DETAILED ACTION
2. The Amendment filed on July 6, 2026, has been received and entered.
Claim Disposition
3. Claims 2-3 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 4-15 are pending. Claims 1 and 4-11 are under examination. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.12(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The claims are only being considered to the extent that they pertain to the elected subject matter.
Claim objection
4. Claims 1 and 4-11 are objected to for the following informalities:
For clarity and precision of claim language it is suggested that claim 1 is amended to recite, “…wherein stability [[refers to]] is retained enzymatic activity, and wherein the enzyme is a urease, [[the method]] comprising:…”.
For clarity and precision of claim language it is suggested that claim 4 is amended to depend from claim 4.
For clarity it is suggested that claim 11 is amended to read, “….25 days, and wherein [[where-in]] the enzyme…..”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1 and 4-11 is/are rejected under rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005 052044 A (of record in the application) in view of Alev et al. (2019, of record in the application) and Ureta et al. (Critical Reviews in Food Sci. & Nutrition, vol. 61, no. 16, pages 2659-2690).
The primary reference discloses a method to stabilize protocatechuic-acid dioxygenase and a manufacturing method of the stabilized lyophilized product. The stabilization of the enzyme is done by adding a stabilizer to the enzyme, the stabilizer is an aldohexose, a ketohexose, an hexose or an oligosaccharide. The amount of stabilizer is 30% (see claims 1-4, 10-17 of the reference). The claimed invention recites “about” thus the stabilizer weight is anticipated. The primary reference discloses that the type of buffer solution is not particularly limited, but those having a buffering ability in the stable pH range of the enzyme are preferred. For example, various phosphate buffers such as potassium phosphate (K-phosphate), sodium phosphate, tris salt, organic acid salts such as acetic acid, malic acid, and maleic acid, PIPES, TES, MOPS, HEPES, BisTris, Bicine, etc., can be used. The stable pH region, for example, in the case of protocatechuate dioxygenase derived from the genus Pseudomonas, the lower limit at the time of commercialization from the pH stable range of this enzyme is preferably 6.0, more preferably 6.5, and most preferably 7.0, which falls within the claimed range. The invention of claim 1 with no specific enzyme or oligosaccharide is recited as having degree of polymerization of 2-75, therefore the art enzyme and oligosaccharide would meet this limitation and it is construed as an inherent property, thus anticipated. The primary reference obtained good storage and high activity (see for example Table 2 and the entire document). The primary reference does not per se disclose urease, however, the need to stabilized urease is known in the art and has been achieved. One such reference is Alev et al. which discloses urease (urea amidohydrolase) and storage time and temperature and achieved a storage of at least 28 days with activity of above 80%. Thus, Alev et al. achieved storage of urease with very little loss of activity. Furthermore, the art generally reports that oligosaccharides assist with enzyme storage, thus would be obvious to use with urease (see Ureta et al. abstract and the entire document).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed invention as a whole because the combined teaching of the references renders the claims as obvious. Motivation to combine the references exist because they are analogous art. Moreover, the Supreme Court pointed out in KSR, “a patent composed of several elements is not proved obvious merely by demonstrating that each of its elements was, independently, known in the prior art.” KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1741. The Court thus reasoned that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the “inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 1741. The Court further advised that “[a] person of ordinary skill is…a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation.” Id. at 1742. Therefore, the claimed invention was obvious to make and use at the time the invention was made and was prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s comments have been considered in full. Withdrawn objections/rejections will not be discussed herein as applicant’s comments are moot. Note that the art rejection of record has been altered to reflect changes made to claims. Applicant traverses the rejection of record wherein JP2005052044 was the primary reference by stating that the reference has no teaching of urease. The reference does teach enzyme storage stability and a polysaccharide and the secondary references provides the missing elements. The claimed invention is obvious as outlined above. Applicant is urged to contact the examiner to discuss the remaining issues to place the application in better form.
Conclusion
8. No claims are presently allowable.
9. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new/modified ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOPE A ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652