DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-17 and 28 have been cancelled.
Claims 18-26 and 35-37 are withdrawn.
Claims 27 and 29-34 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27, 29 and 31-34 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Medina et al. (US 2019/0070531) [hereinafter Medina].
With respect to claim 27, Medina discloses a filter cartridge 2, as shown in Fig. 5, having: a filter medium 20, as shown in Fig. 5, with an inner core 14 (fluid-permeable supporting tube), as shown in Fig. 5, which is surrounded by a pleated media web of a filter medium 20, as shown in Fig. 5, wherein the media web has, on at least one of its end regions, a beads of glue 26 (strip-shaped sealant) which is also folded into the media web, as shown in Figs. 3-4, and which, as a self-contained component, is at least in part firmly connected to the media web, as shown in Figs. 3-5, wherein the supporting tube 14 has at least one outwardly protruding sealing bead which engages in the adjacently arranged sealant 26 while compacting said sealant 26, as shown in the figure below.
With respect to claim 29, Medina discloses wherein the supporting tube 14 is configured to be fluid-impermeable in the region of contact with the respective sealant 26, as shown in Fig. 15.
With respect to claim 31, Medina discloses wherein the supporting tube 14 has an end cap 4 (ring-like broadening) at least on one of its ends which at least partially overlaps the adjacently arranged sealant 26 in each case, as shown in Fig. 15.
With respect to claim 32, Medina discloses wherein the supporting tube 14 has, on one of its free ends on an end cap 4 (locator fitting), a fitting 8 (locator ring) on the inside thereof, or is configured in this region as a press-fit part, as shown in Fig. 5.
With respect to claim 33, Medina discloses wherein the media web is supported at least on one end cap 4, which is a self-contained or integral part of the supporting tube 14, as shown in Fig. 5.
With respect to claim 34, Medina discloses a portion 50 (filter head) which has an inlet for unfiltered medium and an outlet for filtrate 54, as shown in Fig. 24, and a filter bowl releasably arranged thereon which receives the filter element (see paragraph 0069, lower portion of housing 50 mates with a respective cylindrically shaped cartridge), wherein the filter element is connected releasably or permanently to the outlet in the filter head 50 using a locator fitting 4 of its supporting tube 14, as shown in Figs. 15-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 is finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina (US 2019/0070531) in view of Pulek et al. (US 2001/0010297) [hereinafter Pulek].
With respect to claim 30, Medina lacks wherein the media web is enclosed by a film-like, fluid-permeable surrounding casing which extends at least between two opposite sealants.
Pulek discloses a filter assembly 10, as shown in Fig. 1, having: a filter medium 12 retained at its outer perimeter by a netting 16 (film-like, fluid-permeable surrounding casing) extending at least between two opposite sealants 18, 24, as shown in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraph 0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the media web disclosed by Medina with a film-like, fluid-permeable surrounding casing, as taught by Pulek, in order to provide support for the media web (see paragraph 0037) and extend the life of the filter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 23, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the glue beads 26 of Medina are not comparable to the claimed strip-shaped sealant, and no beads are arranged in at least one of the end regions of the media web of Medina, since the end region of the pleats 24 (part of above line 4) in Fig. 3 of Medina, is deliberately left free of glue beads 26: This argument is not persuasive. Medina teaches a pleated media web of a filter medium 20 having, on at least one of its end regions, beads of glue 26, which have been considered to be the claimed strip-shaped sealant, folded onto the media web, as shown in Figs. 3-4 and as claimed by applicant in claim 1. Medina teaches that the beads 26 may be deposited on the front surface 28 of the polyester material 22, the rear surface 30, or both surfaces 28, 30 (see paragraph 0050). This means that the end region of the pleats 24 may also have beads 26.
In response to applicant’s argument that Medina does not show at least one outwardly protruding sealing bead, but instead show a ribbed, but flush surface: This argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 requires “the supporting tube has at least one outwardly protruding sealing bead” and Medina teaches a supporting tube 14 having at least one outwardly protruding sealing bead, as shown in the figure above. One of the ribs of the supporting tube 14 has been considered to be the claimed “at least one outwardly protruding sealing bead”, as shown in the figure above.
In response to applicant argument that Medina fails to teach that the at least one protruding sealing bead would engage in the adjacently arranged sealant while compacting said sealant: This argument is not persuasive. Medina teaches that “either the glue beads 26 are allowed to fully solidify on the pleated filter medium 20 before the filter cartridge 2 is assembled, or the pleated filter medium 20 may be shaped in a cylindrical form and assembled with the top end cap 10, the bottom end cap 4 and the inner core 14 to form the filter cartridge 2 while the glue beads 26 are solidifying” (see paragraph 0053 of Medina). This means that Medina teaches the at least one protruding sealing bead would engage in the adjacently arranged sealant while compacting said sealant, as required by claim 1, since Medina teaches the rib (bead) of the support tube 14 contacts the sealant 26 when is not fully solid (see paragraph 0053 of Medina) and is inherent that it will compact the sealant in the contact area.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773