DETAILED ACTION
The response filed 6/15/26 has been entered, including the amendments to the specification correcting typographical errors. Claims 2 and 5 have been canceled by Applicant, leaving claims 1, 3, and 4 pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (“Nakamura”, US 2022/0013764 A1) in view of Deguchi (US 2012/0183865 A1) and Utaka et al. (“Utaka”, JP 2019 021805A).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses an electrochemical device (title) and teaches interposing a separator between the negative electrode and the positive electrode ([0034], pre-doping of lithium ions into the negative electrode material layer ([0035], non-graphitizing carbon in the negative electrode material layer ([0051]), a binder such as acrylic resin or cellulose derivative ([0052]), and negative electrode potential of 0.2V or less with respect to metal lithium ([0064]). Lithium-ion batteries have polarizable electrodes since their potential changes in response to applied current.
Nakamura does not expressly teach the average particle size of the binding agent is more than or equal to 140nm.
However, Deguchi discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (title) and teaches binders, including acrylic resins ([0049]), and teaches the binder having a particle form has an average particle diameter of, for example, 0.1 to 0.3 microns (100 to 300nm) ([0085]), which overlaps the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to look to Deguchi to provide guidance for particle size of the binder since Nakamura does not provide the particle size of binder particles, and Deguchi is directed to a similar endeavor (negative electrode material).
Thickeners are well known in the art. For example, Nakamura teaches including carboxycellulose ([0063]) and Deguchi teaches methyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), and Na salt of carboxymethyl cellulose ([0075]).
The references do not specifically teach the thickener contains an ammonium salt of carboxymethylcellulose.
However, Utaka discloses an electric storage device (title) and teaches examples of the thickening agent include carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), Na salts or ammonium salts thereof, inter alia ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to substitute ammonium salts of CMC as the thickening agent with a reasonable expectation of success since it is an obvious variant of thickeners used in electrode active materials.
As to claim 3, Nakamura teaches a surface layer portion of the negative electrode material layer has a lithium carbonate-containing region (abstract).
As to claim 4, Nakamura teaches a solid electrolyte interface coating film is formed on a negative electrode material layer ([0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues that the limitations incorporated into claim 1 place the application in condition for allowance.
As to the polarizable electrode, lithium-ion batteries have polarizable electrodes since their potential changes in response to applied current.
As to the thickener containing an ammonium salt of CMC, Utaka discloses an electric storage device (title) and teaches examples of the thickening agent include carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), Na salts or ammonium salts thereof, inter alia ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to substitute ammonium salts of CMC as the thickening agent with a reasonable expectation of success since it is an obvious variant of thickeners used in electrode active materials.
As to the binding agent being an acrylic resin with an average particle size of more than or equal to 140 nm, Deguchi discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (title) and teaches binders, including acrylic resins ([0049]), and teaches the binder having a particle form has an average particle diameter of, for example, 0.1 to 0.3 microns (100 to 300nm) ([0085]), which overlaps the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to look to Deguchi to provide guidance for particle size of the binder since Nakamura does not provide the particle size of binder particles, and Deguchi is directed to a similar endeavor (negative electrode material).
Deguchi teaches SBR is preferred but does not limit the binder to only SBR.
All of the incorporated limitations are suggested in the prior art with sufficient rationale to combine.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746