DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed July 23, 2026. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 10. Currently, claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10-14 remain pending in the application.
The text of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office actions, Paper Nos. 20250805, 20251029, 20260210 and 20260508.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Conboy et al, US 2002/0123437, is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
The rejection of claims 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Conboy et al, US 2002/0123437, is maintained for the reasons of record.
NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conboy et al, US 2002/0123437.
Conboy et al, US 2002/0123437, discloses a fragrance composition comprising a cyclic ketone (see abstract). It is further taught by Conboy et al that the cyclic ketone comprises a cyclohexadecanone, such as 8-cyclohexadecen-1-one (i.e., a fragrance having a boiling point of 323 degrees Celsius and a logP of 5.97, as evidenced by instant claim 5; see paragraphs 12-13 and Example 1), that the cyclohexadecanone is present in the composition in an amount of 0.1-50% by weight (see paragraph 24), that the composition is in the form of a solid (see paragraphs 25 and 28), that the composition contains additional fragrance compounds (see paragraph 15), that the composition is used in a process to clean toilets (see paragraph 21), that the composition further contains one or more surfactants (see paragraph 26), 10-50% by weight of a carrier, such as a polysaccharide (see paragraph 27), and a solvent, such as water (see paragraph 29), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-5.
Although Conboy et al generally discloses a fragrance composition containing up to 50% by weight of cyclohexadecanone, the reference does not require such fragrance compositions containing this component with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formulated a fragrance composition, as taught by Conboy et al, which contained up to 50% by weight of cyclohexadecanone, because such fragrance compositions fall within the scope of those taught by Conboy et al. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because such a fragrance composition containing up to 50% by weight of cyclohexadecanone is expressly suggested by the Conboy et al disclosure and therefore is an obvious formulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant continues to argue that Conboy et al, US 2002/0123437, does not teach or suggest in general a first fragrance that represents 15-60% by weight of the total fragrances, as required by applicant in the instant claims. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, the examiner respectfully maintains that Conboy et al clearly discloses that their composition contains cyclohexadecanone in an amount of up to 50% by weight (see paragraph 24), per the requirements of the instant invention.
Applicant further argues that Conboy et al, US 2002/0123437, does not teach or suggest in general a toilet rim block, as required by applicant in instant claim 10. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, the examiner respectfully maintains that Conboy et al clearly discloses that the composition is in the form of a solid shape (see paragraphs 25 and 28), which would include the shape of a block, per the requirements of claim 10. Furthermore, the examiner asserts that Conboy et al clearly discloses that the composition is used in a process to clean toilets (see paragraph 21), per the requirements of the instant invention.
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
October 9, 2026