DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 02/11/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 11/17/2025. Independent claims 1, 12 and 21 are amended. Claim 20 was cancelled previously. Claim 3 is cancelled currently. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-19 and 21 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-14, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Park et al. (2022/0159679), Park hereinafter, in view of Pan et al. (2022/0191794), Pan hereinafter, further in view of 3GPP TR 23.776 V1.0.0 (2020-11). 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architecture enhancements for 3GPP support of advanced Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) services; Phase 2 (Release 17) <as reported in earlier office action, mailed on 11/17/2025>, 3GPP_TR_23.776 hereinafter.
Re. claims 1, 12 and 21, Park teaches a method (Fig. 10-13 & Fig.¶0031/¶0137/¶0141: ¶0144/¶0147: ¶0149/¶0153) performed by a first unit (Fig.11-13, UE1/U2, Fig. 15, 100/200), a first unit (Fig.11-13, UE1/U2, Fig. 15, 100/200) comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 15, 104/204); and at least one processor coupled (Fig. 15, 102/202) with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first unit to, and a processor (Fig. 15, 102/202) for wireless communication (Fig. 11-13), comprising: at least one controller coupled (Fig. 15, 102/202) with at least one memory (Fig. 15, 104/204) and configured to cause the processor to: receive application requirements for a vehicle to everything (V2X) service (Fig. 10-13 & Fig.¶0031 - a method for a first user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system, including transmitting application information from an application layer to a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) layer, generating sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) information based on the application information in the V2X layer, transmitting the SL DRX information from the V2X layer to an access stratum (AS) layer, and communicating with a second UE by applying the SL DRX information in the AS layer. The application information includes at least one application requirement. Fig. 10-13 & ¶0141 - in step S1001, application information may be transmitted from a V2X application layer of a UE to a V2X layer of the UE. Fig. 10-13 & ¶0153 - The V2X application layer of the UE may receive its service parameter (including the DRX configuration) from the V2X application server.), wherein the application requirements comprise an application traffic pattern, an application quality of service (QoS) requirement. (Fig. 10-13 & ¶0018 - Vehicle-to-everything (V2X) is a communication technology in which a vehicle exchanges information with another vehicle, a pedestrian, and infrastructure by wired/wireless communication. V2X may be categorized into four types: vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V), vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I), vehicle-to-network (V2N), and vehicle-to-pedestrian (V2P). V2X communication may be provided via a PC5 interface and/or a Uu interface. Fig. 10-13 & ¶0137 - A V2X UE may have a plurality of V2X service types (e.g., provider service identifiers (PSIDs) or intelligent transport systems-application object identifiers (ITS-AIDs), and each of the plurality of V2X service types may haves a different service requirement or a different QoS requirement for a service (e.g., PC5 QoS ID (PQI): PC5 5QI). A V2X UE to which DRX is applied needs to generate an SL DRX configuration by combining/considering service requirements corresponding to a plurality of service types. Fig. 10-13 & ¶0141 - The application information may specify a service type (e.g., a PSID or an ITS-AID) and/or a V2X application requirement. For example, the application requirement may be a QoS requirement (e.g., PQI: PC5 5QI). There may be a plurality of service types, and V2X application requirements may correspond to the respective service types. The V2X layer of the UE may receive application requirements corresponding to the respective service types from the application layer.); and transmit information comprising the traffic communication pattern, the QoS requirement, the DRX configuration parameter, the access stratum layer configuration parameter, or a combination thereof to a second unit or application corresponding to the information (Fig. 10-13 & ¶0137 - V2X UE may have a plurality of V2X service types (e.g., provider service identifiers (PSIDs) or intelligent transport systems-application object identifiers (ITS-AIDs), and each of the plurality of V2X service types may haves a different service requirement or a different QoS requirement for a service (e.g., PC5 QoS ID (PQI): PC5 5QI). A V2X UE to which DRX is applied needs to generate an SL DRX configuration by combining/considering service requirements corresponding to a plurality of service types. Fig. 10-13 & ¶0142: ¶0144 - In step S1002, the UE may generate an SL DRX configuration based on the service type and the V2X application requirement in the V2X layer. That is, the V2X layer of the UE may generate the SL DRX configuration by combining/considering the received service type and application requirement information. In step S1003, the UE may deliver the generated SL DRX configuration from the V2X layer to an access stratum (AS) layer. In step S1004, the AS layer of the UE may perform SL communication with other UEs based on the received SL DRX configuration. See ¶0147: ¶0149 along with Fig. 11.), wherein the traffic communication pattern comprises a transmission schedule, a reception schedule, an inactivity period, and a sleep period. (Fig. 10-13 & ¶0137 - V2X UE may have a plurality of V2X service types (e.g., provider service identifiers (PSIDs) or intelligent transport systems-application object identifiers (ITS-AIDs), and each of the plurality of V2X service types may haves a different service requirement or a different QoS requirement for a service (e.g., PC5 QoS ID (PQI): PC5 5QI). A V2X UE to which DRX is applied needs to generate an SL DRX configuration by combining/considering service requirements corresponding to a plurality of service types. Fig. 10-13 & ¶0141 - the application requirement may be a QoS requirement (e.g., PQI: PC5 5QI). There may be a plurality of service types, and V2X application requirements may correspond to the respective service types. The V2X layer of the UE may receive application requirements corresponding to the respective service types from the application layer. Fig. 10-13 & ¶0145 - SL DRX information may include at least one of SL drx-onDurationTimer, SL drx-SlotOffset, SL drx-InactivityTimer, SL drx-RetransmissionTimer, SL drx-LongCycleStartOffset, SL drx-ShortCycle, SL drx-ShortCycleTimer, or SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer.)
Yet, Park does not expressly teach determine a traffic communication pattern for at least one application and at least one interface based at least partly on the application requirements; and map the traffic communication pattern to a QoS requirement, a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameter, an access stratum layer configuration parameter, or a combination thereof;
However, in the analogous art, Pan explicitly discloses determine a traffic communication pattern for at least one application and at least one interface based at least partly on the application requirements (Fig. 10-11 & ¶0294 - ¶0297 - The V2X application layer provides the Application Requirements to the V2X layer which can be mapped to QoS parameters .. V2X applications layer may also provide application traffic pattern information, which contains message periodicity/interval and message size/burst information if available. The mentioned application traffic pattern information may also be provided by the V2X applications (via the V2X layer) to the AS layer, where they can be used as input when computing the AS-layer SL-TrafficPatternlnfo , which could in turn have an impact on AS layer's final decision about the PC5 DRX configuration that is to be applied. The AS layer SL-TrafficPatternlnfo contains more RAN related parameters in addition to message periodicity and message size. The V2X layer of UE1 may select one or more PC5 DRX pattern from the configured PC5 DRX pattern set. If more than one PC5 DRX patterns are selected, this means that the V2X layer can accept the application of any of them. The selection takes into account the following i) the requirements and application traffic pattern information of all active V2X service types that the UE1 currently has, ii) the Uu DRX configurations received by the NG-RAN (if any), and iii) the selected PC5 DRX patterns that other relevant UEs have applied and indicated); and map the traffic communication pattern to a QoS requirement, a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameter, an access stratum layer configuration parameter, or a combination thereof (Fig. 10-11 & ¶0294:¶0295 - The V2X application layer provides the Application Requirements to the V2X layer which can be mapped to QoS parameters .. V2X applications layer may also provide application traffic pattern information, which contains message periodicity/interval and message size/burst information if available. The mentioned application traffic pattern information may also be provided by the V2X applications (via the V2X layer) to the AS layer, where they can be used as input when computing the AS-layer SL-TrafficPatternlnfo , which could in turn have an impact on AS layer's final decision about the PC5 DRX configuration that is to be applied. Fig. 10-11 & ¶0299: ¶0301 - The V2X layer of UE1 requests applying (one of) the selected PC5 DRX pattern(s) to the AS layer for control of PC5 transmission and reception according to the selected PC5 DRX pattern. The AS layer of UE1 decides to apply or not the requested PC5 DRX pattern (or one of the requested PC5 DRX patterns), i.e., it configures the (AS-layer) PC5 DRX schedule based on the ON/OFF periods indicated in the PC5 DRX pattern. … AS layer may know the set of applicable PC5 DRX patterns (as well as all further inputs that it requires) and send indications about the applied PC5 DRX schedule to other UEs using mechanisms …. the AS layer of UE1 could potentially also decide to extend the ON durations of a selected (and applied) PC5 DRX schedule based on AS layer information (e.g., full buffers, misalignment with resource pools or AS-layer signalling, monitored QoS, etc.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Pan’s invention of a system and a method for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient layer-2 link establishment procedure for Unicast Mode V2X Communication Over PC5 interface in the wireless communication system. (¶0230-¶0233, Pan)
Even though, Park teaches “wherein the traffic communication pattern comprises a transmission schedule, a reception schedule, an inactivity period……..”, Park does not expressly discloses the clamed feature, “a sleep period”, however, in the analogous art, 3GPP_TR_23.776 explicitly discloses wherein the traffic communication pattern comprises a transmission schedule, a reception schedule, an inactivity period, and a sleep period. (§6.1.2 & Figure 6.1.2-1 – 1. On UE-1, the V2X Application 1 provides the V2X Application Requirements, including delay requirements, ….. For example, this Application 1 may be requesting a groupcast communication. 2. Similarly, V2X Application 2 provides the V2X Application Requirements including delay requirements, traffic pattern information if available, for the PC5 communication. In this example, the Application 2 may be requesting a unicast communication. 3. UE-1's V2X layer consolidates requirements from Application 1 and Application 2, and generates a UE level DRX schedule, so that the UE-1 would be able to maximize the DRX off-duration. The determination of the DRX schedule can be determined by the UE based on the configuration on the UE, for example as part of the V2X policies associated with the V2X service types. 4.UE-1's V2X layer requests the UE level AS layer DRX schedule to AS layer. UE-1's AS layer applies the DRX schedule for the corresponding V2X communication. This may require some adjustment according to the AS layer configurations, e.g. the resources pool settings. 6.UE-1's AS layer provides a response to the V2X layer on the results of the DRX schedule enforcement at AS layer. 7. UE-1's V2X layer may further request an AS layer DRX schedule corresponds to Application 2's unicast communication and provides it to AS layer. 11. UE-1 determines if the PC5 DRX and Uu DRX need alignment. … If the alignment is necessary between the PC5 DRX and Uu DRX (i.e. Paging DRX) and UE-1 is in RRC_IDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state, UE-1 waits until Uu connection is established before initiating any alignment. §6.5 - Solution for applying PC5 DRX configuration for pedestrian UEs. §6.5.1 - The UEs receive PC5 DRX configuration for transmitting/receiving V2X messages over PC5 from the network. The UE applies the received PC5 DRX configuration as follows and shown in Figure 6.5.1-1. The UE configures an "Active Time" and an "Inactive Time" for V2X Communication over PC5 based on the received PC5 DRX configuration. When the UE is in "Inactive Time" the UE enters in a "sleep" state and does not transmit or listen for V2X messages over PC5 - When the UE is in "Active Time" the UE can transmit V2X messages provided by the V2X application layer or listen for V2X messages over PC5. If the V2X application provides the data during the UE's inactive state the UE buffers the data and transmits them during the Active Time Period.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system and Pan’s invention of a system and a method for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless communication system to include 3GPP_TR_23.776’s invention of supporting of QoS <Quality of Service> aware NR PC5 power efficiency for pedestrian UEs a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it enables a pedestrian UE in sending/receiving V2X messages at periodicity in using DRX (Discontinuous Reception) mechanism for saving power consumption, a must requirement for a lower battery capacity and limited radio capability, such as pedestrian UE in using Sidelink DRX for broadcast, groupcast, and unicast operating in the a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (§5.1, 3GPP_TR_23.776)
Re. Claim 2, Park, Pan and 3GPP_TR_23.776 teach claim 1.
Yet, Park does not expressly teach wherein the application traffic pattern comprises a schedule of an expected transmission of at least one V2X application message, a schedule of an expected reception of at least one V2X application message, an application traffic characteristic, or a combination thereof over a pre-defined time window.
However, in the analogous art, Pan explicitly discloses wherein the application traffic pattern comprises a schedule of an expected transmission of at least one V2X application message, a schedule of an expected reception of at least one V2X application message, an application traffic characteristic, or a combination thereof over a pre-defined time window. (Fig. 10-11 & ¶0282 - To coordinate PC5 DRX configurations not only between the peered PC5 Tx UE and Rx UEs for one SL application/service but also among a number of PC5 UEs involved in multiple PC5 communications in proximity, this solution is based on having a common set of PC5 DRX patterns configured in PC5 UEs by the serving network for in-coverage operation or pre-configured for out-of-coverage operation. A PC5 DRX pattern includes information about the ON/OFF periods that shall be used in the (AS-layer) PC5 DRX schedule and each PC5 DRX pattern may be associated with one or more V2X service types. …..(pre-)configured set of PC5 DRX patterns may be corresponding to supported combinations of different use cases, service profiles, status or classes of PC5 UEs. The (pre-)configured set of PC5 DRX patterns can be also in line with resource pool configurations, because the patterns can be known to the AS layer when the resource pools are configured (or the other way round), so that the V2X layer does not need to deal with or understand resource pool configurations. Fig. 10-11 & ¶0283 - The contents of the PC5 DRX pattern set (e.g., length and period of ON/OFF cycles) may take into account QoS requirements of the V2X service type(s), e.g. the default PC5 QoS parameters that are configured in the UEs for each V2X service type…The fact that the QoS for a certain V2X service may be different on different UEs can be compensated by the PC5 DRX schedule selection and enforcement procedure that takes place on the UE ..Fig. 10-11 & ¶0294: ¶0295 - The V2X application layer provides the Application Requirements to the V2X layer which can be mapped to QoS parameters .. V2X applications layer may also provide application traffic pattern information, which contains message periodicity/interval and message size/burst information if available.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system and 3GPP_TR_23.776’s invention of supporting of QoS <Quality of Service> aware NR PC5 power efficiency for pedestrian UEs a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Pan’s invention of a system and a method for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient layer-2 link establishment procedure for Unicast Mode V2X Communication Over PC5 interface in the wireless communication system. (¶0230-¶0233, Pan)
Re. Claims 4 and 13, Park, Pan and 3GPP_TR_23.776 claims 1 and 12.
Yet, Park does not expressly teach wherein determining the traffic communication pattern for the at least one application and the at least one interface based at least partly on the application requirements comprises determining the traffic communication pattern for the at least one application and the at least one interface further based on user equipment (UE) context information, a monitored energy consumption, a configured discontinuous reception DRX cycle, a V2X transmission mode, or a combination thereof.
However, in the analogous art, Pan explicitly discloses wherein determining the traffic communication pattern for the at least one application and the at least one interface based at least partly on the application requirements comprises determining the traffic communication pattern for the at least one application and the at least one interface further based on user equipment (UE) context information, a monitored energy consumption, a configured discontinuous reception DRX cycle, a V2X transmission mode, or a combination thereof (Fig. 10-11 & ¶0294 - ¶0297 - The V2X application layer provides the Application Requirements to the V2X layer which can be mapped to QoS parameters .. V2X applications layer may also provide application traffic pattern information, which contains message periodicity/interval and message size/burst information if available. The mentioned application traffic pattern information may also be provided by the V2X applications (via the V2X layer) to the AS layer, where they can be used as input when computing the AS-layer SL-TrafficPatternlnfo , which could in turn have an impact on AS layer's final decision about the PC5 DRX configuration that is to be applied. The AS layer SL-TrafficPatternlnfo contains more RAN related parameters in addition to message periodicity and message size. The V2X layer of UE1 may select one or more PC5 DRX pattern from the configured PC5 DRX pattern set. If more than one PC5 DRX patterns are selected, this means that the V2X layer can accept the application of any of them. The selection takes into account the following i) the requirements and application traffic pattern information of all active V2X service types that the UE1 currently has, ii) the Uu DRX configurations received by the NG-RAN (if any), and iii) the selected PC5 DRX patterns that other relevant UEs have applied and indicated. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system and 3GPP_TR_23.776’s invention of supporting of QoS <Quality of Service> aware NR PC5 power efficiency for pedestrian UEs a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Pan’s invention of a system and a method for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient layer-2 link establishment procedure for Unicast Mode V2X Communication Over PC5 interface in the wireless communication system. (¶0230-¶0233, Pan)
Re. Claims 5 and 14, Park, Pan and 3GPP_TR_23.776 teach claims 4 and 13.
Yet, Park and Pan do not expressly teach triggering a DRX configuration query, wherein the DRX configuration query comprises a request for the configured discontinuous reception DRX cycle, parameters for at least one radio interface of at least one radio access network (RAN), or a combination thereof.
However, in the analogous art, 3GPP_TR_23.776 explicitly discloses triggering a DRX configuration query, wherein the DRX configuration query comprises a request for the configured discontinuous reception DRX cycle, parameters for at least one radio interface of at least one radio access network (RAN), or a combination thereof (§6.1.2 – 11. UE-1 determines if the PC5 DRX and Uu DRX need alignment. If the alignment is necessary and UE-1 has active connection to NG-RAN over Uu (in RRC_CONNECTED state), V2X layer triggers RRC signalling towards NG-RAN, so step 10 is performed. If the alignment is necessary between the PC5 DRX and Uu DRX (i.e. Paging DRX) and UE-1 is in RRC_IDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state, UE-1 waits until Uu connection is established before initiating any alignment. 12. UE-1 sends RRC signalling over Uu interface towards NG-RAN informing the PC5 DRX setting. See snapshot next).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system and Pan’s invention of a system and a method for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless communication system to include 3GPP_TR_23.776’s invention of supporting of QoS <Quality of Service> aware NR PC5 power efficiency for pedestrian UEs a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it enables a pedestrian UE in sending/receiving V2X messages at periodicity in using DRX (Discontinuous Reception) mechanism for saving power consumption, a must requirement for a lower battery capacity and limited radio capability, such as pedestrian UE in using Sidelink DRX for broadcast, groupcast, and unicast operating in the a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (§5.1, 3GPP_TR_23.776)
Re. Claims 8 and 17, Park, Pan and 3GPP_TR_23.776 teach claims 1 and 12.
Yet, Park and Pan do not expressly teach further comprising aligning DRX transmissions based on a request to aligning quality of service QoS requirements of a plurality of applications, radio interfaces, transmission modes, or a combination thereof.
However, in the analogous art, 3GPP_TR_23.776 explicitly discloses further comprising aligning DRX transmissions based on a request to aligning quality of service QoS requirements of a plurality of applications, radio interfaces, transmission modes, or a combination thereof. (§6.1.2 -1. On UE-1, the V2X Application 1 provides the V2X Application Requirements, including delay requirements, etc., for the PC5 communication. For example, this Application 1 may be requesting a groupcast communication. 2. Similarly, V2X Application 2 provides the V2X Application Requirements including delay requirements, traffic pattern information if available, for the PC5 communication. In this example, the Application 2 may be requesting a unicast communication. 3.UE-1's V2X layer consolidates requirements from Application 1 and Application 2, and generates a UE level DRX schedule, so that the UE-1 would be able to maximize the DRX off-duration. The determination of the DRX schedule can be determined by the UE based on the configuration on the UE, for example as part of the V2X policies associated with the V2X service types. 10. UE-1's V2X layer may expose transmission schedule information to Application 3, based on the UE level DRX schedule. Application 3 will determine its traffic generation schedule accordingly. Application 3 may also send QoS requirements and traffic pattern information if available for the PC5 communication to V2X layer to generate new DRX schedule if the old one cannot satisfy the Application 3 requirements. 11. UE-1 determines if the PC5 DRX and Uu DRX need alignment. If the alignment is necessary and UE-1 has active connection to NG-RAN over Uu (in RRC_CONNECTED state), V2X layer triggers RRC signalling towards NG-RAN, so step 10 is performed. If the alignment is necessary between the PC5 DRX and Uu DRX (i.e. Paging DRX) and UE-1 is in RRC_IDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state, UE-1 waits until Uu connection is established before initiating any alignment. 12. UE-1 sends RRC signalling over Uu interface towards NG-RAN informing the PC5 DRX setting. See snapshot next).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system and Pan’s invention of a system and a method for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless communication system to include 3GPP_TR_23.776’s invention of supporting of QoS <Quality of Service> aware NR PC5 power efficiency for pedestrian UEs a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system, because it enables a pedestrian UE in sending/receiving V2X messages at periodicity in using DRX (Discontinuous Reception) mechanism for saving power consumption, a must requirement for a lower battery capacity and limited radio capability, such as pedestrian UE in using Sidelink DRX for broadcast, groupcast, and unicast operating in the a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system. (§5.1, 3GPP_TR_23.776)
Re. Claims 9 and 18, Park, Pan and 3GPP_TR_23.776 claims 1 and 12.
Park further discloses wherein the first unit (Fig.11-13, UE1/U2, Fig. 15, 100/200, Fig. 19, 100, 100/200) comprises a vulnerable road user configuration function, a vehicle to pedestrian (V2P) configuration function, an application enabler client, an application enabler server, an edge configuration server, a mobile edge computing platform function, a mobile edge computing application, or a combination thereof. (Fig. 1-23 & ¶0026 - Based on extended sensors, for example, raw or processed data obtained through local sensor or live video data may be exchanged between vehicles, logical entities, terminals of pedestrians and/or V2X application servers. Accordingly, a vehicle may perceive an advanced environment relative to an environment perceivable by its sensor. Fig. 1-23 & ¶0027 - Based on remote driving, for example, a remote driver or a V2X application may operate or control a remote vehicle on behalf of a person incapable of driving or in a dangerous environment. For example, when a path may be predicted as in public transportation, cloud computing-based driving may be used in operating or controlling the remote vehicle. For example, access to a cloud-based back-end service platform may also be used for remote driving. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Re. Claims 10 and 19, Park, Pan and 3GPP_TR_23.776 teach claims 1 and 12.
Park further discloses wherein the second unit (Fig.11-13, UE1/U2, Fig. 15, 100/200, Fig. 19, 100, 100/200) comprises a user equipment (UE), an edge enabler client, a V2X layer, a V2X information service, a radio network information service, or a combination thereof (Fig. 1-23 & ¶0031 - a method for a first user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system, including transmitting application information from an application layer to a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) layer, generating sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) information based on the application information in the V2X layer, transmitting the SL DRX information from the V2X layer to an access stratum (AS) layer, and communicating with a second UE by applying the SL DRX information in the AS layer. The application information includes at least one application requirement. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Re. Claim 11, Park, Pan and 3GPP_TR_23.776 teach claim 1.
Park further discloses wherein receiving the application requirements for the V2X service comprises receiving the application requirements for the vehicle to everything V2X service from a user equipment (UE), a V2X application, a V2X server, a mobile edge computing application, a mobile edge computing application server, or a combination thereof (Fig. 10-13 & Fig.¶0031 - a method for a first user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system, including transmitting application information from an application layer to a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) layer, generating sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) information based on the application information in the V2X layer, transmitting the SL DRX information from the V2X layer to an access stratum (AS) layer, and communicating with a second UE by applying the SL DRX information in the AS layer. The application information includes at least one application requirement. Fig. 10-13 & ¶0141 - in step S1001, application information may be transmitted from a V2X application layer of a UE to a V2X layer of the UE. Fig. 10-13 & ¶0153 - The V2X application layer of the UE may receive its service parameter (including the DRX configuration) from the V2X application server. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation).
Claim 6-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Pan, in view of 3GPP_TR_23.776, further in view of Dutta et al. (2021/0267008), Dutta hereinafter.
Re. Claims 6 and 15, Park, Pan and 3GPP_TR_23.776 teach claims 1 and 12.
Yet, Park and Pan do not expressly teach triggering a DRX configuration update for uplink, downlink, sidelink, or a combination thereof.
However, in the analogous art, Dutta explicitly discloses triggering a DRX configuration update for uplink, downlink, sidelink, or a combination thereof. (Fig. 1-17 & ¶0064 - method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for adjusting a pattern of one or more DRX cycles associated with the DRX configuration based on a trigger, and transmitting an update message to the second device based on the adjusting, the update message including a RRC update message including a DTX offset adjustment request. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0191 - The UE 115-b may receive the multiple DTX configurations 210 (e.g., a set of DTX configurations 210) via unicast communications, groupcast communications, or broadcast communications, as described with reference to FIGS. 2 through 4. The UE 115-b may thus receive DTX configurations 210 over multiple (e.g., all) active sidelink connections. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0199 - one or more of the UE 115-a, the UE 115-b, the UE 115-c, or the UE 115-d, or any combination thereof, may determine to update a DTX pattern (e.g., DTX cycles) or a DRX pattern (e.g., DRX cycles), or both, based in part on a trigger. The trigger may be a new sidelink connection or a new sidelink application, or both. One or more of the UE 115-a, the UE 115-b, the UE 115-c, or the UE 115-d, or any combination thereof, may transmit an update message to a corresponding peer UE (e.g., one or more of the UE 115-a, the UE 115-b, the UE 115-c, or the UE 115-d, or any combination thereof) indicating the updated DTX pattern (e.g., DTX cycles) or the updated DRX pattern (e.g., DRX cycles), or both. In some examples, the update message may be transmitted based in part on the peer UE's DRX configuration (e.g., DRX cycle). In some examples, this may trigger an offset adjustment request as in the link establishment case. Also, see ¶0342-¶0343).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system and Pan’s invention of a system and a method for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless communication system and 3GPP_TR_23.776’s invention of supporting of QoS <Quality of Service> aware NR PC5 power efficiency for pedestrian UEs a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Dutta’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous transmission and discontinuous reception configurations for sidelink communications in a wireless communication system, because it provides higher reliability and lower latency with improved power savings for devices performing sidelink communications, such as, V2X communications systems, V2V communications system in the wireless communication system. (Abstract, ¶0128, Dutta)
Re. Claims 7 and 16, Park, Pan, 3GPP_TR_23.776 and Dutta teach claims 6 and 15.
Yet, Park and Pan do not expressly teach triggering the DRX configuration update for unicast, groupcast, broadcast, or a combination thereof.
However, in the analogous art, Dutta explicitly discloses triggering the DRX configuration update for unicast, groupcast, broadcast, or a combination thereof. (Fig. 1-17 & ¶0064 - method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for adjusting a pattern of one or more DRX cycles associated with the DRX configuration based on a trigger, and transmitting an update message to the second device based on the adjusting, the update message including a RRC update message including a DTX offset adjustment request. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0191 - The UE 115-b may receive the multiple DTX configurations 210 (e.g., a set of DTX configurations 210) via unicast communications, groupcast communications, or broadcast communications, as described with reference to FIGS. 2 through 4. The UE 115-b may thus receive DTX configurations 210 over multiple (e.g., all) active sidelink connections. Fig. 1-17 & ¶0199 - one or more of the UE 115-a, the UE 115-b, the UE 115-c, or the UE 115-d, or any combination thereof, may determine to update a DTX pattern (e.g., DTX cycles) or a DRX pattern (e.g., DRX cycles), or both, based in part on a trigger. The trigger may be a new sidelink connection or a new sidelink application, or both. One or more of the UE 115-a, the UE 115-b, the UE 115-c, or the UE 115-d, or any combination thereof, may transmit an update message to a corresponding peer UE (e.g., one or more of the UE 115-a, the UE 115-b, the UE 115-c, or the UE 115-d, or any combination thereof) indicating the updated DTX pattern (e.g., DTX cycles) or the updated DRX pattern (e.g., DRX cycles), or both. In some examples, the update message may be transmitted based in part on the peer UE's DRX configuration (e.g., DRX cycle). In some examples, this may trigger an offset adjustment request as in the link establishment case. Also, see ¶0342-¶0343).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s invention of a system and a method for configuring a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system and Pan’s invention of a system and a method for configuring sidelink discontinuous reception in a wireless communication system and 3GPP_TR_23.776’s invention of supporting of QoS <Quality of Service> aware NR PC5 power efficiency for pedestrian UEs a 5G/New Radio(NR) wireless communication system to include Dutta’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuous transmission and discontinuous reception configurations for sidelink communications in a wireless communication system, because it provides higher reliability and lower latency with improved power savings for devices performing sidelink communications, such as, V2X communications systems, V2V communications system in the wireless communication system. (Abstract, ¶0128, Dutta)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/11/2026 with respect to claims 1, 12 and 21 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments at page 11 as submitted on 02/11/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts, “Specifically, none of the cited references teach or suggest at least ''wherein the traffic communication pattern comprises ... a sleep period," as found in Claim 3. Independent Claims 1, 12, and 21 have been amended to include ''wherein the traffic communication pattern comprises a transmission schedule, a reception schedule, an inactivity period, and a sleep period'' where the recitations of Claim 3 have been amended and moved into the independent claims so that ''a sleep period'' is required.”. See at least at page 11 of remarks as submitted on 02/11/2026.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, 3GPP_TR_23.776 [3GPP TR 23.776 V1.0.0 (2020-11). 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architecture enhancements for 3GPP support of advanced Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) services; Phase 2 (Release 17) <as reported in earlier office action <see PTO-892 & office action>, mailed on 11/17/2025>, which is published before the EFD of the instant application], discloses the claimed feature, “a sleep period” along with the limitation, “wherein the traffic communication pattern comprises a transmission schedule, a reception schedule, an inactivity period, and a sleep period”, as mapped in §103 rejection.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 12 and 21.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Pan, further in view of 3GPP_TR_23.776.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 12, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467