(note: media: a physical non-transitory computer-readable medium. Examples of suitable media include RAM, ROM, magnetic media such as a hard-drive or a floppy disk, or an optical medium such as a compact disk (CD) or DVD (digital versatile disk), flash memory, and the like, or any combination of such storage or transmission devices (par. 198).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30, 36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the PUSCH" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Similar problem in claim 36,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-30, 32-36, 38, 39, 41, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20230283429 with foreign app. KR 10-2020-0089182 filed on 07/17/2020, KR 10-2020-0091954 filed on 07/23/2020, KR 10-2020-0134692 filed on 10/16/2020, herein as PARK) in view of TERVO et al. (US 20230006794).
Regarding claim 24, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches an apparatus comprising:
memory to store phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) information for initial transmission and retransmission of a transport block (TB) within physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (par. 63, 64, 67, 458, 459, 460, storage…The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission; base station or terminal); and
processing circuitry, coupled with the memory (par. 63, 64, 67, 548, 459, 460, base station or terminal), to:
retrieve the PT-RS information from the memory (par. 63, 67, 548, 459, 460, base station or terminal);
determine a PT-RS pattern for the PDSCH utilizing MCS index based on the PT-RS information, wherein the PT-RS information includes separate PT-RS patterns for the initial transmission and the retransmission of the TB (par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission; par. 459, 460, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission;); and
encode the PDSCH based on the separate PT-RS patterns (par. 459, 460, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission; par. 494-496, 499).
However, PARK does not teach determine a PT-RS pattern for the PDSCH utilizing a Discrete Fourier Transform- spread-OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform.
But, TERVO et al. (US 20230006794) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches determine a PT-RS pattern for the PDSCH utilizing a Discrete Fourier Transform- spread-OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform (par. 45, 48, 50, 51, 52, DFT-s-OFDM is supported in UL, and the presence of a PTRS pattern is UE-specifically configurable (i.e., whether it exists or not), and multiple patterns/densities…receiver needs may be separately optimized for different patterns… several scenarios may be provided including, for example, physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)/physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)… the rank dependent PTRS configuration may be dependent upon the communication scenario. For example, PTRS configuration for rank-1 may be characterized by means of two parameters: M and N (M×N), where M represents the number of PTRS groups per DFT-s-OFDM symbol, and N is the number of PTRS samples (symbols) per group).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by TERVO in the system of PARK to determine PR-RS pattern.
The motivation would have been to lower peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) and provide better coverage and more robust for phase noise than frequency-domain PTRS.
Regarding claim 25, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the PT-RS information includes a PT-RS pattern that is based on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and MCS thresholds (par. 477, 478, Parameters timeDensity and frequencyDensity in higher layer signaling PTRS-DownlinkConfig indicate thresholds ptrs-MCSi (i=1,2,3)).
Regarding claim 26, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the apparatus of claim 25, wherein the MCS thresholds are configured via minimum system information (MSI), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI) or dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (par. 155, 477, 478, higher layer signaling or RRC).
Regarding claim 27, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the PT-RS information includes a first PT- RS pattern to be used for initial transmission of the TB, and a second PT-RS pattern to be used for retransmission of the TB (par. 459, 460, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission; par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission).
Regarding claim 28, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the first PT-RS pattern is based on one or more of the following associated with the initial transmission of the TB: a modulation associated with the TB, an MCS, and a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (par. 459, 460, 469, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission… PT-RS mapping, resource blocks allocated for PDSCH transmission are numbered from 0 to N.sub.RB−1 from a lowest (ordered) scheduled resource block to a highest (ordered) scheduled resource block; par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission).
Regarding claim 29, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the second PT-RS pattern is based on one or more of the following associated with retransmission of the TB: the MCS, and the number of PRBs (par. 459, 460, 469, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission… PT-RS mapping, resource blocks allocated for PDSCH transmission are numbered from 0 to N.sub.RB−1 from a lowest (ordered) scheduled resource block to a highest (ordered) scheduled resource block; par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission).
Regarding claim 30, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the PUSCH includes uplink control information (UCI) (par. 515, HARQ-ACK information is transmitted via a PUSCH).
Regarding claim 32, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the PT-RS information includes a PT-RS pattern to be used for both the initial transmission of the TB and retransmission of the TB (par. 477, 478, Parameters timeDensity and frequencyDensity in higher layer signaling PTRS-DownlinkConfig indicate thresholds ptrs-MCSi (i=1,2,3); par. 459, 460, 494-496, 499,).
Regarding claim 33, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) one or more computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a user equipment (UE) (par. 63, 67, 548, 459, 460, terminal) to:
determine phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) information for initial transmission and retransmission of a transport block (TB) within a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission), wherein the PT-RS information includes a first PT-RS pattern to be used for the initial transmission of the TB and a second PT-RS pattern to be used for retransmission of the TB (par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission), utilizing a MCS index (par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission), and wherein the PT-RS information is based on one or more of: a modulation associated with the TB, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), and a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (par. 459, 460, 469, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission… PT-RS mapping, resource blocks allocated for PDSCH transmission are numbered from 0 to N.sub.RB−1 from a lowest (ordered) scheduled resource block to a highest (ordered) scheduled resource block; par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission); and
encode the PDSCH for initial transmission or retransmission based on the PT-RS information (par. 459, 460, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission; par. 494-496, 499).
However, PARK does not teach determine phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) information utilizing a Discrete Fourier Transform-spread-OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform.
But, TERVO et al. (US 20230006794) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches determine phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) information for different transmissions of a transport block (TB) within a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) utilizing a Discrete Fourier Transform-spread-OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform (par. 45, 48, 50, 51, 52, DFT-s-OFDM is supported in UL, and the presence of a PTRS pattern is UE-specifically configurable (i.e., whether it exists or not), and multiple patterns/densities…receiver needs may be separately optimized for different patterns… several scenarios may be provided including, for example, physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)/physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)… the rank dependent PTRS configuration may be dependent upon the communication scenario. For example, PTRS configuration for rank-1 may be characterized by means of two parameters: M and N (M×N), where M represents the number of PTRS groups per DFT-s-OFDM symbol, and N is the number of PTRS samples (symbols) per group).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by TERVO in the system of PARK to determine PR-RS pattern.
The motivation would have been to lower peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) and provide better coverage and more robust for phase noise than frequency-domain PTRS.
Regarding claim 34, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 33, wherein the PT-RS patterns are based at least in part on an MCS and MCS thresholds that are configured via minimum system information (MSI), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI) or dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (par. 155, 477, 478, higher layer signaling or RRC, Parameters timeDensity and frequencyDensity in higher layer signaling PTRS-DownlinkConfig indicate thresholds ptrs-MCSi (i=1,2,3)).
Regarding claim 35, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 33, wherein the second PT-RS pattern is based on one or more of the following associated with the retransmission of the TB: the MCS, and the number of PRBs (par. 459, 460, 469, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission… PT-RS mapping, resource blocks allocated for PDSCH transmission are numbered from 0 to N.sub.RB−1 from a lowest (ordered) scheduled resource block to a highest (ordered) scheduled resource block; par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission).
Regarding claim 36, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 33, wherein the PUSCH includes uplink control information (UCI) (par. 515, HARQ-ACK information is transmitted via a PUSCH).
Regarding claim 38, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches one or more computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a next-generation NodeB (gNB) (par. 63, 67, 548, 459, 460, base station) to:
determine phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) information for initial transmission and retransmission of a transport block (TB) within a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) utilizing a MCS index (par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission), wherein the PT-RS information includes separate PT-RS patterns for the initial transmission and the retransmission of the TB (par. 459, 460, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission; par. 494-496, 499); and
encode the PDSCH containing the TB for initial transmission or retransmission based on the separate PT-RS information (par. 459, 460, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission; par. 494-496, 499).
However, PARK does not teach determine phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) information utilizing a Discrete Fourier Transform-spread-OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform.
But, TERVO et al. (US 20230006794) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches determine phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) information for different transmissions of a transport block (TB) within a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) utilizing a Discrete Fourier Transform-spread-OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform (par. 45, 48, 50, 51, 52, DFT-s-OFDM is supported in UL, and the presence of a PTRS pattern is UE-specifically configurable (i.e., whether it exists or not), and multiple patterns/densities…receiver needs may be separately optimized for different patterns… several scenarios may be provided including, for example, physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)/physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)… the rank dependent PTRS configuration may be dependent upon the communication scenario. For example, PTRS configuration for rank-1 may be characterized by means of two parameters: M and N (M×N), where M represents the number of PTRS groups per DFT-s-OFDM symbol, and N is the number of PTRS samples (symbols) per group).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by TERVO in the system of PARK to determine PR-RS pattern.
The motivation would have been to lower peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) and provide better coverage and more robust for phase noise than frequency-domain PTRS.
Regarding claim 39, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 38, wherein the PT-RS information includes a PT-RS pattern that is based on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and MCS thresholds (par. 12, 459, 460, 478, PTRS-DownlinkConfig indicate thresholds ptrs-MCSi (i=1,2,3) and NRB,i (i=0,1)).
Regarding claim 41, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 38, wherein the PT-RS information includes a first PT-RS pattern to be used for initial transmission of the TB, and a second PT-RS pattern to be used for retransmission of the TB (par. 12, 459, 460, 478, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission…Parameters timeDensity and frequencyDensity in higher layer signaling PTRS-DownlinkConfig indicate thresholds ptrs-MCSi (i=1,2,3) and NRB,i (i=0,1)).
Regarding claim 42, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 41, wherein the first PT-RS pattern is based on one or more of the following associated with the initial transmission of the TB: a modulation associated with the TB, an MCS, and a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (par. 12, 459, 460, 478, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission…Parameters timeDensity and frequencyDensity in higher layer signaling PTRS-DownlinkConfig indicate thresholds ptrs-MCSi (i=1,2,3) and NRB,i (i=0,1)).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20230283429 with foreign app. KR 10-2020-0089182 filed on 07/17/2020, KR 10-2020-0091954 filed on 07/23/2020, KR 10-2020-0134692 filed on 10/16/2020, herein as PARK) and TERVO et al. (US 20230006794) as applied to claims 30 above, and further in view of MATSUMURA et al. (US 20210203438).
Regarding claim 31, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the PT-RS information includes: a first PT-RS pattern to be used for initial transmission of the TB, a second PT-RS pattern to be used for retransmission of the TB (par. 494-496, 499, When the UE is receiving a PDSCH for retransmission, in case that the UE is scheduled or configured with an MCS index greater than V, an MCS for PT-RS time density determination may be obtained based on DCI received for the same TB scheduled or configured with an MCS index equal to or smaller than V in initial transmission; par. 459, 460, The base station maps the PT-RS to physical resources via the following procedures to transmit a PT-RS for a PDSCH during initial transmission or retransmission;);
However, PARK does not teach a third PT-RS pattern to be used for transmission of the UCI.
But, MATSUMURA et al. (US 20210203438) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the PT-RS information includes: a first PT-RS pattern to be used for initial transmission of the TB, a second PT-RS pattern to be used for retransmission of the TB, and a third PT-RS pattern to be used for transmission of the UCI (par. 7, 56, 67, 68, how to control PTRS transmission (for example, the time domain density of PTRS) in retransmission (for example, retransmission of at least one of PUSCH and UCI)…the time domain density of PTRS adopted in retransmission smaller than the time domain density in initial transmission… the time domain density of PTRS adopted in retransmission larger than the time domain density in initial transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by MATSUMURA in the system of PARK and TERVO to transmission PT-RS in pattern.
The motivation would have been to provide flexible PT-RS pattern transmission.
Claim(s) 37, 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20230283429 with foreign app. KR 10-2020-0089182 filed on 07/17/2020, KR 10-2020-0091954 filed on 07/23/2020, KR 10-2020-0134692 filed on 10/16/2020, herein as PARK) and TERVO et al. (US 20230006794) as applied to claims 30, 38 above, and further in view of YE et al. (US 20210321403).
Regarding claim 37, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) does not teach the one or more computer-readable media of claim 33, wherein the first PT-RS pattern is in common with the second PT-RS pattern.
But, YE et al. (US 20210321403) in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first PT-RS pattern is in common with the second PT-RS pattern (par. 39, the frequency density of PT-RS does not change between initial transmission and retransmissions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YE in the system of PARK and TERVO to transmission PT-RS in pattern.
The motivation would have been to reduce the overhead signaling and storage.
Regarding claim 43, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) does not teach the one or more computer-readable media of claim 38, wherein the PT-RS information includes a PT-RS pattern to be used for both the initial transmission of the TB and retransmission of the TB.
But, YE et al. (US 20210321403) in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the PT-RS information includes a PT-RS pattern to be used for both the initial transmission of the TB and retransmission of the TB (par. 39, the frequency density of PT-RS does not change between initial transmission and retransmissions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YE in the system of PARK and TERVO to transmission PT-RS in pattern.
The motivation would have been to reduce the overhead signaling and storage.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20230283429 with foreign app. KR 10-2020-0089182 filed on 07/17/2020, KR 10-2020-0091954 filed on 07/23/2020, KR 10-2020-0134692 filed on 10/16/2020, herein as PARK) and TERVO et al. (US 20230006794) as applied to claims 39 above, and further in view of MATSUMURA et al. (WO 2020250360 herein MATSUMURA ‘360).
Regarding claim 40, PARK et al. (US 20230283429) teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 39, wherein the media further stores instructions to cause the gNB to encode a message for transmission to a UE that includes the MCS thresholds (par. 12, 459, 460, 478, PTRS-DownlinkConfig indicate thresholds ptrs-MCSi (i=1,2,3) and NRB,i (i=0,1)).
However, PARK does not teach wherein the message is encoded for transmission via minimum system information (MSI), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI) or dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
But, MATSUMURA ‘360 in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches wherein the message is encoded for transmission via minimum system information (MSI), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI) or dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling (XIAOLIN par. 30, The broadcast information includes, for example, a master information block (MIB: Master Information Block), a system information block (SIB: System Information Block), a minimum system information (RMSI: Remaining Minimum System Information), and other system information (OSI: Other). System Information) may be used).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by MATSUMURA ‘360 in the system of PARK and TERVO to transmission PT-RS in pattern.
The motivation would have been to provide scalable to different technologies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 05/07/2026