Claims 1-12, and 14 are pending.
Drawings are accepted.
IDS is considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “the value of the rank for the PUSCH is determined based on at least one of the field indicating a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource in the DCI or the field indicating precoding information in the DCI”. (Emphasis added)
Both the recited SRS field and the precoding field did not have any established antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US 2025/0202652).
As to claims 1 and 12:
Matsumara discloses:
A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, said terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver, (See at least, Abstract, ¶ 0008, 0172, 0356, UE/terminal having processor/memory and transceiver/antennas receives an antenna-port indication and controls UL transmission)
wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the method comprising:
receiving from a network downlink control information (DCI) related to scheduling of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); (¶0038-0039, 0124, receiving DCI from network, field(s) of DCI for PUSCH scheduled by that DCI, SRS resource scheduling, rank indicator)
and transmitting to the network the PUSCH based on the DCI, (¶0038, 0124, 0172, PUSCH transmission based on parameters received from DCI) wherein the DCI includes a field indicating an antenna port, (¶0126, 0120-0122, 0130, 0132, 0145, antenna port field)
wherein based on a value of a rank for the PUSCH exceeding 4, (See at least ¶0123, 0128, 0132, 0145, Fig. 6B-8B, “DMRS port indication with the number of layers greater than 4, see also discussion for rank 6, 8. See also ¶0130, 0134, 0136)
the field indicating the antenna port indicates information other than the antenna port for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) associated with the PUSCH. (See at least ¶0130-0132, 0136, 0140, 0145, 0148, Fig. 8B-D the field carries indices indicative of a DMRS row on the table, for example at a rank 6, which satisfy the condition of greater 4), in case of indices values of 3 or 4 in the antenna field depends on the embodiment, it indicates reserved status instead of a specific port number/port group)
As to claim 14:
Matsumara discloses:
A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver, (See at least, Abstract, Fig. 13, ¶ 0008, 0172, 0356, base station having processor/memory and transceiver/antennas receives an antenna-port indication and controls UL transmission)
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit through the at least one transceiver to a terminal downlink control information (DCI) related to scheduling of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (¶0038-0039, 0124, receiving DCI from network base station, field(s) of DCI for PUSCH scheduled by that DCI, SRS resource scheduling, rank indicator)
; and receive through the at least one transceiver from the terminal the PUSCH based on the DCI (¶0038, 0124, 0172, PUSCH transmission from UE received at base station based on parameters received from DCI), wherein the DCI includes a field indicating an antenna port, (¶0126, 0120-0122, 0130, 0132, 0145, antenna port field)wherein based on a value of a rank for the PUSCH exceeding 4, , (See at least ¶0123, 0128, 0132, 0145, Fig. 6B-8B, “DMRS port indication with the number of layers greater than 4, see also discussion for rank 6, 8. See also ¶0130, 0134, 0136)
the field indicating the antenna port indicates information other than the antenna port for a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) associated with the PUSCH. (See at least ¶0130-0132, 0136, 0140, 0145, 0148, Fig. 8B-D the field carries indices indicative of a DMRS row on the table, for example at a rank 6, which satisfy the condition of greater 4), in case of indices values of 3 or 4 in the antenna field depends on the embodiment, it indicates reserved status instead of a specific port number/port group)
As to claim 2:
Matsumara discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein: based on the value of the rank for the PUSCH being equal to or less than 4, the field indicating the antenna port indicates a port of the DMRS associated with the PUSCH. (See cases for rank less than 4 in ¶169-0171, a same indices value of 3 or 4 is referring to antenna port rather than reserved)
As to claim 3:
Matsumara discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein: based on the value of the rank for the PUSCH exceeding 4, for the value of each rank, one set of antenna ports for the DMRS associated with the PUSCH is defined. (see section discussing Fig. 6A-8D starting in ¶0130, in Fig. 8D associated with a rank greater than 4, for field value of zero, a set antenna port is associated for rank 0, namely 0-5, 8, 9, and similarly for field of value of 1 and 2).
As to claim 4:
Matsumara discloses all limitations of claim 3, wherein:
the set of DMRS port 0 to 4 is defined for 5, the value of the rank, (¶0130-0136, Fig. 6A, 8A associated with rank 5, the pool (set) of ports for rank 5 includes various subsets having ports from 0-5)
the set of DMRS port 0 to 5 is defined for 6, (Fig. 6B, 8B associated with rank 6, the pool (set) of ports for rank 6 includes various subsets having ports from 0-5)
the value of the rank, the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8 is defined for 7, the value of the rank, (See Fig. 8C associated with rank 7, the pool (set) of ports for rank 7 includes various subsets having at least ports 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8)
and the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 9 is defined for 8, the value of the rank (See Fig. 8D associated with rank 8, the pool (set) of ports for rank 8 includes various subsets having at least ports 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 9)
As to claim 5:
Matsumara discloses all limitations of claim 3, wherein:
the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, and 6 is defined for 5, the value of the rank, (Fig. 8A associated with rank 5, the pool (set) of ports for rank 5 includes various subsets having ports from 0-3, 6)
the set of DMRS port 0 to 5 is defined for 6, the value of the rank (Fig. 8B associated with rank 6, the pool (set) of ports for rank 6 includes various subsets having ports from 0-5)
,the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8 is defined for 7, the value of the rank, and (See Fig. 8C associated with rank 7, the pool (set) of ports for rank 7 includes various subsets having at least ports 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8)
the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 9 is defined for 8, the value of the rank. rank (See Fig. 8D associated with rank 8, the pool (set) of ports for rank 8 includes various subsets having at least ports 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 9)
As to claim 6:
Matsumara discloses all limitations of claim 3, wherein:
the set of DMRS port 0 to 4 is defined for 5, the value of the rank, (Fig. 8A associated with rank 5, the pool (set) of ports for rank 5 includes various subsets having ports from 0-4)
the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6 and 8 is defined for 6, the value of the rank, (Fig. 8B associated with rank 6, the pool (set) of ports for rank 6 includes various subsets having ports from 0, 1, 2, 3, 6 and 8)
the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8 is defined for 7, the value of the rank, (See Fig. 8C associated with rank 7, the pool (set) of ports for rank 7 includes various subsets having at least ports 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8)
the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 9 is defined for 8, the value of the rank. (See Fig. 8D associated with rank 8, the pool (set) of ports for rank 8 includes various subsets having at least ports 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 9)
As to claim 7:
Matsumara discloses all limitations of claim 3, wherein:
the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, and 6 is defined for 5, the value of the rank, (Fig. 8A associated with rank 5, the pool (set) of ports for rank 5 includes various subsets having ports from 0-3, 6)
the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6 and 8 is defined for 6, the value of the rank, (Fig. 8B associated with rank 6, the pool (set) of ports for rank 6 includes various subsets having ports from 0, 1, 2, 3, 6 and 8)
the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8 is defined for 7, the value of the rank, (See Fig. 8C associated with rank 7, the pool (set) of ports for rank 7 includes various subsets having at least ports 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 8)
and the set of DMRS port 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 9 is defined for 8, the value of the rank. (See Fig. 8D associated with rank 8, the pool (set) of ports for rank 8 includes various subsets having at least ports 0, 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, and 9)
As to claim 11:
Matsumara discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein: the value of the rank for the PUSCH is determined based on at least one of the field indicating a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource in the DCI or the field indicating precoding information in the DCI. (See ¶0124, “the UE determines a rank (number of layers) for PUSCH transmission, based on the SRS resource indicator field in the DCI”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While the references of record indicate antenna field of DCI indicating “reserved” status in case of ranks above 4, however they do not indicate conditional specific type of information depends on said ranks, specifically:
“the DCI includes information on a first new data indicator (NDI), a first redundancy version (RV) and a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for a first codeword, based on the value of the rank for the PUSCH exceeding 4, the field indicating the antenna port indicates information on at least one of a second NDI, a second RV or a second MCS for a second codeword”, per claim 8, and
“based on the value of the rank for the PUSCH exceeding 4, the field indicating the antenna port indicates information on PTRS(phase tracking reference signal)-DMRS association.” Per claim 9, and
“the DCI includes information on first PTRS-DMRS association for a first codeword, based on the value of the rank for the PUSCH exceeding 4, the field indicating the antenna port indicates information on second PTRS-DMRS association for a second codeword.” Per claim 10.
References considered pertinent to the invention include:
US 2025/0280411 - An apparatus of a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising a processor, and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the apparatus to: receive, from a base station, scheduling information for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and a second PUSCH transmission which are at least partially overlapped in time domain; and in response to the scheduling information, perform the first PUSCH transmission through a first antenna panel and the second PUSCH transmission through a second antenna panel by using mutually different frequency-domain resources.
US 11,265,050 - method for transmitting a codebook-based Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) performed by a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system may include receive downlink control information (DCI) for uplink (UL) transmission scheduling; and performing codebook based PUSCH transmission based on precoding information included in the DCI, when the PUSCH is transmitted using four antenna ports, the codebook includes: a first group including non-coherent precoding matrixes for selecting only one port for each layer, a second group including partial-coherent precoding matrixes for selection two ports in at least one layer, and a third group including full-coherence precoding matrixes for selection all ports for each of the layers.
Conclusion
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645