DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 18/549,033
This Office Action is responsive to the election received 18 February 2026.
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 16, 18-23, 27-33, 37, 39-41, 43, and 45-47 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the species below in the reply filed on 18 February 2026 is acknowledged. The elected species is as follows, being compound I-3 of instant claim 40:
The traversal is on the grounds that, according to Applicant: searching all species within the instant claims would not impose a serious search burden.
This is not found to be persuasive, as there are about 300 specifically enumerated, structurally diverse compounds in the claims, and claim 1 covers at least many thousands of compounds.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The elected species have been determined to read on claims 1, 3-5, 16, 18-19, 23, 29, 31, 40, 43, and 45-47.
Claims 11, 20-22, 27-28, 30, 32-33, 37, 39, and 41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
A search for Applicant’s elected species did not retrieve applicable prior art or double patent art. Therefore, the search was expanded as was necessary to reach the rejections below. MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed patent applications PCT/US2022/019782 (filed 10 March 2022) and 63/159,258 (filed 10 March 2021) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
The Examiner has determined, for the purposes of the instant action, that the effective filing date of the instant claims is 10 March 2022, because sufficient support was not found in earlier-filed documents.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) received on 3 October 2025 and 10 February 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, these information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: A proper Markush group should have commas separating the alternative members. See MPEP 2173.05(h). Commas should be placed in claim 40 between the alternate chemical structures, and a conjunction should be placed before the final structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Improper Markush Grouping Rejection
Claim 1 is rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of claim 1 is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons: The compounds within the scope of claim 1 do not contain a constant core structure which a common use would flow from. The required chemical structure of claim 1 (formula I) is shown below. The only consistent part of this structure appears to be two carbon atoms. Rings A and C can each be various, unrelated ring moieties; L1 can be various short O, S, and N-containing moieties; R1 can be a hydrogen atom or an aliphatic group or a ring; L2 and L3 can each independently be a short linker moiety or a ring; each of R3-5 can be a hydrogen atom, an aliphatic group, or form a ring; and Z can be an aliphatic group, an O-linked moiety, or a ring.
Due to the breadth of compounds that fall within the scope of claim 1, and the lack of any consistent structure between them, these compounds would fall within various, unrelated chemical classifications. The function of the compounds within the scope of claim 1, arising from their structures, would be varied and wholly unrelated in many cases. The compounds falling within the scope of claim 1 do not belong to a recognized chemical class and are not recognized to have an equivalent or similar function.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 16, 18-19, 23, 29, 31, 43, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “an R6 group and R’ group are optionally taken together… in addition to the nitrogen”. It is not clear what the term “the nitrogen” is referring to. The same type of problem occurs in the clause that begins with “an R6 and R” group are optionally taken” in claim 1. This renders claims 1, 3-5, 16, 18-19, 23, 29, 31, 43, and 45-47 indefinite. Applicant may choose to amend the indicated portions of claim 1 to remove references to “the nitrogen”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 16, 18-19, 23, 29, 43, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
KLUGE (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 3 October 2025; WO 2018/213150 A1; International Publication Date 22 November 2018).
KLUGE teaches the compound shown below as compound 19ac on page 70 therein. This particular compound does not fall within the instant claims, because it is disclaimed within instant claim 1 in the middle of page 30. KLUGE also teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compounds therein, including a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, in claim 11. Claim 12 of KLUGE teaches the treatment of a USP30-mediated disorder using the pharmaceutical compositions therein, and claim 15 of KLUGE teaches the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease using the pharmaceutical compositions therein.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date, reading the teachings of KLUGE, to immediately envisage homologs of the compound above, including a derivative wherein the t-butyl group is replaced by an isopropyl group, for the purpose of tuning the efficacy of the compound. The artisan would have expected success in this derivatization, because their structural homology would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to expect them to have similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09.
Claims 1, 3-5, 16, 18, 23, 31, 43, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
ROMERO (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 3 October 2025; WO 2021/050992 A1; International Publication Date 18 March 2021).
ROMERO teaches the compound shown below as compound I-64 on page 67 therein. This particular compound does not fall within the instant claims, because it is disclaimed within instant claim 1 at the top of page 12. ROMERO also teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compounds therein, including a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 17). Claim 19 of ROMERO teaches the treatment of a USP30-mediated disorder using the pharmaceutical compositions therein, and claim 21 of ROMERO teaches the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease using the pharmaceutical compositions therein.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood, before the instant effective filing date, that halogen moieties are generally interchangeable and a single halogen replacement with another halogen produces a compound with similar properties. ROMERO acknowledges this knowledge within the art by simply referring to halogens as a group within claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art reading the teachings of ROMERO, before the instant effective filing date, to immediately envisage a derivative of the compound above, with the fluoro group being replaced by a chloro group. The artisan would have expected success in this replacement, because such a halogen-for-halogen replacement would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to yield a compound with very similar properties.
Claims 1, 3-5, 16, 18, 23, 40, 43, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
ROMERO (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 3 October 2025; WO 2021/050992 A1; International Publication Date 18 March 2021)
in view of:
PATANI (Patani, G. A.; LaVoie, E. J. “Bioisosterism: A Rational Approach in Drug Design” Chem. Rev. 1996, 96, 3147-3176.).
Teachings of ROMERO are discussed above.
ROMERO also teaches the compound shown below as compound I-96 on page 72 therein. This particular compound does not fall within the instant claims, because it is disclaimed within instant claim 1 at the top of page 15. ROMERO also teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compounds therein, including a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 17). Claim 19 of ROMERO teaches the treatment of a USP30-mediated disorder using the pharmaceutical compositions therein, and claim 21 of ROMERO teaches the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease using the pharmaceutical compositions therein.
PATANI generally teaches bioisostere replacements for chemical moieties that were known at the time. PATANI teaches the CF3 group to be a known bioisostere of a methyl group on Page 3152.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date, reading the teachings of ROMERO, to envisage a derivative of the compound above, with the methyl group being replaced by a CF3 group (PATANI), for the purpose of tuning the activity of the compound. The artisan would have expected success in this replacement, because this was a known bioisosteric replacement within the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 16, 18, 23, 31, 43, and 45-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
Claims 14, 16-17, and 28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,845,724 (referred to below as the ‘724 patent).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: The ‘724 patent teaches the compounds below within claim 28. Claim 14 of the ‘724 patent teaches pharmaceutical compositions of the compounds therein including a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Claims 16-17 of the ‘724 patent teach the administration of the pharmaceutical compositions therein for the treatment of USP30-mediated disorders, and specifically a neurodegenerative disease.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
/JDMc/Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625