DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG M (WO 2022/021282) in view of MIN (US 2024/0007911).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method performed by a first radio access network (RAN) node (Fig. 6, i.e., the master node MN 602), the method comprising:
receiving configuration information relating to a conditional primary cell of a secondary cell group (PSCell) addition and change (CPAC) procedure (Fig. 6, step S810; page 44, lines 23-page 45, lines 1-3; the MN receives a modification request/SN change required message from the source SN, the message include measurement results related to target SN, the source SCG configuration, the identification of the PSCell to be modified, etc.); and
in response to the configuration information relating to the CPAC procedure being modified, communicating the modified configuration information with a second RAN node via a Xn interface or a X2 interface (Fig. 6, step S820; the MN sends a CPAC modification request message to the target SN, the message may provide a request to modify the CPAC configuration for one or more PSCells, the CPAC modification request message is sent via a Xn or X2 interface – page 41, lines 24-28).
But, Zhang does not particularly disclose wherein receiving the configuration information in an information element IE.
However, Min teaches receiving the configuration information in an information element IE (abstract; p. [0050], [0120], [0124], [0127]; a radio base station MN receives the configuration information related to the secondary cell group and executes the conditional adding/modifying procedure based on the received configuration information, for example, CG-Config, the CG-Config is an example of an information element (IE) for configuration – p. [0120]-[0123]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with the teachings of Min, since the use of information elements IE for communicating information related to configuration information (e.g., CG-Config) for a PScell Change addition and change procedure is well-known in the art and thus would facilitate efficient communication between network nodes regarding CPAC procedures.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 1, Zhang discloses wherein: the first RAN node is a master node (MN) in a multi-radio dual connectivity (MR- DC) scenario (Fig. 6; master node MN 602), and the second RAN node is a target secondary node (SN) in the MR-DC scenario (Fig. 6, target secondary node T-SN 606); or the first RAN node is the target SN in the MR-DC scenario, and the second RAN node is the MN in the MR-DC scenario.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 2,
Zhang discloses wherein communicating the
modified configuration information further comprises transmitting a first message from the MN to the target SN, and wherein the first message is at least one of:
a SN modification request message (Fig. 6, S820 CPAC modification request message); and
a secondary gNB (SgNB) modification request message.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein the first message comprises at least one of:
an indicator indicating an operation to replace an existing configuration of one or more PSCells;
updated configuration information relating to a primary cell (PCell) of the MN;
updated configuration information relating to a PSCell of a source SN in the MR- DC scenario;
a maximum number of PSCells allowed to be prepared by the target SN;
a reference of one or more PSCells to be added;
a reference of one or more PSCells to be modified (page 45, lines 4-9; the message includes identification information of the PSCell to be modified);
a reference of one or more PSCells to be cancelled (page 41, lines 10-12);
a security key to be used by the target SN;
a measurement report related to the CPAC procedure;
or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein communicating the modified configuration information further comprises receiving, by the MN, a second message from the target SN (Fig. 6, message S830 – CPAC modification request acknowledge), and wherein the second message comprises is at least one of:
a SN modification request acknowledge message (Fig. 6, message S830 – CPAC modification request acknowledge); a SgNB modification request acknowledge message; a SN modification required message; a SgNB modification required message; or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 5, Zhang discloses wherein the second message comprises at least one of:
a maximum number of PSCells able to be prepared by the target SN; and
a first reference of one or more PSCells to be added (page 57, lines 2-5; the SN addition request acknowledge (i.e., second message) may include identification information of the target PSCell); a second reference of one or more PSCells to be modified; a third reference of one or more PSCells to be cancelled; a fourth reference of one or more admitted PSCells; or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 2, in another embodiment, Zhang discloses wherein communicating the modified configuration information further comprises receiving, by the MN, a first PSCell cancel message from the target SN (Page 48, lines 10-18; Fig. 9, the MN 902 receives CPAC cancel with CPAC-replace indication from the T-SN).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 2, Zhang in another embodiment discloses communicating the modified configuration information further comprises transmitting a second PSCell cancel message from the MN to the target SN (Fig. 5, MN sends CPAC cancel S710 to the T-SN).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of Claim claim 1, Zhang discloses wherein:
the first RAN node is a source secondary node (SN) in a multi-radio dual connectivity (MR-DC) scenario, and the second RAN node is a master node (MN) in the MR-DC scenario (See Fig. 6 that shows a Source Node and a Master Node); or
the first RAN node is the MN in the MR-DC scenario, and the second RAN node is the source SN in the MR-DC scenario.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 9, Zhang discloses wherein communicating the modified configuration information further comprises transmitting a third message from the MN to the source SN (Fig. 12, S440 – SN change confirm).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of Claim claim 10, Zhang discloses wherein the third message comprises is at least one of:
a SN change confirm message (Fig. 12, S440 – SN change confirm);
a secondary gNB (SgNB) change confirm message;
or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 11, Zhang discloses wherein the third message comprises at least one of:
a reference of one or more PSCells prepared by a target SN (page 57, lines 6-13; Fig. 12, S440 – SN change confirm includes PSCell indication);
a radio resource control (RRC) container, wherein the RRC container comprises the reference of one or more PSCells prepared by the target SN;
or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 9, wherein communicating the modified configuration information further comprises transmitting a third PSCell cancel message from the MN to the source SN (page 38, lines 13-21).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the method of claim 9, Zhang discloses communicating the modified configuration information further comprises receiving, by the MN, a fourth PSCell cancel message from the source SN (page 38, lines 13-21).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses an apparatus for performing a network function (page 1, lines 25-27), the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (page 1, lines 25-27) and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive configuration information relating to a conditional primary cell of a secondary cell group (PSCell) addition and change (CPAC) procedure (Fig. 6, step S810; page 44, lines 23-page 45, lines 1-3; the MN receives a modification request/SN change required message from the source SN, the message include measurement results related to target SN, the source SCG configuration, the identification of the PSCell to be modified, etc.); and
in response to the configuration information relating to the CPAC procedure being modified, communicate the modified configuration information with a second radio access network (RAN) node via a Xn interface or a X2 interface (Fig. 6, step S820; the MN sends a CPAC modification request message to the target SN, the message may provide a request to modify the CPAC configuration for one or more PSCells, the CPAC modification request message is sent via a Xn or X2 interface – page 41, lines 24-28).
But, Zhang does not particularly disclose wherein receiving the configuration information in an information element IE.
However, Min teaches receiving the configuration information in an information element IE (abstract; p. [0050], [0120], [0124], [0127]; a radio base station MN receives the configuration information related to the secondary cell group and executes the conditional adding/modifying procedure based on the received configuration information, for example, CG-Config, the CG-Config is an example of an information element (IE) for configuration – p. [0120]-[0123]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang with the teachings of Min, since the use of information elements IE for communicating information related to configuration information (e.g., CG-Config) for a PScell Change addition and change procedure is well-known in the art and thus would facilitate efficient communication between network nodes regarding CPAC procedures.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhang and Min disclose the apparatus of claim 15, Zhang discloses wherein:
a first RAN node is a master node (MN) in a multi-radio dual connectivity (MR- DC) scenario (Fig. 6; master node MN 602), and the second RAN node is a target secondary node (SN) in the MR-DC scenario (Fig. 6, target secondary node T-SN 606); or
the first RAN node is the target SN in the MR-DC scenario, and the second RAN node is the MN in the MR-DC scenario.
Regarding claim 17, he combination of Zhang and Min disclose the apparatus of claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein communicating the modified configuration information further comprises transmitting a first message from the MN to the target SN, and wherein the first message comprises:
a SN modification request message (Fig. 6, S820 CPAC modification request message);
a secondary gNB (SgNB) modification request message; or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 18, he combination of Zhang and Min disclose the apparatus of claim 17, Zhang discloses wherein the first message comprises:
an indicator indicating an operation to replace an existing configuration of one or more PSCells;
updated configuration information relating to a primary cell (PCell) of the MN;
updated configuration information relating to a PSCell of a source SN in the MR- DC scenario;
a maximum number of PSCells allowed to be prepared by the target SN;
a reference of one or more PSCells to be added;
a reference of one or more PSCells to be modified (page 45, lines 4-9; the message includes identification information of the PSCell to be modified);
a reference of one or more PSCells to be cancelled (page 41, lines 10-12);
a security key to be used by the target SN;
a measurement report related to the CPAC procedure; or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 19, he combination of Zhang and Min disclose the apparatus of claim 17, Zhang discloses wherein communicating the modified configuration information further comprises receiving, by the MN, a second message from the target SN (Fig. 6, message S830 – CPAC modification request acknowledge), and wherein the second message comprises:
a SN modification request acknowledge message (Fig. 6, message S830 – CPAC modification request acknowledge);
a SgNB modification request acknowledge message;
a SN modification required message;
a SgNB modification required message; or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 20, he combination of Zhang and Min disclose the apparatus of claim 19, Zhang discloses wherein the second message comprises:
a maximum number of PSCells able to be prepared by the target SN; and
a first reference of one or more PSCells to be added (page 57, lines 2-5; the SN addition request acknowledge (i.e., second message) may include identification information of the target PSCell);
a second reference of one or more PSCells to be modified;
a third reference of one or more PSCells to be cancelled; a fourth reference of one or more admitted PSCells; or a combination thereof.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643