Response to Amendment
The response filed on December 01, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 11-16, 29-30, 32, 35, 39-40, 43, 49, 51, and 54 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1, 2, 6, 7, and 9) in the reply filed on December 01, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that WO 2018/089603 does not disclose all of the shared technical features. Specifically, it is argued that WO ‘603 does not disclose a coating composition comprising a reactive silicone component having a molecular weight of at least 500. While it is agreed that WO ‘603 does not disclose the shared technical feature of a reactive silicone component having a molecular weight of at least 500 in the composition, this argument is not found persuasive because, as set forth below, all of the shared technical features, including a composition comprising a reactive silicone component having a molecular weight of at least 500, are taught in the prior art. Specifically, see US Pub 2015/0072154 [0024].
Claims 11-16, 29-30, 32, 35, 39-40, 43, 49, 51, and 54 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sheth et al. (US Pub 2015/0072154).
Regarding claim 1, US ‘154 discloses a coating composition comprising an isocyanate component (claim 1), an amine-functional resin comprising an aspartic acid ester (claim 1), a reactive silicone component having a molecular weight of 800 to 2,500 [0024], and titanium dioxide in an amount of at least 5 wt% (Table 1, Examples 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, US ‘154 discloses that the amine-functional resin further comprises a primary amine (claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sheth et al. (US Pub 2015/0072154).
Regarding claim 6, US ‘154 does not specifically disclose the equivalent weight ratio of the isocyanate component to active hydrogen of the amine-functional resin being in the range of 0.85:1 to 1.4:1. However, US ‘154 does disclose that the ratio of equivalents of isocyanate groups to amine groups is in the range of 1.01 to 1.10:1 (claim 13) and that the mole ratio of isocyanate to amine is no more than 1:1 so there remains no excess primary amine upon reaction [0014]. This suggested that the equivalent weight ratio of the isocyanate to active hydrogen of the amine-functional resin is within the claimed range. Alternatively, the range would overlap, which would be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheth et al. (US Pub 2015/0072154) in view of one of Barancyk et al. (US Pub 2006/0046068) or Kabagamba et al. (US Pub 2020/0017711).
Regarding claim 2, US ‘154 discloses that the coating composition can contain a solvent [0027], but does not disclose that the coating composition further comprises a reactive diluent. US ‘068 discloses a similar coating composition that further contains a polyepoxide, such as 3,4-epoxycyclohexanecarboxylate [0038], which is one of the listed preferred reactive diluents in the present specification [0026]. US ‘068 discloses that such a component can serve as a curing agent in the composition. US ‘711 discloses that the amine groups on the polysiloxane may be reacted with a cyclic carbonate, such as propylene carbonate, to yield a urethane linkage and a terminal hydroxyl group [0062]. Cyclic carbonate is one of the listed preferred reactive diluents in the present specification [0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the coating composition of US ‘154, wherein the composition contains a reactive diluent, as taught in US ‘068 and US ‘711, motivated by the desire to incorporate a curing agent (US ‘068) or provide urethane linkages and terminal hydroxyl groups (US ‘711) in the composition.
Regarding claim 9, US ‘154 discloses that the isocyanate component comprises a prepolymer formed from isophorone (claim 6), but does not disclose that the prepolymer additional contains a polyether polyol or polyetheramine. US ‘068 and US ‘711 both disclose similar coating compositions wherein the isocyanate component comprises a prepolymer formed from isophorone diisocyanate and a polyether polyol (US ‘068-[0058], [0061]; US ‘711-[0042], [0046]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the coating composition of US ‘154, wherein the isocyanate component contains a polyether polyol, as taught in US ‘068 and US ‘711, motivated by the desire to use a conventionally known isocyanate component in the coating composition.
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781