CTNF 18/548,973 CTNF 90261 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Limitation “a conversion unit that converts the coordinate information on a basis of the position and the attitude” is unclear as it is unclear to what the coordinate information is converted. According to BRI the attitude is the orientation of the device, Coordinate transformation is transformation from for example xyz to r, theta, phi. The coordinate transformation is simple matrix transformation which does not depend on attitude. First of all it is unclear what is “ the coordinate information ” and second how transformation depend on position and attitude. Position is input parameter to the coordinate transformation by definition and attitude contribution is unclear. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1, 18, 19 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by D1 US 20150356747 A1 . Regarding claims 1, 18 , 19 D1 teaches 1. A distance measuring device, comprising:a first acquisition unit that acquires a plurality of luminance images from a light receiving unit that receives light having a predetermined irradiation pattern reflected by a target object while sequentially shifting the light by a predetermined phase with reference to the irradiation pattern;[0034-0035] a second acquisition(106) unit that acquires sensing data from a motion sensor that detects a position and an attitude of the light receiving unit;[0016] a correction unit that corrects the luminance images on a basis of the position and the attitude(fig. 3A) obtained from the sensing data; and[0034-0036] a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object on a basis of the plurality of corrected luminance images.[0018, 0036] 4. The distance measuring device according to claim 1, further comprising a control unit that controls an irradiation unit that irradiates the target object with the light.(implicit/obvious 102/103 rejection abstract and [0012] electromagnetic wave ) if not explicit then at least obvious in order to perform the functions of D1 in case of using light as electromagnetic wave. 5. The distance measuring device according to claim 4, further comprising:the irradiation unit; the light receiving unit; and[0012] .(implicit/obvious 102/103 rejection abstract and [0012] electromagnetic wave ) a motion sensor that detects a position and an attitude of the light receiving unit.(abstract) if not explicit then at least obvious in order to perform the functions of D1 in case of using light as electromagnetic wave. 6. The distance measuring device according to claim 5, wherein the light receiving unit includes a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix on a plane. [0015] 7. The distance measuring device according to claim 6, wherein the luminance image includes luminance information of reflected light received by each of the pixels and coordinate information of each of the pixels.[0015] 8. The distance measuring device according to claim 7, wherein the correction unit includes a conversion unit that converts the coordinate information on a basis of the position and the attitude. (due to 112 rejection as the motion of the TOF is detected Fig. 3A and the motion includes position and orientation change of TOF hence the conversion should be performed to one coordinate system in order to detect motion. For example if the coordinate frame is TOF based reference frame then no motion will be detected in that frame but in external reference frame the motion is detected. ) 11. The distance measuring device according to claim 6, wherein the motion sensor includes an accelerometer[0023] and an angular velocity meter[0023](gyro) mounted on the light receiving unit. 12. The distance measuring device according to claim 6, wherein the calculation unit generates a depth map on a basis of the plurality of corrected luminance images.[0002-0003] 13. The distance measuring device according to claim 6, wherein each of the pixels includes one photoelectric conversion unit that receives light and photoelectrically converts the light to generate a charge;two charge storage units that store the charge; and a distribution unit that distributes the charge to each of the charge storage units at different timings.(implicit/ obvious 102/103 rejection, different frames are collected and hence they are stored in some type of memory bins) if not explicit then at least obvious in order to perform the functions of D1 in case of using light as electromagnetic wave . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 US 20090058988 A1 . Although D1 does not explicitly say 2. The distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the correction unit sets one of the plurality of luminance images acquired within one frame as a reference luminance image , and corrects the plurality of other luminance images on a basis of a relative position and a relative attitude of the light receiving unit when a plurality of other luminance images is acquired with respect to a position and an attitude of the light receiving unit when the reference luminance image is acquired. D2 teaches multiple ways for motion compensation which includes the correction unit sets one of the plurality of luminance images acquired within one frame as a reference luminance image , and corrects the plurality of other luminance images on a basis of a relative position and a relative attitude of the light receiving unit when a plurality of other luminance images is acquired with respect to a position and an attitude of the light receiving unit when the reference luminance image is acquired.[0030-0040] It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D1 with teachings by D2 in order to identify possible movement between frames and generate panoramic image. 3. The distance measuring device according to claim 2, wherein the correction unit includes an estimation unit that estimates a relative position and a relative attitude of the light receiving unit when each of the other luminance images is obtained from the sensing data in time series of the motion sensor.(D1 [0034-0036]) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D3 US JP 2011002339 A . While D1 does not teach D3 teaches 10. The distance measuring device according to claim 6, wherein the correction unit includes a distortion correction unit that corrects distortion of the luminance image due to an optical system.[0066] It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D1 with teachings by D3 in order to account for artificial distortions originated by receiving optical system . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D4 US 20180068424 A1 . Regarding claims bellow D1 teaches Depth calculation using images which are motion and position compensated While does not teach but D4 teaches 9. The distance measuring device according to claim 8, wherein the correction unit includes a luminance correction unit that corrects the luminance information on a basis of a displacement of a distance between the light receiving unit and the target object due to the conversion(will be implicit as images are motion compensated).[0094-0096] 14. The distance measuring device according to claim 13, wherein the correction unit includes a combining unit that combines the two luminance images based on the charge accumulated in each of the charge storage units(fig. 14) 15. The distance measuring device according to claim 14, wherein a phase difference between the two luminance images is 180 degrees.[0096] It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D1 with teachings by D4 in order to reduce blur of the depth image[0005] 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D4 US 20180068424 A1 further in view of D2 . Although D1 does not teach D2 teaches 16. The distance measuring device according to claim 14, further comprising a detecting unit that detects a moving object on a basis of the plurality of corrected luminance images.[0040] 17. The distance measuring device according to claim 16, wherein the detecting unit specifies an image region of the moving object on a basis of a difference between the plurality of corrected luminance images.[0040] It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D1 with teachings by D2 in order to identify moving objects. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN whose telephone number is (571)272-7845. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 7am - 5 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuqing Xiao can be reached at (571) 270-3603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/548,973 Page 2 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/548,973 Page 3 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/548,973 Page 4 Art Unit: 3645