DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 12, and 15-20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the objection to drawing have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection to specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the Rejection of Claims under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection to Claims under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's argument(s) filed 01/23/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims under rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees, where Lin (US 20210160879 A1) and Jeon (US 20190132824 A1) teaches in the following paragraphs.
Lin teaches a user equipment ("UE") for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to ((0056] The memory 360 is coupled to the processor 340))
receive a group common configured grant ("CG") configuration for a group common CG resource, the group common CG configuration for a group of UEs ([0267] scheduling of multiple PDSCH receptions to or PUSCH transmissions from a group of UEs is provided based on a UE-group common DCI (GC-DCI) format. And [0271] A UE can receive a PDCCH providing the GC-DCI format either based on a UE-specific search space (USS) or based on a common search space (CSS));
derive, based on the group common CG configuration, a UE-specific CG resource configuration for the group common CG resource, wherein the UE-specific CG resource configuration is derived from the group common CG configuration without reconfiguring the group common configured grant configuration and wherein the UE-specific CG resource configuration comprises one or more group common CG parameters for the group common CG resource and one or more UE-specific CG parameters for the group common CG resource ((0081] provides enhancements for .... CG configurations and transmission .... group operations ... (such as ... modification/update, and selection) ...for CG configurations. group operation refers to methods and schemes ... that act on ... CG configurations ... wherein a single operation/command simultaneously applies to multiple ... CG configurations.). ([0314] For determining UE-specific fields of the GC-DCI format for scheduling N>=1 PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions based on the aforementioned example for mapping channel resources, a set of UE-specific fields in the GC-DCI format can include any of the following fields where a field of the UE-specific fields is not be included when a corresponding functionality is predetermined or can be determined...[0320] Then, the GC-DCI format includes 4 sets of UE-specific fields. This allows the UEs scheduled by the GC-DCI format to be dynamically selected based on the bitmap while avoiding a large size for the GC-DCI format by having a limit on the number of UEs that can be scheduled and having a corresponding limit to the number of sets of UE-specific fields).
Jeon teaches performing wireless communication using the group common CG resource according to the group common CG parameters and the UE-specific CG parameters ([0421] The wireless device 1601 may receive, from the base station 1602, one or more RRC messages comprising one or more parameters ... and [0423] BWP may be configured with the wireless device by the base station via one or more RRC messages that may be wireless device-specific; [0428] Fig. 21 ... group common control procedure ... performed by a wireless device ...step 2101, a wireless device may receive ...radio control messages comprising configuration parameters for one or more BWPs... At step 2104, the wireless device may switch an active BWP to a new BWP from a current BWP).
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The amend specification for paragraph 0110 have amend “VE-specific” . It was previously written as “UE-specific” .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20210160879 A1), hereinafter Lin in view of Jeon (US 20190132824 A1), hereinafter Jeon.
Regarding claim 1,
Lin teaches a user equipment ("UE") for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to ((0056] The memory 360 is coupled to the processor 340))
receive a group common configured grant ("CG") configuration for a group common CG resource, the group common CG configuration for a group of UEs ([0267] scheduling of multiple PDSCH receptions to or PUSCH transmissions from a group of UEs is provided based on a UE-group common DCI (GC-DCI) format. And [0271] A UE can receive a PDCCH providing the GC-DCI format either based on a UE-specific search space (USS) or based on a common search space (CSS));
derive, based on the group common CG configuration, a UE-specific CG resource configuration for the group common CG resource, wherein the UE-specific CG resource configuration is derived from the group common CG configuration without reconfiguring the group common configured grant configuration and wherein the UE-specific CG resource configuration comprises one or more group common CG parameters for the group common CG resource and one or more UE-specific CG parameters for the group common CG resource ((0081] provides enhancements for .... CG configurations and transmission .... group operations ... (such as ... modification/update, and selection) ...for CG configurations. group operation refers to methods and schemes ... that act on ... CG configurations ... wherein a single operation/command simultaneously applies to multiple ... CG configurations.). ([0314] For determining UE-specific fields of the GC-DCI format for scheduling N>=1 PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions based on the aforementioned example for mapping channel resources, a set of UE-specific fields in the GC-DCI format can include any of the following fields where a field of the UE-specific fields is not be included when a corresponding functionality is predetermined or can be determined...[0320] Then, the GC-DCI format includes 4 sets of UE-specific fields. This allows the UEs scheduled by the GC-DCI format to be dynamically selected based on the bitmap while avoiding a large size for the GC-DCI format by having a limit on the number of UEs that can be scheduled and having a corresponding limit to the number of sets of UE-specific fields).
Lin does not explicitly teach performing wireless communication using the group common CG resource according to the group common CG parameters and the UE-specific CG parameters.
Jeon teaches performing wireless communication using the group common CG resource according to the group common CG parameters and the UE-specific CG parameters ([0421] The wireless device 1601 may receive, from the base station 1602, one or more RRC messages comprising one or more parameters ... and [0423] BWP may be configured with the wireless device by the base station via one or more RRC messages that may be wireless device-specific; [0428] Fig. 21 ... group common control procedure ... performed by a wireless device ...step 2101, a wireless device may receive ...radio control messages comprising configuration parameters for one or more BWPs... At step 2104, the wireless device may switch an active BWP to a new BWP from a current BWP).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Jeon to the teaching of Lin. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve resource utilization ([0406] Jeon).
Regarding claim 2,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to, based on the group common CG configuration, configure the UE with at least two radio network temporary identifiers ("RNTIs"), a first RNTI being a group common specific configured scheduling RNTI ("CS-RNTI") and a second RNTI being a UE-specific unicast CS-RNTI ([0269] The new RNTI is referred as group scheduling radio network temporary identifier (GS-RNTI) in this disclosure. In one example, the GS-RNTI is part of system information and is common to all UEs within a serving cell).
Regarding claim 3,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to, based on the group common CG configuration, configure a new group common configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier ("CS-RNTI") associated with a group common downlink control information ("DCI") format for activation or deactivation of the group common CG configuration ([0269] The GC-DCI format can include a new RNTI … referred as group scheduling radio network temporary identifier (GS-RNTI) in this disclosure. ) and ([0321] In one embodiment, group scheduling for semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH receptions is provided, wherein a UE monitors PDCCH for detection of a CGS-DCI format that indicates activation, deactivation, or retransmission of SPS PDSCH for a group of UEs).
Regarding claim 4,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin further teaches wherein the at least one processor or a combination thereof ([0105] A DCI format addressed to CS-RNTI and with NDI=1 can schedule a HARQ retransmission for a failed initial DL SPS/UL CG transmission, or a retransmission).
Regarding claim 8,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a new transport block ("TB") during a CG period.
Jeon teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a new transport block ("TB") during a CG period.([0218] same one or more TBs may be performed (e.g., during the transmission interval) after an initial transmission).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Jeon to the teaching of Lin. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve resource utilization ([0406] Jeon).
Claims [12-14, and 17] “method”, 15 “network equipment”, and 16 “processor” are rejected under the same reasoning as claims [1-4] “apparatus”, where Lin teaches both device and method (Methods and apparatus (abstract) and [0036] the terms “user equipment” and “UE” are used in this patent document to refer to remote wireless equipment).
Claims 5, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Jeon and further in view of Park (US 20210105787 A1), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 5,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin and Jeon do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to associate the group common CG configuration with one or more Layer 2 ("L2") destination identifiers.
Park teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to associate the group common CG configuration with one or more Layer 2 ("L2") destination identifiers ([0252] a destination identifier of the sidelink bearer (e.g., the destination identifier indicating at least one of: a service associated with the sidelink bearer, the at least one second wireless device, layer 2 identifier, and/or the like)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Park to the teaching of Lin and Jeon. The motivation for such an addition would be to prevent and/or reduce vehicle collisions and/or improve communications quality of service ([0230] Park).
Regarding claim 18,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 12,
Lin and Jeon do not explicitly teach comprising associating the group common CG configuration with one or more Layer 2 ("L2") destination identifiers.
Park further teaches comprising associating the group common CG configuration with one or more Layer 2 ("L2") destination identifiers. ([0252] a destination identifier of the sidelink bearer (e.g., the destination identifier indicating at least one of: a service associated with the sidelink bearer, the at least one second wireless device, layer 2 identifier, and/or the like)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Park to the teaching of Lin and Jeon. The motivation for such an addition would be to prevent and/or reduce vehicle collisions and/or improve communications quality of service ([0230] Park).
Claim 20 “processor” is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 5 “apparatus”, where Lin teaches both device and method (Methods and apparatus (abstract) and [0036] the terms “user equipment” and “UE” are used in this patent document to refer to remote wireless equipment).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Jeon and further in view of Matsumura (US 20230007675 A1), hereinafter Matsumura.
Regarding claim 6,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin and Jeon do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to, based on the group common CG configuration, configure the UE with UE-specific spatial relationships in connection with quasi-colocation ("QCL") type D and beams or panels used for transmission or reception.
Matsumura teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to, based on the group common CG configuration, configure the UE with UE-specific spatial relationships in connection with quasi-colocation ("QCL") type D and beams or panels used for transmission or reception ([0162] In a case where TCI field presence information is configured to single DCI-based multi TRP/panel transmission that uses at least one TCI state that is configured to a serving cell of a PDSCH to be scheduled and includes the QCL type D, and in a case where a time offset between reception of a PDCCH and reception of a corresponding PDSCH is less than a threshold (timeDurationForQCL) after reception of a TCI state activation command for a UE-specific PDSCH, the UE may assume that a DMRS port of the PDSCH conforms to a QCL parameter instructed by a next default TCI state).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Matsumura to the teaching of Lin and Jeon. The motivation for such an addition would be to appropriately determine QCL parameters for multiple panels/TRPs ([0008] Matsumura).
Claim 19 “method” is rejected under the same reasoning as claims 6 “apparatus”, where Lin teaches both device and method (Methods and apparatus (abstract) and [0036] the terms “user equipment” and “UE” are used in this patent document to refer to remote wireless equipment).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Jeon and further in view of Sachs (US 20200259896 A1), hereinafter Sachs
Regarding claim 7,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin and Jeon do not explicitly teach wherein a CG period for the group common CG resource is associated with a cycle of telegram from EtherCAT and the UE-specific CG resource configuration is for a UE-specific CG resource associated with a datagram for a slave node.
Sachs teaches wherein a CG period for the group common CG resource is associated with a cycle of telegram from EtherCAT and the UE-specific CG resource configuration is for a UE-specific CG resource associated with a datagram for a slave node (fig. 11, [0307-0310] Typical communication patterns in the motion control architecture ... Protocols like EtherCat … with support of very low cycle times, usually below 1 ms … and [0313] EtherCat … with same requirements (cyclic closed loop set point transmission and feedback).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Sachs to the teaching of Lin and Jeon. The motivation for such an addition would be to achieve very low network cycle times ([1179] Sachs).
Claim 20 “method” is rejected under the same reasoning as claims 7 “apparatus”, where Lin teaches both device and method (Methods and apparatus (abstract) and [0036] the terms “user equipment” and “UE” are used in this patent document to refer to remote wireless equipment).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Jeon and further in view of Manda (US20210105811A1), hereinafter Manda
Regarding claim 9,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin and Jeon do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to skip a transmission in the UE-specific CG resource associated with the UE-specific CG resource configuration in response to a packet arriving later than an expected arrival time.
Manda teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to skip a transmission in the UE-specific CG resource associated with the UE-specific CG resource configuration in response to a packet arriving later than an expected arrival time ([0030] enable UE 104 to skip transmission of PUSCH on CCs that substantially carry MAC padding data. In another aspect, the selective skipping functionality of UL CC selection component 198 may be dynamically turned on or off based on various factors, such as but not limited to, timeline restrictions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Manda to the teaching of Lin and Jeon. The motivation for such an addition would be enable UE to selectively transmission ([0030] Manda).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Jeon and further in view of Zhou (US 20200404639 A1), hereinafter Zhou
Regarding to claim 10,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to dynamically retransmit a transport block ("TB") in the UE-specific CG resource associated with the UE-specific CG resource configuration using a unicast downlink control information ("DCI") transmission with a unicast configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier ("CS-RNTI"), wherein dynamic retransmission is performed separately from retransmissions for at least one other UE in the group of UEs and
Jeon teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to dynamically retransmit a transport block ("TB") in the UE-specific CG resource associated with the UE-specific CG resource configuration using a unicast downlink control information ("DCI") transmission with a unicast configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier ("CS-RNTI"),wherein dynamic retransmission is performed separately from retransmissions for at least one other UE in the group of UEs ([0252] If the timing between a detected transmission and a retransmission grant is not preconfigured, an explicit indication of the retransmitted TB may be carried by DCI).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Jeon to the teaching of Lin. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve resource utilization ([0406] Jeon).
Lin and Jeon do not explicitly teach prior to a subsequent UE-specific starting time offset
Zhou teaches prior to a subsequent UE-specific starting time offset ([0066]CG communications, one or more UEs may each be allocated periodic resources for uplink transmissions to the base station. A wireless device may be allocated the periodic resources based on a cycle. For example, resources for the base station to transmit an SPS message may be configured once per cycle, where the cycle's duration may correspond to the periodicity of the SPS configuration. If a periodic transmission fails or is unsuccessful, there may be a period for retransmission attempts before the next cycle begins).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Zhou to the teaching of Lin and Jeon. The motivation for such an addition would be to provides a stronger signal strength at the UE ([0067] Zhou).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Jeon and further in view of Aiba (US 20220248453 A1), hereinafter Aiba
Regarding claim 11,
Lin and Jeon teach the UE of claim 1,
Lin and Jeon do not explicitly teach wherein the UE is configured as a transmitting UE for the group of UEs and configured, to transmit medium access control ("MAC”) control element (“CE") confirmation of activation or deactivation of the group common CG resource.
Aiba teaches wherein the UE is configured as a transmitting UE for the group of UEs and configured, to transmit medium access control ("MAC”) control element (“CE") confirmation of activation or deactivation of the group common CG resource ([0021] The UE also includes transmitting circuitry configured to transmit, based on a reception of the first DCI, a configured grant confirmation medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). The configured grant confirmation MAC CE includes a value indicating a deactivation status of the configured grant configuration with the first index).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Aiba to the teaching of Lin and Jeon. The motivation for such an addition would be to configured grant confirmation MAC CE for multiple active configured grants ([0001] Aiba).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465 /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465