DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishi et al. (KR 20190039187).
Regarding claim 9, Kishi et al. teaches a two-component dental adhesive composition comprising a first component and a second component separately packaged (paragraph [0009]); wherein the first component comprises (A) the acid group-containing polymerizable monomer and (B) the sulfur atom-containing polymerizable monomer, and the second component comprises (C) the silane coupling agent, (D) the borate compound, and (E) water (paragraph [0009]); the mixing ratio of (A) the acidic group-containing polymerizable monomer to 100 parts by mass of the total polymerizable monomer is 5 parts by mass to 30 parts by mass (paragraph [0010]); and the remainder is a sulfur atom-containing polymerizable monomer (B) and/or another polymerizable monomer (G) which do not contain an acidic group (paragraphs [0088], [01030], [0144], and [0148]); (G) other polymerizable monomers may be added to both the first agent and the second agent (paragraph [0147]), 0.1 to 100 parts by mass of the coating reinforcing agent such as silica particles may be added to both the agent and the second agent (paragraphs [0165]-[0167]), 0.1 to 30 parts by mass of silane coupling agent may be used, including γ-methacryloxypropyl triisopropoxysilane may be used alone (paragraphs [0105] and [0112]), i.e. 100% of the silane coupling agent, wherein methacryloxypropyl corresponds to the radically polymerizable group, and triisopropoxy corresponds to the branched alkoxy group, and in a case where the dental adhesive composition contains components other than the acidic group-containing polymerizable monomer, the acidic group-free polymerizable monomer, the silica filler, and the silane coupling material, the components are contained in the first agent and/or the second agent.
Regarding claim 10, Kishi et al. teaches further comprising water in the second agent (paragraph [0124]). Given that Kishi et al. teaches water in an amount of 5 to 50 parts by mass per 100 polymerization reactive component (paragraph [0125]) and silane coupling agent in an amount of 0.1 to 30 parts by mass per 100 total polymerizable monomer (paragraph [0113]),
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Kishi et al. teaches two-paste type dental cement comprising the two-component dental adhesive composition (paragraphs [0133] and [0203]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended claims to overcome 35 US 112(b) rejection of record.
Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to highly fill the composition of Kishi in a way that results in a functional failure having an adhesive strength of 0. In fact, Applicant submits that the general knowledge in the art actually teaches away from such a modification for the reasons discussed above.
However, the fact remains that the amount of silica disclosed by Kishi overlaps that presently claimed.
Applicant argues that the assertion in the Action that a skilled artisan would apply a high filling to Kishi is based on the impermissible use of hindsight gleaned from Applicant's own disclosure.
However, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues that the specific structure of this a-branched silane has criticality for realizing preservation stability in a paste state. Achieving such preservation stability of a highly filled paste for the first time through this specific structure is an effect beyond the expectation of a person of ordinary skill in the art (i.e., unexpected results) that could not have been predicted from the conventional liquid system of Kishi.
However, Kishi teaches the branched alkoxy group and, therefore, it would be reasonable to expect the same result in the composition of Kishi.
Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had any reason to modify the Kishi composition to arrive at the claimed invention.
However, the Office action of record is not modifying Kishi. Rather, Kishi explicitly discloses components (A), (B) and (C) in amounts as presently claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787