DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the length (Tgap) of the transmission gap (Tgap)” in line 3 should be replaced with “the length of the transmission gap (Tgap)”, see claim 8 which recites “the length of the transmission gap (Tgap)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 22 recites “the code is used to calculate Toffset”, claim 23 recites “an integer a range of 0 to 8” and claim 24 recites, for example, “an integer in the range of 2 to 8 corresponds a Toffset calculated as a fraction comprising the reciprocal of the code multiplied by an uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG)”.
Claims 17-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase " inserted with one or more subsequent transmission gaps (Tgaps) uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG)" in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is being inserted. The examiner understood it as “inserted with one or more subsequent transmission gaps (Tgaps) after a duration of each uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG)” for the purpose of examination, see claim 2 for similar limitation.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the uplink compensation gap duration" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner understood it as “the uplink compensation gap timer” for the purpose of examination, see claim 17.
Regarding claim 24, the phrase "a Toffset of zero first transmission gap (Tgap)" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “a Toffset of zero first transmission gap” means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14-16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al. (US Pub. 2023/0261838).
Regarding claims 1 and 14-16, Dai teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a control signal, the control signal schedules an uplink data or a downlink data (“DCI information may indicate the time resource allocation” in [0064]); and one of: inserting a transmission gap (Tgap) (see “Gap” 702 in Figure 7A), during transmission of the uplink data (see “UE Transmission/Reception” 704 in Figure 7A), at a time corresponding to a gap time offset (Toffset) after a start of the transmission of the uplink data (see “Offset” 703 in Figure 7A); and inserting a transmission gap (Tgap), during transmission of transmitting a feedback data corresponding to the downlink data, at a time corresponding to the gap time offset (Toffset) after a start of the transmission of the feedback data.
Regarding claim 7, Dai teaches the gap time offset (Toffset) is configured by higher layer (“The time resource allocation (e.g., starting position of the gap and gap duration) may be indicated in control information” in [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, Dai teaches the gap time offset (see “Offset” 703 in Figure 7A) excludes the length of the transmission gap (Tgap) (see “Gap” 702 in Figure 7A).
Regarding claim 11, Dai teaches the gap time offset is determined by at least one of a first scaling factor (α), a first time duration (T) and a second time duration (β) (“The time resource allocation (e.g., starting position of the gap and gap duration) may be indicated in control information” in [0064]).
Regarding claim 12, Dai teaches the first time duration (T) is configured by higher layer (“The time resource allocation (e.g., starting position of the gap and gap duration) may be indicated in control information” in [0064]) or determined by at least one of a resource unit number (NRU), a repetition number (NRep) and a slot time duration (Nslot) of the uplink data or the feedback data.
Regarding claim 22, Dai teaches the control signal comprises a code corresponding to the Toffset, wherein the code is used to calculate Toffset (“The time resource allocation (e.g., starting position of the gap and gap duration) may be indicated in control information” in [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. in view of Wong et al. (US Pub 2020/0014572).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Dai teaches the limitations in claims 1 and 16 as shown above. Dai, however, does not teach transmission of the uplink data or the feedback data occur within an uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG) and wherein transmission of the uplink data or the feedback data is inserted with one or more subsequent transmission gaps (Tgaps) after a duration of each uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG). Wong teaches transmission of the uplink data or the feedback data occur within an uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG) (“uplink transmission of duration TTX” in [0085]) and wherein transmission of the uplink data or the feedback data is inserted with one or more subsequent transmission gaps (Tgaps) (see “TGAP” in Figure 4) after a duration of each uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG) (“uplink transmission of duration TTX” in [0085]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dai to have transmission of the uplink data or the feedback data occur within an uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG) and wherein transmission of the uplink data or the feedback data is inserted with one or more subsequent transmission gaps (Tgaps) after a duration of each uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG) as taught by Wong in order to correct frequency tracking offset to a tolerable level [0085].
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Dai teaches a first transmission gap (Tgap) (see the first “Gap” 702 in Figure 7A) starts from a gap time offset (Toffset) after the start of the uplink data or the feedback data (see “Offset” 703 in Figure 7A).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Dai teaches the gap time offset (Toffset) is indicated in the control signal (“The time resource allocation (e.g., starting position of the gap and gap duration) may be indicated in control information” in [0064]).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Wong teaches the gap time offset (Toffset) is in units of the uplink compensation gap timer (TUCG) (The gap time offset for the first gap in Figure 4 is one unit of the uplink compensation gap timer (TTX)).
Regarding claim 21, Wong teaches a start time slot of each transmission gap (Tgap) meets a condition determined by the uplink compensation gap duration (TUCG) (“uplink transmission of duration TTX” in [0085]), the length (Tgap) of the transmission gap (Tgap) (see “TGAP” in Figure 4), and a gap time offset (Toffset) (The gap time offset for the gap in Figure 4 is same as the uplink compensation gap timer (TTX)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414