DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the Amendments/Response filed by Applicant on 04/22/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 10 & 11 are amended.
Claims 3 and 18 are canceled.
Claims 1, 2 & 4-17 are now pending.
Response to Amendment
The examiner fully acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 10 & 11 as filed by Applicant on 04/22/2026.
The amendments to claims 1, 8 & 11 have addressed the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection previously submitted and the claim rejection set forth in the previous office action pertaining to the independent claims and their respective dependent claims are withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 1, 8 & 11 have addressed the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections previously submitted and the claim rejections set forth in the previous office action pertaining to the independent claims and their respective dependent claims are withdrawn.
Please see the new rejections set forth in the present action in light of limitations now required within the presently filed claims.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 101 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 & 11 and 6 have been considered.
35 USC 102(a)(1) Claim Rejections: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 8 & 9 have been considered.
35 USC 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3-7 & 10-18 have been considered.
In response to applicant’s argument that the reference fails to show all the features of the claimed invention, it is noted element in the amended and presently filed claims have yet to be examined.
Drawing Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Claims 1, 8, 14 & 15 recite the limitation “wherein the controller is placed at each of two sides of a workpiece” (emphasis added) or “wherein when the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece” (emphasis added). However, none of figures 1-12 show multiple controllers nor do any of the figures show the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece. The closest aspect shown is figure 2, wherein controller (element 60) is shown disposed in space near the monitoring system. Therefore, the controllers must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “31” has been used to designate both “monitor” (para. [0031]) and “the controllers” (para. [0035]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (line 11 – 16), claim 8 (line 10 – 15) and claims 14 & 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “controller” in claim 1 (line 11 – 16), claim 8 (line 10 – 15) and claims 14 & 15 is used by the claims to mean “a means to switch between a first rotation direction and a second rotation direction of the wire net”. As best understood by the examiner, these controllers should be interpreted as a means to drive the monitoring unit across the length of the track. This would suggest a drive, motor, servo-motor or equivalent.
Please make clear.
Claim 1, 7, 8, 11, 14 & 15 recite the limitations "a control unit, provided with a controller” or further “wherein the controller is placed at each of two sides of a workpiece” or “the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece”. There are multiple issues with these limitations.
Wherein “a controller” (emphasis added) has been recited, the limitation becomes indefinite when said singular controller is somehow present in two locations at once (i.e., at each of two sides of the workpiece).
Further, wherein “a controller” (emphasis added) has been recited, the limitation “the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece” (emphasis added) lacks antecedent basis. Please make definite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zingg (WO 2014167392 A1) in view of Hardaway (CN 203204380 U).
Regarding claim 1, Zingg discloses an intelligent monitoring system for wire net wafering (element 13, fig. 5; para. [0073]), comprising:
a monitoring unit, equipped with a monitor (element 8, fig. 5; para. [0081]; note, deflection sensor equivalent to monitoring unit, including monitor, may be any kind of distance, presence or displacement sensor) for capturing position data of cutting wires in a wire net (element 3, fig. 5; para. [0082]; note, deflection sensor 8 may be used to make an “image” of the wire web 3), wherein an aperture (para. [0034]; note, sensor housing has a transparent window to permit detection of the wires) of the monitor is arranged in a same direction as a rotation direction of the wire net (element 3, 13; para. [0089]; note, “preferably the sensor is inclined thus that it measures perpendicularly to the wire segments when they are in their cutting operation”; monitor arranged to face length of wire), the monitor moves from a first position to a second position along a lengthwise direction of the wire net (element 3, 13; para. [0027 & 79]; note, in fig. 5, sensor moves along track 9 either right to left or left to right; further, “it is beneficial if the movement of the sensor extends mainly parallel to the axes of the wire guide rollers”; sensor moves along width of wire net to cover all wires), and continuously transmits signals toward the cutting wires and captures returned signals to identify the position of the cutting wires (para. [0032 – 35 & 41]; note, measuring means may be moved in continuous fashion over the (wire) web); and
a control unit, provided with a controller (element 12, fig. 5; para. [0084]; note, “the sensor 8 may be connected to a controller unit 12”) for receiving the data captured by the monitor (para. [0084]; note, “the controller unit 12 may have a memory 17 associated with it for storing the measurement data, preferably together with the position the measurement was made”), processing the data (para. [0083]; note, “a controller unit 12 connected to the sensor through connection 15 may be used to take multiple such measurements and from them, probably using the position of the sensor 8 at the time the measurement was made, deduce the position of single wire 3a”) and notifying a wafering machine based on results of the processing to perform optimization and adjustment (step 204; para. [0092]; note, “changing the wire web speed to the normal cutting speed and/or controlling the cutting recipe based on the measured features/shape of the wire web”);
wherein a controller (para. [0026]; “The sensor may be moved by a drive or motor that drives a (toothed) belt or the like that is directly or indirectly connected to the sensor controller unit”; as best understood by the examiner, the drive disclosed for controlling the movement of the sensor is consistent with the “controller placed at a side of a workpiece”, as defined by the applicant) is placed at a side of a workpiece (element 13, fig. 6).
Zingg discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece are disposed opposite to each other; and
wherein when the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece are switched alternately between a first rotation direction and a second rotation direction of the wire net, the controllers perform the monitoring of the wire net in the first rotation direction and the wire net in the second rotation direction alternately.
Hardaway teaches an intelligent monitoring system (element 10, fig. 9; para. [0082-84]; note, “line bend monitoring system of wire saw device. sensor arrangement comprises a movement rod 40, movement rod 40 is mounted to the movement bar 40 of sensor 22. the sensor may be a contact sensor, an inductive sensor or a capacitive sensor”) for wire net wafering,
wherein the sensor arrays placed at both sides of the workpiece are disposed opposite to each other (element 22, fig. 9); and
Hardaway teaches movable sensor arrangements disposed below the wire net on each side of the work piece (fig. 6 & 7). These sensors arrangements are configured to provide coverage of the entire area of the wire net and move vertically with the wire net as it is displaced during the sawing process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zingg by incorporating second sensor arrangement of Hardaway. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the improvement in functionality in having a second, movable sensor, opposite the first, to provide measurements of wire deviation on both sides of the workpiece, as suggested by Hardaway. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of having the sensors offset (in an offset or alternating phase) in offering simultaneous coverage of a larger area of the wire net, as suggested by Hardaway.
Regarding claim 2, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the captured signals are converted into digital signals, which are then transmitted to the controller (para. [0022 & 33]; note, sensor monitors cutting wires, sensor is part of housing, housing has connection for power and signals, controller receives and stores signals captured by monitor).
Regarding claim 4, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the monitoring unit further comprises:
a housing (element 8, 10, fig. 5; para. [0033]; “ Preferably, the deflection measuring means and the moving means for moving the deflection measuring means together are inside a single housing, preferably a waterproof housing”), for protecting the monitor; and
a position adjusting rod, connecting to the housing for adjusting a direction of the housing such that the monitor is tilted to transmit signals toward a face of the wire net in contact with the workpiece (para. [0089]; “The sensor 8 may also be rotatable to be adjusted to the average (over all wires at a given moment or over time) deflection of the wire or to the purpose it is serving at any given time”).
Regarding claim 6, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches:
further comprising a power unit, which comprises a long track and a connecting block arranged along a lengthwise direction of the wire net, wherein the monitoring unit is connected to the connecting block, and the connecting block drives the monitoring unit to move on the long track.
Zingg teaches “a deflection sensor or deflection measurement means 8 is mounted on a rail or linear guide 9 as to be movable above the wire web 3 in the direction of one wire to the next S” and further “the wire web monitoring system is completely self- contained and only one outlet 11 for electrical power and signals is provided” (para. [0079]). Zingg teaches the use of separate motors for driving the monitoring unit along the track, and that the drive may be electrically connected to the controller and monitoring unit (para. [0087]).
Regarding claim 8, Zingg discloses an intelligent monitoring method for wire net wafering, comprising the steps of (para. [0053]; “A further aspect of the invention is a wire web monitoring system or sensor to be used in any of the above wire saws or methods”):
controlling a monitor to capture position data of cutting wires in a wire net (step 104; para. [0090]; note, “monitoring the wire web by moving the sensor over the wire web and measuring the deflection of the wires”), wherein an aperture of the monitor (para. [0034]; note, sensor housing has a transparent window to permit detection of the wires) is arranged in a same direction as a rotation direction of the wire net (element 3, 13; para. [0089]; note, “preferably the sensor is inclined thus that it measures perpendicularly to the wire segments when they are in their cutting operation”; monitor arranged to face length of wire), the monitor moves from a first position to a second position along a lengthwise direction of the wire net (step 304; para. [0095]), and continuously transmits signals toward the cutting wires and captures returned signals to identify the position of the cutting wires (step 305; para. [0095]); and
receiving the data captured by the monitor (step 305 & 307; para. [0095]), processing the data (step 105 & 305; para. [0093 & 97]) and notifying a wafering machine based on results of the processing to perform optimization and adjustment (step 204 & 405; para. [0093 & 97]);
wherein a controller (para. [0026]; “The sensor may be moved by a drive or motor that drives a (toothed) belt or the like that is directly or indirectly connected to the sensor controller unit”; as best understood by the examiner, the drive disclosed for controlling the movement of the sensor is consistent with the “controller placed at a side of a workpiece”, as defined by the applicant) is placed at a side of a workpiece (element 13, fig. 6).
Zingg discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 8, but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece are disposed opposite to each other; and
wherein when the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece are switched alternately between a first rotation direction and a second rotation direction of the wire net, the controllers perform the monitoring of the wire net in the first rotation direction and the wire net in the second rotation direction alternately.
Hardaway teaches an intelligent monitoring system (element 10, fig. 9; para. [0082-84]; note, “line bend monitoring system of wire saw device. sensor arrangement comprises a movement rod 40, movement rod 40 is mounted to the movement bar 40 of sensor 22. the sensor may be a contact sensor, an inductive sensor or a capacitive sensor”) for wire net wafering,
wherein the sensor arrays placed at both sides of the workpiece are disposed opposite to each other (element 22, fig. 9); and
wherein when the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece are switched alternately between a first rotation direction and a second rotation direction of the wire net, the controllers perform the monitoring of the wire net in the first rotation direction and the wire net in the second rotation direction alternately.
Hardaway teaches movable sensor arrangements disposed below the wire net on each side of the work piece (fig. 6 & 7). These sensors arrangements are configured to provide coverage of the entire area of the wire net and move vertically with the wire net as it is displaced during the sawing process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zingg by incorporating second sensor arrangement of Hardaway. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the improvement in functionality in having a second, movable sensor, opposite the first, to provide measurements of wire deviation on both sides of the workpiece, as suggested by Hardaway. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of having the sensors offset (in an offset or alternating phase) in offering simultaneous coverage of a larger area of the wire net, as suggested by Hardaway.
Regarding claim 9, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches:
wherein the controlling the monitor to capture the position data of the cutting wires in the wire net comprises:
converting the captured signals into digital signals, which are then transmitted to the controller (step 204; para. [0092 & 93]).
Regarding claim 10, Zingg modified teaches the method of claim 8 and further teaches:
wherein the receiving the data captured by the monitor, processing the data and notifying the wafering machine based on results of the processing to perform optimization and adjustment comprises:
denoising, by the controller, the converted digital signals by using moving average, Gaussian algorithm and median filtering, to obtain height position of each cutting wire in each area of the wire net, and based on the obtained height position of each cutting wire in each area and the height position of a contact surface of a workpiece and the wire net in an area, obtaining a vertical distance between each cutting wire in the area and the contact surface of the workpiece and the wire net in the area, which is a curvature value and a jump value corresponding to each cutting wire in the area;
based on the curvature values and the jump values of all the cutting wires in each area during a cutting process, forming an independent curvature curve and jump curve corresponding to each area;
based on the curvature value of each cutting wire in each area obtained when an amount of cutting steps reaches a preset threshold, forming an overall curvature curve of all areas; and
based on the independent curvature curve and jump curve corresponding to each area as well as the overall curvature curve of all areas, identifying which area is abnormal, and performing a parameter adjustment.
Zingg teaches using multiple filtering algorithms to detect the movement and displacement of single wires in the wire net and for refining the raw data captured by the monitor before it is processed by the controller (para. [0036 - 37]). Further, Zingg teaches detecting abnormalities by comparing the height or location of the wires in the wire net to a reference point and determining deviation from the preferred cutting path (para. [0038]). These measurements are further processed and compared to predetermined values, and when a deviation is detected, adjustments are performed (para. [0095]).
Claims 5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zingg, as modified by Hardaway, as applied to claim 1, in view of Nasch (CN 202685115 U).
Regarding claim 5, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 4, but fails to teach:
further comprising a cleaning unit, provided at a position directly facing the monitoring unit, wherein the cleaning unit comprises a cleaning member and an enclosing unit that is placed around the cleaning member, and the enclosing unit is provided with an accommodation area for accommodating an end surface corresponding to the aperture of the monitor in the housing;
wherein the cleaning member cleans in the accommodation area to clean the housing when the monitor moves to the first position.
Zingg teaches a waterproof housing for protection of the monitoring unit and controller from the cutting fluid and from possible broken wires (para. [0033]). Zingg further teaches having a transparent window in the housing so as not to affect detection of the wires by the monitor (para. [0034]).
Nasch teaches an intelligent monitoring system (element 1, fig. 2) for wire net wafering,
further comprising a cleaning unit (element 1, fig. 2), provided at a position directly facing the monitoring unit (element 1, fig. 2), wherein the cleaning unit comprises a cleaning member and an enclosing unit that is placed around the cleaning member, and the enclosing unit is provided with an accommodation area for accommodating an end surface corresponding to the aperture of the monitor in the housing;
wherein the cleaning member cleans in the accommodation area to clean the housing when the monitor moves to the first position.
Nasch teaches in one embodiment, one or more temperature or infrared sensors equipped with a device to clean the monitoring area (para. [0069]). Specifically, Nasch teaches blowing air to clean the light passage of the sensor. Further, Nasch teaches that implementing such a cleaning unit would reduce maintenance requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zingg modified by incorporating the cleaning unit of Nasch. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the improvement in functionality in having a cleaning member and enclosing unit with an accommodation area for cleaning the housing and aperture of the monitoring unit. Zingg modified teaches benefits in cleaning and protection of the monitor and controller in reduced maintenance and improved detection.
Regarding claim 7, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach:
further comprising a display unit, provided with a display, wherein the controller displays the results of the processing on the display in a form of curves.
Nasch teaches an intelligent monitoring system (element 1, fig. 2) for wire net wafering, comprising:
further comprising a display unit, provided with a display (para. [0080 & 89]), wherein the controller displays the results of the processing on the display in a form of curves.
Nasch teaches that the controller can have an external device to display the output of its computations and operations. Further, Nasch teaches that the measurements, distribution, and positions of the lines experiencing a disturbance can be graphically displayed (para. [0080]). Additionally, where Nasch is concerned with measuring temperature distributions across the wire net, Nasch teaches the use of special software to display such parameters and for the automatic mechanical adjustment of the wire net wafering device (para. [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zingg modified by incorporating the display of Nasch. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand and appreciate the benefit in having a display to see the output of the raw monitoring data and the output of the controllers computations during operations to validate the automatic adjustments being performed, or to observe the data and perform manual adjustments.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zingg, in view of Nasch.
Regarding claim 11, Zingg discloses an intelligent monitoring system for wire net wafering (element 13, fig. 5; para. [0073]), comprising:
a monitoring unit, equipped with a monitor (element 8, fig. 5; para. [0081]; note, deflection sensor equivalent to monitoring unit, including monitor, may be any kind of distance, presence or displacement sensor) for capturing position data of cutting wires in a wire net (element 3, fig. 5; para. [0082]; note, deflection sensor 8 may be used to make an “image” of the wire web 3);
a power unit, comprising a long track and a connecting block arranged along a lengthwise direction of the wire net (para. [0079, 87]); “the wire web monitoring system is completely self- contained and only one outlet 11 for electrical power and signals is provided”), wherein the monitoring unit is connected to the connecting block, and the connecting block drives the monitoring unit to move on the long track (para. [0079, 87]); “a deflection sensor or deflection measurement means 8 is mounted on a rail or linear guide 9 as to be movable above the wire web 3 in the direction of one wire to the next S”);
a control unit, provided with a controller (element 12, fig. 5; para. [0084]; note, “the sensor 8 may be connected to a controller unit 12”) for receiving the data captured by the monitor (para. [0084]), processing the data (para. [0083]) and notifying a wafering machine based on results of the processing to perform optimization and adjustment (step 204; para. [0092]).
Zingg discloses the aforementioned limitations of claim 11, but fails to explicitly teach:
a display unit, provided with a display, wherein the controller displays the results of the processing on the display in a form of curves.
Nasch teaches an intelligent monitoring system (element 1, fig. 2) for wire net wafering, comprising:
a display unit, provided with a display (para. [0080 & 89]), wherein the controller displays the results of the processing on the display in a form of curves.
Nasch teaches that the controller can have an external device to display the output of its computations and operations. Further, Nasch teaches that the measurements, distribution, and positions of the lines experiencing a disturbance can be graphically displayed (para. [0080]). Additionally, where Nasch is concerned with measuring temperature distributions across the wire net, Nasch teaches the use of special software to display such parameters and for the automatic mechanical adjustment of the wire net wafering device (para. [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zingg by incorporating the display of Nasch. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand and appreciate the benefit in having a display to see the output of the raw monitoring data and the output of the controllers computations during operations to validate the automatic adjustments being performed, or to observe the data and perform manual adjustments.
Regarding claim 12, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches:
wherein an aperture of the monitor (para. [0034]; note, sensor housing has a transparent window to permit detection of the wires) is arranged in a same direction as a rotation direction of the wire net (element 3, 13; para. [0089]; note, “preferably the sensor is inclined thus that it measures perpendicularly to the wire segments when they are in their cutting operation”; monitor arranged to face length of wire).
Regarding claim 13, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches:
wherein the captured signals are converted into digital signals, which are then transmitted to the controller (para. [0022 & 33]; note, sensor monitors cutting wires, sensor is part of housing, housing has connection for power and signals, controller receives and stores signals captured by monitor).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zingg, as modified by Nasch, as applied to claim 11, in view of Hardaway.
Regarding claim 14, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 11, but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the controller is placed at each of two sides of a workpiece, and the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece are disposed opposite to each other.
Hardaway teaches an intelligent monitoring system (element 10, fig. 9; para. [0082-84]; note, “line bend monitoring system of wire saw device. sensor arrangement comprises a movement rod 40, movement rod 40 is mounted to the movement bar 40 of sensor 22. the sensor may be a contact sensor, an inductive sensor or a capacitive sensor”) for wire net wafering,
wherein the sensor arrays placed at both sides of the workpiece are disposed opposite to each other (element 22, fig. 9); and
Hardaway teaches movable sensor arrangements disposed below the wire net on each side of the work piece (fig. 6 & 7). These sensors arrangements are configured to provide coverage of the entire area of the wire net and move vertically with the wire net as it is displaced during the sawing process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zingg modified by incorporating second sensor arrangement of Hardaway. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the improvement in functionality in having a second, movable sensor, opposite the first, to provide measurements of wire deviation on both sides of the workpiece, as suggested by Hardaway. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of having the sensors offset (in an offset or alternating phase) in offering simultaneous coverage of a larger area of the wire net, as suggested by Hardaway.
Regarding claim 15, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 14, but fails to explicitly teach
when the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece are switched alternately between a first rotation direction and a second rotation direction of the wire net, the controllers perform the monitoring of the wire net in the first rotation direction and the wire net in the second rotation direction alternately.
Zingg does teach measuring means may be moved in continuous fashion over the (wire) web and further sensor moves along track 9 either right to left or left to right; further, “it is beneficial if the movement of the sensor extends mainly parallel to the axes of the wire guide rollers”, sensor moves along width of wire net to cover all wires (para. [0027, 0032 – 35, 41 & 79]).
Hardaway teaches an intelligent monitoring system (element 10, fig. 9; para. [0082-84]; note, “line bend monitoring system of wire saw device. sensor arrangement comprises a movement rod 40, movement rod 40 is mounted to the movement bar 40 of sensor 22. the sensor may be a contact sensor, an inductive sensor or a capacitive sensor”) for wire net wafering,
wherein when the controllers placed at both sides of the workpiece are switched alternately between a first rotation direction and a second rotation direction of the wire net, the controllers perform the monitoring of the wire net in the first rotation direction and the wire net in the second rotation direction alternately.
Hardaway teaches movable sensor arrangements disposed below the wire net on each side of the work piece (fig. 6 & 7). These sensors arrangements are configured to provide coverage of the entire area of the wire net and move vertically with the wire net as it is displaced during the sawing process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zingg by incorporating second sensor arrangement of Hardaway. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the improvement in functionality in having a second, movable sensor, opposite the first, to provide measurements of wire deviation on both sides of the workpiece, as suggested by Hardaway. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of having the sensors offset (in an offset or alternating phase) in offering simultaneous coverage of a larger area of the wire net, as suggested by Hardaway.
Regarding claim 16, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further teaches:
wherein the monitoring unit further comprises:
a housing (element 8, 10, fig. 5; para. [0033]; “ Preferably, the deflection measuring means and the moving means for moving the deflection measuring means together are inside a single housing, preferably a waterproof housing”), for protecting the monitor; and
a position adjusting rod, connecting to the housing for adjusting a direction of the housing such that the monitor is tilted to transmit signals toward a face of the wire net in contact with the workpiece (para. [0089]; “The sensor 8 may also be rotatable to be adjusted to the average (over all wires at a given moment or over time) deflection of the wire or to the purpose it is serving at any given time”).
17. (Original) The system of claim 16, further comprising a cleaning unit, provided at a position directly facing the monitoring unit, wherein the cleaning unit comprises a cleaning member and an enclosing unit that is placed around the cleaning member, and the enclosing unit is provided with an accommodation area for accommodating an end surface corresponding to the aperture of the monitor in the housing; wherein the cleaning member cleans in the accommodation area to clean the housing when the monitor moves to the first position.
Regarding claim 17, Zingg modified teaches the limitations of claim 16, but fails to explicitly teach:
further comprising a cleaning unit, provided at a position directly facing the monitoring unit, wherein the cleaning unit comprises a cleaning member and an enclosing unit that is placed around the cleaning member, and the enclosing unit is provided with an accommodation area for accommodating an end surface corresponding to the aperture of the monitor in the housing; wherein the cleaning member cleans in the accommodation area to clean the housing when the monitor moves to the first position.
Zingg teaches a waterproof housing for protection of the monitoring unit and controller from the cutting fluid and from possible broken wires (para. [0033]). Zingg further teaches having a transparent window in the housing so as not to affect detection of the wires by the monitor (para. [0034]).
Nasch teaches an intelligent monitoring system (element 1, fig. 2) for wire net wafering,
further comprising a cleaning unit (element 1, fig. 2), provided at a position directly facing the monitoring unit (element 1, fig. 2), wherein the cleaning unit comprises a cleaning member and an enclosing unit that is placed around the cleaning member, and the enclosing unit is provided with an accommodation area for accommodating an end surface corresponding to the aperture of the monitor in the housing;
wherein the cleaning member cleans in the accommodation area to clean the housing when the monitor moves to the first position.
Nasch teaches in one embodiment, one or more temperature or infrared sensors equipped with a device to clean the monitoring area (para. [0069]). Specifically, Nasch teaches blowing air to clean the light passage of the sensor. Further, Nasch teaches that implementing such a cleaning unit would reduce maintenance requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zingg modified by incorporating the cleaning unit of Nasch. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the improvement in functionality in having a cleaning member and enclosing unit with an accommodation area for cleaning the housing and aperture of the monitoring unit. Zingg modified teaches benefits in cleaning and protection of the monitor and controller in reduced maintenance and improved detection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEEGAN T MARTIN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723