Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument: On page 2 of Remark, Applicant argues that Matsumura does not teach amended claim 1 as recited “A method comprising: transmitting, by a terminal to a network, information on a plurality of capability information sets related to uplink transmission of the terminal; and transmitting, by the terminal to the network, power headroom report (PHR) information including at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set [[one]] of the plurality of capability information sets, wherein the each entry includes a single power headroom (PH) field, and a plurality of maximum power parameters respectively corresponding to the plurality of capability information sets.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is used that does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 2023/0262612 A1)( hereafter “Matsumura”) in view of Rahman et al. (US 2023/0111064 A1)(“Rahman”).
Regarding claim 1, A method comprising: transmitting, by a terminal to a network, information on a plurality of capability information sets related to uplink transmission of the terminal;
Matsumura [0022] In NR, a UE transmits a PH report (Power Headroom Report (PHR)) including information of power headroom (PH) for each serving cell to a network. The network can use the PHR for control of uplink transmission power of the UE.
Matsumura [0023] The PHR may be transmitted by MAC (Medium Access Control) signaling using a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel)(related to uplink transmission of the terminal). For example, the PHR is reported using a PHR MAC CE (Control Element) included in a MAC PDU (Protocol Data Unit).
Matsumura [0070] The MAC CE as shown in FIG. 3A may be used by the UE satisfying at least one of the following: [0071] The UE that has reported information related to the number of panels included in (supported by) the UE by using UE capability information (information of plurality of capability information sets related to uplink). [0072] The network (base station) has configured the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the UE by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like.
and transmitting, by the terminal to the network, power headroom report (PHR) information.
Matsumura [0022] In NR, a UE transmits a PH report (Power Headroom Report (PHR)) including information of power headroom (PH) for each serving cell to a network.
Matsumura [0023] The PHR may be transmitted by MAC (Medium Access Control) signaling using a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel)(related to uplink transmission of the terminal). For example, the PHR is reported using a PHR MAC CE (Control Element) included in a MAC PDU (Protocol Data Unit).
wherein each entry includes a single power headroom (PH) field, and a plurality of maximum power parameters respectively corresponding to the plurality of capability information sets, respectively.
[0063] As shown in FIG. 2A, the panel specific PHR MAC CE may be a MAC CE obtained by adding one panel ID field (in FIG. 2A, 6 bits) indicating a panel ID to the single entry PHR MAC CE of FIG. 1.
Matsumura FIGS. 2A and 2B [0064]; The PH field and the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field in FIGS. 2A and 2B may correspond to a value regarding a panel of the panel ID indicated by the panel ID field.
Matsumura [0067] Note that the panel ID field may uniquely indicate a panel regardless of whether or not it is active (may be configured capable of expressing (identifying) all of the panels of the UE= plurality of capability information sets ), or may indicate only an active panel. In this manner, the “panel” in the present disclosure may be interchangeably interpreted as an activated panel, an active panel, and the like.
Matsumura, Fig. 3A and 3B [0070]; The MAC CE as shown in FIG. 3A may be used by the UE satisfying at least one of the following: [0071] The UE that has reported information related to the number of panels included in (supported by) the UE by using UE capability information (number of panels= plurality of capability information sets for group of panels). [0072] The network (base station) has configured the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the UE by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like. [0073] The UE has reported the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the network (base station) by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like .
Matsumura [0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). (Fig. 3A and 3B shows plurality of Pcmax,f,c corresponding to the plurality of panels (information regarding plurality of panels included in plurality of capability information))
Matsumura, Fig. 1, [0027]; ‘P.sub.CMAX,f,c’ of FIG. 1 indicates a field of 6 bits, and indicates an index related to P.sub.CMAX,f,c used for calculation of the PH field. The index related to P.sub.CMAX,f,c is associated with a specific UE transmission power level (dB). Note that P.sub.CMAX,f,c may be referred to as maximum configured transmission power (maximum permitted transmission power) of the UE for a serving cell c of a carrier f. P.sub.CMAX,f,c is hereinafter also simply referred to as P.sub.CMAX.
Note: according to claim 10, plurality of capability information sets corresponds to plurality of panels. Therefore, the power max (p.sub.cmax) of group of panels can correspond to plurality of capability information.
Matsumura does not teach at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets.
Rahman teaches at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets.
Rahman [0144]; In one example, the index I indicates a correspondence between a CSI-RS and/or SSB resource index (indicated via R) and a UE capability value from a list of UE capability values (or value set/sets) reported by the UE (via UE capability signaling).
[0154] The index I (or the correspondence) is determined/configured according to at least one of the following examples.
[0751] In one example, the existing MAC CE is Single entry PHR MAC CE (codepoint/Index 57 in Table 22, which is from Table 6.2.1-2 of TS 38.321), i.e., the single entry MAC CE includes information regarding the correspondence, either via an existing parameter or via a new parameter.
In view of Rahman, Matsumura is modified such that at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets.
Matsumura and Rahman are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field
of endeavor, the capability information set of the UE.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Matsumura in the manner described above to use an index as the information indicating a single specific capability information set for the efficient and effective wireless communication (Rahman [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 1, wherein: the information indicating the single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets corresponds to information indicating a single maximum power parameter corresponding to the single specific capability information set.
[0063] As shown in FIG. 2A, the panel specific PHR MAC CE may be a MAC CE obtained by adding one panel ID field (in FIG. 2A, 6 bits) indicating a panel ID to the single entry PHR MAC CE of FIG. 1.
[0064] The PH field and the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field (a single maximum power parameter) in FIGS. 2A and 2B may correspond to a value regarding a panel of the panel ID indicated by the panel ID field.
Matsumura [0067] Note that the panel ID field may uniquely indicate a panel regardless of whether or not it is active (may be configured capable of expressing (identifying) all of the panels of the UE= capability information sets ), or may indicate only an active panel. In this manner, the “panel” in the present disclosure may be interchangeably interpreted as an activated panel, an active panel, and the like.
Matsumura [0125]; For example, the specific capability information may be information indicating that the UE supports at least one of the panel specific PHR(specific one of the plurality of capability information sets) , the prohibit timer for PHR for a panel, and the periodic timer for PHR for a panel.
Matsumura, Fig. 3B [0076]; FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 ( P.SUB.CMAX information of one specific panel= information indicating the maximum power parameter corresponding to the one specific capability information set). is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE).
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 1, wherein: the PHR information is a single entry PHR MAC (medium access control) CE (control element) including the single field or the PHR information is a multi-entry PHR MAC CE including a plurality of PH fields, each of the plurality of PH fields is included in an entry of the multi-entry.
Matsumura [0063] As shown in FIG. 2A, the panel specific PHR MAC CE may be a MAC CE obtained by adding one panel ID field (in FIG. 2A, 6 bits) indicating a panel ID to the single entry PHR MAC CE of FIG. 1.
[0064] The PH field and the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field in FIGS. 2A and 2B may correspond to a value regarding a panel of the panel ID indicated by the panel ID field.
Matsumura, Fig. 3B, [0068]; FIGS. 3A and 3B are each a diagram to show another example of a configuration of the panel specific PHR MAC CE. Each of the present examples is an example of the single entry PHR MAC CE regarding a PCell. However, this is not restrictive. The PCell may be interpreted as another cell (for example, an SCell).
[0068]; The multiple entry PHR MAC CE including a plurality of these configurations may be used (in this case, type 1 PH may be interpreted as PH of another type).
Matsumura [0028] Note that, in NR, a multiple entry PHR MAC CE including a plurality of pieces of data similar to the above-described single entry (two octets) is also supported. The multiple entry PHR MAC CE may include a PH field for a PSCell (primary secondary cell) or an SCell and the like.
Regarding claim 10, The method of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of capability information sets correspond to a plurality of panels, respectively, or the plurality of capability information sets correspond to a plurality of panel groups, respectively.
Matsumura [0070] ; The MAC CE as shown in FIG. 3A may be used by the UE satisfying at least one of the following: [0071] The UE that has reported information related to the number of panels included in (supported by) the UE by using UE capability information (the plurality of capability information set corresponds to plurality of panels).
Regarding claim 11, A terminal (Matsumura, Fig. 10, Ref. 20) comprising: at least one transceiver (Matsumura, Fig.9, Ref. 220);
and at least one processor (Matsumura, Fig. 10, Ref. 1001) connected to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit, through the at least one transceiver(Matsumura, Fig.9, Ref. 220) to a network, information on a plurality of capability information sets related to uplink transmission of the terminal;
Matsumura [0022] In NR, a UE transmits a PH report (Power Headroom Report (PHR)) including information of power headroom (PH) for each serving cell to a network. The network can use the PHR for control of uplink transmission power of the UE.
Matsumura [0023] The PHR may be transmitted by MAC (Medium Access Control) signaling using a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel)(related to uplink transmission of the terminal). For example, the PHR is reported using a PHR MAC CE (Control Element) included in a MAC PDU (Protocol Data Unit).
Matsumura [0070] The MAC CE as shown in FIG. 3A may be used by the UE satisfying at least one of the following: [0071] The UE that has reported information related to the number of panels included in (supported by) the UE by using UE capability information (information of plurality of capability information sets related to uplink). [0072] The network (base station) has configured the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the UE by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like.
and transmit, through the at least one transceiver to the network, power headroom report (PHR) information.
Matsumura [0022] In NR, a UE transmits a PH report (Power Headroom Report (PHR)) including information of power headroom (PH) for each serving cell to a network.
Matsumura [0023] The PHR may be transmitted by MAC (Medium Access Control) signaling using a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel)(related to uplink transmission of the terminal). For example, the PHR is reported using a PHR MAC CE (Control Element) included in a MAC PDU (Protocol Data Unit).
wherein the each entry includes a single power headroom (PH) and a plurality of maximum power parameters respectively corresponding to the plurality of capability information sets, respectively.
[0063] As shown in FIG. 2A, the panel specific PHR MAC CE may be a MAC CE obtained by adding one panel ID field (in FIG. 2A, 6 bits) indicating a panel ID to the single entry PHR MAC CE of FIG. 1.
Matsumura FIGS. 2A and 2B [0064]; The PH field and the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field in FIGS. 2A and 2B may correspond to a value regarding a panel of the panel ID indicated by the panel ID field.
Matsumura [0067] Note that the panel ID field may uniquely indicate a panel regardless of whether or not it is active (may be configured capable of expressing (identifying) all of the panels of the UE= capability information sets ), or may indicate only an active panel. In this manner, the “panel” in the present disclosure may be interchangeably interpreted as an activated panel, an active panel, and the like.
Matsumura, Fig. 3A and 3B [0070]; The MAC CE as shown in FIG. 3A may be used by the UE satisfying at least one of the following: [0071] The UE that has reported information related to the number of panels included in (supported by) the UE by using UE capability information (number of panels= plurality of capability information sets for group of panels). [0072] The network (base station) has configured the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the UE by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like. [0073] The UE has reported the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the network (base station) by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like .
Matsumura [0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). (Fig. 3A and 3B shows plurality of Pcmax,f,c corresponding to the plurality of panels (information regarding plurality of panels included in plurality of capability information))
Matsumura, Fig. 1, [0027]; ‘P.sub.CMAX,f,c’ of FIG. 1 indicates a field of 6 bits, and indicates an index related to P.sub.CMAX,f,c used for calculation of the PH field. The index related to P.sub.CMAX,f,c is associated with a specific UE transmission power level (dB). Note that P.sub.CMAX,f,c may be referred to as maximum configured transmission power (maximum permitted transmission power) of the UE for a serving cell c of a carrier f. P.sub.CMAX,f,c is hereinafter also simply referred to as P.sub.CMAX.
Note: according to claim 10, plurality of capability information sets corresponds to plurality of panels. Therefore, the power max (p.sub.cmax) of group of panels can correspond to plurality of capability information.
Matsumura does not teach at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets.
Rahman teaches at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets.
Rahman [0144]; In one example, the index I indicates a correspondence between a CSI-RS and/or SSB resource index (indicated via R) and a UE capability value from a list of UE capability values (or value set/sets) reported by the UE (via UE capability signaling).
[0154] The index I (or the correspondence) is determined/configured according to at least one of the following examples.
[0751] In one example, the existing MAC CE is Single entry PHR MAC CE (codepoint/Index 57 in Table 22, which is from Table 6.2.1-2 of TS 38.321), i.e., the single entry MAC CE includes information regarding the correspondence, either via an existing parameter or via a new parameter.
In view of Rahman, Matsumura is modified such that at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets.
Matsumura and Rahman are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field
of endeavor, the capability information set of the UE.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Matsumura in the manner described above to use an index as the information indicating a single specific capability information set for the efficient and effective wireless communication (Rahman [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, A base station (Matsumura, Fig. 10 , Ref. 10) comprising: at least one transceiver (Matsumura, Fig. 8 , Ref. 120) ;
and at least one processor (Matsumura, Fig. 10 , Ref. 1001) connected to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, through the at least one transceiver (Matsumura, Fig. 8 , Ref. 120) from the terminal, information on a plurality of capability information sets related to uplink transmission of a terminal;
Matsumura [0022] In NR, a UE transmits a PH report (Power Headroom Report (PHR)) including information of power headroom (PH) for each serving cell to a network. The network can use the PHR for control of uplink transmission power of the UE.
Matsumura [0023] The PHR may be transmitted by MAC (Medium Access Control) signaling using a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel)(related to uplink transmission of the terminal). For example, the PHR is reported using a PHR MAC CE (Control Element) included in a MAC PDU (Protocol Data Unit).
Matsumura [0070] The MAC CE as shown in FIG. 3A may be used by the UE satisfying at least one of the following: [0071] The UE that has reported information related to the number of panels included in (supported by) the UE by using UE capability information (information of plurality of capability information sets related to uplink). [0072] The network (base station) has configured the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the UE by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like.
receive, through the at least one transceiver from the terminal, power headroom report (PHR) information.
Matsumura [0022] In NR, a UE transmits a PH report (Power Headroom Report (PHR)) including information of power headroom (PH) for each serving cell to a network.
Matsumura [0023] The PHR may be transmitted by MAC (Medium Access Control) signaling using a PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel)(related to uplink transmission of the terminal). For example, the PHR is reported using a PHR MAC CE (Control Element) included in a MAC PDU (Protocol Data Unit).
and perform uplink scheduling for the terminal based on the PHR information,
Matsumura [0022] In NR, a UE transmits a PH report (Power Headroom Report (PHR)) including information of power headroom (PH) for each serving cell to a network. The network can use the PHR for control of uplink transmission power of the UE.
[0219] Here, a TTI refers to the minimum time unit of scheduling in radio communication, for example. For example, in LTE systems, a base station schedules the allocation of radio resources (such as a frequency bandwidth and transmit power that are available for each user terminal) for the user terminal in TTI units. Note that the definition of TTIs is not limited to this (perform uplink scheduling for terminal).
[0218] For example, one subframe may be referred to as a “TTI,” a plurality of consecutive subframes may be referred to as a “TTI,” or one slot or one mini-slot may be referred to as a “TTI.”
[0216]; A PDSCH (or PUSCH) transmitted using a mini-slot may be referred to as “PDSCH (PUSCH) mapping type B.”
wherein the each entry includes a single power headroom (PH) and a plurality of maximum power parameters respectively corresponding to the plurality of capability information sets, respectively.
[0063] As shown in FIG. 2A, the panel specific PHR MAC CE may be a MAC CE obtained by adding one panel ID field (in FIG. 2A, 6 bits) indicating a panel ID to the single entry PHR MAC CE of FIG. 1.
Matsumura FIGS. 2A and 2B [0064]; The PH field and the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field in FIGS. 2A and 2B may correspond to a value regarding a panel of the panel ID indicated by the panel ID field.
Matsumura [0067] Note that the panel ID field may uniquely indicate a panel regardless of whether or not it is active (may be configured capable of expressing (identifying) all of the panels of the UE= capability information sets ), or may indicate only an active panel. In this manner, the “panel” in the present disclosure may be interchangeably interpreted as an activated panel, an active panel, and the like.
Matsumura, Fig. 3A and 3B [0070]; The MAC CE as shown in FIG. 3A may be used by the UE satisfying at least one of the following: [0071] The UE that has reported information related to the number of panels included in (supported by) the UE by using UE capability information (number of panels= plurality of capability information sets for group of panels). [0072] The network (base station) has configured the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the UE by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like. [0073] The UE has reported the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the network (base station) by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like .
Matsumura [0076] FIG. 3B shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE including a panel ID field corresponding to each panel ID. An AX (X=0 to 3) field indicates whether or not information (for example, the PH field, the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field) regarding panel #X+1 is included in the MAC CE (whether or not the information is reported by the MAC CE). (Fig. 3A and 3B shows plurality of Pcmax,f,c corresponding to the plurality of panels (information regarding plurality of panels included in plurality of capability information))
Matsumura, Fig. 1, [0027]; ‘P.sub.CMAX,f,c’ of FIG. 1 indicates a field of 6 bits, and indicates an index related to P.sub.CMAX,f,c used for calculation of the PH field. The index related to P.sub.CMAX,f,c is associated with a specific UE transmission power level (dB). Note that P.sub.CMAX,f,c may be referred to as maximum configured transmission power (maximum permitted transmission power) of the UE for a serving cell c of a carrier f. P.sub.CMAX,f,c is hereinafter also simply referred to as P.sub.CMAX.
Note: according to claim 10, plurality of capability information sets corresponds to plurality of panels. Therefore, the power max (p.sub.cmax) of group of panels can correspond to plurality of capability information.
Matsumura does not teach at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets.
Rahman teaches at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets.
Rahman [0144]; In one example, the index I indicates a correspondence between a CSI-RS and/or SSB resource index (indicated via R) and a UE capability value from a list of UE capability values (or value set/sets) reported by the UE (via UE capability signaling).
[0154] The index I (or the correspondence) is determined/configured according to at least one of the following examples.
[0751] In one example, the existing MAC CE is Single entry PHR MAC CE (codepoint/Index 57 in Table 22, which is from Table 6.2.1-2 of TS 38.321), i.e., the single entry MAC CE includes information regarding the correspondence, either via an existing parameter or via a new parameter.
In view of Rahman, Matsumura is modified such that at least one entry, wherein each entry includes information indicating a single specific capability information set of the plurality of capability information sets.
Matsumura and Rahman are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field
of endeavor, the capability information set of the UE.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Matsumura in the manner described above to use an index as the information indicating a single specific capability information set for the efficient and effective wireless communication (Rahman [0003]).
Claims 2, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Rahman in further view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0297959 A1) (hereafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein:
Matsumura [0064] The PH field and the P.sub.CMAX,f,c field in FIGS. 2A and 2B may correspond to a value regarding a panel of the panel ID indicated by the panel ID field.
[0067] Note that the panel ID field may uniquely indicate a panel regardless of whether or not it is active (may be configured capable of expressing (identifying) all of the panels of the UE (= specific capability information set), or may indicate only an active panel.
Matsumura [0045]; Note that, when the panel specific PHR is used, P.sub.CMAX, PH, P-MPR, and the like related to a reported panel may be applied in common regarding the panel. When beam group/panel group specific PHR is used, the same PHR is shared in one group. In other words, P.sub.CMAX, PH, P-MPR, and the like related to all of the beams/panels in a reported group may be applied in common regarding the group.
Matsumura does not teach a value of a power backoff indication field is based on the maximum power parameter.
Zhou teaches a value of a power backoff indication field is based on a single maximum power parameter.
Zhou Fig. 48 b, [0474]; A reported PH and a corresponding power headroom level may be mapped based on examples of FIG. 48B. A P field of a multiple entry PHR MAC CE may indicate whether the MAC entity applies power backoff due to power management. The MAC entity may set the P field to 1, for example, if the corresponding P.sub.CMAX,f,c field (a single maximum power parameter) would have had a different value if no power backoff due to power management had been applied (power backoff indication field is based on the maximum power parameter).
In view of Zhou, Matsumura is modified such that value of a power backoff indication field is based on a single maximum power parameter.
Matsumura and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, uplink transmission based on PHR.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumura in the manner described above to allow the power backoff have a parameter based on maximum power parameter to improve uplink transmission coverage and/or uplink robustness (Zhou [0369]).
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 1, wherein: the each entry includes the plurality of capability information set.
Matsumura, Fig. 3A and 3B [0070]; The MAC CE as shown in FIG. 3A may be used by the UE satisfying at least one of the following: [0071] The UE that has reported information related to the number of panels included in (supported by) the UE by using UE capability information (plurality of capability information sets for group of panels). [0072] The network (base station) has configured the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the UE by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like. [0073] The UE has reported the number of panels to be reported in the PHR MAC CE to the network (base station) by using higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or the like .
Matsumura does not teach a plurality of power backoff indication fields, a number of plurality of power backoff indication fields corresponds to number of the plurality of capability information sets.
Zhou teaches a plurality of power backoff indication fields, a number of a plurality of power backoff indication fields corresponds to number of the plurality of capability information sets.
Zhou [0379]; As described herein, a wireless device may be configured with improved MPE reporting. A wireless device may send/transmit an MPE report comprising one or more panel-specific power backoff values for one or more panels.
Zhou [0004]; An exposure report may be on a per-panel basis using a power headroom report (PHR) such that a panel-specific report may be kept pending until sent in a PHR report, for reduced signaling overhead in reporting.
Note: according to claim 10, plurality of capability information sets corresponds to plurality of panels. Therefore, the number of plurality of capability information sets correspond to the number of panels.
In view of Zhou, Matsumura is modified such that there are plurality of power backoff indication fields corresponds to number of the plurality of capability information sets.
Matsumura and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, uplink transmission based on PHR.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumura in the manner described above to allow the power backoff have a parameter based on capability information sets to improve uplink transmission coverage and/or uplink robustness (Zhou [0369]).
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of in view of Rahman in further in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0190902 A1)(hereafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 3, wherein: information indicating the single maximum power indicates one of the one of the number of the plurality of maximum power parameters of the each entry (Matsumura, Fig. 2C and Fig. 2D show single PCMAX field from the plurality of PCMAX#1 and PCMAX#2).
Matsumura does not teach information indicating one of a same number of the plurality of maximum power parameters as the number of resource fields.
Zhang teaches indicating a number of the plurality of maximum power parameters is a same as the number of resource fields.
Zhang [0037]; In some embodiments, for each CRI/SSBRI, the UE can report a maximum power reduction (MPR) level to the gNB (same number of maximum power parameter as the number of resource field). Then to reduce emission, the uplink maximum transmission power can be reduced if the corresponding beam is indicated.
Note: specification [0172] describes a single P-MPR value related to a single Pcmax value. Thus, the teachings of Zhang meet the claim when taken in light of specification.
In view of Zhang , Matsumura is modified such that a number of the plurality of maximum power parameters is a same as the number of resource fields.
Matsumura and Zhang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, uplink beam reporting based on panel measurements.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumura in the manner described above to report the measurement of uplink signal based on maximum power and SSBRI/CRI and to allow the transmission of uplink signal based on the measurement report (Zhang [0005]).
Claims 5, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Rahman in further view of Muruganathan et al. (US 2025/0150987 A1)(hereafter “Muruganathan”).
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 3, wherein: The method of claim 3, wherein: information indicating the single maximum power parameter of the plurality of maximum power parameters, of the each entry as it is shown above in claim 4. (Matsumura, Fig. 2C and Fig. 2D show single PCMAX field from the plurality of PCMAX#1 and PCMAX#2).
Matsumura does not teach information indicating one of a number of the plurality of maximum power parameters smaller than the number of resource fields of the PHR information.
Muruganathan teaches indicating and a number of the plurality of maximum power parameters is smaller than the number of resource fields of the PHR information.
Muruganathan, Fig. 15 ,[0145]; To control the size of the MAC CE for reporting multiple MPE values, a variable size single entry PHR MAC CE is disclosed with more than 2 Octets as shown in FIG. 15. Note that this disclosed single entry PHR MAC CE is different from the single entry PHR MAC CE supported in 3GPP Rel-16 which is shown in FIG. 5. The single entry PHR MAC CE shown in in FIG. 5 is a fixed size MAC CE with size of two octets. On the other hand, the single entry PHR MAC CE disclosed herein includes fields to control whether octet(s) carrying one or more of MPE fields and/or SSBRI/CRI fields are present (in FIG. 15, the i.sup.th MPE field is denoted as MPE.sub.i and the corresponding candidate beam index is denoted as SSBRI.sub.i/CRI.sub.i). (Muruganathan, Fig. 15 shows the number of number of the plurality of maximum power parameters smaller than the number of resource fields of the PHR information.)
In view of Muruganathan , Matsumura is modified such that there are smaller number of the plurality maximum power parameter than the number of resource fields of PHR information.
Matsumura and Muruganathan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, uplink beam PHR reporting based on panel measurements.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumura in the manner described above to report the measurement of uplink signal based on maximum power and SSBRI/CRI and to allow the transmission of uplink signal based on PHR report.
Regarding claim 8, The method of claim 1, Wherein: each entry includes the plurality of capability information sets.
Matsumura [0069] FIG. 3A shows an example of the panel specific PHR MAC CE not including a panel ID field. “#i” (i=1 to 4) of each field may indicate a field related to the i-th panel, or may indicate a field related to a panel indicated by panel ID #i. (i = plurality of panels= corresponds to number of plurality of capability information)
Matsumura does not teach a plurality of resource fields, and a number of the plurality of resource fields corresponding corresponds to a number of the plurality of capability information sets.
Muruganathan teaches a plurality of resource fields, and a number of the plurality of resource fields corresponding corresponds to a number of the plurality of capability information sets.
Muruganathan [0073] To facilitate MPE mitigation, event-triggered P-MPR-based reporting is enhanced in 3GPP Rel-17. In the enhanced PHR report in 3GPP Rel-17, N≥1 P-MPR values may be reported, where N may be 1, 2, 3 or 4 (depending on WD capability= plurality of capability information sets ). In addition, for each of the reported N P-MPR values (N-MPR depends on WD capability= based on a number of plurality of capability information set ), the WD may indicate a new preferred beam by an SSB (synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel resource block) resource indicator (SSBRI) or CSI-RS resource indicator CRI) (a plurality of resource fields corresponding to a number of the plurality of capability information sets.)
Muruganathan [0069]; At millimeter wave (mmW) frequencies (FR2), the majority of commercial WDs are equipped with multiple antenna panels (WD capability= plurality of capability information sets) pointing in different directions. Each such panel typically has a significant amount of directivity. This property is quite different compared to sub-6 GHz operation, where the WD typically is equipped with omni-directional antennas.
In view of Muruganathan , Matsumura is modified such that there are plurality of resource fields corresponding to a number of the plurality of capability information sets.
Matsumura and Muruganathan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, uplink beam PHR reporting based on panel measurements.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumura in the manner described above to report the measurement of uplink signal based on capability information set and SSBRI/CRI and to allow the transmission of uplink signal based on PHR report.
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura teaches The method of claim 8 as stated above. Matsumura does not teach wherein: the resource field includes at least one of a SSBRI (synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel resource indicator) or a CRI (channel state information-reference signal resource indicator).
Muruganathan teaches wherein: the resource field includes at least one of a SSBRI (synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel resource indicator) or a CRI (channel state information-reference signal resource indicator).
Muruganathan [0075] As up to four P-MPR values (and the corresponding candidate beam indices given by SSBRI/CRI fields) need to be signaled in the MAC CE, this may increase the size of the MAC CE.
In view of Muruganathan , Matsumura is modified such that the resource field includes at least one of a SSBRI (synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel resource indicator) or a CRI (channel state information-reference signal resource indicator).
Matsumura and Muruganathan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the
same field of endeavor, uplink beam PHR reporting based on panel measurements.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumura in the manner described above to report the measurement of uplink signal based on SSBRI/CRI and to allow the transmission of uplink signal based on PHR report.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478