The amendment filed April 28, 2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended claim 1 now requires a thermoplastic which is a solid at room temperature. There is no support in the application as filed for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coonan (US 2007/0154666) in view of Kotz (Kotz, F. Three-dimensional printing of transparent fused silica glass. Nature 544, 337–339 (2017)).
Claim 1: Coonan discloses a moldable nanocomposite including an organic binder, wherein the organic binder is a non-polymerizable thermoplastic which can be hardened upon cooling and which is a solid at room temperature (¶¶ 12, 31); a glass powder dispersed in the organic binder (¶¶ 9, 29, 32); a phase-forming agent dispersed in the organic binder, the phase-forming agent being solid or viscous at room temperature and forming an internal phase in the organic binder (¶¶ 12, 31); wherein the glass powder is pre-modified with a dopant in the moldable nanocomposite or wherein one or more dopant reagents including metal complexes are contained in the moldable nanocomposite as at least one modifying agent, the at least one modifying agent being dispersed in the binder in a non-crystalline state, (¶ 31); and wherein the content of the glass powder in the moldable nanocomposite is at least 5 parts per volume based on 100 parts per volume of the organic binder (¶¶ 9, 32).
Coonan discloses fused-silica-type powder in the SEBS/fatty-alcohol feedstock (¶ 50), but is silent as to the glass powder being a fused silica glass powder particles having a mean diameter of 5 nm to 500 nm. However, Kotz discloses a nanocomposite for producing a transparent article made of multicomponent fused silica glass including an organic binder (p. 337); a fused silica glass powder dispersed in the organic binder (p. 337), the fused silica glass powder including fused silica glass particles having a diameter of 40 nm (p. 337). As taught by Kotz, using fused silica glass particles in the claimed range allows for three-dimensional printing of high-performance materials having unmatched optical transparency, outstanding mechanical, chemical and thermal resistance as well as thermal and electrical insulating properties (p. 337). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have utilized the fused silica glass powder of Katz in the nanocomposite of Rapp in order to 3D print high-performance materials having unmatched optical transparency, outstanding mechanical, chemical and thermal resistance as well as thermal and electrical insulating properties.
Claim 4: Coonan discloses the particles having a diameter of 40 microns (p. 337).
Claim 5: Coonan discloses the dopant including Ti and P (¶ 31; claim 21).
Claim 6: Kotz discloses the fused silica content being 37.5 vol% (p. 340).
Claim 7: Coonan discloses the phase-forming agent and the thermoplastic in a weight ratio of about 60:30 (¶ 31).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754