DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yatemata et al. (JP 2014/135275, see Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Yatemata et al. discloses an electrochemical device ([0016]) comprising: a positive electrode ([0046]); a negative electrode ([0047]); and an electrolyte ([0016]) having lithium ion conductivity ([0130]), wherein: the negative electrode ([0047]) includes a negative current collector ([0018]) and a negative electrode mixture layer ([0047], [0050]) supported on the negative current collector ([0018]), the negative electrode mixture layer ([0047], [0050]) contains a conductive additive ([0053]-[0054]) and a negative electrode active material reversibly doped with a lithium ion ([0047], [0050]).
Yatemata et al. does not explicitly disclose a surface area A (m²/g) per unit mass of the negative electrode mixture layer and a mass B (g/m²) of the negative electrode mixture layer supported on a unit area of the negative current collector on one surface satisfy a relationship of 200 ≤ AB ≤ 1,400, or wherein 340 ≤ AB ≤ 1,000. As the electrode structural integrity and battery electrical performance (see Yatemata et al., [0010], [0050], [0092]-[0095]) are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said active material surface area and mass / amount, with said electrode structural integrity and battery electrical performance both varying as the active material surface area and mass / amount is varied, the precise active material surface area and mass / amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed active material surface area and mass / amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the active material surface area and mass / amount in the device of Yatemata et al. to obtain the desired balance between the electrode structural integrity and battery electrical performance (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 3, modified Yatemata et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the conductive additive includes carbon black ([0053]-[0054]), and a specific surface area of the carbon black ranges from 800 m²/g to 1,200 m²/g, inclusive ([0056]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yatemata et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the negative electrode active material includes non-graphitizable carbon ([0047], [0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Oshawa et al. (US 2018/0342728) discloses in Figs 1-6, a secondary battery (ref 100) including a negative electrode having active materials with definite surface area to amount ratios ([0155], Table 1 / P7-8).
Morimoto et al. (US 2006/0222937) discloses in Figs 1-6, a secondary battery ([0019]) including a negative electrode having active materials with definite surface area to amount ratios ([0037]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725