DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2: “the sample holder” should read “the at least one sample holder”
Claim 3, line 2: “a first and a second toothed wheel” should read “a first toothed wheel
and a second toothed wheel”
Claim 3, lines 2-3: “the first and the second toothed wheel being arranged opposite one another.” should read “the first toothed wheel being arranged opposite to the second toothed wheel”
Claim 6, line 1: “the drive shaft” should read “the rotatable drive shaft”
Claim 9, line 3: “each box” should read “each box of the plurality of boxes”
Claim 9, lines 3-4: “at least one cryogenic sample” should read “the at least one cryogenic sample”
Claim 12, line 3: “a box” should read “a box of the plurality of boxes”
Claim 15, lines 1-2: “a storage device” should read “the storage device”
Claim 15, line 3: “a cryogenic liquid” should read “the cryogenic liquid”
Claim 15, line 4: “a cryogenic storage dewar” should read “the cryogenic storage dewar”
Claim 15, lines 5-6: “a sample holder holding at least one cryogenic sample” should read “the at least one sample holder holding the at least one cryogenic sample”
Claim 15, line 6: “a storage position of the sample holder” should read “the storage position of the at least one sample holder”
Claim 15, line 7: “a removal position of the sample holder” should read “the removal position of the at least one sample holder”
Claim 15, line 8: “the sample holder” should read “the at least one sample holder”
Claim 15, line 10: “the sample holder” should read “the at least one sample holder”
Claims 2, 7, 13, and 15 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 3-4 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 5 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 6 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Claims 8-9 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 7.
Claim 10 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 9.
Claims 11-12 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 10.
Claim 14 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of a fastener” in claim 7.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the sample transport unit" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing "the sample transport unit " in line 8 of claim 1 to “the elongated sample transport unit” which is given proper antecedent basis line 5 of claim 1. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the sample transport unit and the elongated sample transport unit to be the same components. The Examiner recommends using consistent terminology throughout the claims when referring to the same components.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first toothed wheel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the first toothed wheel" in line 3 of claim 4 to “a first toother wheel”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the output shaft" in lines 2 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing "the output shaft" in lines 2 and 6 of claim 5 to “the rotatable output shaft” which is given proper antecedent basis line 2 of claim 5. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the output shaft and the rotatable output shaft to be the same components.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the drive shaft" in lines 3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing "the drive shaft" in lines 3 and 5 of claim 5 to “the rotatable drive shaft” which is given proper antecedent basis line 2 of claim 5. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the drive shaft and the rotatable drive shaft to be the same components.
Claim 8, lines 12 recite, “wherein the fastener comprises a permanent magnet configured to attract a permanent magnet” which is unclear to the Examiner as there is no differentiation between the two claimed permanent magnets aside from the reference number in parentheses. The Examiner recommends changing “wherein the fastener comprises a permanent magnet configured to attract a permanent magnet” to “wherein the fastener comprises a permanent magnet configured to attract a second permanent magnet”. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the two permanent magnets to be separate components.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “at least one cryogenic sample”, and the claim also recites “wherein particularly the at least one cryogenic sample is a substance prepared on a grid” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the narrower language as (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “wherein the at least one sample holder comprises a screw configured to releasably fasten the lid to the container”, and the claim also recites “wherein particularly the screw comprises a head comprising a circumferential groove formed in the periphery of the head to allow engaging the head with a tool to remove the sample holder from the sample transport unit when the sample holder is in the removal position” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the narrower language as (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claims 2, 7, 13, and 15 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 3-4 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 5 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 6 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Claims 8-9 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 7.
Claim 10 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 9.
Claims 11-12 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 10.
Claim 14 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (CN 212488198, hereinafter Gao.
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a storage device for storing cryogenic samples (Fig. 1, freezing shelf 10; Abstract, The utility model claims a freezing rack, belonging to biological sample low temperature storage technology field), comprising:
at least one sample holder, the sample holder being configured to hold at least one cryogenic sample (Fig. 2, sample basket 500),
characterized in that
the storage device further comprises an elongated sample transport unit configured to hold the at least one sample holder and to be inserted into an internal space of a cryogenic storage dewar through an opening of the cryogenic storage dewar to completely submerge the sample transport unit into a cryogenic liquid residing in the internal space, wherein the sample transport unit is further configured to move said at least one sample holder along a pre-defined path from a storage position into a removal position, from which the at least one sample holder can be removed from the internal space of the cryogenic storage dewar (Fig. 2, transmission member 300; Abstract, The utility model claims a freezing rack, belonging to biological sample low temperature storage technology field, comprising: a hollow shell, a hollow structure with opening at the top end; a supporting frame; at least one group of transmission mechanism; at least one group of driving mechanism; a plurality of sample basket and a plurality of cryopreservation box. Technical Effects the hollow shell is a hollow structure with opening at the top end; a plurality of sample basket are connected to the transmission piece, and set around the transmission piece; when the driving mechanism drives the first rotating wheel or the second rotating wheel, it can drive the transmission piece to lift the target sample basket to the top opening; performing single access of the target freezing box; so that other irrelevant samples are always in the low temperature environment, avoiding the temperature rise and repeated freeze-thaw of other irrelevant samples; reducing the activity damage caused by the temperature change to the biological sample; using the rotation of the transmission piece to realize the rotation of the sample basket; without using other fixing rod structure or access mechanism; the access process is more convenient; It improves the space utilization rate; Further, the transmission member 300 of Gao has the same structure as the claimed elongated sample transport unit and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Regarding claim 2, Gao discloses the storage device according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the sample transport unit comprises a chain configured to be circulated to move the at least one sample holder along said pre-defined path (Fig. 2, conveying piece 330; Pg. 6-7, paragraph 53, The utility model claims a freezing shelf 10 at least has the following technical effects: Compared with the traditional technology, the utility model embodiment of the freezing shelf 10, hollow shell 100 is a hollow structure of the top end opening, a plurality of sample basket 500 are connected to the conveying member 330, and around the conveying member 330 a ring; when the driving mechanism 400 drives the first rotating wheel 310 or the second rotating wheel 320 in the process, it can drive the conveying piece 330 the target sample basket 500 is lifted to the top end opening, the target freezing box 600 of single access, so that other independent sample is always in the low temperature environment; avoiding the temperature rise and repeated freeze thawing of other irrelevant sample, reducing the temperature change to the biological sample generated by the active damage, using the rotation of the conveying member 330 to rotate the sample basket 500, without using other fixing rod structure or access mechanism, the access process is more convenient, improving the space utilization rate; Pg. 7, paragraph 55, the conveying member 330 is a conveying chain; Further, the conveying piece 330 of Gao has the same structure as the claimed chain and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Regarding claim 3, Gao discloses the storage device according to claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the chain is looped around a first and a second toothed wheel, the first and the second toothed wheel being arranged opposite one another (Fig. 2, first rotating wheel 310, second rotating wheel 320; Pg. 7, paragraph 56, the first rotating wheel 310 is a driving gear, the second rotating wheel 320 is a driven gear).
Regarding claim 4, Gao discloses the storage device according to claim 2 (see the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein for circulating the chain, the sample transport unit comprises a gear configured to drive the first toothed wheel (Fig. 2, first rotating wheel 310, second rotating wheel 320; Pg. 8, paragraph 60, As another specific embodiment, the driving mechanism 400 comprises a motor main body, and an output shaft extending out of the motor main body, the output shaft is connected with the first rotating wheel 310 or the second rotating wheel 320. In this embodiment, it is assumed that the first rotating wheel 310 is a driving wheel, the driving mechanism 400 is connected with the first rotating wheel 310. the motor main body is detachably set on the hollow shell 100 or supporting frame 200, the first rotating wheel 310 has a smooth central hole, the output shaft is directly connected to the central hole, through the driving action of the motor main body, the output shaft drives the first rotating wheel 310 to rotate. Likewise, the first rotating wheel 310 and the output shaft can be concave-convex matched with the mode of inserting, assembling and disassembling. If the second rotating wheel 320 is a driving wheel, the driving mechanism 400 is connected with the second rotating wheel 320, and the connection mode is the same as that of the preceding content, which will not be repeated here).
Regarding claim 15, Gao discloses method for storing cryogenic samples using a storage
device according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), the sample transport unit being submerged in a cryogenic liquid residing in an internal space of a cryogenic storage dewar (Fig. 1, hollow shell 100, containing cavity 110, transmission mechanism 300; Abstract, The utility model claims a freezing rack, belonging to biological sample low temperature storage technology field, comprising: a hollow shell, a hollow structure with opening at the top end; a supporting frame; at least one group of transmission mechanism; at least one group of driving mechanism; a plurality of sample basket and a plurality of cryopreservation box. Technical Effects the hollow shell is a hollow structure with opening at the top end; a plurality of sample basket are connected to the transmission piece, and set around the transmission piece; when the driving mechanism drives the first rotating wheel or the second rotating wheel, it can drive the transmission piece to lift the target sample basket to the top opening; performing single access of the target freezing box; so that other irrelevant samples are always in the low temperature environment, avoiding the temperature rise and repeated freeze-thaw of other irrelevant samples; reducing the activity damage caused by the temperature change to the biological sample; using the rotation of the transmission piece to realize the rotation of the sample basket; without using other fixing rod structure or access mechanism; the access process is more convenient; It improves the space utilization rate), the method further comprising the steps of:
causing the sample transport unit to move a sample holder holding at least one cryogenic sample from a storage position of the sample holder to a removal position of the sample holder (Pg. 6-7, paragraph 53, The utility model claims a freezing shelf 10 at least has the following technical effects: Compared with the traditional technology, the utility model embodiment of the freezing shelf 10, hollow shell 100 is a hollow structure of the top end opening, a plurality of sample basket 500 are connected to the conveying member 330, and around the conveying member 330 a ring; when the driving mechanism 400 drives the first rotating wheel 310 or the second rotating wheel 320 in the process, it can drive the conveying piece 330 the target sample basket 500 is lifted to the top end opening, the target freezing box 600 of single access, so that other independent sample is always in the low temperature environment; avoiding the temperature rise and repeated freeze thawing of other irrelevant sample, reducing the temperature change to the biological sample generated by the active damage, using the rotation of the conveying member 330 to rotate the sample basket 500, without using other fixing rod structure or access mechanism, the access process is more convenient, improving the space utilization rate), and
removing the sample holder from the sample transport unit and the cryogenic liquid residing in the internal space of the cryogenic storage dewar when the sample holder resides in the removal position (Pg. 6-7, paragraph 53, The utility model claims a freezing shelf 10 at least has the following technical effects: Compared with the traditional technology, the utility model embodiment of the freezing shelf 10, hollow shell 100 is a hollow structure of the top end opening, a plurality of sample basket 500 are connected to the conveying member 330, and around the conveying member 330 a ring; when the driving mechanism 400 drives the first rotating wheel 310 or the second rotating wheel 320 in the process, it can drive the conveying piece 330 the target sample basket 500 is lifted to the top end opening, the target freezing box 600 of single access, so that other independent sample is always in the low temperature environment; avoiding the temperature rise and repeated freeze thawing of other irrelevant sample, reducing the temperature change to the biological sample generated by the active damage, using the rotation of the conveying member 330 to rotate the sample basket 500, without using other fixing rod structure or access mechanism, the access process is more convenient, improving the space utilization rate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 212488198, hereinafter Gao in view of Colvin et al. (American Machinists’ Handbook and Dictionary of Shop Terms Second Edition), hereinafter Colvin.
Regarding claim 5, Gao discloses the storage device according to claim 4 (see the rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the gear comprises a rotatable output shaft, the output shaft being coupled to the first toothed wheel an actuator to circulate the chain by rotating the shaft of the gear and therewith the output shaft and the first toothed wheel (Pg. 8, paragraph 60, As another specific embodiment, the driving mechanism 400 comprises a motor main body, and an output shaft extending out of the motor main body, the output shaft is connected with the first rotating wheel 310 or the second rotating wheel 320. In this embodiment, it is assumed that the first rotating wheel 310 is a driving wheel, the driving mechanism 400 is connected with the first rotating wheel 310. the motor main body is detachably set on the hollow shell 100 or supporting frame 200, the first rotating wheel 310 has a smooth central hole, the output shaft is directly connected to the central hole, through the driving action of the motor main body, the output shaft drives the first rotating wheel 310 to rotate. Likewise, the first rotating wheel 310 and the output shaft can be concave-convex matched with the mode of inserting, assembling and disassembling. If the second rotating wheel 320 is a driving wheel, the driving mechanism 400 is connected with the second rotating wheel 320, and the connection mode is the same as that of the preceding content, which will not be repeated here).
However, Gao does not disclose wherein the gear comprises a rotatable drive shaft coupled to the rotatable output shaft, the drive shaft comprising an end section configured to releasably engage with a rotatable shaft of an actuator to circulate the chain by rotating the drive shaft of the gear and therewith the output shaft and the first toothed wheel.
Colvin teaches bevel gearing to be known in the art of transferring power to a belt which allows for a vertical shaft (connected to a gear) to rotate a horizontal shaft (connected to a gear) (Pg. 121, Bevel gears are used to transmit power when shafts are not parallel. They can be made for any angle, but are more often at right angles than any other. Right angle bevel gears are often called miter gears. The teeth are or should be radial so that they are longer at the outer end).
Gao fails to teach wherein the gear comprises a rotatable drive shaft coupled to the rotatable output shaft, the drive shaft comprising an end section configured to releasably engage with a rotatable shaft of an actuator to circulate the chain by rotating the drive shaft of the gear and therewith the output shaft and the first toothed wheel, however Colvin teaches that it is a known method in the art of transferring power to a belt to include wherein the gear comprises a rotatable drive shaft coupled to the rotatable output shaft, the drive shaft comprising an end section configured to releasably engage with a rotatable shaft of an actuator to circulate the chain by rotating the drive shaft of the gear and therewith the output shaft and the first toothed wheel. This is strong evidence that modifying Gao as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing desired angle for the drive shaft to maintain an optimal overall footprint of the system). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao by Colvin and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing desired angle for the drive shaft to maintain an optimal overall footprint of the system.
Regarding claim 6, Gao as modified discloses the storage device according to claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the drive shaft is aligned with the vertical (z) and the output shaft is aligned with the horizontal (x) when the sample transport unit is inserted in the internal space of the cryogen storage dewar (Pg. 121, Bevel gears are used to transmit power when shafts are not parallel. They can be made for any angle, but are more often at right angles than any other. Right angle bevel gears are often called miter gears. The teeth are or should be radial so that they are longer at the outer end). Further, the limitations of claim 6 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 212488198, hereinafter Gao in view of Riether et al. (US Patent No. 9,810,706), hereinafter Riether.
Regarding claim 7, Gao discloses the storage device according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Gao does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one sample holder is configured to be releasably connected to the chain by means of a fastener.
Riether teaches wherein the at least one sample holder is configured to be releasably connected to the chain by means of a fastener (Figure; Col. 7, lines 48-54, The sample container carrier 140 can comprise a magnetically active element in the form of a permanent magnet such that a force can be exerted onto the sample container carrier 140 as a result of actuating the electromagnets 120, 120a in a suitable manner and consequently the sample container carrier can be moved over the bottom transport surface 110 or the top transport surface 110a; Col. 8, lines 6-23, The vertical conveying device 200 can comprise a total of six conveying surfaces 210a, 210b, 210c, 210d, 210e, 210f. An electromagnetic (conveyor surface) actuator in the form of an electromagnet 220a, 220b, 220c, 220d, 220e, 220f can be arranged below a conveying surface 210a, 210b, 210c, 210d, 210e, 210f. By use of the electromagnets 220a, 220b, 220c, 220d, 220e, 220f, the sample container carrier 140 can be moved or pulled onto the conveying surface 210a, 210b, 210c, 210d, 210e, 210f, held on the conveying surface and moved or pushed from the conveying surface onto one of the transport surfaces 110, 110a. The electromagnets 220a, 220b, 220c, 220d, 220e, 220f can also be actuatable by the control device 150. In addition, it can be detected as a result of an induction measurement by the electromagnets 220a, 220b, 220c, 220d, 220e, 220f whether a sample container carrier 140 can be situated on the conveying surface 210a, 210b, 210c, 210d, 210e, 210f).
Gao fails to teach wherein the at least one sample holder is configured to be releasably connected to the chain by means of a fastener, however Riether teaches that it is a known method in the art of conveying samples to include wherein the at least one sample holder is configured to be releasably connected to the chain by means of a fastener. This is strong evidence that modifying Gao as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. secure movement of samples between locations). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao by Riether and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of secure movement of samples between locations.
Regarding claim 8, Gao as modified discloses the storage device according to claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above), wherein the fastener comprises a permanent magnet configured to attract a permanent magnet comprised by the at least one sample holder for fastening the at least one sample holder to the chain in a releasable fashion (Figure; Col. 7, lines 48-54, The sample container carrier 140 can comprise a magnetically active element in the form of a permanent magnet such that a force can be exerted onto the sample container carrier 140 as a result of actuating the electromagnets 120, 120a in a suitable manner and consequently the sample container carrier can be moved over the bottom transport surface 110 or the top transport surface 110a; Col. 8, lines 6-23, The vertical conveying device 200 can comprise a total of six conveying surfaces 210a, 210b, 210c, 210d, 210e, 210f. An electromagnetic (conveyor surface) actuator in the form of an electromagnet 220a, 220b, 220c, 220d, 220e, 220f can be arranged below a conveying surface 210a, 210b, 210c, 210d, 210e, 210f. By use of the electromagnets 220a, 220b, 220c, 220d, 220e, 220f, the sample container carrier 140 can be moved or pulled onto the conveying surface 210a, 210b, 210c, 210d, 210e, 210f, held on the conveying surface and moved or pushed from the conveying surface onto one of the transport surfaces 110, 110a. The electromagnets 220a, 220b, 220c, 220d, 220e, 220f can also be actuatable by the control device 150. In addition, it can be detected as a result of an induction measurement by the electromagnets 220a, 220b, 220c, 220d, 220e, 220f whether a sample container carrier 140 can be situated on the conveying surface 210a, 210b, 210c, 210d, 210e, 210f; Further, the permanent magnet of Riether has the same structure as the claimed permanent magnet and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed). Further, the limitations of claim 8 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 9, Gao as modified discloses the storage device according to claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above), wherein the at least one sample holder comprises a container configured to receive a plurality of boxes, each box being configured to hold at least one cryogenic sample, wherein particularly the at least one cryogenic sample is a substance prepared on a grid (Gao, Fig. 5, freezing box 600; Pg. 5, paragraph 45, a plurality of cryopreservation box 600, respectively correspondingly placed in the sample basket 500, Further, the freezing boxes 600 of Gao have the same structure as the claimed boxes and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao as modified by Riether as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Guzman et al. (WO 2010132045), hereinafter Guzman.
Regarding claim 10, Gao as modified discloses the storage device according to claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above).
However, Gao as modified does not disclose wherein the at least one sample holder comprises a lid configured to close the container.
Guzman teaches wherein the at least one sample holder comprises a lid configured to close the container (Fig. 11, rack assembly 280, locking top retainer plate 336, latches 338, slots 340; Pg. 9, paragraph 39, Each rack assembly may also have an optional locking top retainer plate 336 to preclude containers or test tubes 400 from lifting out of the rack assembly once loaded and sealed. Each retainer plate 336 includes longitudinally extending slots 340 commensurate with the containers or test tubes for allowing material to be added to or removed from the containers or test tubes. Slots 340 in retainer plate 336 allow pipetting with or without real time identification; Pg. 21, paragraph 77, Retainer plate 336 attaches to latch plates 324 and 328 via retainer latches 338; Further, the locking top retainer plate 336 of Guzman has the same structure as the claimed lid and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one sample holder of the storage device Gao as modified to include a lockable lid with slots as taught by Guzman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to preclude containers or test tubes from lifting out of the rack assembly once loaded and sealed (Guzman, Pg. 9, paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 11, Gao as modified discloses the storage device according to claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the at least one sample holder comprises a screw configured to releasably fasten the lid to the container, wherein particularly the screw comprises a head comprising a circumferential groove formed in the periphery of the head to allow engaging the head with a tool to remove the sample holder from the sample transport unit when the sample holder is in the removal position (Guzman, Fig. 11, rack assembly 280, locking top retainer plate 336, latches 338, slots 340; Pg. 9, paragraph 39, Each rack assembly may also have an optional locking top retainer plate 336 to preclude containers or test tubes 400 from lifting out of the rack assembly once loaded and sealed. Each retainer plate 336 includes longitudinally extending slots 340 commensurate with the containers or test tubes for allowing material to be added to or removed from the containers or test tubes. Slots 340 in retainer plate 336 allow pipetting with or without real time identification; Pg. 21, paragraph 77, Retainer plate 336 attaches to latch plates 324 and 328 via retainer latches 338; Further, the latches 338 have the same structure as the claimed screw and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above). Further, the limitations of claim 11 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 12, Gao as modified discloses the storage device according to claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the lid comprises through holes, each through hole allowing a portion of a box accommodated by the container to protrude out of the at least one sample holder (Guzman, Fig. 11, rack assembly 280, locking top retainer plate 336, latches 338, slots 340; Pg. 9, paragraph 39, Each rack assembly may also have an optional locking top retainer plate 336 to preclude containers or test tubes 400 from lifting out of the rack assembly once loaded and sealed. Each retainer plate 336 includes longitudinally extending slots 340 commensurate with the containers or test tubes for allowing material to be added to or removed from the containers or test tubes. Slots 340 in retainer plate 336 allow pipetting with or without real time identification; Pg. 21, paragraph 77, Retainer plate 336 attaches to latch plates 324 and 328 via retainer latches 338; Further, the slots have the same structure as the claimed through holes and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed). Further, the limitations of claim 12 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 212488198, hereinafter Gao in view of Ward et al. (US 20130232998), hereinafter Ward.
Regarding claim 13, Gao discloses the storage device according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Gao does not disclose wherein the storage device further comprises an elongated retainer connected to the sample transport unit and configured to hold the sample transport unit when the sample transport unit is inserted into the internal space of the cryogenic storage dewar to submerge the sample transport unit in said cryogenic liquid residing in the internal space of the cryogenic storage dewar.
Ward teaches wherein the storage device further comprises an elongated retainer connected to the sample transport unit and configured to hold the sample transport unit when the sample transport unit is inserted into the internal space of the cryogenic storage dewar to submerge the sample transport unit in said cryogenic liquid residing in the internal space of the cryogenic storage dewar (Fig. 1, elongated handle 18, vertical storage rack 12, upper end 40, lower end 80; Pg. 2, paragraph 19, The storage rack 12 also includes an elongate handle 18 for supporting the storage rack 12 during movement into and out of the cryogenic dewar 10, as shown in FIG. 1; Pg. 3, paragraph 28, Once the rack body 50 of the storage rack 12 has been folded and assembled as discussed above, the handle 18 is connected to the top wall 52 of the storage rack 12. In this regard, the handle 18 of this embodiment is shown in further detail in FIGS. 2 through 4 and includes a lower end 80 configured to be coupled to the rack body 50 at the top wall 52, the upper end 40, and an elongate intermediate portion 82 extending between the upper end 40 and the lower end 80. The upper end 40 is defined by a rod-shaped or circular cross section member of stainless steel bent into a hook shape for engagement with the handle slots 42 at the opening 36 of the tank 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device of Gao of claim 1 to include an elongated retainer connected to the sample transport unit as taught by Ward. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to support the sample transport unit during movement in and out of the cryogenic dewar to improve overall user safety (Ward, Pg. 2, paragraph 19).
Regarding claim 14, Gao as modified discloses the storage device according to claim 13 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above), wherein the retainer comprises a first end section being connected to the sample transport unit and an opposite second end section forming a hook for hanging the sample transport unit (Ward, Fig. 1, elongated handle 18, upper end 40, lower end 80; Pg. 2, paragraph 19, The storage rack 12 also includes an elongate handle 18 for supporting the storage rack 12 during movement into and out of the cryogenic dewar 10, as shown in FIG. 1; Pg. 3, paragraph 28, Once the rack body 50 of the storage rack 12 has been folded and assembled as discussed above, the handle 18 is connected to the top wall 52 of the storage rack 12. In this regard, the handle 18 of this embodiment is shown in further detail in FIGS. 2 through 4 and includes a lower end 80 configured to be coupled to the rack body 50 at the top wall 52, the upper end 40, and an elongate intermediate portion 82 extending between the upper end 40 and the lower end 80. The upper end 40 is defined by a rod-shaped or circular cross section member of stainless steel bent into a hook shape for engagement with the handle slots 42 at the opening 36 of the tank 20). Further, the limitations of claim 14 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 13 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Meslovich et al. (US Patent No. 9,745,176) discloses a similar storage device for storing cryogenic samples.
Caveney et al. (US Patent No. 10,336,539) discloses a similar storage device for storing cryogenic samples.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 December 30th, 2025
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763