Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16-24, 28-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 28, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WANG et al. (US 20240032078 with foreign app. CN 202110358451.2 filed on 04/01/2021) in view of LEE et al. (US 20220394699).
Regarding claims 16, 28, WANG et al. (US 20240032078) teaches a method for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE) (fig. 2, par. 70, UE), comprising:
transmitting, to the first UE using the first sidelink connection, an indication of a first set of transmission resources for the second UE to use to transmit to the first UE (par. 59, 60, Send first information to a second terminal, where the first information is used to trigger the second terminal to recommend a first resource to the first terminal);
receiving, from the first UE at least in part in response to the first set of transmission resources, an indication of a second set of transmission resources for the second UE to use to transmit to the first UE (par. 64, 65, Receive second information from the second terminal, where the second information includes information about the first resource… The second information may also be referred to as resource recommendation signaling); and
transmitting, at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the second set of transmission resources, a data message to the first UE using the second set of transmission resources (par. 46, 48, 49, 66, an enhancement scheme of SL resource selection, for example, it can be considered that the RX UE recommends a resource to transmit (TX) UE, and the TX UE uses the recommended resource for transmission).
However, WANG et al. (US 20240032078) does not explicitly teach establishing a first sidelink connection with a first UE using a first transmission reception point of the second UE;
But, LEE et al. (US 20220394699) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches establishing a first sidelink connection with a first UE using a first transmission reception point of the second UE (par. 281, The wireless devices and the BSs/the wireless devices may transmit/receive radio signals to/from each other through the wireless communication/connections 150a and 150b);
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LEE in the system of WANG to provide indication to the resource.
The motivation would have been to provide quality resource or adjust to meet the number of resources that meet a certain quality.
Regarding claims 17, 29, WANG et al. (US 20240032078) teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising:
transmitting, to the first UE using the first sidelink connection and at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the second set of transmission resources, an indication of the second set of transmission resources (par. 40, par. 59, 60, if the resource overlaps (partially overlaps) with a resource reserved/selected by another UE, and if a measurement value of SL-RSRP of the UE on an associated resource is greater than a specific associated SL-RSRP threshold, the UE may trigger re-selection for the resource…Send first information to a second terminal, where the first information is used to trigger the second terminal to recommend a first resource to the first terminal ), wherein transmitting the data message is based at least in part on the transmitted indication of the second set of transmission resources (par. 46, 48, 49, 66, an enhancement scheme of SL resource selection, for example, it can be considered that the RX UE recommends a resource to transmit (TX) UE, and the TX UE uses the recommended resource for transmission).
Regarding claims 18, 30, WANG does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein the received indication of the second set of transmission resources comprises an indication of a subchannel index, a transmission time, a demodulation reference signal port index, or any combination thereof.
But, LEE et al. (US 20220394699) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the received indication of the second set of transmission resources comprises an indication of a subchannel index, a transmission time, a demodulation reference signal port index, or any combination thereof (par. 219, a TX UE may transmit a PSCCH DMRS sequence index and/or a PSSCH DMRS sequence index to an RX UE; par. 184, the number of RBs constituting (one) subchannel and/or the number of subchannels (and/or RBs) constituting a resource pool, QoS parameter (e.g., reliability, latency…)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LEE in the system of WANG to provide indication to the resource.
The motivation would have been to provide quality resource or adjust to meet the number of resources that meet a certain quality.
Regarding claim 20, WANG does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein the received indication of the second set of transmission resources allocates first interference management resources to the second UE and second interference management resources to a third UE (par. 3, 175, 176, selects a resource set with less interference based on a channel sensing result, and then randomly selects a resource for transmission from the resource set).
Regarding claim 21, WANG et al. (US 20240032078) teaches the method of claim 16, wherein receiving the indication of the second set of transmission resources comprises:
receiving sidelink control information from the first UE using the first sidelink connection (par. 38, The periodic reservation/indication may be implemented by using a resource reservation period field in the SCI,).
Regarding claim 22, WANG et al. (US 20240032078) does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein receiving the indication of the second set of transmission resources comprises:
receiving a broadcast signal from the first UE comprising the indication of the second set of transmission resources.
But, LEE et al. (US 20220394699) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches receiving a broadcast signal from the first UE comprising the indication of the second set of transmission resources (par. 105, A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) may be a (broadcast) channel for transmitting default (system) information which must be first known by the UE before SL signal transmission/reception… a time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink (UL/DL) configuration, information related to a resource pool, a type of an application related to the SLSS, a subframe offset, broadcast information, or the like.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LEE in the system of WANG to provide indication to the resource.
The motivation would have been to provide quality resource or adjust to meet the number of resources that meet a certain quality.
Regarding claim 23, WANG et al. (US 20240032078) does not explicitly teach the method of claim 16, wherein a first group of UEs comprises the second UE and a second group of UEs comprises the third UE.
But, LEE et al. (US 20220394699) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein a first group of UEs comprises the second UE and a second group of UEs comprises the third UE (par. 280, 281, The wireless devices and the BSs/the wireless devices may transmit/receive radio signals to/from each other through the wireless communication/connections 150a and 150b).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by LEE in the system of WANG to provide indication to the resource.
The motivation would have been to provide quality resource or adjust to meet the number of resources that meet a certain quality.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20240032078 with foreign app. CN 202110358451.2 filed on 04/01/2021) and LEE et al. (US 20220394699) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of PARK et al. (US 20230262660 with foreign app. KR 10-2020-0085510 filed on 07/10/2020).
Regarding claim 19, WANG does not teach the method of claim 16, wherein the received indication of the second set of transmission resources allocates a first demodulation reference signal cyclic shift to the second UE and a second demodulation reference signal cyclic shift to a third UE based at least in part on the second UE and the third UE communicating via the second set of transmission resources.
But, PARK et al. (US 20230262660) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the received indication of the second set of transmission resources allocates a first demodulation reference signal cyclic shift to the second UE and a second demodulation reference signal cyclic shift to a third UE based at least in part on the second UE and the third UE communicating via the second set of transmission resources (par. 73, 128, 376, the sidelink reference signal may be a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) used for the NR V2X reception UE to perform channel estimation or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for obtaining channel state information… the code resources (or code) may mean resources distinguished using code, such as scrambling code or orthogonal cover code and different sequences (and cyclic shift applied to sequence)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by PARK in the system of WANG and LEE to provide indication DMRS cyclic shift.
The motivation would have been to diversify the signal and reduce interference.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20240032078 with foreign app. CN 202110358451.2 filed on 04/01/2021) and LEE et al. (US 20220394699) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of AHN et al. (US 20220294570).
Regarding claim 24, WANG does not teach the method of claim 23, wherein the indication of the second set of transmission resources is associated with the first group of UEs, the indication comprising a group index.
But, HAHN et al. (US 20220294570) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the indication of the second set of transmission resources is associated with the first group of UEs, the indication comprising a group index (par. 25, the SCI may further include a terminal group identifier indicating the plurality of receiving terminals participating in the sidelink communication).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by HAHN in the system of WANG and LEE to identify group of UEs.
The motivation would have been to guarantee signal quality withing reset range of a group.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15, 25-27 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 1, 25, WANG et al. (US 20220174690) teaches a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
establishing a first sidelink connection with a second UE and a second sidelink connection with a third UE (fig. 2, par. 70, The multiple UEs 115 may include UEs 115-a, 115-b, and 115-c, which may communicate with each other or with other UEs 115 using sidelink communications);
receiving, from the second UE using the first sidelink connection, an indication of a first set of transmission resources for the second UE to use to transmit to the first UE (par. 90, monitor for SCI transmitted by other UEs 115… SCI that indicates reserved sidelink resources for the one or more other UEs 115);
transmitting, to the second UE at least in part in response to the first set of transmission resources (par. 95, identify a second subset of the set of resources available for the sidelink transmission based on SCI, a set of parameters (e.g., for selecting resources), and the first subset of resources, and, at 340, the PHY layer 305 may report, and the MAC layer 310 may receive, the second subset of resources), an indication of a second set of transmission resources for the second UE to use to transmit to the first UE (par. 99, transmit an SCI based on the resource indicated by the MAC layer 310. For example, the SCI may include a grant or other indication reserving the resource for the sidelink transmission), the second set of transmission resources identified by the first UE based at least in part on comparing signals received with threshold (par. 30, If the measured RSRP satisfies or exceeds the RSRP threshold, the resources reserved by the SCI may be considered unavailable resources (e.g., unavailable for a sidelink transmission from a UE). If the measured RSRP fails to meet the RSRP threshold, the resources reserved by the SCI may be considered available resources); and
receiving, using the second set of transmission resources, a data message from the second UE via the first sidelink connection (par. 81, transmitting the sidelink transmission on resources reserved by at least the threshold quantity of UEs 115 may be meaningless since these UEs 115 may not be able to listen on these resources).
WU et al. (US 20230422274) teaches a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
establishing a first sidelink connection with a second UE and a second sidelink connection with a third UE (fig. 4A, par. 52, 53, 54, connection between 402 UE and 404, 406, 408 UEs), the first sidelink connection using a first transmission reception point of the first UE (fig. 4A, par. 52, 53, 54, TRP for connection), and the second sidelink connection using a second transmission reception point of the first UE (fig. 4A, par. 52, 53, 54, TRP for connection);
receiving, from the second UE using the first sidelink connection, an indication of a first set of transmission resources for the second UE to use to transmit to the first UE (fig. 10 block 1004, par. 56, 80, the sidelink device may receive SCI from other UEs including reservation information in a resource reservation field. The number of resources (e.g., sub-channels per subframe) reserved by a UE may depend on the size of data to be transmitted by the UE… the sidelink device may receive one or more signals comprising SCI at multiple TRPs of the sidelink device, the SCI indicating a resource reservation);
the second set of transmission resources identified by the first UE based at least in part on comparing signals received using the first transmission reception point and signals received using the second transmission reception point with threshold (par. 83, 84, the sidelink device may compare the RSRP measurement at each of the one or more TRPs indicated by the higher layer to an RSRP threshold to determine the available resources for a corresponding TRP…the indication indicates a subset of two or more TRPs and the available resources that are commonly available for the subset of two or more TRPs are reported to the higher layer); and
receiving, using the second set of transmission resources, a data message from the second UE via the first sidelink connection (par. 89, the sidelink device may transmit the sidelink transmission from the one or more TRPs using the selected one or more resources).
DUTTA et al. (US 20230353325) teaches comparing signals received using the first transmission reception point with signals received using the second transmission reception point (par. 108, due to the differences in propagation distances, the signals received at TRP 210-a-1 may exhibit a lower signal quality (e.g., lower reference signal received power, lower reference signal received quality, higher signal to noise ratio, higher signal to interference plus noise ratio) as compared to the signals received at TRP 210-a-2. Moreover, the signals received at TRP 210-a-1 may be received later in time than the signals received at TRP 210-a-2. These differences in signal parameters (e.g., reference signal received power, reference signal received quality, signal to noise ratio, signal to interference plus noise ratio, time of receipt) may result despite the fact that the respective signals were transmitted UE 205-b and UE 205-d at the same time and with the same transmit power).
WANG et al. (US 20240032078) teaches before resource selection, the UE performs channel sensing, selects a resource set with less interference based on a channel sensing result, and then randomly selects a resource for transmission from the resource set (par. 3); If an SL-RSRP measurement value of the UE on an associated resource is greater than an associated SL-RSRP threshold, the UE may trigger resource reselection (par. 40).
However, it would have not been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the references to teach the claims. Therefore, the claims are allowed.
Claims 2-15, 26, 27 are allowed because of the dependency on the allowed claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dutta et al. (US 12543049) teaches signals which are received at the second TRP 205-b may suffer from low signal quality as compared to the signals received by the first TRP 205-a (46).
BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US 20220240207) teaches due to the differences in propagation distances, the signals received at TRP 205-a-1 from UE 115-b may exhibit a lower signal quality (e.g., lower RSRP, lower reference signal received quality (RSRQ), higher SNR, higher signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), or the like) as compared to the signals received at TRP 205-a-2 from UE 115-b (par. 88).
ALAWIEH et al. (US 20230247446) teaches resources of a resource set that points towards TRP 26.sub.3 may comprise a different pathloss (PL), a different value α and/or a different distance d2 when compared to a coarse path between UE 20 and TRP 26.sub.2 having a distance d3, such that PLαd2 is different when compared to PLαd3 (par. 157).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 09/08/2026