring at the same time or the same time resources, as well as, all or a subset of a time period for one measurement gap occurring at the same time as all or a subset of a time period for another measurement gap);
measure a first reference signal during the first measurement gap ([0014], a first measurement gap pattern (MGP1) with a first measurement gap length (MGL1) is configured for doing first measurements (M1) (e.g., mobility measurements) on a first type of signals (e.g., discovery signals (DRS1) which includes, e.g., cell-specific reference signals (CRS) or other reference signals). Here, the DRS1 is a first reference signal); and
measure a second reference signal during the additional measurement gaps ([0014], A second measurement gap pattern (MGP2) with a second measurement gap length (MGL2) is configured for performing second measurements (M2) on a second type of signals (e.g., discovery signals, DRS2, used for doing positioning measurement such as RSTD on dense PRS configuration). Here, the DRS2 is a second reference signal).
SIOMINA does not specifically teach
Identify an activation of the first measurement gap via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) command.
However, LI teaches (Title, CHANNEL MEASUREMENT METHOD AND APPARATUS, AND COMMUNICATION DEVICE)
Identify an activation of the first measurement gap via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) command ([0047] and [0087], temporary measurement gap is pre-configured through high-layer signaling, etc., and be triggered and enabled by the DCI. Here, the enabling/ activation of the measurement gap is via a DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SIOMINA as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a channel measurement method and apparatus, in which base station uses DCI to indicate whether the UE uses a temporary measurement gap to improve the flexibility of triggering a temporary measurement gap (LI, Abstract, [0045] and [0050]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of SIOMINA and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
SIOMINA further teaches
wherein the same time period is set based on a measurement periodicity of the first measurement gap and the additional measurement gaps ([0009], WD measurement gap configuration includes the timing offset of gaps, measurement gap periodicity (measurement gap repetition period, MGRP), measurement gap length (MGL), etc.. [0069], a first measurement gap repetition period (MGRP1) and a second measurement gap repetition period (MGRP2). Regarding Fig.13, MGP1 and MGP1 are in same time period based on the MGRP1 and MGRP2).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 10, the combination of SIOMINA and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
SIOMINA further teaches
wherein the first configuration message is associated with a first frequency ([0124]-[0125], WD 22 is configured with M1 that requires measurement gaps (MGP1) on one or more first carrier frequencies F1) associated with the first reference signal ([0014], a first measurement gap pattern (MGP1) is configured for doing first measurements (M1) on a first type of signals (e.g., discovery signals (DRS1)), and wherein the additional configuration messages are associated with another frequency ([0124] and [0126], WD 22 is configured with M2 that requires measurement gaps (MGP2) on one or more second carrier frequencies F2) associated with the second reference signal ([0014], A second measurement gap pattern (MGP2) is configured for performing second measurements (M2) on a second type of signals (e.g., discovery signals, DRS2).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of SIOMINA and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
SIOMINA further teaches
wherein the first configuration message and the additional configuration messages comprise a measurement length and a measurement periodicity ([0009], WD measurement gap configuration includes the timing offset of gaps, measurement gap periodicity (measurement gap repetition period, MGRP), measurement gap length (MGL), etc.. [0069], The MGP1 is characterized by or defined by one or more first measurement gaps (MG1) with a first measurement gap length (MGL1) and a first measurement gap repetition period (MGRP1); The MGP2 is characterized by or defined by one or more second measurement gaps (MG2) with a second measurement gap length (MGL2) and a second measurement gap repetition period (MGRP2)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of SIOMINA and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
SIOMINA further teaches
wherein the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap are independent of one another ([0153], the WD 22 performs measurement M1 over T1 using MGP1 when MGP2 is not configured. Similarly, the WD 22 performs measurement M2 over T2 using MGP2 when MGP1 is not configured. But if both MGP1 and MGP2 are configured in parallel and MG1 and MG2 at least partly overlap then, the WD 22 performs measurements M1 and M2 over an adapted first measurement time (T1′) and an adapted second measurement time (T2′) respectively. Here, the measurements (M1 and M2) are performed independently; therefore, the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap are independent of one another).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 17, SIOMINA teaches (Title, MANAGING PARALLEL MEASUREMENT GAP PATTERNS FOR RADIO RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AND POSITIONING MEASUREMENTS) a method for configuring measurement gaps ([0021], a configuration of a first measurement gap pattern and a second measurement gap pattern), the method comprising:
identifying, by processing circuitry of a user equipment device (UE) device (Fig.3 and [0086], WD 22 includes processing circuitry 84), a first configuration message (Fig.13 and [0118], a WD 22 is configured with a first measurement gap pattern (MGP1)), received from a 5G network device ([0016], a wireless device is configured to receive from the network node first measurement gap pattern; Fig.2 and [0007], communication system 10, such as a 3GPP-type cellular network that supports standards such as LTE and/or NR (5G). Here, the network node is considered as a 5G network device, since the communication system supports 5G. also receiving the MGP1 is a first configuration message), for a first measurement gap (Fig.13, MGP1) during which the UE device is to perform a first intra-frequency measurement ([0127], configured with MGP1 intended for first measurements (e.g., intra-frequency);
identifying, by the processing circuitry of a user equipment device (UE) device (Fig.3 and [0086], WD 22 includes processing circuitry 84), additional configuration messages (Fig.13 and [0118], WD 22 is configured with a second measurement gap pattern (MGP2); [0132], WD 22 is configured with the first and second measurement gaps at the same time (e.g., in the same message) or at different times (in different messages). Here, considering different messages for the first and the second measurement gaps, an additional configuration message is identified/ received), received from the 5G network device ([0016], a wireless device is configured to receive from the network node second measurement gap pattern. Here, the network node is considered as a 5G network device, since the communication system supports 5G regarding Fig.2 and [0007]), for additional measurement gaps (Fig.13, MGP2) during which the UE device is to perform additional intra-frequency measurements ([0008], measurement gaps are shared between intra-frequency and inter-frequency; [0059], Radio measurements are intra-frequency, inter-frequency, carrier aggregation (CA), etc. [0124] and [0126], when the WD 22 is configured with second measurements (M2) that requires measurement gaps (MGP2) on one or more second carrier frequencies F2. Regarding [0123] – [0124] and [0126], the measurement M2 is using the MGP2 on carrier frequency F2 and Radio measurements are intra-frequency; therefore, an additional intra-frequency measurement is performed), wherein the first measurement gap and the additional measurement gap are set independently from one another ([0153], the WD 22 performs measurement M1 over T1 using MGP1 when MGP2 is not configured. Similarly, the WD 22 performs measurement M2 over T2 using MGP2 when MGP1 is not configured. But if both MGP1 and MGP2 are configured in parallel and MG1 and MG2 at least partly overlap then, the WD 22 performs measurements M1 and M2 over an adapted first measurement time (T1′) and an adapted second measurement time (T2′) respectively. Here, the measurements (M1 and M2) are performed independently; therefore, the first measurement gap and the second measurement gap are independent of one another);
measuring, by the processing circuitry ([0218] and [0220], the WD comprising processing circuitry configured to perform measurements according to the first and second measurement gap patterns), a first reference signal during the first measurement gap ([0014], a first measurement gap pattern (MGP1) with a first measurement gap length (MGL1) is configured for doing first measurements (M1) (e.g., mobility measurements) on a first type of signals (e.g., discovery signals (DRS1) which includes, e.g., cell-specific reference signals (CRS) or other reference signals). Here, the DRS1 is a first reference signal); and
measuring, by the processing circuitry ([0218] and [0220], the WD comprising processing circuitry configured to perform measurements according to the first and second measurement gap patterns), additional reference signal during the additional measurement gaps ([0014], A second measurement gap pattern (MGP2) with a second measurement gap length (MGL2) is configured for performing second measurements (M2) on a second type of signals (e.g., discovery signals, DRS2, used for doing positioning measurement such as RSTD on dense PRS configuration). Here, the DRS2 is an additional reference signal).
SIOMINA does not specifically teach
Identify an activation of the first measurement gap via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) command.
However, LI teaches (Title, CHANNEL MEASUREMENT METHOD AND APPARATUS, AND COMMUNICATION DEVICE)
Identify an activation of the first measurement gap via a Downlink Control Information (DCI) command ([0047] and [0087], temporary measurement gap is pre-configured through high-layer signaling, etc., and be triggered and enabled by the DCI. Here, the enabling/ activation of the measurement gap is via a DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SIOMINA as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a channel measurement method and apparatus, in which base station uses DCI to indicate whether the UE uses a temporary measurement gap to improve the flexibility of triggering a temporary measurement gap (LI, Abstract, [0045] and [0050]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 18, the combination of SIOMINA and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above.
SIOMINA further teaches
wherein the first configuration message is associated with a first frequency ([0124]-[0125], WD 22 is configured with M1 that requires measurement gaps (MGP1) on one or more first carrier frequencies F1) associated with the first reference signal ([0014], a first measurement gap pattern (MGP1) is configured for doing first measurements (M1) on a first type of signals (e.g., discovery signals (DRS1)), and wherein the other additional configuration is associated with an additional frequency ([0124] and [0126], WD 22 is configured with M2 that requires measurement gaps (MGP2) on one or more second carrier frequencies F2) associated with the additional reference signal ([0014], A second measurement gap pattern (MGP2) is configured for performing second measurements (M2) on a second type of signals (e.g., discovery signals, DRS2).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of SIOMINA and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above.
SIOMINA further teaches
wherein the first measurement gap and the additional measurement gaps are during a same time period (Fig.13 and [0065], a first measurement gap and a second measurement gap occurring at the same time or the same time resources, as well as, all or a subset of a time period for one measurement gap occurring at the same time as all or a subset of a time period for another measurement gap).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of SIOMINA and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 19 as outlined above.
SIOMINA further teaches
wherein the same time period is based on a periodicity associated with the first measurement gap ([0009], WD measurement gap configuration includes the timing offset of gaps, measurement gap periodicity (measurement gap repetition period, MGRP), measurement gap length (MGL), etc.. [0069], a first measurement gap repetition period (MGRP1). Regarding Fig.13, MGP1 and MGP1 are in same time period based on the MGRP1 that is same as second measurement gap repetition period (MGRP2).
Claims 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi in view of LI and further in view of HE et al. (HE hereinafter referred to HE) (US 2024/0049035 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kazmi and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kazmi does not specifically teach
wherein the configuration message comprises a PreConfigMG flag.
However, HE teaches (Title, METHODS, APPARATUSES, AND COMPUTER READABLE MEDIA FOR CONFIGURING MEASUREMENT GAP PATTERNS)
wherein the configuration message comprises a PreConfigMG flag (Fig.2 and [0148], the set of pre-configured MGPs provided in information 203 include maximum 8 MGPs, DCI format used for the information 204 is extended with 3 bits to indicate the one or more MGP indexes for configuring MGPs of the specified BWP. Here, the index is considered as flag; therefore, the configuration message 203 comprises a PreConfigMG flag).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Kazmi and LI as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of HE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide methods, apparatuses, and computer readable media for configuring measurement gap patterns of bandwidth part based on at least one of the configuration information and index information (HE, Abstract and [0001]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kazmi and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kazmi does not specifically teach
wherein the configuration message comprises a bitmap.
However, HE teaches (Title, METHODS, APPARATUSES, AND COMPUTER READABLE MEDIA FOR CONFIGURING MEASUREMENT GAP PATTERNS)
wherein the configuration message comprises a bitmap (Fig.2 and [0148], the set of pre-configured MGPs provided in information 203 include maximum 8 MGPs, DCI format used for the information 204 is extended with 3 bits to indicate the one or more MGP indexes for configuring MGPs of the specified BWP. Here, the information 204 is extended with 3 bits; i.e. it is a bitmap; therefore, the configuration message 203 comprises a bitmap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of Kazmi and LI as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of HE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide methods, apparatuses, and computer readable media for configuring measurement gap patterns of bandwidth part based on at least one of the configuration information and index information (HE, Abstract and [0001]).
Claims 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIOMINA I view of LI and further in view of Kazmi.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of SIOMINA and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
SIOMINA does not specifically teach
wherein the first measurement gap to be activated is associated with a UE's active bandwidth part (BWP) and with the reference signal.
However, Kazmi teaches
wherein the first measurement gap to be activated is associated with a UE's active bandwidth part (BWP) ([0082], UE is pre-configured with at least one measurement gap pattern whose usage for measurement is activated or deactivated based on fulfilling one or more conditions or criteria, e.g., based on BWP switching) and with the reference signal (Fig.7 and [0199], The UE 312 initially performs one or more intra-frequency measurements or measurements on carrier of cell1 on RSs (e.g., SSB1) according to GMP, i.e. using pre-configured MGP; the UE 312 is triggered at time instance, T0, to switch its active BWP from BWP3 to BWP4 on cell1; The RSs are fully within the BW of the new active BWP (BWP4). This triggers the UE 312 to switch from GMP to BMP to continue performing the measurements on the same RSs (e.g., SSB1)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SIOMINA and LI as mentioned in claim 8 and further incorporate the teaching of Kazmi. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems and methods for activation and/or deactivation of preconfigured measurement gaps. The term “pre-configured measurement gap pattern” refers to any type of measurement gap pattern which is configured at the UE even before the UE needs to use the gaps for a certain measurement. This reduces delay in setting up gaps when a new measurement or an ongoing measurement is to be done or continued using gaps (Kazmi, Abstract and [0082]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of SIOMINA and LI teaches all the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
SIOMINA does not specifically teach
wherein the UE device is configured to switch an active BWP to another BWP.
However, Kazmi teaches
wherein the UE device is configured to switch an active BWP to another BWP (Fig.7 and [0199], the UE 312 is triggered at time instance, T0, to switch its active BWP from BWP3 to BWP4 on cell1. Here, the BWP3 is an active BWP and the BWP4 is another BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SIOMINA and LI as mentioned in claim 8 and further incorporate the teaching of Kazmi. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems and methods for activation and/or deactivation of preconfigured measurement gaps. The term “pre-configured measurement gap pattern” refers to any type of measurement gap pattern which is configured at the UE even before the UE needs to use the gaps for a certain measurement. This reduces delay in setting up gaps when a new measurement or an ongoing measurement is to be done or continued using gaps (Kazmi, Abstract and [0082]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIOMINA in view of LI, Kazmi and HE.
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 13, the combination of SIOMINA, LI and Kazmi teaches all the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
SIOMINA does not specifically teach
identify an activation of the first measurement gap,
wherein the activation [[and] comprises at least one of a PreConfigMG flag or a bitmap.
However, Kazmi teaches
identify an activation of the first measurement gap ([0029], starting the use of the pre-configured measurement gap pattern comprises activating the pre-configured measurement gap pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SIOMINA, LI and Kazmi as mentioned in claim 12 and further incorporate the teaching of Kazmi. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems and methods for activation and/or deactivation of preconfigured measurement gaps. The term “pre-configured measurement gap pattern” refers to any type of measurement gap pattern which is configured at the UE even before the UE needs to use the gaps for a certain measurement. This reduces delay in setting up gaps when a new measurement or an ongoing measurement is to be done or continued using gaps (Kazmi, Abstract and [0082]).
The combination of SIOMINA, LI and Kazmi does not specifically teach
at least one of a PreConfigMG flag or a bitmap.
However, HE teaches
at least one of a PreConfigMG flag or a bitmap (Fig.2 and [0148], the set of pre-configured MGPs provided in information 203 include maximum 8 MGPs, DCI format used for the information 204 is extended with 3 bits to indicate the one or more MGP indexes for configuring MGPs of the specified BWP. Here, the index is considered as flag and the information 204 is extended with 3 bits; i.e. it is a bitmap; therefore, the configuration message 203 comprises at least one of a PreConfigMG flag or a bitmap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SIOMINA, LI and Kazmi as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of HE. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide methods, apparatuses, and computer readable media for configuring measurement gap patterns of bandwidth part based on at least one of the configuration information and index information (HE, Abstract and [0001]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SIOMINA in view of LI and Kazmi and further in view of HWANG (US 2024/0205869 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of SIOMINA, LI and Kazmi teaches all the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
SIOMINA does not specifically teach
identify a first activation of the first measurement gap; and
identify a second activation of the second measurement gap.
However, Kazmi teaches
identify a first activation of the first measurement gap ([0029], starting the use of the pre-configured measurement gap pattern comprises activating the pre-configured measurement gap pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SIOMINA, LI and Kazmi as mentioned in claim 12 and further incorporate the teaching of Kazmi. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems and methods for activation and/or deactivation of preconfigured measurement gaps. The term “pre-configured measurement gap pattern” refers to any type of measurement gap pattern which is configured at the UE even before the UE needs to use the gaps for a certain measurement. This reduces delay in setting up gaps when a new measurement or an ongoing measurement is to be done or continued using gaps (Kazmi, Abstract and [0082]).
The combination of SIOMINA, LI and Kazmi does not specifically teach
identify a second activation of the second measurement gap.
However, HWANG teaches (Title, METHOD AND DEVICE FOR POSITIONING IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM)
identify a first activation of the first measurement gap ([0334], configuring a plurality of measurement gaps for a UE and performing a measurement gap activation procedure based on the plurality of measurement gaps; [0344], activating the first measurement gap when the first identifier and the second identifier are equal); and
identify a second activation of the second measurement gap ([0344], activating the second measurement gap when the first identifier and the second identifier are different).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SIOMINA, LI and Kazmi as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of HWANG. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an apparatus and method of decreasing latency due to a measurement gap occurring when a UE attempts to transmit measured position related information to a base station (BS) (HWANG, Abstract and [0011]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474