DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (“Nakamura”, US 2022/0013764 A1) in view of Deguchi (US 2012/0183865 A1). Regarding claim s 1 and 2 , Nakamura discloses an electrochemical device (title) and teaches interposing a separator between the negative electrode and the positive electrode ([0034], pre-doping of lithium ions into the negative electrode material layer ([0035], non-graphitizing carbon in the negative electrode material layer ([0051]), a binder such as acrylic resin or cellulose derivative ([0052]), and negative electrode potential of 0.2V or less with respect to metal lithium ([0064]). Nakamura does not expressly teach the average particle size of the binding agent is more than or equal to 140nm. However, Deguchi discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (title) and teaches the binder having a particle form has an average particle diameter of, for example, 0.1 to 0.3 microns (100 to 300nm) ([0085]), which overlaps the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to look to Deguchi to provide guidance for particle size of the binder since Nakamura does not provide the particle size of binder particles, and Deguchi is directed to a similar endeavor (negative electrode material). As to claim 3, Nakamura teaches a surface layer portion of the negative electrode material layer has a lithium carbonate-containing region (abstract). As to claim 4, Nakamura teaches a solid electrolyte interface coating film is formed on a negative electrode material layer ([0006]) Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura and Deguchi as applied above, and further in view of Utaka et al. (“ Utaka ”, JP 2019 021805A). Regarding claim 5, thickeners are well known in the art. For example, Nakamura teaches including carboxycellulose ([0063]) and Deguchi teaches methyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), and Na salt of carboxymethyl cellulose ([0075]). The references do not specifically teach the thickener contains an ammonium salt of carboxymethylcellulose. However, Utaka discloses an electric storage device (title) and teaches examples of the thickening agent include carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), Na salts or ammonium salts thereof, inter alia ([0019]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to substitute ammonium salts of CMC as the thickening agent with a reasonable expectation of success since it is an obvious variant of thickeners used in electrode active materials. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT DANIEL H. LEE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2548 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:30-5:00 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Orlando can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 5712705038 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT DANIEL H. LEE Primary Examiner Art Unit 1746 /DANIEL H LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746